You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Government to prepare draft law that would allow return of mask mandate if required

There are currently no plans to implement any such requirement and sources have stated that this is not expected at any time in the near future.

LAST UPDATE | 28 Jun 2022

HEALTH MINISTER STEPHEN Donnelly is set to draft precautionary legislation that would allow for masks to again be made mandatory in certain settings. 

There are currently no plans to implement any such requirement and sources have stated that this is not expected at any time in the near future.

The rationale for the preparation of the draft legislation is that, unlike during the Covid-19 emergency when there were laws on the books to bring in measures such as a mask mandate, no such legal powers are currently in place. 

The legislation has not yet been drafted but it is not expected to be completed this side of the Dáil’s summer recess, which begins from the middle of next month. 

Cases of Covid-19 have been on the increase in recent weeks due to the spread of subvariants of the Omicron strain. 

Speaking on RTÉ’s Today Claire Byrne this morning, WHO special envoy on Covid-19 Dr David Nabarro said he would “like everybody to be carrying a good clean mask” and to use them if they are feeling unwell or are “clustered together with others”. 

“If you find yourself clustered together with others in a cellar somewhere with no good ventilation, or in very stuffy public transport that’s really full of people, you want to be wearing a mask then to try to protect yourself,” he said. 

Nabarro said however that he did not believe it was currently appropriate for people to be required to wear masks.

“It’s time to get the marks out again. Not time I don’t think for really strong mandates but I do think places where we know people are at risk are places that perhaps masks should be prioritised,” he said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:53 PM

Just to be clear, there’s no way that a €135K payment on top of a €116K salary can be considered a “top up”. It’s more than doubling his wages. How did they get away with this for so long? What is wrong with the Irish public sector that every week seems to bring a new scandal of such proportions??

Mute David o Mahony
    Favourite David o Mahony
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:20 PM

We as a nation should demand he pays back his so called ” Top up”. The money was given in good faith. It is NOT rightfully his. End of.

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:36 PM

Greed and corruption are rife amongst these so called pillars of society. The government needs to address these issues immediately but they know that by doing so they will expose their friends and families to scrutiny.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Dec 9th 2013, 2:59 PM

This man didn’t get any top up , he’s only in the job 6 months,€3,000 a week is clearly not enough for the board members on Irish charities, all it seems political appointees. What do people on these boards do ?

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:14 PM

I’m going to make a com ain’t to the Gardai at Clontarf about fraud. Any charitable donations were given I. Good faith to assist the organisation, not more than double wages. I encourage others to do the same.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:15 PM

*complaint

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:36 PM

Wait a minute, can he keep all the stolen money? And no jail time? Wtf?

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:45 PM

Its called …benchmarking, a wonderful pocket-lining mechanism invented by Bertie Ahern, Champagne Charlie McCreevey et al.

Lest we forget……..

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:50 PM

Yep, A top up would tend to sound like a % of you salary and not the other way around

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:05 PM

It has nothing to do with benchmarking

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Dec 10th 2013, 6:38 PM

True true

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:52 PM

A top of 135k on a basic salary of 116k….. wtf is wrong with these people!! Its a charity for sick people, world leaders don’t receive that much.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:33 PM

It’s a sick charity for people in deed of top ups.

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:49 PM

Pity a few more public figures would not follow this example, particularly in public office.
    They accept no blame or responsibility for any of their actions.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:36 PM

No, the ENTIRE board of directors should resign. This falling on the sword or taking one for the lads is allowing the vast majority to STILL get away with it. Ross is right. The board needs to do the right thing ……………

Mute ISBA
    Favourite ISBA
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:38 PM

Cronyism Irish Style and Jobs for the boys-those top ups are more akin to theft. Entire Board of Directors must go, no respect for or understanding of Corporate Governance

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:10 PM

The ‘Top Up’ was more than the actual salary!!! Thievery.

The money was raised by a charitable fund and was then misdirected. These people should be arrested for fraud. Thieving s(umbags.

Mute Dabucktoothfrog
    Favourite Dabucktoothfrog
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:52 PM

Resign ……… Fire the lot of them !

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Dec 9th 2013, 4:31 PM

Bear in Mind the Board must have known this previously & sanctioned it. Whose to say they havent received top ups as well. This musnt just end with this resignation. THIS is indicative of ALL that is currently wrong in Ireland at the upper echelons inc Goverment. This Cronyism & watching out for each others backs in the Golden circles has to STOP somewhere. This is just plain Disgusting & down RIGHT wrong in anyones language

Mute gary jordan
    Favourite gary jordan
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:55 PM

He better not get a pay off or a ‘goodbye envelope ‘ of any kind !!!

Mute maguire
    Favourite maguire
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:31 PM

Watch for it .

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:03 PM

He will Gary and a percentage of an enormous pension, all money in the pot for the cronies of high office ! Watch for a new political diversion now !

Mute Culturafranca
    Favourite Culturafranca
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:27 PM

So they guy who didn’t take a ‘top-up’ resigns. What about the other members of the boards, did they get ‘top-ups’? Potentially, this could result in an even bigger mess. The one member who can understand why this is problematic goes, leaving the CRC to be governed by those who won’t admit any wrong doing. Anyone who signed off on ‘top-ups’ or received one has the moral obligation to resign or be sacked/prosecuted for the embezzlement of charitable funds.. But of course this won’t happen.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:49 PM

Proper order

Mute Rawoc
    Favourite Rawoc
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:19 PM

While the CRC are a current example, there are rumours regarding salary packages and other dubious practices in several other charities. It’s high time that all public charities were forced to openly publish audited accounts in the same way that public companies must do. Would allow for a lot more transparency and confidence as to exactly where donated funds were ending up.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:48 PM

What is the possible reason for Charities not publishing their financial statements, every other business does it so I’ve no idea why these guys are immune to it, in fact they have a greater responsibility to produce their accounts so that people can make informed decisions about what charities they wish to donate to. I feel their problem is that they’d never get anyone to volunteer again once they found out the kind of money the guys at the top are milking out of these charities.

Mute Frank Mc Carney
    Favourite Frank Mc Carney
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:21 PM

Ted I do not know when the requirement to publish audited a/c’s ended particularly when the charity was getting both public donations and government funding. I myself was involved with one of Ireland’s charities back in the 90s and if audited a/c’s were not published and available then no government was forthcoming. Perhaps this law only applied to organisations where government lackeys were not on the board.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:17 PM

Check out CP and see how tax payers money is used to help fund it.
    It is a “charity” that trains leaders to lead outside authority- so not responsible to ministers or the people.

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:08 PM

I welcome this. Will the dail committee also demand that the government advisors being paid well over the agreed pay ceiling show up too?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:19 PM

Stop you..you are not allowed use common sense. Don’t you know its illegal

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Dec 9th 2013, 2:19 PM

Government advisors?!
    Eh, look over there, Gerry Adams is riding a puppy!
    Shame on him!

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:27 PM

http://www.stopcp.com/cpmindmap.php

No common sense accepted,only common purpose

Mute maguire
    Favourite maguire
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:34 PM

No more donations to anyone anymore I’ve decided I’m in more need , let the government do the donation now

Mute AnneMarie
    Favourite AnneMarie
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:23 PM

Or you could just spend 5 minutes doing research and be confident your money is being spent in an ethical fashion? Hundreds of life-changing services are being provided by charities all over the country with little or no help from the government.
    Also, isn’t a donation from the government the same as a donation from you anyway??

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Dec 10th 2013, 6:46 PM

Mary Kennedy gets €150000,plus expensives and car from the special Olympics,and she is on at least a dozen boards,and this greedy woman wanted to be president,,,greed greed greed

Mute PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Favourite PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:58 PM

Sadly I cancelled my standing order of 9 years to CRC this morning. Irreversible damage done to a good charity by a disastrous board of management. Anyone got suggestions for a reliable charity alternative?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Dec 9th 2013, 2:20 PM

What kind of person thinks they are entitled to receive money that was meant for people in need in the first place.

There are so many people with no morals.. Its scary

Mute John Kinsella
    Favourite John Kinsella
    Dec 9th 2013, 2:21 PM

St. Vincent de Paul

Mute Ronan Mac Gearailt
    Favourite Ronan Mac Gearailt
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:03 PM

Peter McVerry Trust?

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:08 PM

Sadly no Paul, give it to the homeless person on the street or buy him a hot meal and 20 smokes !

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:12 PM

Peter Mc Verry Trust ?? pffffft.

Mute Bobbie Byrne
    Favourite Bobbie Byrne
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:48 PM

@Paul

Paul Kiely is very grateful for your financial support over the last nine years.
    He wants you to know that the Rolex watch is still going strong!

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:28 PM

Psychopathic traits.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:13 PM

Hi Paul, fair play for your 9 years support of the CRC. I’ve just come in home from there no with my 3 year old girl Toni. She has CP and requires a lot of therapy. I am going to ask you and others to keep giving to the CRC. I know this may seem a bit cheeky but by stopping what we give we will only hurt people been treated there. I know these top ups will not be happening after this and should never have happened. It’s very upsetting for people like you and parents like me and my wife to find out that this was happening but I fear now that the CRC and both the schools are gonna suffer for the actions of a few

Mute PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Favourite PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:08 PM

Hi Johnny I appreciate your position but give the heads buried in the sand at the top of this charity it seems the only way to force immediate change is for finders like me to pull the cash. When I see the board resigning I will reinstate the donations

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Dec 9th 2013, 2:26 PM

How can €135k be considered a top up on a salary of €116. I get a monthly bonus which roughly equates to about one twentieth of my monthly salary and even then it’s taxed. Corruption is alive and well in Ireland. One would have to sell a hell of a lot of sandwiches and cokes in the hospital shop to make that top up available. Disgusting. I can see their donations totally drying up now. People won’t give now thinking it’s going into some well off consultants pocket. They really have just slain the golden goose.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:25 PM

Thats just £ucking great now he wont have to appear before the Public Accounts Committee, so we will never get the truth.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:35 PM

Yes, Carcu. I suspect you’re right. I think there’s a lot more brown stuff to hit the fan and I’d say he was in the firing line. I was in Grafton Street the other day and I didn’t see one person donate to the charity boxes (can’t remember the exact charity now).

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Dec 9th 2013, 4:05 PM

I bet that was the only reason he resigned, not man enough to face up to questions from the committee, they still better drag all the board directors in for questioning, a lot of unanswered questions yet.

Mute maguire
    Favourite maguire
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:31 PM

How much is he getting to go out with ???

Mute James Barron
    Favourite James Barron
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:05 PM

Is it time that an in depth psychological study was carried out on people in positions of power within organisations like this? Surely one can not take this much money from a charity and still consider themselves psychologically sound. I can understand that if it was a once off then you could write the person off as a heartless monster with no morals, but it’s so endemic to people in certain positions if power that there must be some kind of rational explanation for it.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:27 PM

@James Bannon
    Hear, hear!
    I also think that criminal charges should be brought against bastards who steal from charities.
    Top up, my arse!

Mute Bobbie Byrne
    Favourite Bobbie Byrne
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:56 PM

@James

There was a study done years ago in the UK I think and it said a lot of politicians have the same traits as sociopaths believe it or not. The people we’re talking about here are not politicians but they are the type of people who would get into politics because it furthers their own agenda and not the agenda of the people. Utterly self serving and having zero empathy = sociapath.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Dec 9th 2013, 4:34 PM

Because ‘Entitlement’ culture doesnt just stop at one level of social strata……………….

Mute Jose Verandah
    Favourite Jose Verandah
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:08 PM

@James Barron: FBI report on the corporate psychopath. Apply the findings to some of our beloved leaders also. http://www.fbi.gov/stats-services/publications/law-enforcement-bulletin/november-2012/the-corporate-psychopath

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:30 PM

http://www.zengardner.com/psychopathy-rampage/

Psychopathy On A Rampage”
    CorbettReport: As more and more studies demonstrating the corrosive effect of psychopathy on government, finance, and business emerge, researchers have begun to explore how our society itself has been molded in the psychopaths’ image. Now, one of those researchers, Stefan Verstappen, shares his insights on psychopathy in modern culture. This is the GRTV Feature interview on Global Research TV. -”

Someone has answered your question.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:32 PM

Our own Thomas Sheridan has wonderful work on you tube on this.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/ThomasSheridanArts

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 6:35 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knVCz3X5Q_A&feature=c4-overview&list=UUFfLoo34R6z0hz-9pZtBuHQ
    Thomas Sheridan explains why we are in the trouble we are in.

Mute Frank Mc Carney
    Favourite Frank Mc Carney
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:13 PM

A move in the right direction but more needed. Time for all who involved to pack their bags and get out of public life permanently. Also should pay back in full everything taken. The appointment of people in these roles MUST be taken out if the hands of politicians for on e and for all.

Mute AnneMarie
    Favourite AnneMarie
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:20 PM

While this is truly terrible behaviour from the CRC, I would urge anybody looking to give something to charity to not be put off by this. There are loads of fantastic charities all around the country operating on a local and national level, run by staff and volunteers that put in hard graft and work plenty of unpaid hours, doing their best with limited funding.
    If you have any doubt, contact your favourite charity and ask them how their money is spent. Most good charities will have their accounts online to view or to send out and will have no problem answering any of these questions. Please don’t be put off by giving, spend 5 minutes on research and be confident that your hard-earned money is going somewhere it deserves!

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:44 PM

I agree Annemarie. Well said

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 9th 2013, 7:30 PM

My family simply give to the actual people on the ground personally. We learned a long time ago about charity organisations and who gets the cream. it was all there after Live Aid and still people did not see.
    If it is a charity they why are people being paid? Surely the idea is to give free of time and money.?

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:19 PM

Including the CRC Annmarie, there are a lot of people been treated there who are going to suffer because of this.

Mute AnneMarie
    Favourite AnneMarie
    Dec 9th 2013, 10:46 PM

Think of all the support charities provide to thousands of people. Barnardos counsellors, guide dog trainers, Aware’s mental health professionals, Irish Cancer Society’s researchers. Securing professionals with years of experience and training is simply not feasible without paying them. The only exception I can think of is MSF and even then the doctors have all their expenses paid and only do it for a year’s stint as they too need to earn a living wage.
    The point of charities is to provide services that the government does not or cannot. Most charities services are given for free in order to ensure people who need them are not exempt due to lack of income. Fundraising is there to support those services and the people who make it possible.
    Any decent charity will happily give out income scales, accounts etc.

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:43 PM

All the comments sound surprised by the apparent corruption at the heart of the CRC board. These people grew up the the Bertie-o-sphere where such “generosity” to themselves was normal. The problem is as much the true face of Fianna Fail as the individuals associated with them.

Mute That's all folk's
    Favourite That's all folk's
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:56 PM

Good enough, feckin lowsers….

Mute Dabucktoothfrog
    Favourite Dabucktoothfrog
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:54 PM

Will Ahearns pal Kiely be allow to keep the money he robbed ?

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Dec 9th 2013, 3:39 PM

I’d say there will be a lot Santa Bears left over this year !!!

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Dec 10th 2013, 12:02 AM

The gordon gekko school of management training. Greed is good. Watch where he’ll appear next.