You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Archive/PA Images

Man who knocked 89-year-old woman to the ground and stole her handbag jailed for six years

David Allen, who has 25 previous convictions, was on bail for another robbery at the time of the incident.

A MAN WHO was on bail for robbery when he knocked an 89-year-old woman to the ground and stole her handbag has been jailed for six years.

Nina MacAuley (89) had just left a hairdressers in Dublin city centre when she was “bashed” into by David Allen (35) who knocked her to the ground.

Mrs MacAuley banged her head and suffered cuts to her head and arm. She found herself lying on the ground “with tears running down her face” when she realised her handbag was gone.

Allen of no fixed abode and formerly of Rathangan Road, Monasterevin, Co Kildare pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to robbery at Aungier Street, Dublin, on 1 July 2019.

He also pleaded guilty to the armed robbery of a 73-year-old taxi driver at James Street, Dublin on 5 February 2019. His 25 previous convictions include attempted robbery, burglary and theft.

Passing sentence today, Judge Melanie Greally said the offences were serious incidents and involved injured parties of advanced age. She noted that Allen suffered from severe addiction issues and was someone who had a very difficult early life.

Judge Greally sentenced Allen to three years imprisonment for the earlier robbery and sentenced him to five years imprisonment for the robbery.

She ordered that both sentences run consecutive to each other for an effective sentence of eight years imprisonment. She then suspended the final two years of the sentence on strict conditions including that he follow all directions of the Probation Service for 12 months post release.

In her victim impact statement, which was read out in court at a previous sentencing hearing, Nina MacAuley said her nieces bring her to the hairdresser now when in the past she was happy to walk. She said she had trouble sleeping after the incident.

“Why should the likes of him do that to the likes of me? He wouldn’t do it to a strong man.

“I am proud to reach this age but I am sad to say it makes me an easier target,” she said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 42 comments
42 Comments
    Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    May 5th 2020, 6:31 PM

I couldn’t care less about his addiction issues, he’s just an excuse of a human that should rot in that cell

Mute Martin Harte
    Favourite Martin Harte
    May 5th 2020, 6:42 PM

@john murphy: addictions and bad up bringing should have nothing to do with any sentence, you shouldn’t be allowed to bring it up as a defence, herself had a bad up bringing but she carved out a better life for herself, then somehow got stuck with me lol

May 5th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Martin Harte:

Personally I do see the reasons for leniency for people of difficult upbringing in bad situations. But that should only apply for a first non-violent offence, after 25 f&&&&king convictions we have to acknowledge that he’s just made a decision to be a sc&&&mbag, there’s no rehabilitating him.

Mute Terry O Shea
    Favourite Terry O Shea
    May 5th 2020, 6:32 PM

Surely this old lady should be allowed sue the state for her injuries as it is obvious this man should not have been out on bail.This would make judges think twice about lenient sentences

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    May 5th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Terry O Shea: sue the judge, not the state. Then they’d think twice about being so soft.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    May 5th 2020, 6:40 PM

@Terry O Shea: very good idea after a couple of payouts the judges would have to do the right thing.

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    May 5th 2020, 8:48 PM

@john s: if the judges had all the bad guys in prison what would they do????? Sad but true they need these guys to justify their posistion.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    May 5th 2020, 9:01 PM

@Derek Trotter: I wish u were wrong but the legal gravy train won’t stop

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    May 5th 2020, 9:33 PM

@Terry O Shea: Yes I agree Terry, maybe some legal eagle could even say if that is possible or not. I am pretty sure you cannot take a case against the judge himself/herself but why not take a case against the state. We must do something about this ourselves as the state does not give a fiddlers as evidenced by their track record over the last 20 years. Is there a source for relevant facts such as how many prison places do we have, how many do we need, what is the re-offending rate etc. Also is the 80k a year per prisoner cost high or low compared to other countries and if high is that the real reason the state will not commit to building prisons. The criminals, like the politicians, if there is no consequences for one’s actions some will do what they like.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    May 5th 2020, 6:34 PM

There are a lot of people who have bad earlier life’s and are well behaved. It’s should never be a mitigation factor.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 5th 2020, 6:42 PM

25 previous convictions. Yet commits an armed robbery, robs this old lady and is gonna be walking the streets again in 4yrs ? DPP needs to appeal this buIIshit sentence.

Mute Porter Mechanic
    Favourite Porter Mechanic
    May 5th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Tommy Roche: Exactly 25 previous convictions and still he allowed to roam free and rob and assault a defenseless old lady. The system has failed her. Judges in Ireland are failing its citizens , Do we need new legislation to keep f###ers like this off the street or what? Does anyone here have some good legal insight into this matter?

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    May 5th 2020, 6:41 PM

Why not, say, 37 years?

Mute Rory Murphy
    Favourite Rory Murphy
    May 5th 2020, 6:25 PM

The useless piece of @hit… throw away the key.

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    May 5th 2020, 6:37 PM

@Rory Murphy: 100% Rory. 25 previous convictions tells you all you need to know about our justice system. I’m sure he had addiction issues & a tough early life when committing his earlier crimes too. Just keep letting them out until they kill someone sure. An independent elderly lady’s life ruined by yet another scrote. Pathetic.

Mute Ian T Boyle
    Favourite Ian T Boyle
    May 5th 2020, 6:46 PM

@Rory Murphy: the criminal or the judge?

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    May 5th 2020, 6:39 PM

Slap on the wrist. Will he do even 30 months?

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham
    May 5th 2020, 6:30 PM

Being a pathetic loser that got himself addicted to drugs shouldn’t be a reason to receive pity from judges.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    May 5th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Peter Denham: hear hear

Mute Sean May
    Favourite Sean May
    May 5th 2020, 9:13 PM

I can’t understand why this thing is referred to as a “Man” in the headline. “Feral savage” would have been far more appropriate.

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    May 5th 2020, 7:49 PM

Not enough.

Mute Divad Nayr
    Favourite Divad Nayr
    May 5th 2020, 7:05 PM

Was he related to the judge ?

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    May 5th 2020, 8:02 PM

Filth

Mute Rafal Kostrz
    Favourite Rafal Kostrz
    May 5th 2020, 6:38 PM

Sued state means – we tax payers will pay for this
    Not happy with it

Mute Terry O Shea
    Favourite Terry O Shea
    May 6th 2020, 2:38 AM

@Rafal Kostrz: so you would prefer to see old ladies been mugged by someone should be behind bars ???

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 5th 2020, 7:30 PM

And the violins are still playing in the background, ‚very hard early life‘ sob sob, severe addiction issues, sob sob, pathetic excuse of a human being feeling sorry for himself, lock him up and throw away the keys

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    May 5th 2020, 6:33 PM

Glad for the (please insert the derogatory word of your choice in here ****)

Mute Paul Dunning
    Favourite Paul Dunning
    May 5th 2020, 8:55 PM

Hopefully he gets a good bashing in jail.

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC
    May 5th 2020, 6:29 PM

No harm

May 5th 2020, 9:32 PM

Misleading headline, he got 3 years. I don’t care how they twist and mangle with it. A suspended sentence is not a prison sentence, and two 3 year sentences should not be run consecutively.

At least he’s getting a prison sentence, but after 25 convictions there’s no excuse for going soft on him ffs.

May 5th 2020, 10:06 PM

@:

Whoops, I read “consecutive” as concurrent, since usually that’s the story. Good on the judge so, and accurate headline after all

Mute John J. Smith
    Favourite John J. Smith
    May 5th 2020, 11:15 PM

He had 25 previous convictions, attacked elderly people, and was on bail, and only got 6 years. He will be out to prey on more old people in three years. This is not justice, and does not protect our citizens!

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    May 5th 2020, 10:49 PM

10 year stretch minimum

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 5th 2020, 8:55 PM

You put me in a room with that piece of human waste, I’ll see he never pulls that stunt again.but knowing the Irish justice he get out in a year.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    May 6th 2020, 1:27 AM

I would love if the Judge in this case could explain the logic behind suspending the final 2 years of the 8 year sentence especially when she made the 5 and 3 year sentences to run “Consecutively”!!!!

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    May 6th 2020, 12:02 AM

But folks, just look at the benefit that this piece of manure has been to the legal profession for the last number of years! If he’s locked up for too long it’s like killing the “goose that lays the golden egg”. Never be under any illusion as to why these criminals are let out, or why they receive such short sentences.

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    May 5th 2020, 8:02 PM

I hope they gut him in jail!

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    May 6th 2020, 8:50 AM

I understand all the comments made regarding this man his crimes and his sentence. As for all the colourful names and suggestions as to what would be good for him I’m not so sure. Before I get hung drawn and quartered as a bleeding liberal
    I’m inner city born and reared never seen the inside of a Garda station let alone a court room.
    But I have seen what addiction can do to ANYBODY and how powerless family and friends can be, so be careful about how we judge anybody.
    Yes he does deserve his sentence and that lady deserves her justice

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    May 6th 2020, 7:22 AM

After 25 previous convictions away past time been locked up and thrown away the key. Getting out after 4 years just beats Banagher. Our legal system needs a complete cleaning out it stinks to the core with corrupt dishonest money grabbing solicitors / barristers, where there is seldom any losers, all protected by the Law Societies & Bar Councils of Ireland.

Mute Bio_Man
    Favourite Bio_Man
    May 5th 2020, 6:29 PM

O

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    May 6th 2020, 12:22 PM

Hopefully the lads locked up with him might give him a seen too

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    May 5th 2020, 10:10 PM

Excuses excuses excuses. Poor upbringing devoid of self awareness because no one loves me. Do yourself a favour