You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ghost off the Kinsale coastline yesterday. RNLI/Hetty Walsh

A cow that tumbled out to sea was rescued by a lifeboat crew in Kinsale

It took three and a half hours to rescue the frightened friesen.

A MOOODY COW nearly drove rescuers mad as she made valiant efforts to emigrate by making a dash for the open seas.

The one-year-old Friesian, named Ghost, took a tumble from her field at an area known as Dock beach, in the tourist hotspot of Kinsale, Co Cork yesterday morning.

The frightened Friesian, which was marooned on rocks, was spotted by a man out on a passing yacht and members of the RNLI in Kinsale were called to the scene at 12.36 pm.

Kevin Gould, Lifeboat Operations Manager said: “We got a call to say there was a cow in distress on the rocks. When we managed to get close to her she was quite aggressive and was cut and bruised.”

The cow eventually ended up in the sea and it took up to three and a half hours to rescue her. The RNLI took the decision to close the beach in case the cow made a bolt for beach goers and onlookers.

She was gently towed back to safety on the Kinsale RNLI lifeboat, Miss Sally Anne Baggy II, and several crew members.

“We had a bit of a bovine adventure rescuing poor Ghost, the cow, who tumbled from her field at Castlepark onto the rocks below,” Gould said.

The farmer who owned her was located and he warned us that she could be a bit moody on the best of days so we knew we had our work cut out for us. The crew had to show great patience in trying to rescue her. It’s one thing dealing with humans but animals are a different story as they can be quite difficult.

“We made the decision to close the beach as a member of the public could have tried to help her and instead could have endangered their lives.

“RNLI members involved in the rescue managed to get a rope around a halter that she was wearing and eventually entice her into a nearby field. She was then, after some time, loaded up into a trailer and taken home. We’re happy to say she is now safely tucked up in her shed having a good old feed of hay.”

It is not the first time that Kinsale RNLI have had to rescue animals either.

“A few months ago we had to rescue, ‘Paddy’ the horse who got caught up in mussel fields. The human variety are definitely easier to deal with but we never say no to any rescue,” Gould added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 40 comments
40 Comments
    Mute Frank Lloyd wright
    Favourite Frank Lloyd wright
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:36 AM

I see Ulster Bank are now charging for ATM withdrawals, contactless payments, and just having money in a current account. Who’s doing the robbing ?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:11 AM

@Frank Lloyd wright: The guys with the stolen diggers?

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:41 AM

@Frank Lloyd wright: when you get paid pull all money from account that does not require DD.

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:11 PM

@Frank Lloyd wright: Frank, you should go on Have I Got News For You.

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:48 PM

@Frank Lloyd wright: it took me 6 attempts over 2 years to close an empty account with UB crooks.

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:49 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: yeah. I do have some remorse for the diggers owners

Mute chris c
    Favourite chris c
    Apr 19th 2019, 8:54 AM

Here is an idea, tracking advice????? They didn’t think of that yet

Mute Mr N
    Favourite Mr N
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:15 AM

@chris c: And how would you power this device? Do you not think they would disconnect this device.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:35 AM

@Mr N: For God’s sake. Everything you need is in the most basic smart phone. Just put a sim in, power it from the ATM. It’ll have 12hrs battery life when the power gets disconnected. Use ‘find my phone’ to locate it.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute James Gorman #FBPE
    Favourite James Gorman #FBPE
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:37 AM

Cheap signal jammer or cheap RF detector to find it or store it in steel shipping container will sort sort that. They aren’t that stupid.

Mute Mr N
    Favourite Mr N
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:41 AM

@Paraic: GPS doesn’t work inside a metal box.

Mute Unsinkable No.2
    Favourite Unsinkable No.2
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:44 AM

@Mr N: Lithium battery

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:48 AM

@chris c: if you have a free standing atm in your premises move it as far to the back as you can. This will also help impulse buys from users and as these are being targeted directly, remove the cartridges at night and leave them in a separate safe.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:53 AM

@Mr N: Isn’t your car a metal box? Does your phone not work inside? Mine does. I know I use Google maps when driving.

Mute Mr N
    Favourite Mr N
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:55 AM

@Paraic: No, my car has windows. They’re very handy.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:14 AM

@Paraic: Look up faraday cage if you want to understand the discussion, otherwise you’ll make more embarrassing statements.

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:16 AM

@chris c: according to RTE , they have tracking devices , which are being disabled!

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Diarmuid Hunt: I know exactly what a Faraday’s cage is, being an Electronics Engineer. A Faraday’s cage must be grounded to sink the signal, otherwise it just acts like a big antenna. This is why your mobile phone works just fine inside your car, and why it is you who should be embarrassed.

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:15 AM

@Paraic: Any GPS tracking device installed in a vehicle needs to have a clear line of sight, unobstructed by metal, to the satellites. In cars and vans, it is usually placed in the dash, immediately underneath the windscreen. HGV, buses, etc. need to have an antenna mounted on top of the cab, wired to the device.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:30 AM

@Paraic: ammmm windows……

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:31 AM

@Paraic: ammmm windows in cars…..

Apr 19th 2019, 11:32 AM

@Mr N: ever think of stand up comedy as a career?

Mute Billy Heffernan
    Favourite Billy Heffernan
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:34 AM

@Mr N: thats what antennas are for. A little wire protruding and tadah, signal.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:52 AM

@Mr N: a battery?

Mute Michael Maloney
    Favourite Michael Maloney
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:56 AM

@Paraic: it’s time the bank copped on im sure a SIM card could be hidden somewhere in the unit

Mute Tom Cullen
    Favourite Tom Cullen
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Damien Mc Padden: Absolutely false. GPS on your phone uses triangulation from both GPS satellites and cell towers called assisted GPS. GPS sattelite tracking is accurate to within 5m where as AGPS is usually worst case 50m. Long story short, tracking works without sight of the sky, hence why you can get a location on your phone inside your own home.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:28 PM

@Paraic: Cars are not grounded, rubber tyres and are also not fully enclosed, windows, I hope you’re not working on any big projects as an electronics engineer. Phones don’t work in elevators, and a gps tracker wouldn’t work inside a shipping container. I’ll be embarrassed when I’m wrong.

Mute Ole dan tucker
    Favourite Ole dan tucker
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:32 PM

@chris c: lads they no who is taking them and where they are they are untouchable prob better armed than the state

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:54 PM

@Paraic: Slight tangent but still related, you weren’t doing any work in France recently were you?

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:06 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt:So now you agree with my point? An ATM in a vehicle won’t be in a Faraday’s cage because the van or truck will have tires so the enclosure isn’t grounded. Isn’t that exactly what I said? Mobile frequency RF will therefore penetrate. And exactly! An elevator IS well grounded so it won’t. But nobody mentioned ATMs being moved around in elevators before now. How is that relevant to the discussion?Phones can find their location by other means, even with GPS switched off. Didn’t you know this? Also, I never suggested that using a mobile phone as a tracker couldn’t ever ever be defeated but a metal enclosure isn’t a Faraday’s cage, unless it’s grounded… Difficult to ground in a moving vehicle as you rightly pointed out.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Paraic: Fair enough, I got the wrong end of the stick, and am rightly embarrassed.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:53 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: @paraic Don’t stop now lads. This is fascinating

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:01 PM

@Tom Cullen: I was referring to vehicle GPS tracking devices and am relaying the information given by the company employed to install such trackers on our fleet. They had to drill holes in the roofs of our trucks to fit the antennae.

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:22 PM

@Paraic: Can I ask how the grounding works when applied to helicopter linemen repairing live electricity lines?

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Apr 19th 2019, 3:51 PM

@Damien Mc Padden: they’re not grounding they are equalizing potential and discharging static

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Apr 19th 2019, 4:21 PM

@Damien Mc Padden: To answer your question stand bare footed in your filled bath and touch a live wire. Observe that being well grounded does not work to your advantage. Apply the principle to helicopter linemen. Helicopter linemen depend heavily on the fact that they are not grounded and the fact that electricity will always take the path of least resistance. So as long as a temporary circuit is made to bypass the faulty cable segment, it can be safely worked on by an ungrounded well insulated worker.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:26 AM

Its amazing you can bring a digger on a low loader and off load it and go through the process of removing two cash machines from a wall with all the noise this will make and load it onto a jeep and no one bats an eye, but in this same country you could drink 3 pints at night and be caught the morning after morning going to work purely because the gardai prioritize this operation over anything else!

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:37 AM

@Liam O Connor: you’re implying here that it’s the guards fault…..you clearly know nothing current Garda numbers if I think they have thr ability to have a presence at every town/village every night. In my area there is one patrol car 3 guards covering 2 towns and 11 villages. An area that takes 50 minutes to drive from one end to the other. Factor in all the rural roads as well. And u think they should hear an ATM being taken. They’re not psychic. I’d be asking the question why people who lived near it didn’t hear it/report it straight away

Apr 19th 2019, 11:38 AM

@Liam O Connor: that’s a bit daft you comment, think about it

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Liam O Connor: You a dum dum!

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:20 PM

@Anthony: there is a massive regional Garda station about 400metrrs away from these ATM’s in Kells

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:31 PM

@Anthony: my point is that is that proximity of loads of Gardaí still doesn’t stop it, it doesn’t seem like it’s possible to stop it without ARU at every crossroads and even then you have people posting on Facebook where the checkpoints are and where they have been, so criminals know where not to be.

Mute Thomas O Connor
    Favourite Thomas O Connor
    Apr 19th 2019, 3:51 PM

@Anthony: why would people in their right mind even think about reporting it.. Before it reaches RTÉ news, the lads that done the job would know the names of the whistle blower.. Hear no evil, see no evil, and speak no evil…

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Apr 19th 2019, 8:54 AM

Ridiculous that this can continue without any upgrade in security from banks or Gardai

Mute cybersecsteve
    Favourite cybersecsteve
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:09 PM

@John Fahy: Thats the idea. It is happening too quick they cant implement sec quick enough

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Apr 20th 2019, 12:43 PM

@John Fahy: or society outrage. Ambivalence.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Apr 19th 2019, 8:53 AM

Haha brilliant, who ever is at it is getting cocky..

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:07 AM

@Hardly Normal: Its a small group of RIRA members from the border area.

Mute Matthew Balfe
    Favourite Matthew Balfe
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:12 AM

@Darren: good man clouseau……

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:17 AM

@Matthew Balfe: Do you support them or something?

Mute Matthew Balfe
    Favourite Matthew Balfe
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:25 AM

@Darren: how does my comment suggest I support them?

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:37 AM

@Matthew Balfe: Then why comment?

Mute Carrington MacG
    Favourite Carrington MacG
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Darren: You’re new here, aren’t you?

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren

@Carrington MacG: You clearly aren”t with you’re perfect grammar.

Mute Matthew Balfe
    Favourite Matthew Balfe
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:21 AM

@Darren: How do you know this? How do you know they exist? Or is it that “they haven’t gone away ya know”

Apr 19th 2019, 11:36 AM

@Darren: I hope they have all the necessary safe pass qualifications for working near dangerous machines.

Mute pat murphy
    Favourite pat murphy
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:55 AM

@Darren: they haven’t gone away yeno

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:07 PM

@Matthew Balfe: Why? Do you think they dont exist or something? Theres at least a few dozen members around the area im from and unfortunately for me a family member got mixed up and is serving 14 years for “the cause”.

Mute Aire Dezamba
    Favourite Aire Dezamba
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:24 AM

Looks like police are only now realising there is an ATM robbery issue to hand. The radio said that they are having a meeting on it…soon..

Mute Ronan Skelly
    Favourite Ronan Skelly
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:36 AM

@Aire Dezamba: sorted so!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:53 AM

Dissident provos building up the cash reserves for a new criminal terror campaign?

And they seem to be getting away with it so easily too, do we have any Garda intelligence services who have any leads?

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly

@Dotty Dunleary: The biggest lead they have is for their Russell Hobb kettle!!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Apr 19th 2019, 6:55 PM

@Simon Connolly:

I understood it was the canine dept. that had the leads….

… i’ll get my coat.

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:30 AM

Watch now as they give more funding to the Gardaí but when the banks robbed the people there was absolutely nothing done. A few lackeys thrown into the jail whilst the big fish got off scot free.

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:34 AM

@Windom Earle: whoever said cut the funding was right until they start doing their jobs. Absolutely useless.

Mute Éamann Ó Duinn
    Favourite Éamann Ó Duinn
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:47 AM

Embarrassing considering there’s a Garda station in the town.

Mute Padraig O'Goire
    Favourite Padraig O'Goire
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Éamann Ó Duinn: less than 500m away

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:49 PM

@Éamann Ó Duinn: How many Guards do you think are likely to be working in a Garda Station like Kells station at 4:00am Éamann!?!! Assuming there are two Guards in the Garda Car, that are out patrolling, there’s hardly likely to be a platoon of Gardaí waiting to respond to an ATM robbery around the corner!! Population of Kells town is about 7,000 people, I’d hardly expect many Guards to be working!!

Mute Éamann Ó Duinn
    Favourite Éamann Ó Duinn
    Apr 19th 2019, 3:25 PM

@Nuffsaid Thatsall: The station is the centre for the Garda traffic corp in Meath so it’s bigger than what it is, secondly it shows badly they are structured that they even can’t get armed and offer some kind of intervention to a major crime a stones throw away from the station.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:09 AM

We need to cut Garda overtime to pay for this.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:21 AM

@Paul Freeman: A silly comment Paul

Mute Frank Lloyd wright
    Favourite Frank Lloyd wright
    Apr 19th 2019, 8:55 AM

Two ATMs stolen in Crumlin, County Antrim aswell.

Mute Padraig O'Goire
    Favourite Padraig O'Goire
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:52 PM

@Frank Lloyd wright: the Ra are building up a nice tidy some of money

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 19th 2019, 8:59 AM

Carnalstown?
    Is that where you go for a dirty weekend?

Mute Maria Dardis
    Favourite Maria Dardis
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:29 AM

@Paul: Somebody didn’t do their homework it is actually Carlanstown!

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne

Every Friday is a good Friday

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:25 AM

That’s not how withdrawals are supposed to be made.

Mute den o sullivan
    Favourite den o sullivan
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:08 AM

Once the .ATM moves from bank more 10 metres or is moved all cash flooded in red ink .

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:21 AM

@den o sullivan: Good one….and easy to make too, with a simple proximity detect switch or a tilt switch to burst the dye bag.

Mute davey boy
    Favourite davey boy
    Apr 19th 2019, 5:09 PM

@Pádraig Ó Braonáin: Banks already use them. It’s a ink block, generally hidden in stacks of notes. Move outside the bank a certain distance and it explodes. Has been around for years.

Mute DavidOReilly
    Favourite DavidOReilly
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:42 AM

Insurance premiums for these small shops will go trough the roof.

Mute Brendan Geoghegan
    Favourite Brendan Geoghegan
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:46 AM

@DavidOReilly: These were two large branches of AIB and BOI

Mute Billy Purcell
    Favourite Billy Purcell
    Apr 19th 2019, 4:46 PM

@DavidOReilly: better than digger bucket going through their roof

Mute In my opinion
    Favourite In my opinion
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:50 AM

Here’s a suggestion sounds obvious but why don’t they empty all ATM’s at night let’s say in rural areas therefor the boyo’s can pull the ATM’s but get zero therefor they’ll get greedy and venture further into towns and cities and hopefully get caught. Either that or hide a explosive device in the ATM that when it’s shifted it explodes injuring of killing the perpetrators

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary

@In my opinion: They were full for the Bank holiday weekend.
    Banks need to increase amounts to €50 for contactless payments and shops and pubs need to have more than one card machine on their premises. Eliminate cash as much as possible.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:01 AM

@In my opinion: Yeah, why not go the whole hog and put poison gas and minefields there too. Silly comments everywhere this morning

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:12 AM

@In my opinion: There are two problems with your suggestion! Firstly, – ATMs are designed that once loaded, they can’t be unloaded – thats to deter staff being put under duress by a theif to empty them during a robbery…they simply cant! That’s the case for ATMs inside premises’ anyway! Secondly, if the ATMs could be emptied, or the Bank branch ATMs were to be emptied, well that defeats the purpose of an ATM – people having quick easy 24/7/ 365 access to your money!! It’d make more sense to look at anti-theft ideas eg. Banknote dye etc, than inconveiniancing the public!

Mute Ronan Skelly
    Favourite Ronan Skelly
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:37 AM

@In my opinion: maybe people might want to use atm’s at night?

Mute Frank Scanlon
    Favourite Frank Scanlon
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: We have moved too far away from cash already, its not a healthy situation.

Mute Dave Nevin
    Favourite Dave Nevin
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:35 AM

Set up the ATM so that as soon as power is removed all the money inside is destroyed. Then it doesn’t matter how long the Gardaí take. They’d quickly stop doing it if there’s no money to be got.

Mute Gerry Corrigan
    Favourite Gerry Corrigan
    Apr 19th 2019, 9:35 AM

*Maudlin Road
    *Carlanstown

Mute Brian Martin
    Favourite Brian Martin

Are they not alarmed in such a way that as soon as there is a huge bang vibration similar to an atm being ripped from a wall with a big digger type sound that every alarm lights goes on and the emergency response team get there in mins to catch these guys. ..next they will be asking you to stand aside during the day while the digger gets stuck in

Mute Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Favourite Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:45 AM

@Brian Martin: well even vending machines or gambling machines have if you tilt them, so shouldn’t be beyond the realms of possibility!

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Apr 19th 2019, 10:46 AM

Remove the bucket from diggers to be parked overnight and close to ATMs… and take bucket away off site. Another alternative could be for cops to set a trap by staking-out diggers close to isolated ATMs.

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:17 PM

@Pádraig Ó Braonáin:

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:18 PM

@Pádraig Ó Braonáin: it would be easy to take the atm out of the wall without bucket on the machine

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:04 AM

How about a simple motion activated camera linked to any one of those 24/7 manned security firms who could then alert police. If the security firm see the screen go blank…if the thieves try to interfere with it, then they alert police anyway.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:36 PM

Thugs in control while the Gardai chase harmless old fellows for taking a pint——The result Nobody co-operates with them anymore

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:44 PM

@John Mc Donagh: Nothing harmless about drink driving, it costs lives every years.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 19th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Rochelle: Two pints is not drunk driving..

Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:38 AM

Hopefully theyre come upon by armed gardai in the middle of a robbery. Being dissidents theyl probably be armed. Bit of an aul shoot out. A few of them killed off. (The robbers that is) should put a stop to it for a while, and a bit of a good news story in the media for a change.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:43 PM

@Damo.f: There are no armed Gardai wandering around small towns and villages

Mute JustOneScoop
    Favourite JustOneScoop
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:51 PM

Simple. Just install dye exploders in the machines. Destroy the money inside if it comes under extreme movement. Ruin it all before it even gets to the footpath.

Mute Barbara Edwards
    Favourite Barbara Edwards
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:50 PM

Forget the dye or trackers – how about expanding foam? It’d solidify within minutes

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:35 PM

@Barbara Edwards: only on outer notes

Mute Jack Creegan
    Favourite Jack Creegan
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:20 PM

IRA building up funds for more guns.

Mute alan doyle
    Favourite alan doyle
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:56 PM

ATM’s are in our culture sir.

Mute Robbie Toner Snr
    Favourite Robbie Toner Snr
    Apr 19th 2019, 5:00 PM

Maybe it’s because I watch quite a lot of crime programmes.that I cannot understand why the police could not set up a snare for this kind of crime, for instance, a make believe building site with digger on site adjacent to small town with bank , this last episode really amuses me,to think that there was a police station 20yds from the crime scene and no police to take the warning from the lady who called in.

Mute Bass demon
    Favourite Bass demon
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:27 AM

Don’t these ATM have a security Dye that goes off when tampered with??either way these criminals need to do long stretches in the slammer no doubt they have probably been inside before, time to get rid of the bleeding hearts clubs who plead on their behalf with the sob stories and allow them back on the streets with ridiculously light sentences.

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne

Every Friday is a good Friday

Mute Liam O hAodha
    Favourite Liam O hAodha
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:50 PM

Since when was Cavan & Monaghan in “the south”
    I think you need a geography lesson

Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:46 PM

@Liam O hAodha: think you need one too.. “south off the border”

Mute Liam O hAodha
    Favourite Liam O hAodha
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:04 PM

@Yorkie1892: *of

Mute Liam O hAodha
    Favourite Liam O hAodha
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:05 PM

@Yorkie1892: the article says “in the south” not “south OF the border”

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Apr 19th 2019, 12:47 PM

Throw the book at them

Mute kokonutter
    Favourite kokonutter
    Apr 19th 2019, 11:26 AM

The Jeep brand of 4×4 is very popular with these robbers

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Apr 19th 2019, 2:00 PM

It’s the one hoist that you don’t need a inside man involved

Mute Ardlo Manor
    Favourite Ardlo Manor
    Apr 19th 2019, 5:26 PM

Has it occurred to anyone that this happened less than 300 meters from a Garda Station?

Mute Aidan Ryan
    Favourite Aidan Ryan
    Apr 19th 2019, 3:55 PM

My god… They have come south of the wall!!

Mute Paul Conaghan
    Favourite Paul Conaghan
    Apr 19th 2019, 3:10 PM

Is there no surveilance being carried carried out on this gang between 1-5 am?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:54 PM

It’s getting contagious

Mute Jeffrey Quirke
    Favourite Jeffrey Quirke
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:36 PM

Their robbing the public blind for years,,, F**k the banks !

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:58 PM

@Jeffrey Quirke: yeh cause it’s not gonna cost the customers / public for the loss and repairs.

Mute Mark McHale
    Favourite Mark McHale
    Apr 19th 2019, 1:59 PM

Seriously guys, how on earth is this happening. Makes us look stupid. Except for the guy with the digger

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Apr 19th 2019, 5:24 PM

Install a nice high voltage protection around them. Any digger breaks through it, will have a nicely fried occupant!

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Apr 20th 2019, 12:41 PM

Daring Criminality. As a society we have an ambivulance to wrong doing. Lacking civic spirit. This doesn’t occur in America where some machines are placed on footpaths.