You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dáil TV

Government shocked by creche claims: 'It's every parent's worst nightmare'

The HSE have been in contact with RTÉ and will be shown the undercover footage today.

A NUMBER OF créches in North and South Dublin are being investigated following revelations that children were mistreated in their care.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheal Martin raised the issue at Leaders’ Questions this morning in the Dáil and asked the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore what assurances the government could give that children across the country are being looked after in public or private care.

“As the government we are deeply concerned about these reports,” Eamon Gilmore said, speaking on behalf of the Taoiseach Enda Kenny who is in Athens today.

He continued that it is “deeply shocking” that anyone could behave in the way described.

(Image: Dáil TV)

RTÉ’s Prime Time Investigates programme secretly recorded staff at a number of créches and is set to broadcast the programme next week.

“It’s every parents’ worst nightmare… Every parent who is dropping a child to créche this morning should have confidence and trust that their children are being cared for,” added Gilmore.

He said “mistreatment is unacceptable in any setting”.

Martin detailed how parents were notified of the allegations at a meeting held last week in Malahide and that one staff member has been dismissed.

The Fianna Fáil leader added that the behaviour of those involved is “inexcusable and unacceptable” and that the “parents concerned are furious”.

“All cases of mistreatment should be reported as they have been in this case,” Gilmore responded.

He added that the HSE have been in contact with RTÉ and would be shown the undercover footage later today. “RTÉ are also liaising with the gardaí on the issue,” he told the house.

Gilmore said the Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald is giving the investigation her highest priority and denied that vetting could have led to this issue, but accepted that the vetting process is “very slow”.

Read: HSE and Gardai investigating creches after RTE exposé>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    May 23rd 2013, 1:32 PM

Firstly creches in ireland are way overpriced. 3 years ago i paid 1100 per month for a full day in the creche for my child. i have 3 children now so i could never afford at that price. to put them all in creche if i wanted to work. And to think that poor children are being treated like that…is it any wonder some of them are kranky and upset when you take them home. i live in germany now and we have a fabulous creche/ kindergarten in our village. it is attached to the primary school and when they are 6 kids move from kindergarten to school. it is all state sponsored and you pay 100 eur per month for each child over 3 and 190 for under 3. so for my 3 children it costs about 400 per month in total and thats for 7 hours per day. ireland should take a leaf out of germanys book when it comes to kindergartens and creches.
    my question is who regulates and checks up on creches to ensure they are following standards or checks their employees to ensure they have the proper qualifications?

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    May 23rd 2013, 1:44 PM

Sounds like a great system Mary. I think though our tax system should be designed to encourage one parent to work full time and the other part-time though.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 23rd 2013, 1:45 PM

We had the same here in Sweden when my son was a baby Mary. We paid about €50 a month then and what a service we got. Home cooked healthy meals everyday and wonderful fully trained staff that truely loved their jobs. If something like that abuse was uncovered here there would be guaranteed jail time involved. Absolutely despicable behaviour and I hope whoever is responsible for it, right up to managers and owners, are held accountable to the full extent of the law.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    May 23rd 2013, 2:07 PM

Why would you call your son ‘Mary’ ?

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    May 23rd 2013, 2:56 PM

The French also have a similar system, heavily subsidised, rigorously inspected and regulated and the children get healthy, balanced meals every day. Would it be that hard to do something like that here?

Mute Chris Riot Tapes
    Favourite Chris Riot Tapes
    May 23rd 2013, 3:16 PM

We’re one of those families that is basically trapped at “hand to mouth” levels of income (one good well paid job, one stay at home child care).

The cost of child care means that the amount the second parent could make would almost all go directly to childcare. For the benefit of having strangers “mind” our kids.

It’s a huge failing of the Irish state, leaving so many families in this position.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    May 23rd 2013, 3:50 PM

Its my belief that majority of creches offer excelent service.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 23rd 2013, 4:32 PM

majority of creches are work programs and are left go at end, its a lot of work experience to keep dole lines down,, they know dates when inspectors call and have all hands on deck,, creches are not all they should be in Ireland, you do a course for a few weeks, do your experience and hardly ever get a full time job as it is run on schemes, this scheme thing to get people off dole line has to stop and give some proper jobs, where the employer has to pay and not run a charity affair that is when people are interviewed and given a job,, then one knows the people that are there are not just passing through to finish a scheme for extra 50 quid a week,, sort of like the mentor one ,, another line of cheap labour doing people out of jobs,,, we are a scheme run country,, as well as course driven,, i know one lad doing courses for how many years,, he should be a surgeon but is still unemployed,,, we need to open our eyes to these schemes and say no,,, give us jobs in this country that is where there is a shortage ,, and wont be any real employment until schemes are done with,,

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 23rd 2013, 6:11 PM

Thought it had a better ring to it than “A Boy Named Sue.”

Mute Helena
    Favourite Helena

Amazed at the amount of comments and nobody thought to answer the question…crèches and pre-schools are inspected by the HSE, under the HSE pre-school regulations. Generally one inspector per county, crèches in Dublin may go for quite a while without an inspection due to the volume of them. It’s very easy for staff to behave perfectly on inspection day! Also, inspections are unannounced so child care services don’t know when inspection will be.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    May 23rd 2013, 6:59 PM

As EXCELLENT as your spelling :-)

Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    May 23rd 2013, 7:42 PM

daniel, i have 3 kids all under the age of 4 and i am in full time employment and my husband travels alot so rarely at home. Being unemployed in germany doesnt pay as highly as it does in ireland. tax on the other hand in germany is more expensive however you have the benefit of good healthcare where children up to the age of 18 get it free..and excellent childcare. i would never manage work in ireland with 3 kids…i would have no wages left!

Mute Saff Bells
    Favourite Saff Bells
    May 23rd 2013, 10:27 PM

I agree – I am a qualified childcare worker and took a brief career break to have my own baby and now I’m looking for work and all the jobs have vanished – where have they gone – into the internship and ce scheme section of the fas website.

Mute Saff Bells
    Favourite Saff Bells
    May 23rd 2013, 10:29 PM

Inspections are unannounced in the community childcare sector – in the private sector they are notified inspections. I always found this strange as the community sector is better imo – having worked in both – staff are better paid and less overworked in the community sector and happier in their jobs as a result -

Mute Norbert Toth
    Favourite Norbert Toth
    May 24th 2013, 4:36 AM

Somehow, the education thingz are better in every level , in the continental Europe. ( My wife is a teacher).

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    May 28th 2013, 6:03 PM

True.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    May 23rd 2013, 12:53 PM

I’m very disturbed by this. My little one is starting creche for the first time in 2 weeks and after this story I’m a little apprehensive leaving her in it. I know people might say that it’s only one particular brand of creche that’s at fault, but personally I think if people behave this way towards infants in one creche then the likelihood that it’s happening in them all is also great. I’d rather leave her with her grandmother after hearing these stories. People will turn around and say that kids can make people lose their rag with constant crying and messing etc….maybe so, but if you’re not fit to cope with this then choose another profession, end of!

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    May 23rd 2013, 2:59 PM

I think its unfair to tar all creche’s with the same brush to be honest,

Mute Nicolle Viljoen
    Favourite Nicolle Viljoen
    May 23rd 2013, 3:25 PM

Michael, as a parent, too, I understand your concern, but it’s not likely this happens in all crèches at all. I’ve used a couple, and in fairness the care my children are currently in is amazing. Make sure your crèche of choice operates an “open door” policy to parents and feel free to show up at random intervals to test the policy and catch the centre off guard. Also recommendations or negative feedback of a centre by word of mouth are surprisingly accurate. Check the Internet for any negative feedback. Raise any concerns you may have immediately with the centre, and best of luck. I truly hope the staff responsible for this will be held to account. I certainly don’t think they represent the majority of childcare workers in Ireland at all, thankfully.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 23rd 2013, 4:37 PM

i would check and see how long staff stay in creche,, if its only a scheme thing 20 hours a week for 3 years,, don’t put a child there,,, you should have full time workers who can get to know kids, and make sure they do comfort your child , as most wont even give them a hug if they are hurt,, which i find unreal,, kids are kids and need to know someone cares and is there for them,, otherwise you will have a child with no feeling , kids need to be shown love , respect and yes they need to be disciplined and shown correct ways as would any mom and if disciplined parent should be told when picking up to know what is going on with their children,,

Mute Marianna Farris
    Favourite Marianna Farris
    May 29th 2013, 12:17 PM

micheal, i live in Celbridge and I have a two years old.I am a student in BCFE ( ballyfermot ). my daughter has been going to the creche in the ballyfermot resources center for 2 years and they were very very good. they have an open door policy and are very caring and you can really see that they get really close to the kids. we had to take her out of the creche this year and on her last day she was given a bag of presents full of the things she loves the most( including one doll she always played with in the creche). so i guess i wanted to say that not all creche are bad. I have to say we were lucky cause that creche was the only one that we could afford ( as they are subvented by the state) of all the ones we looked into but if you do your resource you’ll find the right one.

May 23rd 2013, 12:56 PM

RTE fulfilling the states role again?

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    May 23rd 2013, 3:52 PM

Its always the same with you… Cynically, bitter….boring…. Life must be a complete drain on you and those around you….

May 23rd 2013, 4:44 PM

Well Declan do you not think the state agencies should be on top of this and not RTE after all what are they paid for otherwise?

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    May 23rd 2013, 5:47 PM

RTE is a state agency.

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    Favourite Darragh Ó Bradáin
    May 23rd 2013, 12:51 PM

Regardless of what’s happening in those crèches, recording children in secret and without prior parental consent is very wrong.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 23rd 2013, 12:55 PM

People get away with things like this because of people like you.
    Fair play to RTE for lifting the lid on these places.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    May 23rd 2013, 12:55 PM

Not in this case Darragh. They were working on a lead, needed proof, and they had to bring this to the public’s attention. I for one agree with it as it’s now brought it to light.

Mute Mind of Logic
    Favourite Mind of Logic
    May 23rd 2013, 12:56 PM

You would rather they inform the business and ask for their consent beforehand?

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    May 23rd 2013, 12:58 PM

To the nameless ManOnTheStreet: Brush up on child protection guidelines before making ridiculous comments like that.

“People like you…” Cop on!

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    May 23rd 2013, 1:02 PM

Mind of Logic: No. Recording children without permission is wrong no matter what the circumstances.

The red thumbs here don’t bother me, but people should really read up on child protection guidelines before criticising my opinion.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 23rd 2013, 1:18 PM

Child protection?
    You brushed off what happened to the children when you started your comment with “regardless of what happening in those crèches”
    You are more interested in nonsense PC than child protection. By your own admission. So yeah, people like YOU!

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    May 23rd 2013, 1:41 PM

I am pretty sure RTE will pixel-out the faces of people in the video for broadcast so nobody can be identified, thereby protecting the identity of the children and the workers (innocent until proven guilty).

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    May 23rd 2013, 1:45 PM

To the anonymous ManOnTheStreet:

I in no way brushed off what happened to those children. Everyone here knows what happened to them was wrong. The word I used was “regardless”. In this context it was used to temporarily remove the focus on the crèche staff’s practices and to focus solely on the unethical method of exposing it.

I don’t care about nonsense PC. In fact this has nothing to do with being PC.

Mute Barry Kelly
    Favourite Barry Kelly
    May 23rd 2013, 1:50 PM

RTE should have informed the Garda, HSE and social services with any allegations, not take it upon themselves to play detective with children’s safety involved. How long did it take to get a reporter with child care qualifications a job in the crèche?

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 23rd 2013, 2:06 PM

Let me just say again, well done to RTE on a fantastic job. The only thing wrong with this story, is that it needed the state broadcaster to catch these lowlifes and not the proper authorities.

Mute Margaret O'Keeffe
    Favourite Margaret O'Keeffe
    May 23rd 2013, 3:13 PM

It should be remembered that Children First Standards require that the welfare of the child or children should be the ‘paramount consideration’.

The ‘paramountcy principle’ is in keeping with legislation and practice guidelines in this area, including the provisions of the Child Care Act, 1991, the Children Act (2001) and Children First Guidelines (2011) – (which outline the child protection procedures that should guide the practice of the Health Service Executive and other associated parties).

See, ://humanrights.ie/children-and-the-law/carr-on-the-consitutional-amendment-and-children-in-care/

Arguably then, the secret filming by the RTE journalist could be justified on ‘the paramountcy principle’.

Mute Margaret O'Keeffe
    Favourite Margaret O'Keeffe
    May 23rd 2013, 3:14 PM

RTE did pass on the allegations to the HSE.

Mute Laura McDermott
    Favourite Laura McDermott
    May 23rd 2013, 3:31 PM

The same system also led to the closure of subpar nursing homes. I say let them do it if it will lead to better treatment and conditions

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    May 23rd 2013, 9:00 PM

How would you go about uncovering the truth then?

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    May 23rd 2013, 1:06 PM

Who cares about apostrophes??? Children have been mis treated in places where we believe they are safe and secure. I am sick at the thought if it. Somebody should have spoken about this sooner, they were under cover for 6 weeks. I know they needed to build the story but little ones were suffering needlessly during this time :-(

Mute Michael Rio
    Favourite Michael Rio
    May 23rd 2013, 1:09 PM

maybe I missed it, but what exactly was the mistreatment that everyone is shocked and appauled about.

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    May 23rd 2013, 1:13 PM

Children were left strapped into their feeding chairs for long periods of time, some even fell asleep in them. They were shouted at and roughly treated from what I have heard especially if they didn’t lie down and go to sleep at sleep time.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    May 23rd 2013, 12:50 PM

The headline is missing an apostrophe: “Every parent’s worst nightmare”.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy

After reading this article the only problem you have and wish to share with us is Grammar. FFS.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    May 23rd 2013, 12:57 PM

Unbelievable.
    I’m guessing you don’t have kids.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    May 23rd 2013, 12:58 PM

Not grammar, but punctuation. I do it because I love The Journal and want it to be a leading, reliable news source. Silly, careless mistakes like this just bring The Journal’s reputation down and make it look sloppy and unprofessional.

Mute damien chaney
    Favourite damien chaney
    May 23rd 2013, 12:59 PM

Thanks for clearing that up I found the article very confusing over that missing apostrophe in the headline. The world would be a better place if only there were more people like you Ian

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    May 23rd 2013, 12:59 PM

Your grammar is also incorrect.
    It’s correct in the article itself.

Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    May 23rd 2013, 1:01 PM

Tosspot..

Mute Gary dunn
    Favourite Gary dunn
    May 23rd 2013, 1:08 PM

Mellis Mellis

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    May 23rd 2013, 1:11 PM

Ian , go do one will you .

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    May 23rd 2013, 1:26 PM

Well Done, Tim … Ye beat me to it!

Mute Imogene Blignaut
    Favourite Imogene Blignaut
    May 23rd 2013, 1:30 PM

When comforting a grammar nazi:

There their they’re Ian.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    May 23rd 2013, 2:09 PM

Good man Martin.

Mute Geoff Tracey
    Favourite Geoff Tracey
    May 23rd 2013, 4:29 PM

I’d say you’re great craic!

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    May 23rd 2013, 5:52 PM

Or he’s on great craic.

Mute Orly
    Favourite Orly
    May 24th 2013, 3:13 AM

There is not enough emphasis being placed on the fact that he’s wrong.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    May 24th 2013, 3:26 AM

We now have a correction. Yay!

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    May 23rd 2013, 3:58 PM

The real question is why does it take Prime Time/RTE to uncover this story?. What were our great public service institutions like the Garda and HSE doing to vett and audit these business’s. Useless in their role as usual. they were probably all at conferences down the country wineing and dining and giving out about pay and ministers.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 23rd 2013, 4:59 PM

i know of a person that has been to tds about this and asked for cameras to be installed,, but was told no,, this is not something new ,, this has been going on for years,,, and will continue,,, garda vetting or no garda vetting, the problem is young children placed supposedly into a great place,, and god only knows what goes on behind closed doors,,, there should be cameras and parents should be able to focus in and even check in during the day via a password,, if they have nothing to hide,, cameras should be a welcome friend to any school or creche, where kids cannot speak up for themselves

Mute Aine Brennan
    Favourite Aine Brennan

Why is the cost of childcare even coming into it? It shouldn’t matter if fees were high or low – children were unfairly treated and that’s what the main concern should be.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    May 23rd 2013, 3:43 PM

I’m shocked the Government are shocked!

Though as most are nearing retirement with grown up kids it would go some way to explaining why they are shocked, and another example that they have no idea what is going on in society.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 23rd 2013, 6:16 PM

They wouldn’t have had their kids in a public creche, I can promise you… private nannies, paid off the books, and no doubt funded by expenses, paid for the taxpayer, sounds more plausible.

Mute marmar
    Favourite marmar

Citizens shocked by governments mistreatment

Mute Michael Rio
    Favourite Michael Rio
    May 23rd 2013, 1:21 PM

thanks olive. not one mention of that in the article.

Mute Conor McKenna
    Favourite Conor McKenna
    May 23rd 2013, 6:12 PM

Shocked, SHOCKED!!! The Gov are full of shit. Of this was going on and has been going on for years, there is no regulation in this sector. Vetting just means you haven’t been caught doing something. On site random inspections or convert staff or whistle blowing is required although with so many crèches owned by the same people getting employment after whistle blowing could be difficult. This is a parents worst nightmare, it’s bad enough you have to give over care of your kids to earn a living to pay more taxes to fix the state, the least the state could do is to ensure your kids aren’t mis treated. It’s an utter sham

Mute Saff Bells
    Favourite Saff Bells
    May 23rd 2013, 10:31 PM

It is impossible for staff to blow the whistle when working in a creche as the preschool department, in their wisdom – came up with the dumbfounding rule that one of your references that you need to get your next job, must be from your most recent employer.

Mute Red Ed
    Favourite Red Ed
    May 23rd 2013, 12:52 PM

Give them jobs with AIB

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    May 23rd 2013, 6:24 PM

Creches clearing 1.6 million profit last year. Maybe it’s time for price controls in this industry. Complete failure of management, sanctions are needed.

Mute Collette Darcy
    Favourite Collette Darcy
    May 24th 2013, 10:30 AM

My company Python security called individual and large company creches including bright horizons to convince them to install a cctv system that allows parents to log into the creche from their phone or pc through out the day and watch their children at play. Bright horizions told me there policy would not allow parents to log in and watch their children? And most other creches had the same policy, i was quite shocked at most of the response i recieved, there has to be cameras on the premises, unless u are have something to hide let the parents see whats going on? What kind of policy is that. In the light of whats happening in the media today its time creches have the intrests of our children at heart.

Mute Mairead O' Reilly
    Favourite Mairead O' Reilly
    May 24th 2013, 10:22 AM

I have worked in crèches for around 8 years now and have only ever witnessed a high standard of care for the children. I also seen regular HSE checks ensuring that adult to child ratio was correct and all staff were Garda vetted and fully qualified. I cannot understand how they have been allowed to do this??? In my opinion childcare is a career choice that you must have a passion for and not somewhere to put people from dole schemes!

Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    May 23rd 2013, 1:02 PM

Missed the show, what was the mistreatment??

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    May 23rd 2013, 1:39 PM

Not to be broadcast next week…

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    May 23rd 2013, 3:16 PM

* until next week… sorry red-thumbers!!!

Mute Joanne Hartnett
    Favourite Joanne Hartnett
    May 23rd 2013, 4:02 PM

From what I hear the coverage, which some of the parents of the children involved have seen, was taken from cctv within the creches. That said they may also have recorded in secret too.

Shaking of one young baby has also been mentioned. Again don’t know how true this is so will be interested in seeing what the programme says.

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    May 23rd 2013, 6:31 PM

Gilmore says ” every parents nightmare”,he’s one to talk. Will probably say next we’ve no money for a proper enquiry .

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 23rd 2013, 7:22 PM

creche employees, are usually on a scheme down here in kerry, so only work 20 hours a week, that’s in public creches, and are hardly ever kept on,, i would love to know the number of people that go through these schemes and are kept on after the 3 year ending,

Mute Nikki
    Favourite Nikki
    May 23rd 2013, 9:14 PM

Yes, we get it, they’re ‘all on schemes’. I don’t see the relevance of this. Treatment of children like this is inappropriate regardless of their employment status.

Your comment that ‘most creche staff won’t give the kids a hug if they’re hurt’ is also a sweeping generalisation that I believe to be total nonsense. In the 6 years i’ve been using full-time creche care for my two children i’ve never encountered a staff member who didn’t genuinely love kids. Cases like this are a horrific exception and a whole industry shouldn’t be tarred with one brush.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 23rd 2013, 10:01 PM

i have a friend that complained about conditions of a creche,, she appoached tds, oh and she was left go, and her other friends that she made there told her to stay quiet its the way it is,, and dont make waves,, if one in ten is a good one to complain and 9 others go with the flow ,, thats the problem,, there should be cctv in every creche,, cover themselves for insurance incase kid does get hurt,, fall anything,, but not in most creches,,, it should be mandatory,, and i think if people had job security and a steady job they may speak up more ,, but if only in part time are just glad to have something and know its to end so dont make to many waves,, i was horrified to hear some stories and to hear them chatting on a nite out,, would make ones heart sink,, and if you look at the rules they are not allowed to pick up kids and give a hug,, that is overstepping your job,, i am not saying every creche is bad,, but the bad ones get away with it for so long,, and only ones hurt are kids at the end of the day,, they forget things and get over it,, but a mom never will,,, we all try to do our best and want the best,, but there has to be safer and securer way,, every mom thinks they are dropping there kids off to the best or would not ever let them go,,, and then the nightmares begin when the story breaks,, there should never be nightmares for day care,, or old age care,, not in this day and age

Mute Helena
    Favourite Helena
    May 23rd 2013, 10:35 PM

Are you trolling or just really ignorant?! I’d like to put you on one of these ‘schemes’ you are referring to, put you working in a child care service and see how you deal with it. Dose.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 24th 2013, 8:11 PM

i would not be qualified as a child minder, even though i reared 2 of my own, but i do know people who work in creches,, i believe they should have cctv cameras, even if only for insurance purposes, and not have to go buy your own nanny cam as these people had to do to find out what was wrong with their kids,, i am just saying there should be more put into public creches as with private creches have cams in so one can check in,, they are all over usa and think its nice to know you can check in and at least it would stop half of the things going on,, seems its old and young getting done wrong by and no one seems to care,, yes there is negativity in every job in every position, but i dont think these should be scheme jobs,, these jobs should be by people who want a job in day care, who want to work in this line of work not be forced into a course to keep your dole and have to do your time in them to get the working hours in,,, there is a need for change,, yes some people want this others dont,, but with threatened to have dole taken will do anything,, i would love to work with kids full time but it does not pay otherwise we could all stay home and do it, and i am not trolling def not ignorant ,, but know what goes on,, seen complaints going in,, and seen nothing done but the one who complained left go,,,, and wont work in that field again,, that’s sad,

Mute Mairead O' Reilly
    Favourite Mairead O' Reilly
    May 24th 2013, 1:09 PM

Totally agree with you collette but if would have to be a totally private system that couldn’t be hacked I wouldn’t want just anybody logging on and looking at my child & we all know the Internet is not really a safe place and nothing is 100% guaranteed!

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 23rd 2013, 4:42 PM

Nobody will be sacked on the spot .
    It is illegal to sack an Irish public sector worker on the spot.
    Croke Park.

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    May 23rd 2013, 5:54 PM

The crèche employees are not Irish public sector workers.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 23rd 2013, 4:36 PM

Ahem.
    We pay the government to know this stuff.

Mute abidemi odubiyi
    Favourite abidemi odubiyi
    May 26th 2013, 7:49 AM

I had to take my child out a creche he once attended. He will never be fed his Food and the one that really broke my heart was When l went to pick up my child right from the creche Gate l could hear him crying and they did not even known When l got into his class the Staff are busy talking while some of the babies were crying. Many times the pampers will not be changed. I had to sacrifies thework of my wife to sit at home and look after our child.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 27th 2013, 2:29 PM

HI abidemi odubiyi, where was this creche? Is there any chance you’d talk to us about this? Email: amy@thejournal.ie.

Mute Republic Of Zen
    Favourite Republic Of Zen
    May 23rd 2013, 5:03 PM

What did they do?

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    May 24th 2013, 12:11 AM

They couldnt give a fcuk..stinks of smokescreen

Mute Karen Clifford
    Favourite Karen Clifford
    May 29th 2013, 9:24 AM

I am a childcare worker and nt all people employed in creches is for schemes there is a small proportion that is i would also like to say that this footage is nt at all representative of all childcare workers i find that very upsetting i do what i do because i love it and that is the reason for the majority of childcare workers. I am dusgusted that this happened and none of the other workers spoke up about what they saw. The people that carried out this behaviour are clearly not in this job for the love of it and should definately not be allowed to ever work in this profession in the future as they clearly do not want to be there. My heart goes out to the children and parents afftected by this