You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Culture Night: Star Wars on the bagpipes, Bertie Ahern's portrait and dancing in the rain

What did you get up to?

DESPITE THE HEAVY rain that hit the entire country yesterday, hundreds of thousands of people turned up to the events being held as part of Culture Night.

About 900 venues welcomed visitors – some on a one-off basis – for free tours, plays, concerts, exhibitions and open houses.

Aoibhín Kinsella, aged six months, had her first taste of Culture Night in Dublin, visiting the Little Museum, the Royal Irish Academy, Kevin Sharkey’s exhibition, St Anne’s Anglican Church and a shopping trip in Mothercare!

PastedImage-35199

Our own reporter Christina Finn took herself to Leinster House for the night tours. The highlight? This portrait of former taoiseach Bertie Ahern.

PastedImage-33707

The rain poured in Dublin from early evening but spirits weren’t dampened, even for those dancing outdoors.

Here are Alisha Hawkins and Tadgh Woods, both 8 years old from Tallaght, on Barnardo Square.

Culture Night Dublin 14. Dancing the ni Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

We think our favourite moment of the night though happened in Temple Bar where the Seattle Police Pipes and Drums bad were playing.

A passer-by asked for a go at the bagpipes and surprised everybody with an impromptu performance of the Star Wars theme tune.

Harker Media / YouTube

What did you get up to?

“Smile!” How’s your Culture Night going?

Watch: Absolutely magical performance of the Marino Waltz in Dublin last night 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Mucky Pup
    Favourite Mucky Pup
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:24 PM

I really hope whoever dumped the pups like that is found and prosecuted. One good thing in all this is that they’ll have a far better life than the one their poor mother is doubtless having! I really don’t understand how people can be so cruel.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:37 PM

Well done to their rescuers & all the shame & bad karma in the world on those who dumped the poor things.

Mute Irish Revolution
    Favourite Irish Revolution
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:08 PM

Prosecution is no use, do the same to whoever did this and then they will know what its like. Tie them up in a bag and dump them into a sewer.

Mute Roshan Jamshidi
    Favourite Roshan Jamshidi
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:55 PM

I agree deeply i wana put suffocate them

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:19 PM

Well they wont be caught so there

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:59 PM

..I can’t even read the story, the headline upsets me too much!

..simply an evil & ruthless individual who did this. I wish nothing but a slow agonising death whilst screaming for this individual..

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:40 PM

This really sickens me. Dirtbags. Pretty much impossible to ever find the perpetrator but well done to the member of the public for noticing them and the two Gardai for rescuing and caring for them!

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:26 PM

I know that millions of fertilizer bags are delivered each year but is there a batch number or other means of tracking down the culprit?

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Sep 2nd 2013, 7:35 PM

Riiiiight serial number on each bag?. You have as much luck tracing bag of crisps on the road

Mute Sorting Hat
    Favourite Sorting Hat
    Sep 3rd 2013, 7:49 PM

Call in Interpol !

Mute Adam MacGiollarnath
    Favourite Adam MacGiollarnath
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:36 PM

This is f*cking infuriating!

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:30 PM

Those pups are so lovely! I actually don’t understand how someone could do that

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:34 PM

Is it that much hassle to put an ad in the paper or just ASK someone if they want some puppies?No,just throw them into a bag sure. The amount of animals out there is appalling

Mute Padraic Quinn
    Favourite Padraic Quinn
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:25 AM

It’s no trouble for anyone of even poor competence.i wouldn’t mind but it’s not easy to get collie pups if you are not in the know,they sell easily.that person who did this is incredibly stupid and soulless

Mute Ciara Marie Richardson
    Favourite Ciara Marie Richardson
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:43 PM

Poor lil puppies don’t know how anybody could be so cruel. Hope they ger rehomed together.

Mute Ian Aston
    Favourite Ian Aston
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:24 PM

I can’t believe they put the poor things in jail

Fozz
    Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:59 PM

It’s OK…they are only young so won’t be charged as adults for trespassing in that fertilizer bag.
    Will be out in no time to offend again.
    I particularly don’t like the look of the one on the right…

Mute P O Leary
    Favourite P O Leary
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:16 PM

Not only beautiful pups but the Border Collie is one of the most intelligent dog breed. I hope these pups find great homes and they will make loyal companions for 2 lucky people.
    I always wondered why there could not be a canine DNA database in this country. You could get every vet by law takes a blood sample of every dog that comes into there surgery. And add it to the database
    If the database was set up the pup owner could be found and charged with Cruelty to animals. time to get serious with animal welfare in this country.

Mute Lumpy Space Princess
    Favourite Lumpy Space Princess
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:23 PM

It would cost a fortune, that’s why it doesn’t exist.

Mute Grouchy Marks
    Favourite Grouchy Marks
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:34 PM

Then increase the dog licence to cover the cost. If dog lovers are serious about protecting dogs they should be prepared to pay for it.

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:58 PM

Surely somebody knows something, they’re clearly not newborns.
    Please come forward and have this bastard locked up.

Mute Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:17 PM

As a owner of a precious border collie called “síofra”, I am total disgusted, border collies are one of the most intelligent dogs out there and are extremely loyal, it would have taken less effort to try give away the pups, hope whoever did this is prosecuted…

Mute Laurie
    Favourite Laurie
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:44 PM

So cruel, police are great there were a few good story now about the police looking after dogs well done to them

Mute Cassie Reyer
    Favourite Cassie Reyer
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:18 PM

Some people are just so unnecessarily cruel!!

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:14 PM

Some neighbours or even family members must know who did cruel act…Please tell the Gardai as soon as possible.

Mute Lumpy Space Princess
    Favourite Lumpy Space Princess
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:21 PM

If people don’t want puppies will they just neuter their dogs. Disgusting.

Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:41 PM

ah…so sad…i would love a little sheep dog…

Sep 2nd 2013, 5:12 PM

Such a cowardly, sefish act. Despicable.

Reminds me of what we do to all those male chicks in the egg laying industry.

Mute Deirdre Mac Mahon
    Favourite Deirdre Mac Mahon
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:26 PM

Well said Aidrian. We shouldn’t forget

Mute Therése Martin Farrell
    Favourite Therése Martin Farrell
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:03 PM

Omg, they are beautiful x

Mute Roshan Jamshidi
    Favourite Roshan Jamshidi
    Sep 2nd 2013, 4:54 PM

Why would anybody do that. Id kill that person/people if i knew who they were.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:19 PM

Well done to the Gardai for looking after the 2 puppies

Mute Kemberlee Shortland
    Favourite Kemberlee Shortland
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:26 AM

Sadly this isn’t a new phenomenon. Our older collie, now 11, was thrown into a fertilizer bag with her three sisters at birth then it was thrown into a brambly ditch. They were lucky to be found as it was a very hot summer. All four survived, thank goodness.

Our second collie was also a throw away. She’ll be ten soon.

It’s disgusting how animals are treated. There are rescue centers all over the country. Drowning, suffocating, throwing sacks of live animals into ditches, drains and the rives is not acceptable!! Teathering dogs to strangers gates, throwing them over the fence, leaving them on the roadside in countryside neighborhoods is not acceptable.

If you are going to adopt an animal, be responsible for it. If you can no longer take care of it, man up and take it to a shelter or find a new home for it. It’s the humane thing to do.

Mute Michelle o' Connor
    Favourite Michelle o' Connor
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:09 PM

Ridiculous, how any anybody walk away from two pups screaming as they drown! We can put sick animals down but not sick people….

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:54 PM

It was them damn sheep …….

Mute Stephen Carrick
    Favourite Stephen Carrick
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:00 PM

Sick f**king pigs what type of person can do such a thing disturbed !!!

Mute Maria Spain
    Favourite Maria Spain
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:39 PM

Poor little pups :(

Mute Alan Duffy
    Favourite Alan Duffy
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:04 PM

Seriously, what kind of a Dirtbag thinks it’s ok to just dispose of an animal like that??

Mute aaron mohan
    Favourite aaron mohan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:35 PM

They were giving a warm bed in a cell that’s hard to believe nobody ever got one them

Mute Ecalpon
    Favourite Ecalpon
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:20 PM

Why oh why can they not pursue this to the nth? There must be some way? DNA (too expensive?) but what can we do about people who can do this to what are undoubtedly a pair of hideous monsters that no body will want??

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Sep 2nd 2013, 11:55 PM

I would love 5 mins alone with the person or people who did this! Sick disgusting verman!

Mute Tara Tevlin
    Favourite Tara Tevlin
    Sep 2nd 2013, 11:41 PM

If that was children there’d be UPROAR bloody disgusting tougher laws badly needed:-(

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:52 PM

The Early Purges by Seamus Heaney
    I was six when I first saw kittens drown.
    Dan Taggart pitched them, ‘the scraggy wee shits’,
    Into a bucket; a frail metal sound,

Soft paws scraping like mad. But their tiny din
    Was soon soused. They were slung on the snout
    Of the pump and the water pumped in.

‘Sure, isn’t it better for them now?’ Dan said.
    Like wet gloves they bobbed and shone till he sluiced
    Them out on the dunghill, glossy and dead.

Suddenly frightened, for days I sadly hung
    Round the yard, watching the three sogged remains
    Turn mealy and crisp as old summer dung

Until I forgot them. But the fear came back
    When Dan trapped big rats, snared rabbits, shot crows
    Or, with a sickening tug, pulled old hens’ necks.

Still, living displaces false sentiments
    And now, when shrill pups are prodded to drown
    I just shrug, ‘Bloody pups’. It makes sense:

‘Prevention of cruelty’ talk cuts ice in town
    Where they consider death unnatural
    But on well-run farms pests have to be kept down.

Mute Sorting Hat
    Favourite Sorting Hat
    Sep 3rd 2013, 1:18 AM

Post of the year !

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:13 PM

I wonder if they were experiencing such economic hardship that they felt like they could not take care of the dogs. When people are under severe stress (cognitions narrow) they will do crazy things missing better alternative options because stress has narrowed their thinking. May have felt great shame in seeking help for their inability to take care of their pets. Note: I love animals and do not condone what was done to these dogs. Want to find ways to help people/pets during hard times.

Mute Nicola Monaghan
    Favourite Nicola Monaghan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:21 PM

No, sorry. No amount of hardship is a reason to do this. Whoever did this deserves nothing but hardship and extreme pain for the rest of their lives. Disgusting waste of oxygen

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:57 PM

Not trying to excuse whoever did this but suggest a little research on how depression/anxiety/stress impedes cognition and narrows perceived options. Hope the outrage over what happened does not narrow your field of view.

Mute Nicola Monaghan
    Favourite Nicola Monaghan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 7:02 PM

As someone who suffers from depression I’m aware of how it might effect different people. But it’s still not a good enough reason for me. Leaving those dogs loose in a wood or something would’ve been bad but I suppose understandable. This filth left these dogs to die slowly in a bag lying in a ditch. That’s not desperation from a bad situation, that is cold and evil because thought went into how to kill those animals.

Mute Sorting Hat
    Favourite Sorting Hat
    Sep 3rd 2013, 1:36 AM

How would a doctor who has just carried out an abortion rate in comparison to this evil pup drowner ?
    Just asking for the sake of philosophical perspective !
    I have my own views on the matter !

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Sep 2nd 2013, 11:27 PM

Maybe so, if they were really that evil with such an evil intent they might have just killed the dogs and put them in a hole. My point really, no one really knows the true motivation, was to go beyond the outrage and calls for violence to looking at some real reasons and solutions to why people dump their pets. I personally rescued a farm cat and have given her a good life.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Oct 11th 2013, 2:39 PM

I remember hearing the horror stories from my grandparents from when this was considered the norm. Back before dogs and cats were neutered it was very common for pups and kittens to be put in a sack and drowned.

Absolutely barbaric to people today, but certainly not to them as the person that posted the Seamus Heaney poem clearly demonstrated.

I would not be surprised if this was some old farmer who didn’t give it a second thought.

Mute Helena McGee
    Favourite Helena McGee
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:57 PM

There is just no excuse. The person that did this should be ashamed of their life!!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:05 PM

Whoever did this is the lowest of the low. They look so lovely. I hope they go to really kind owner(s) who’ll love them as they deserve.

Mute Maureen Eales
    Favourite Maureen Eales
    Oct 4th 2013, 6:29 PM

what is the matter with people all they have to do is advertise the puppies they will go very quick so why be so cruel , idiots