You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People out walking at the Curragh, Co Kildare. RollingnNews.ie

Restaurant closures, gardaí stress social distancing, Olympic Games face delay: Today's Covid-19 main points

There are 906 confirmed cases of Covid-19 in the Republic of Ireland.

LAST UPDATE | 23 Mar 2020

CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER Dr Tony Holohan has said it is “vital” that people comply with public health advice and social distancing as the country works to contain the spread of coronavirus. 

Dr Holohan was speaking yesterday evening after a fourth death from Covid-19 was confirmed in Ireland. A further 121 people were confirmed to have contracted coronavirus bringing the total number of cases in the Republic to 906. 

It comes as gardaí and emergency services this weekend stressed the importance of social distancing and warned people about congregating in large groups. 

Speaking this morning, Health Minister Simon Harris said he’d been informed that recently confirmed Covid-19 cases had “fewer close contacts” than previously diagnosed cases.  

Internationally, New Zealand is preparing for a total lockdown later this week as Japan’s prime minister warns that a delay in hosting the Olympics may be “inevitable”. 

Here are today’s main Covid-19 points:

• The Department of Health yesterday confirmed 121 new cases of Covid-19 in the Republic of Ireland, and said a fourth person had died from the virus in Ireland.
  • Another briefing by the Department of Health will take place at 5.45 pm today. 
  • Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has expressed concern about people in public spaces but downplayed the idea of a complete lockdown in the country. 
  • McDonald’s announced that it is to close all of its restaurants across the UK and Ireland for an indefinite period as a response to the coronavirus crisis. The Irish Farmers’ Association described the measure as a “big blow” to the Irish beef sector.
  • Supermacs, Starbucks, Subway and Krispy Kreme have also announced they are to all to close their doors. 
  • The representative body for Ireland’s main banks has apologised for confusion in relation to the Covid-19 mortgage break, as customers report being told by bank staff that they do not qualify.
  • Speaking this morning, Health Minister Simon Harris said new cases of Covid-19 have “fewer close contacts” than before which shows people are making an effort in social distancing.
  • Harris also said that the government has asked the Chief Medical Officer if further social distancing recommendations are needed.
  • Varadkar, meanwhile, said the government aims to have new emergency legislation in place by the weekend and refused to comment on whether any government ministers had been tested for Covid-19 saying it was confidential.
  • He also dismissed Sinn Fein leader Mary Lou McDonald’s suggestion that the government use part of the €15 billion paid back by Apple in corporation tax. The money is being held in an escrow account while the EU courts decide who the money belongs to. “It’s not ours to take,” said Varadkar. “She should know better than coming out with that kind of rubbish.”
  • There have been more than 60,000 applications for the HSE’s Be On Call For Ireland initiative.
  • University College Cork is to provide a course to aid nurses address the needs of patients presenting with Covid-19.
  • The Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service on Burgh Quay in Dublin has  temporarily closed its doors due to the coronavirus outbreak meaning all appointments will now move online
  • Smaller businesses in Dublin city are being encouraged to contact their council about deferring rates payments and restructuring payment plans
  • Footfall in Dublin city dropped by 65.8% between last Monday and yesterday according to new data from Dublin Town.
  • Post and parcels will be delivered later from today for some customers as An Post staggers starting times for its postal delivery workers to enforce social distancing.  
  • Aer Lingus’ regional carrier Stobart Air will stop flights to Scotland due to what has been described as an “unprecedented” drop in demand as a result of the outbreak.
  • Student nurses will today begin their unpaid work placements amidst the outbreak that is putting unprecedented spotlight and pressure on our health services.
  • Health officials confirmed that every county in Ireland now has at least one case of coronavirus. Here’s a breakdown of the number of cases in each county
  • President Michael D Higgins has addressed Irish people living in the UK and urged people to sociall distance. “I would appeal to those who have found these measures difficult to simply begin again during this crucial week and to go further,” he said.  

virus-outbreak-cuba-doctors Cuban medical professionals depart for Italy to help with the country's Covid-19 outbreak. Ismael Francisco / PA Images Ismael Francisco / PA Images / PA Images

On the international front:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    Mar 23rd 2020, 8:58 AM

This time next week. We’ll all be in lockdown. It’s the only way to stop the spread of the virus.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Mar 23rd 2020, 9:04 AM

@Damien: its strange. We’re getting the #stayhome messages everywhere. Yet thousands including myself are gone in for a weeks work in a non essential workplace.

Mute shirls
    Favourite shirls
    Mar 23rd 2020, 9:12 AM

@Brian Dunne: couldnt agree more.my daughter gone again this week.shes a bundle of nerves afraid she will get virus and pass it to me.no support from employer just turn up for work.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:27 AM

@shirls: same here. have to go to work later. call centre (for hotel chain i obviously cant name). its just ridiculous. and until we get laid off we cant get the govt money

Mute Mary Mary
    Favourite Mary Mary
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:36 AM

@Brian Dunne: Couldn’t agree more. I’m being told to continue going to work, but by nature of what I do there is no work to be getting on with.. literally sitting in office twiddling thumbs….. I honestly don’t understand why this hasn’t been flagged by the government and health authorities… I would much rather stay at home, stay safe, protect my family and myself…. I’ve been adhering to all of the social distancing rules and it makes me so angry that I’m being forced to put myself in contact with others in work… All of who could be carrying… This is a joke and needs to be addressed by health officials. Because it’s a grey area it’s just getting overlooked….

Mute Delboy79
    Favourite Delboy79
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:57 PM

@alan: at least you have a job to go in to. If your that worried tell them you or a family member are high risk and you want to take unpaid leave. they would hardly refuse you.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:25 PM

@Delboy79: we can take unpaid leave. but if we do this off our own bats we cant apply for the govt pay scheme. i cant understand why our company is paying us to sit around doing little when they could be getting the govt to pay us! in the meantime the anxiety levels here at work are ridiculous. i feel like we are being forced to work with no regard to health

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:43 PM

Can’t go into lockdown until we have enough cases. Otherwise it’ll be just as bad the second time around

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:28 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: nonsense

Mute S K
    Favourite S K
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:57 PM

@Damien: The science doesn’t support that. Pushing for lockdown is absurd and will be detrimental to the economy and peoples mental health in general. Especially when the government have allowed flights in and out of the country for weeks. People landing and allowed in without testing! Based on our cases numbers our ‘cases; requiring hospitalization is really low. There are many variants to the Italy situation and saying ‘well be like Italy in a few weeks’ simply isn’t true as you cannot with any degree of accuracy predict the number of cases we will have. Stop the scaremongering! I wish there was a better solution to help the truly vulnerable people rather than shutting down everything in sight which I believe is mostly a political move based on fear.

Mute Mary Mary
    Favourite Mary Mary
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:03 PM

@S K: He never said ‘we’ll be like Italy in a few weeks’? That’s your own interpretation.

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Mar 23rd 2020, 9:13 AM

What happened yesterday was unacceptable. People ignored the government advise to stay at home. The parks and the beach was jam packed yesterday. We will be like Italy in a few days time that we have no place to bury our corpses. We only have 1 minute left before midnight.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 23rd 2020, 9:24 AM

@bombacho: just goes to show how many go to the pub each wknd. if the pubs weren’t closed there is no way that many people would have been at any of these places

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Mar 23rd 2020, 10:14 AM

@alphasully: was thinking that myself earlier. It’s kind of sad that these places are only busy because the pubs and shops are closed, why aren’t these people always out getting fresh air at the weekend!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Mar 23rd 2020, 10:14 AM

@alphasully: people who go to the pub would not usually go to the beach instead. They would more than likely be in the off licence and then go home and self isolate with their alcohol. I think.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:22 AM

@Tony O Neill: before this I would have thought the same. seeing the above article and all over social media yesterday I stand behind my original comment. there was nothing to stop them calling to the offie on the way home

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:22 AM

@alphasully: nothing to do with it. We have people in this country who just don’t care , no one tells me what I can and can’t do syndrome. If you rock on to a place and see crowds on advice you’d just leave. Not these people. Its like during a red warning these people still go out. It’s the I’ll do what I fuking like generation now. Problem for me is they should have said everyone could die from the virus then people wouldn’t be so laxed.

Mute Alex Haarrwood
    Favourite Alex Haarrwood
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:28 AM

@bombacho: Could you please provide me with a link to an Irish government website that advises people to stay at home? On the HSE website it advises people to take care of their mental health by getting out and walking. Don’t know what government you are talking about, but it certainly isn’t the Irish government.

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:41 AM

@alphasully: or play sport or bring kids to sport. Still no excuse for it

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:18 PM

@Alex Haarrwood: You’re ignorant. Why would the government closed schools, closed restaurants pubs etc. banned social gatherings.

Mute Alex Haarrwood
    Favourite Alex Haarrwood
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:37 PM

@bombacho: ah ok, so the answer is no, no you can’t provide me a link to a HSE website that advises people to stay at home. Have a good day sir.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:53 PM

@Alex Haarrwood: no but anyone with an ounce of cop on would avoid crowds and adhere to social distancing at the very least. As i see it we have 2 choices, we can either carry on doing what we are doing and keep the virus going or we can have a lock down. Prolonging this benefits nobody.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:26 PM

@Derek Lyster: social distancing means 2m and no unessecary contact.
    Social distancing does NOT mean stay in your house.
    The amount of posters with their fake nonsense suggesting we have been told we are not allowed to leave the house.
    Pictures of cars in a car park does not mean people were in contact. I assume the vast majority got out of their cars and went for a nice walk at a safe distance, did not stop at coffee dock and did not touch handrails.

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:31 PM

@Alex Haarrwood: Do you really need to be told that the best way to avoid contracting or spreading this virus is to stay at home ? People with your attitude are the biggest threat to the rest of us right now. Cop on, stay home.

Mute Alex Haarrwood
    Favourite Alex Haarrwood
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:35 PM

@Cliff Burnby: I was just correcting a comment which I saw to be false, that’s all. Apologies if my attitude has upset you. People are still entitled to go out for walks as long as they practice social distancing.

Mute Bernice Hennessy
    Favourite Bernice Hennessy
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:51 PM

@bombacho: because you can’t social distance yourself in those situations.
    Leo himself encouraged people to get out for walks especially for mental health.
    Lough key forest park encourages people on its website to come and use its 350 hector park but to adhere to social distance.
    Not leaving your home at all is lockdown not social distancing.

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:11 PM

@Alex Haarrwood: lol Leo Varadkar just said to stay at home. You should watch rte now to brighten your day!

Mute Gary Mortimer
    Favourite Gary Mortimer
    Mar 23rd 2020, 10:19 AM

Some people really need to cop on, it’s a national emergency, not a national holiday.

Mute Rachel
    Favourite Rachel
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:39 AM

I live in Spain and we’re on total lockdown here. Looking on social media, I am constantly seeing people out hiking, at the beach, just out and about like it’s a never ending St Stephen’s Day. One post I saw yesterday was from the Papal Cross in the Phoenix Park – you wouldn’t see as many people there on a fine summer’s day.

Irish people have an amazing way of saying “but….” despite medical and government advice to stay the hell inside. When you can only leave the house to walk 50m to let the dog out, or go to the shop to buy food, there will still be Irish people getting out and about for non-essential reasons, because “but shur ya have to get out”.

Enjoy the freedom while ye have it… lockdown is a whole different matter and really hammers home how serious this virus is. Message to the Irish at home: THIS IS NOT AN EXTENDED EASTER HOLIDAY!!

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:42 AM

@Rachel: the penny will drop soon in Ireland

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:28 PM

@Rachel: government advice in Ireland is NOT that we all have to stay in our houses (yet)
    Current advice is social distancing, the VAST majority are doing this. Our towns are like ghost towns today.

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:35 PM

@john doe: government advise everywhere was not to stay indoors until It was. then it was too late. Ireland is not exceptional in any regard.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:45 PM

@Quiggers: we can’t stay at home until enough people are infected.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:03 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: People still don’t get it, we can’t stop this, only slow it and it will eventually die out. It will be left to a certain point and then complete lockdown to slow it when even more are infected.
    We’re working off previous countries statistics. Italy messed up big time but they also kiss each other on both cheeks as a greeting so there is a cultural issue there too which added to the spread.

Mute Rob Devine
    Favourite Rob Devine
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:06 PM

@Quiggers: not soon enough

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:17 PM

@Laughable: yes, we are trying to slow it but we also need enough to get infected so that it’ll have a much tougher time taking hold next time around

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:12 PM

@john doe: Really??…. The caravan parks and holidays homes and beaches and parks in Donegal are jam packed all weekend with folk from Derry and the North thinking the summer holidays have come early.

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:42 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: so it’s some sort of game to see what country can remain not lockdowned the longest?

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Mar 23rd 2020, 10:12 AM

From day 1 I knew this Coronavirus thing was a communist plot.

Originated in China, medical professionals holding pictures of Castro, and Eamon Ryan has seized all south facing window sills for his Great Salad Harvest.

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers

day 10 of the lockdown here in Spain(20 more to go at least). will be tough to watch the Irish car crash play out. all the countries governments In Europe Italy Spain etc all acted with the backing and advise of medical experts and look where we are. at least we are 10 days closer to resolving this mess than you are. people will only take social distancing seriously once they have been lockdowned

Mute Daniel Howard
    Favourite Daniel Howard
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:15 AM

Some people really aren’t adhering to social distance guidelines at all. I’ve just witnessed some construction workers waiting to enter a Londis and standing right beside each other without a care in the world. Ridiculous! >:(

Mute Joe Davis
    Favourite Joe Davis

@Daniel Howard: was that in eastwall. I seen it down there

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:34 PM

If/when lockdown comes it will drastically reduce the spread of the virus. Am all for that.
    What I just cannot get my head around is when or how the lockdown will be lifted. We cannot remain ‘in virtual hiding’ forever and the virus is for sure here to stay.
    So what comes after lockdown? What is the planned phase following lockdown?

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:07 PM

@Stephen: when we hit a certain number of infections. Let hope the numbers don’t rise as they predicted. I’m almost recovered from it after 10 or more days, still likely a carrier though.

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:44 PM

@Stephen: for me the key to this is a predetermined period without a case then lockdown is ended and then borders must remain shut medium to long term or until a vaccine is found.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:53 AM

can i still go for a jog in the evenings? im keeping away from others (cross the other side of street when i meet someone)

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:02 PM

@MrJohne: NO……..you can only go for a jog between the hours of 6am and 8am.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:05 PM

@Ray Ridge: lol

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 23rd 2020, 7:51 PM

@MrJohne: I dont see the harm in that, im still walking in the evenings i see three people sporadically at the most, maybe nobody. Never have i been so grateful to live in the country.

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:38 AM

I saw 3 gardai shoulder to shoulder yesterday walking down Harcourt Street. Is that allowed.

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Mar 23rd 2020, 11:46 AM

@rockmast: Never mind 3……. What about the 300 new gardai at their ceremony standing shoulder to shoulder last week…….

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Mar 23rd 2020, 1:59 PM

@Ray Ridge: No they weren’t. There was a huge gap between each one.

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:16 PM

@Laughable: Not at the beginning of the ceremony …..they were shoulder to shoulder. Had a gap between then later alright.

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:21 PM

@Laughable: https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0319/1124252-coronavirus-garda/

There you go sir…..I might not have got A1 in higher level mathematics but I know what 2 metres looks like.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 23rd 2020, 5:29 PM

@rockmast: Gardai are sitting beside each other in cars for 12hrs as well. They can’t physically distance. Maybe you should be giving them a little gratitude, they can’t stay home.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Mar 23rd 2020, 5:52 PM

@Paul: I was going to say the same…they take the risk and are probably more like “family” as they spend as much time together as with their actual family these days.

Mute Rob Devine
    Favourite Rob Devine
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:01 PM

Social distancing isn’t happening. People are too thick to do it.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:09 PM

@Rob Devine: cast majority are doing it, there will always be the fools. The army and Guards can deal with them when the time comes, I suspect that will be soon enough. Maybe not though, hope that the numbers don’t rise.

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:45 PM

Bring in the army..

Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:57 PM

The Government appears to be loosing traction and goodwill with their ongoing reticence to impose stricter guidelines to protect the majority from the idiot minority. Hearing more and more of people taking action into their own hands and opting to largely self-isolate as a precaution. Time for our government to implement societal controls as a matter of urgency and not excuse the minorities anti-social and deadly actions.

Mute Sean Shanahan
    Favourite Sean Shanahan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:27 PM

6 Feet apart or 6 Feet under.

Mute John O Donoghue
    Favourite John O Donoghue
    Mar 23rd 2020, 3:55 PM

How come people can not get the message to social distancing how thick are people and as for the geniuses who went to Cheltenham and travelled abroad during this epidemic I’m very very surprised or am I !!!

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Mar 23rd 2020, 2:24 PM

Misinformation from governments around the world about has serious it is, Let’s be honest here we’re all doomed

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Mar 23rd 2020, 5:47 PM

A drive-thru McDonalds in Co. Cork had at least 17 cars in the queue at 4:15pm this afternoon. People wanted one last Big Mac…I chose NOT to join the queue much to the disappointment of my son. He will enjoy it when they open back up. No burger is worth a potential 20-30 minute wait!

Mute D'oh
    Favourite D'oh
    Mar 23rd 2020, 8:28 PM

@Seeking Truth: Don’t be hasty, something something tasty…..

Mute Marcin Wawrzonek
    Favourite Marcin Wawrzonek
    Mar 23rd 2020, 4:16 PM

I read very interesting study in regards to stopping not just this, but any epidemic. Lockdowns, closing borders, social distancing will not stop it if:
    1. there aren’t enough tests done that would detect active cases
    2. active cases are not separated from general population until come back virus negative (these may be hotels and other places where ppl can be placed with minimum comfort and cared for, for the duration of the infection)
    Obviously severe cases will need to be hospitalised, but self-isolation will not work. Why?
    1. a lot of ppl simply ignore it
    2. you will be still infecting your family and anyone who comes with the visit.
    3. it is not possible to control everyone in self-isolation to make sure they actually isolate

Detection and forced isolation is only real way to stop it.