You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

New on-the-spot Covid fines: €500 for organising events in breach of rules, €150 for attending

Not wearing a face covering on public transport or in certain retail outlets can carry a fine of €80.

ORGANISING AN EVENT in a private dwelling in contravention of the government’s Covid-19 regulations will carry a fine of €500 being imposed. 

A new statutory instrument signed by Health Minister Stephen Donnelly will see fines coming into effect four weeks after the Bill providing for them became law.

Under the new fixed penalty notices, attending an event in a private dwelling in contravention of regulations can carry a fine of €150.

A person breaching travel regulations can be fined €100, while not wearing a face covering on public transport or in certain retail outlets can carry a fine of €80.

Last month, the prospect of a graduated fines system was first mooted.

The Taoiseach said at the time that the government’s priority was to “work with people to build compliance without having to rely on those measures”.

However, Micheál Martin and the Justice Minister Helen McEntee met with the Garda Commissioner Drew Harris recently to discuss enforcement measures during the pandemic.

In a statement this evening, the Department of Health and Department of Justice said the only enforcement power available previously when people violated regulations under the 1947 Health Act was a ‘Penal Provision’, which carried a maximum penalty of up to €2,500 and/or 6 months in prison, on conviction in court by a judge.

“The Government decided that a more flexible and proportionate system of sanctions was required for offences and breaches of the regulations,” it stated.

The legalisation has five categories of enforcement, as follows:

• Non-penal – These are for measures which are included in the regulations as not allowed, but which carry no penalty.
  • Penal – If a person is prosecuted in court for an offence, the maximum fines or prison sentence decided by the judge, under the new system of tiered penalties, depends on whether it is for a first, second or third or subsequent offence.
  • Relevant Provision – This allows for licensed premises to be shut for the day, or for longer in the case of further offences.
  • Fixed penalty provisions – For certain offences, the gardaí has the option of giving a person a fixed payment notice. 

The Fixed penalty notices are listed below:

fines

A person can pay the fixed payment notice within 28 days to avoid prosecution. But non-payment in the specified time means the person can be prosecuted.

A number of months ago, the government flagged that it wanted gardaí to be given powers to interrupt and prevent house parties.

Gardaí were given additional powers to direct people to leave the vicinity of a dwelling if they have a reasonable suspicion that an event in contravention of regulations is going on.

Gardaí can also direct the occupier to ask people leave, and can require the occupier to provide his or her name.

However, they do not have powers to enter a house or home under these provisions but can attend at the main entrance.

A person who does not comply with a direction the gardaí in relation to an event that is in contravention of the regulation could face a summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €1,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding one month or both.

The Irish Council for Civil Liberties has raised concerns with a move towards increased enforcement throughout the pandemic.

While the ICCL supports the public health effort and accepts that some restrictions on citizens’ rights are necessary, it has called on the government to use these powers in a manner “that complies with Ireland’s human rights legal obligations”.

“This means all decisions made to restrict our rights must be clearly necessary, as minimal as possible to protect public health and taken in a democratically robust manner – with transparency, consultation, and clear communication with the public,” it states.

The government statement says the new regulations will be in place for the duration of the pandemic. It said he gardaí will continue to use police through engagement, educations,encouragement and ”enforcement as a last resort”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

100 Comments
    Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:46 PM

Will they be giving fines out to the elite of this country, RTE, Judges, Politicians and the rest of the government cronies.

Mute Joe Steel
    Favourite Joe Steel
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Jimmy Mac: 1 law for us and another law for THEMSELF

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Joe Steel: No there isn’t. If there isn’t a law it can’t be broken. If the law is in place and then people get away with breaking it, then you can complain.

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:35 PM

Has that ship not sailed?

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:45 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: exactly- we now have vaccines so instead of planning to open up we are planning to fine people? Some geniuses!

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:26 PM

@John Lyons: Gonna be a long time before large numbers of people here are vaccinated

Mute Dave Phelan
    Favourite Dave Phelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:35 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: you said a vaccine would take years too!

Mute Pat Mc Cormack
    Favourite Pat Mc Cormack
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:30 PM

They can Shove their Fines Up their Arses

Mute Mike Litterus
    Favourite Mike Litterus
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:36 PM

@Pat Mc Cormack: took the words out of my mouth prior to scrolling to comments!

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch

@Pat Mc Cormack: enjoy Mountjoy.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:30 PM

@Pat Mc Cormack: “Shove the fine” mesning let me guess…you’ll “do what you blee din want!” Mr rebel Paddy…Anti lockdown anti ff fg anti masks anti visors anti hand sanitiser anti 4g anti 5g anti 6g. Did I miss anti thing Pat??? Charming man!

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: Nice tirade. Quite the charmer yourself, Gavin.

Mute Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Favourite Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Fergus Lynch: there isn’t enough room in “the joy ” for real criminals, where are they gonna fit everyone ?

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Pat Mc Cormack: hard man

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:53 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: Do you ever actually have anything to say? Every comment of yours involves shrieking absolute gibberish from your high horse…

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:42 PM

Totally unenforceable. The Gardai have enough to be doing. They are trying to get people to turn against one and another

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:32 PM

@Paul Dolan: Turn against one another to what end? What is the benefit of the current government having a restless and fractured populous?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: Takes the attention off the farcical management of this

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:52 PM

@JedBartlett: …but the farcical management of this would be the actual root of the unrest. Hardly a distraction, is it? For someone who has a username—albeit spelled incorrectly— based on one of the best political minds in fiction, you don’t have much of a clue, do you?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:22 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: Good man, Ajax

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Paul Dolan: The Gardai have enough to be doing? Enforcing the law is what they’re supposed to be doing anyway!

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:47 PM

I cannot understand how we are allowing all these fines to be brought in. North Korea here I come

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Paul Dolan: another 6 people died today, people aren’t taking this pandemic seriously and aren’t behaving with regards to their fellow man.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Paul Cunningham: We maybe if they stopped BS’ing about peoples homes and started telling the truth about other factors like some workplaces and schools, or at the very least have the same checks of these places, as many have commentated, that many workplaces and schools are not compliant either.

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Da Dell: tell me exactly what these people died from. They are not reporting deaths accurately. May they all rest in peace.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:20 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Taking this seriously doesn’t just apply to the people. It applies to the hse and Nphet also. Condolences to the families of the 6 people who have died but I’d wager a few of those were in nursing homes where they should have had a better chance of being protected.

When people are finger pointing at other people, it’s easy to overlook Nphets culpability in some of those who have sadly died.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Paul Cunningham: A lot more than 6 people died today. Some possibly as a direct result of these insane restrictions fueled by hysteria and fearmongering. Where’s the pandemic when we’ve had months of below average excess deaths?

Mute Fionnuala O'Brien
    Favourite Fionnuala O'Brien
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Along with the other 80 or so who die everyday.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:47 PM

@Paul Cunningham: a lot more than 6 people die everyday. It’s called the circle of life. Why the obsession with Covid deaths?

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:23 PM

@Paul Cunningham: people die everyday unfortunately, thats life

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Nov 24th 2020, 10:32 PM

The “open up” gang are basically the “Trump 2020” gang without the hats

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 11:04 PM

@JusticeForJoe: The “Lock it down” gang are basically the bed wetting hysterics intent on prolonging the misery perpetuated by their fear, in the guise of some greater good.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:55 PM

I’ll be attending and organising private events throughout the festive season and no amount of government threats will stop me. They can’t issue a fine if you don’t open the door.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:13 PM

@RRJ Whelan: will mammy let you go?

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Fergus Lynch: She’ll be at some of them.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:42 PM

Just another way of fleecing the public can’t get water charges we’ll have mask charge

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:27 PM

@nelliekel: Just another way of fleecing the public? So have laws with no penalty for breaking them? Seriously?

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen

Welcome to ireland 2020. Politicians behaving like mafia.

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra

What’s the definitions of “organised” and “event”? What if friends and family just randomly turn up with a bag of cans at my house unannounced and I don’t turn them away. That’s not organised and I wouldn’t constitute it as an event.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: I suppose something like a Golf Outing or a Retirement do would be organised ..

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Da Dell: or a national funeral

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:32 PM

@Margaret Mcgarry: or funerals (plural) Margret was more than one public one with large gatherings from different countries ..

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:51 PM

Guards looking into houses on December 25th. “10 people at the dinner for Xmas, that’s another 500 for us”

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:40 PM

@Winston Smith: That’s not a dinner it’s a funeral service for the Turkey

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:00 PM

Are they going to start checking workplaces and schools for compliance, or are we going to continue to pretend that peoples homes are a major contributor as we have being doing since March. Plenty have mentioned in comments that many many workplaces and schools are not compliant.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham

Can they actually enforce it this time? I still see no fixed date for this, and it should be done ASAP with some of the carry on around.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:24 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Pretty much a waste of time. Very easy to get around these.
    House party? Just don’t answer the door.
    Travel? Just on the way to visit a grave.

Job done

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:32 PM

@JedBartlett: Masks in shops? Exempt.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:50 PM

@RRJ Whelan: caught having your arm around a person, just say you work on tv

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:30 PM

@Paul Cunningham: “carry on”… you mean people living their lives.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:12 PM

I presume the poorly paid staff of rte are exempt

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:28 PM

It looks like they’re going to start fining people for exercising their right to assembly enshrined in EU law. I can’t see any of them being enforceable

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:45 PM

Better late than never. How selfish can you be to organize a house party!

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Munster1: read the article. Such an event could be a few in for a Christmas drink. Next door neighbour, a sibling and their partners, etc. A house party is different

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:24 PM

@Munster1: I don’t know but I’ll find out soon!

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:10 PM

Were becoming a Nanny state

Mute Aidan Keogh
    Favourite Aidan Keogh
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:20 PM

@Justin Hanley: becoming? Yearning for it seems to be closer to truth. There’s people today don’t want to cross a road without the government holding their hand

Mute Karl Mc Cauley
    Favourite Karl Mc Cauley
    Nov 24th 2020, 5:45 PM

About time.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:06 PM

Just go to the park and drink some cans with your mates instead ..

Mute Tony Bourke
    Favourite Tony Bourke
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:50 PM

@Paul Cunningham: hello Paul the people of Ireland have but now the cracks are appearing golfgate rtegate the endless barrage from media about Covid well did Mattie McGrath say it recently in the Dail depression unemployment HSE mess up at the start of the pandemic needless lives dying and all the suicide deaths and not to mention no allowance for views opposing the governments experts no mention of CSO figures of deaths in Ireland we won’t listen to our own doctors who are speaking out Dr De Brun Dr Feely and the others from Covid recovery will we not listen to others maybe our problem is we won’t listen to others a friend of mine would say to me we have tow ears and one mouth pause and think on that and if one has a different view one is branded a conspiracy theorist I recall growing up in Ireland watching Question and Answers political program and it was healthy to have a discussion all these fines to me are threats if we don’t go along with the status quo Lord have mercy on us God Bless

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:07 PM

And if your caught all you should have to do is say ‘sorry’

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:10 PM

It’s kind of funny and sad at the same time reading all these comments. How will they enforce this? Can they enforce it? Will it work? Etc etc.
    It’s sad because it seems only of of these comments is right. That ship has sailed.
    We em has these fine (but much more severe) in Australia since May. $1000 for everyone at a pretty and $5000 – $10,000 and or 3 months in prison for hosting.
    It happened twice. They got the message. They can enforce, and it works.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:33 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: EU law enshrined the right to assembly in the Lisbon treaty. You may not have it in law in Australia but it is here. Fine people for exercising that right would be contradictory to that law

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:37 PM

@Darren Byrne: I think a lot has changed the past year, never mind since 2009. For example. What article in the Lisbon treaty mentions a global pandemic and the best ways to tackle it?
    My point being, it seems to be working in Australia. It’s Not working in Ireland. And anyone who thinks it is might want to go back to a broom of a glass in the excuse that is called wet and dry pubs.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: Maybe if you read the article about the 2 lads with hundreds on convictions, caught while robbing peoples homes, who attacked those people defending their home and the Gardai who came, getting off again with light sentences you’d have a better understanding.
    Not many in Ireland believe the BS narrative that has been shoved down our throats since last march anymore, except the FG cult and the brainwashed RTE type masses, that whats happening in peoples homes are a major contributor. Drinking and House Parties have been widespread since last March and we know because these same types have been complaining about it since, but there was no major surges since march through the summer. What we all have seen evidence of though is that a certain sector, like Politicians, Judges and RTE presenters have regularly flaunted the regulations and all they have to do is say sorry, so no I dont agree at all, why cant the ordinary Irish person say sorry and get away with it. I have 2 elderly parents, one with Parkinsons and they dont buy the bs anymore either, they and my family have been in a virtual lock-down since last March and has most we know. But we see in places that are allowed to open like workplaces and schools all flaunting the regulations and they are not being checked. Check all and fine all or dont bother at all.

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Da Dell: why? You continue to keep asking yourself that mate. That’s the issue. Excuses and questions instead of clarity and leadership from everyone. If you can’t see by now that it’s up to everyone to show an example and so the right thing rather than play the game of excuses (he’s not doing it so why should I?) then prepare for a long in and out lockdown. Meanwhile in Australia, we will be having a hassle free and Covid free Christmas. Why? Because we had the right attitude. Quite simple really, Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good

If you choose to believe what you want to be true rather than what is true, it will come back and haunt you. It’s just a question of when, not if.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:47 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: maybe go back and actually read what I said for starters .. my family and me have been in a virtual lockdown since March, we didnt lessen our vigilance even after Leo lead the way twice, 1st on the first lockdown ending and 2nd when he went on TV to give NPHET a telling off for wanting to protect lives .. facts have shown what i believe, not the pr being pushed, evey week is a flip-flop from the Gov and this is another load of baloney to try an appease the social media crowd agian.., maybe keep up with all the news from Ireland instead the FG narrative that the journal spins daily .. I lived in Oz for a few years and have plenty of family and friends still there, I know exactly what has gone on there, and I wouldnt be crowing too early either about it either .. NZ is a far better example ..now put that in your pompus pipe and smoke it.

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:04 PM

@Da Dell: not sure where you are getting the notion I am pompous. As for keeping up with Irish news. I emigrated to Oz 20 years ago. ALL my family are still in Ireland and I’m in touch with them daily on SM and weekly with either friends or family on FaceTime or Skype. I don’t read the journal articles that much. To be honest I’m more here for the comments, as I get another rounded view of what the public are thinking and also keep check as to where they my family are just telling me what I want to hear or not. So to my original post, you only have to read other posts on here to see the reason it’s still spreading. Sure, you and your family have done the right thing. I actually never said you didn’t. However to suggest because others aren’t, no one should kind of proves my point

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:12 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: Da Dell, I will totally agree with you that everyone has to throw their weight behind doing the right thing. But it’s not about who you work for or your social or media status and apologising, it’s about everyone doing it. It’s about individual attitudes to o attacking this thing back. As you say, NZ were a perfect example of that. And Aus were on the right track and only had 24 cases on the whole country and all in lockdown. Aus showed it only takes 2 lax security guards to spread it to tens of thousands and cause another 800 deaths. But you knew that.
    For me, I’m worried about my friends and family in Ireland, and the attitude of “id then can do it we can all do it” isn’t going to get them out of lockdown any time soon. Not that you could call it a lockdown

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:14 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: Oh yeah the Journal comments section is the place to see Covid is spreadiing !! I think not .. I left Ireland Oct 9 for Zurich, after my 14 day quarantine was over I was able to enjoy my first pint in a pub since march, all places open here with restrictions and no problems that way, they have had surges as they had expected and warned abput when the schools opened and when more workplaces relaxed restrictions, i like the honesty. and the last line of my original comment to you was “Check all and fine all or dont bother at all.” meaning stop blaming one sector while not even checking others ok

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:16 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: You won’t get a rounded view of what the public think on the Journal. You just get the same argument day In day out.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell

@Jonathan Nolan: Its a lockdown of people in their homes and restrictions on what people can or cannot do in their homes, while workplaces and schools can flaunt the regulations, even some teachers commentating here have said it straight out. we have seen the so called leaders having serious lapses of judgement here but a ‘sorry’ suffices, but blame the people as if its all the peopel. I not saying no to fines, im saying no to just one sector being singled out to be fined .. My brother dosent let his kids near our eldery parents becacuse they are mixing with 1000 to 1500 of kids daily and our small home town is like a ghost town since last March, none of the pubs re-opened, only 2 that were also resturants reopened lately. There was no Covid in the town untill September after schools reopened, we believe the schools have a huge part in this, we not saying to close them, just to stop pretending and acknowledge it.

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:34 PM

@Da Dell: I don’t know what all the Afro is about in your comments mate. When you say check all and fine all, can you not see we are singing from the same hum sheet on that regard then?
    You are the one who is contradicting yourself.
    First you are asking why should you isolate while an RTE presenter goes to parties? Then you say fine everyone. On my way! Of the. Is correct. The fining; because If people can’t afford the fines because of circumstances due to Covid, it will work. Worked in NZ, worked in AU , and look where it got those countries. I’m simply stating fact. If facts to you come across as smug or pompous, you possibly don’t believe the facts. So back again to what I said previously. Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:19 PM

@Louis Jacob: I don’t obviously come only to the journal. It was more to make the point of articles V comments. I do read other media

Mute Jonathan Nolan
    Favourite Jonathan Nolan
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:28 PM

@Da Dell: precisely why I’m not calling it a lockdown mate. You haven’t had a lockdown in Ireland yet. Half the people staying at home, kids going to school, pubs and restaurants still open. That’s not a lockdown. Ireland hasn’t actually had a lockdown yet, yet people are still calling it one.
    All I see is excuses and questions resulting in dangerous attitudes which will constitute to a grim future where Covid is concerned.
    Excuses that you had a lockdown or are in lockdown. Excuses to keep pubs & restaurants open, (wet and dry, give me a break) excuses that the economy is more important than the health of the nation. Remember, a nation is only as strong as its people. Making its people vulnerable for economic stability?! All excuses leading to the inevitable.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:37 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: Firstly I am still working and can only reply when I go outside for a smoke, so I may be replying out of sequence to some of your comments, so sorry if that the case.
    I never questioned any isolations, nor said dont do because the RTE presenters didnt.
    What you seem to fail to understand here is that the fines mentioned here pertain mostly to activties in a persons home 3 out of the 5 are for that.
    What are the fines for breaches in workplaces Public & Private?
    What are the fines for breaches in schools ?
    What are the fines for breaches in Public Spaces, shops, resturants etc ?

I and the people I know do not believe the activities in peoples homes are the main driver of the surges.
    Did you know that if a kid got Covid in a school and transmitted to those in the familly home it was classed as ‘Community Transmission in the Home’ ?
    Did you know that up to 3 weeks ago only 2 schools had been checked for Covid regualtions compliance ? ( One teacher blatanly stated here that once the kids leave they acted the same as the RTE presenters and that it was commonplace )
    My brother back in Ireland has not let one of his kids go back to a certain school after mid-term as it was just not safe in his opinion, he did let his other 2 in 2 other schools as he felt those were fine.
    My workplace in Ireland and here is very very strict, its a pain in the rear tbh, but we just get on with it, but it seems that in Ireland in the Public sector where quite a alot can actuall wfh are flauting the regulations.
    I know a lot of Private Sector friends that would would rather wfh are being ‘bullied’ back into the workplace and many think its unsafe, but wont complain, as they still getting a wage when many are not.

Did you know that earlier when Meat Factories where found to be in breach of regulations they got the full support of the State, from the Gardai to the HSE to help them get compliant, while a Pub owner faced loss of his License etc

Most people I know have stopped listening to the contradictory flip-flop information from the Gov and their media lackeys and doing the best they can, trying to do what they can, with social distancing etc etc etc.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Jonathan Nolan: But your orginal comment on fining people in their homes does not adress the points in your last comment.
    But I agree with what you have said there, and its also the reason why this 3 ring circus of a Gov has lost the people also, that coupled with what we are seeing now weekly in their cronyism and any method to not accept responciblity & retain power rather than do things for the good of people of the country.
    I knew this llot would be a disaster, for many reasons, the main one in that they would all try to seem to be doing the rightt thing and that their party was the one to do so, while at the same time then sabotage the other partis and make them look bad etc .. I appllied for a transer the day they formed that Gov, at first I was worried I was a little rash, but every week since has confirmed to me it was the right thing to do.

Mute Machiavellian
    Favourite Machiavellian
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:02 PM

They’ve got to make some of the money they’ve blown on lockdowns this past 9 months back I suppose.

Mute cill123
    Favourite cill123
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:40 PM

Germany in the 1930s comes to mind.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:16 PM

The more these farcical rules and fines keep mounting the more i get reminded of the film V for Vendetta.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy

Anything relating to “events” inside a house is practically unenforceable. Also what is their definition of “event”? We’ve really gone mad with these regulations and forced closures of businesses.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:28 PM

Utterly useless for enforcing face masks in shops. The SI does not confer any power on a responsible person to enforce it or question your reasonable excuse for not wearing one, so how can they possibly issue a fine.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:39 PM

@RRJ Whelan: Can’t wear a mask? Wear a visor. Can’t wear a visor? No shops, sorry tough luck! Still adamant in shopping mask and visorless? You get that fine! No sympathy.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: You obviously don’t understand. You can’t be fined for not wearing a mask in a shop once you say you’re exempt. The law does not require you to prove your exemption or empower anyone to ask you what your exemption is. I haven’t worn a mask since day 1 and a simple ‘I’m exempt’ is all it takes. Do you get it now?

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:26 PM

@RRJ Whelan: Why are you refusing to wear a mask in shops?

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Sarah Connor: Because I have a reasonable excuse not to.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:46 PM

@RRJ Whelan: Hmm, Anxiety attacks? That’s the only valid reason I’ve come across. Guessing if you’re IT literate enough to post on the journal, you’d also be able to shop on line. It’s both funny and enfuriating that the people giving out about the extended restrictions, are also the people causing them by refusing to follow simple guidlines.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:16 PM

@Sarah Connor: @Sarah Connor: Hmm, guess again. I’m s

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:21 PM

@Sarah Connor: Hmm, guess again. I’m sure you can come up with a few more. That’s how loose the legislation is. There are myriad ‘reasonable excuses’ that exempts the non wearer. And the best thing is you don’t even have to explain what it is.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:37 PM

@RRJ Whelan: Yeah I know, kinda my point. Just because you can say I have a reason isn’t a good reason to do it. If you won’t follow basic advice, don’t complain about the restrictions, you’re contributing to causing them.

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Nov 24th 2020, 10:21 PM

@Sarah Connor: If you seriously believe that people not wearing masks are contributing to restrictions then you’ve not been paying attention.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Nov 25th 2020, 1:11 AM

@RRJ Whelan: Attention to what exactly? The vast majority of scientists are advising wearing masks. To be honest if you can’t see you are being part of the problem with that attitude, then there’s not much point continuing this conversation.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Nov 24th 2020, 6:34 PM

Don’t act the maggot, wear masks/visor when needed, don’t have parties or mass gathering of family dos etc…Guess what then happens?
    Yip…You don’t get fined or prosecuted! Imagine that!

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 24th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: How about this, when this pandemic is over how about we turn our attention to obesity. Before you scoff, remember that obesity dwarfs Covid when it comes to causing death and seeing as you’re such a big fan of fines, how about we allow the government to weigh every citizen once a month. For every pound over some weight they deem acceptable you get fined €5 and so on until you’re fit and healthy.

Seems crazy doesn’t it? Now imagine if somebody told you a year ago that you could be fined €100 for traveling more than 5km from your own home. 5km I may add that has absolutely no science to back it up. Just a random number they pulled out of the air.

I’d think twice before reaching for the chocolate digestives!

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    Nov 24th 2020, 9:59 PM

Can’t believe there are ao many rule breaking paerties that the governement even makes own laws for them…unbelievable

Mute molly
    Favourite molly
    Nov 24th 2020, 8:06 PM

Will there be fines this weekend for Herman Kelly,, Dolores Cahill, Gemma ó D, John waters, Dolores Webster, Andy heassman, and so on at the protest planned in Dublin. . I doubt it. Yet the rest of us bide by the rules. Last Friday was a disgrace, in the CCJ and nothing done.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Nov 25th 2020, 6:48 AM

One more step towards a curfew, what do you expect from a Government made up from politicians most elected in the final counts in the general election.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Nov 25th 2020, 12:08 AM

About time