You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

SIPA USA/PA Images

US expels 15 Cuban diplomats following mysterious attacks on embassy staff

Those affected have exhibited physical symptoms including ear complaints, hearing loss, dizziness, headaches and difficulty sleeping.

THE US HAS ordered the expulsion of 15 Cuban diplomats, accusing Havana of failing to protect their US counterparts from harm in a series of “mystery attacks” on their health.

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson said, however, that Washington would maintain diplomatic relations even though the size of the US mission in Havana would be reduced to a minimum.

“The decision was made due to Cuba’s failure to take appropriate steps to protect our diplomats in accordance with its obligations under the Vienna Convention,” Tillerson said.

“This order will ensure equity in our respective diplomatic operations,” the statement continued.

Until the government of Cuba can ensure the safety of our diplomats in Cuba, our embassy will be reduced to emergency personnel to minimise the number of diplomats at risk of exposure to harm.

The attacks, which US officials initially suggested could have come from some sort of covert acoustic device, have affected at least 22 US embassy staff in Havana over the past few months.

Those affected have exhibited physical symptoms including ear complaints, hearing loss, dizziness, headaches, fatigue, cognitive issues, and difficulty sleeping.

Tillerson said the US would “maintain diplomatic relations with Cuba, and will continue to co-operate with Cuba as we pursue the investigation into these attacks”.

US relations with Havana were only fully restored in 2015, after a 50 year Cold War break, and have deteriorated since President Donald Trump took office in January.

Last week, Tillerson said he was withdrawing more than half the personnel from the US embassy in Cuba in response to the unexplained attacks.

‘Protect our people’

The Cuban diplomats, who were given seven days to depart, were not declared persona non grata, a US official speaking on condition of anonymity said.

Washington, he said, wants “to underscore to the Cubans that they must take more actions to protect our people on the ground”.

Our position on assurances is not presume Cuban culpability. What it does is require the Cuban government to be able to fulfill their obligations with the safety and well being and protection of foreign diplomats in their country.

The US diplomats leaving Cuba are expected to be out of the country by the end of the week.

“We would need full assurances from the Cuban government that these attacks will not continue before we can even talk and plan” for resuming operations in Havana, he said.

Most importantly, Tillerson wants “to focus on the safety and wellbeing of our personnel. Once having made that decision we then moved on to consider ensuring that there would be an equitable impact in our two embassies ability to operate.”

The State Department gave the Cubans a list of which diplomats they wanted expelled.

Routine US visa operations in Havana were suspended indefinitely in response to the attacks.

US officials had previously told reporters they believed some kind of inaudible sound weapon was used on the US staff either inside or outside their residences in Havana.

Canadians in Cuba have also been hurst, with a source close to that country’s embassy telling AFP that more than five families were affected, including several children.

Observers doubt that Cuba would have risked antagonising its neighbours at the end of 2016, when relations between the former Cold War enemies were thawing, before they deteriorated under Trump.

The head of North American affairs at Cuba’s foreign ministry, Josefina Vidal, earlier told state television that Cuba wants to work with the United States to resolve this case.

© AFP 2017.

Read: Guitarist who was on Las Vegas stage says the attack has changed his mind on gun control

View 9 comments
9 Comments
    Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Dec 5th 2022, 7:34 PM

Persecution complex. No interest in the royal family but they’re well rid of him.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 5th 2022, 11:06 PM

@Paul Shepherd: Diana would be proud of him.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Dec 5th 2022, 8:25 PM

He has totally lost the plot.

Mute Gerry k
    Favourite Gerry k
    Dec 5th 2022, 9:47 PM

Their going a odd way of staying out of the limelight

Mute Megan Finnegan Ward
    Favourite Megan Finnegan Ward
    Dec 5th 2022, 9:54 PM

@Gerry k: They never said they want out of the limelight completely. There’s a difference between living in a fishbowl and being hounded by the UK gutter press with your every breath scrutinised and having your own output into the world. Being in that RF would mess anyone up, they’re right to get out. Can’t behave and interact like normal human beings

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Dec 6th 2022, 2:04 PM

@Megan Finnegan Ward: Their own input is a reality show on the soon to be doomed Netflix. Thats some contribution.

Mute Megan Finnegan Ward
    Dec 7th 2022, 12:24 AM

@Pauline Gallagher: Whether it’s great or a load of shite is irrelevant to the point that there is a difference between being hounded by the press and having the Daily Mail post crap about you every day and having a voice where you actually get to give your own opinions. Don’t have to like either of them to understand the difference and that they never said they wanted to go live in a cave and never be seen or heard again. Mind, anyone who gets away from that family is doing something right imo, poisonous

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Dec 5th 2022, 8:18 PM

“dirty game ” How many people would put up with that for $100 million Netflix paycheck . How can they stretch an 8 part out of constant moaning and whining . No more please

Mute Dipa Young
    Favourite Dipa Young
    Dec 5th 2022, 7:13 PM

Zunts

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Dec 5th 2022, 9:09 PM

I believe they were right to get out. I can only imagine the awful family feuds and nasty manipulation that goes on. There’s too much money and a very high profile institution to protect. Harry is his own man unlike his father, brother and uncles. Good luck to him.

Mute Margaret Henry
    Favourite Margaret Henry
    Dec 6th 2022, 9:06 AM

@2thFairy: he’s not a man, he’s a wimp. He is on the royal paycheck still, he has never had a proper job, just spends his days thinking up ways of attacking his family. He is the eternal victim and actually believes his own hype, even though its completely out of proportion now. He doesn’t seem to understand how privileged he is. He lost his mother,but some kids have lost both parents even younger, are homeless, have no education, no happy childhood. They have both made this into something it is not. They have each other, 2 beautiful kids, mansions to live in, more money than they will ever need but they’re still seeking out the limelight with this battle. NOBODY CARES ANYMORE.
    I never even knew Megan was mixed race until they mentioned it all the time, I just thought she was a beautiful woman. I don’t know. They deserve each other.

Mute Joe Lynch
    Favourite Joe Lynch
    Dec 5th 2022, 7:31 PM

I’d rather watch paint dry. I can’t understand the facination about the royal family. Completely and utter stupidly.

Mute Conor King
    Favourite Conor King
    Dec 5th 2022, 7:38 PM

@Joe Lynch: You don’t have to watch it.
    You still somehow felt compelled to read this article and comment on it. But yeah sure, you certainly won’t watch the documentary that threatens to embarrass the Royal Family that you’d love to see embarrassed.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 5th 2022, 8:20 PM

@Conor King: Prince Andrew has already embarrassed the royal family,way more than a Netflix documentary ever will Conor. Iam with joe on this one.

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Dec 5th 2022, 11:28 PM

@Conor King: oh boo hoo.
    People are entitled to express opinions mate – including ones that are different to yours and about things they don’t like.

Life isn’t all marshmallows, unicorns and rainbows.

Mute Megan Finnegan Ward
    Dec 6th 2022, 12:00 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke: You know someone pointing out that it’s funny when people go out of their way to read and comment on articles about things they declare they have no interest on (because we’d all be exhausted if we did that on everything we saw and have no interest on) isn’t ‘not liking other opinions’ and wanting life to be all happy clappy yeah?

Mute Michael J Foley
    Favourite Michael J Foley
    Dec 6th 2022, 1:02 PM

@Conor King: Conor I am with Joe. I do not have to watch it and I will not watch it. That institution is a disgrace and so is the British establishment. All parties deserve each other

Mute Conor King
    Favourite Conor King
    Dec 6th 2022, 7:19 PM

@Michael J Foley: Cool story Michael. I can tell you have no interest in the Royal Family because you clicked on this article and read it right down to the comment section.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Dec 5th 2022, 10:27 PM

I’m so sick of hearing about those two. It’s like they’re the only thing on the planet to talk about. I can’t imagine why anyone even cares at this stage

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Dec 6th 2022, 2:53 AM

Himself and the missus could have just gone to ground and live the quiet life. They are probably more of a pap magnet now then ever.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Dec 5th 2022, 10:08 PM

Reading a description of a one minute visual trailer is a fascinating experience. I’m so glad I did it.

Mute Observer
    Favourite Observer
    Dec 6th 2022, 6:09 AM

Who really give a s—- about them. There are wars, people homeless, people losing jobs. Spoilt overpaid publicity seeking unimportant insignificant people.

Mute Joan Grennan
    Favourite Joan Grennan
    Dec 6th 2022, 9:07 AM

As.someone said ‘ there’s 3 truths to every story ,your truth ,my truth and the real truth ‘. But the situation where you have an heir and a.spare is the root of Harry’s intense misery I believe .He follows on from his grand aunt Margaret who seems to have been equally embittered by her 2nd.fiddle position in the family . Why they can’t create a proper role for the 2nd in line I just don’t know .

Mute Barry Wilson
    Favourite Barry Wilson
    Dec 6th 2022, 10:39 AM

Will the family take him back when she divorces him in a year or so ????

Mute Damien Gormley
    Favourite Damien Gormley
    Dec 6th 2022, 2:48 AM

There’ll be some craic above in heaven watching that

Mute TonyB
    Favourite TonyB
    Dec 6th 2022, 11:35 AM

Everything I know about this couple, I learned against my will.

Mute Nora McElhinney
    Favourite Nora McElhinney
    Dec 6th 2022, 6:51 AM

Tell someone who gives a sh!t!!!!!

Mute Crypto Sleuth
    Favourite Crypto Sleuth
    Dec 6th 2022, 9:22 AM

The ‘dirty game’ must be the nickname he uses for the wife…

Mute Mike Magan
    Favourite Mike Magan
    Dec 6th 2022, 10:41 AM

Easy to see who reads UK gutter press here.