You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Drivers, cyclists urged to brush up on road safety to curb bike accidents

Eight cyclists have been killed on our roads in 2014.

AS FINE WEATHER and rising fuel prices encourage more people to take to their bikes, cyclists and drivers are being urged to take extra care to reduce fatal cycling accidents.

Eight cyclists have been killed on Irish roads this year, according to Garda figures.

Between 1998 and 2008, 144 cyclists were killed, of whom one-third were involved in a collision with a goods vehicle. Another one-third of the fatalities occurred during evening rush hour.

Mayo County Council’s Road Safety Officer Noel Gibbons said that motorists need to show cyclists much more consideration while driving:

Drivers need to take special care and understand that cyclists are entitled to road space as much as any other vehicle on the road. It’s important that drivers anticipate cyclists at blind spots and to give at least 1.5m clearance when overtaking a cyclist.

He noted that it is a road traffic offence for drivers to brush against a cyclist, whether they are knocked from the bike or not.

Cycling stats Infographic by Mayo County Council Road Safety using RSA figures Infographic by Mayo County Council Road Safety using RSA figures

Gibbons also encouraged cyclists to revise their road safety knowledge before taking to the road and to be aware of the safest places to position their bike while cycling in traffic.

“Cycling is a great way to save money and keep fit, but it’s important to make sure you know how to do it safely before getting on your bike,” Gibbons said.

Wearing helmets, lights and wearing bright and reflective clothing while cycling can help protect cyclists and make them more visible to other road users. All road users should know the rules of the road.

Read: How Dublinbikes went from cynicism and disbelief to a ‘phenomenon’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Pa Jama
    Favourite Pa Jama
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:43 AM

The problem isn’t motorists or cyclists. The problem is idiots.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:58 AM

DCC should be bearing some responsibility for its complete lack of a safe cycling infrastructure in the city.

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Jul 15th 2014, 11:14 AM

Cyclist should be on the path. Much easier for them to manoeuvre etc. Too risky on the roads.

Mute ✨sunshine
    Favourite ✨sunshine
    Jul 15th 2014, 2:02 PM

I sincerely hope this is sarcasm. I will purposely move into the path of a cyclist if they are on the footpath and force them onto the road. They are a menace if they do not obey the rules so the road, you want to ride a bike use the road!!!

Mute Matt Herlihy
    Favourite Matt Herlihy
    Jul 15th 2014, 5:11 PM

Couldn’t agree more. If people exercise a little consideration the streets would be a lot safer for everyone.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:20 AM

As a driver I am aware of a bikes lack of protection in an accident.
    But let’s be honest some people on bikes are morons, complete idiots who bring it on themselves and then blame the person behind the wheel.

Mute eftwopointoh
    Favourite eftwopointoh
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:26 AM

Here we go again, drivers say cyclists are idiots, cyclists day the same about drivers…. The usual predictable comments here
    The truth is cyclists do some stupid things on the road, so do drivers. Both run lights etc.
    Everyone on the road should brush up on the rules and follow them. We all want to get home in the evening.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:32 AM

There should be a separate network of roads for cyclists. Segregation is the answer. Cyclists and drivers should each have their own homeland where they will both be free to create their own destiny.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:47 AM

Eftwopointoh
    I see cars drive through lights once in a blue moon. I see cyclists do it a few times a week. There is no comparison between the two drivers are more safety conscience than cyclists.

Mute Sophie O'Gara
    Favourite Sophie O'Gara
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:59 AM

On my commute in I see driver run red lights at least 2 times per commute since I cycle along the canal and apparently there are to many traffic lights to obey all of them. Just because you don’t see it doesn’t mean it’s not happening. Both drivers and cyclists can use the road like idiots.

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:03 AM

Glen, your point about drivers being more careful than cyclists does not make sense. The DNA structure of the cyclist and the motorist is identical, each have 23 pairs of chromosomes in a normal somatic cell. Consider the position of the person who uses a bicycle and a car, does this person’s dna change each time he/she changes his/her means of transport?

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:05 AM

@Glen. Eight cyclists killed versus how many people killed by cars and drivers this year? Think I know the safer group on the road. By the way, I’m placing this comment while cycling with no hands and giving my friend a backer in the middle of the road. Oh hang on red light, ah, never mind…

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:13 AM

Samdithers just about sums up the average cyclist in Dublin well done lad
    Don’t try and tell us it was sarcasm now.

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:15 AM

@Glen, try giving your mate a backer, not as easy as you might think.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:49 AM

All you do is stand up and cycle. It’s not like your going to stop for lights or pedestrians so what’s the difficulty.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:45 AM

Glen I see motorists breaking lights every single day of the week. It’s not just cyclists that do it.

Mute Andrew Keane
    Favourite Andrew Keane
    Jul 15th 2014, 5:12 PM

Say that to the drivers who will over take on dangerous bends just because they can’t stand being behind a cyclist for 2 seconds, or the ones who overtake then turn left across me. I respect the traffic lights, there are no exceptions to that rule, but those incidences I’ve mentioned have seriously risked my life on more than one occasion. All the same, I won’t tar everyone with the same brush. There are idiots on all side ruining it for everyone and the governments infrastructure for this is not helping.

Mute Kárl
    Favourite Kárl
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:59 AM

This morning as I drove to work I saw two cars break a red light at Dawson Street. I witnessed a taxi parked across the pedestrian crossing on Nassau street / Grafton Street plying for trade. I also saw a truck driver making an illegal U-turn on O’Connell street at the LUAS line. That’s not bad. There’s often more than that.

Now, last night as I drove home just before midnight, I did not see any cyclists breaking lights. But I did see lots of cyclists wearing dark clothes and with no lights on their bikes. One of these I only noticed at the last moment near Mespil road.

Strange thing, I also saw Garda cars ignore the illegally parked taxi on the pedestrian crossing and a Garda car passed two of the unlit cyclists last night without even giving them a caution for their own safety.

We have laws for all these things, but we still seem to have a “sure it’s grand” attitude towards behaviour on the roads despite all the safety messages that are out there.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:09 AM

That’s it in a nutshell

Mute Julian Friesel
    Favourite Julian Friesel
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:14 AM

precisely! it is the lack of enforcement that is the problem. sure if you see traffic corps gardai driving one handed on the phone… why would anyone care about the rules? bad examples they are

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:05 AM

You absolutely correct… We have laws in place to control bad behaviour and poor judgment. However, there is little enforcement. But what I find to be very odd.. Is that when laws are enforced and the person or organization is found to be at fault or guilty, everyone and their mother’s do everything they can to reverse the decision.

How can anything get better with this type of attitude?

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jul 15th 2014, 12:58 PM

Yes the laws are there. Follow them yourself, your not an 8yr old who needs to be told. Blame the people for not obeying the law.

Mute Kieran Doherty
    Favourite Kieran Doherty
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:22 AM

Cyclists
    Two words
    Hand
    Signals

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:27 AM

Drivers

Two words

Slow Down

Mute eftwopointoh
    Favourite eftwopointoh
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:29 AM

That’s not always possible, on my commute to work the roads are so bad in places I’m come flying off the road if I didn’t hold on tight. But I agree with you in most cases.
    We (cyclists) would appreciate if indicators were used a bit more too.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:40 AM

Eftwop
    You say cyclists AND drivers break red lights??!!
    I can honestly say the amount of cyclists who run red lights on a daily basis is staggering .
    Not only that but they cycle on pavements , cycle up one way streets and have no regard for any rules.
    You cannot compare like with like , yes I agree SOME drivers driving habits are deplorable but cyclists are out on their own when it comes to rules and road behaviour.

Mute eftwopointoh
    Favourite eftwopointoh
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:45 AM

Spend a day on a bike Mr. L, you’ll see just how bad drivers can be too. This isn’t limited to lights. We can of course have the tit for tat argument about who is worse but a more grown up approach is needed. ALL road users break the rules

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:48 AM

Eftop
    It’s not about tit for tat, but the reality is NO cyclist stops at a red light.
    I see it day in day out it’s scandalous

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:54 AM

And

Leave Space

Mute eftwopointoh
    Favourite eftwopointoh
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:55 AM

Its not just lights, the ratio of cyclists breaking lights is much higher than drivers, the radio of drivers speeding or using a mobile is much higher than cyclists.
    The point I’m trying to get across is as long as we play the blame game nothing is going to change. We all use the road, that’s not going to change so we ALL need to be better on them

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:07 AM

The ratio of people killed in cars is much higher due to bad driving.
    They are two different forms of transport and really don’t deserve comparison the properties of both and the safety of both are as different as an airplane and a bus. Saying drivers are more law abiding is to ignore speeding, parking, drink and mobile phone use.

Mute emma fitz
    Favourite emma fitz
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:34 AM

Sorry, but I stop at red lights. Always. And yes I’m probably in a minority but I would like to think that a driver would see that I do abide by the rules and that not all cyclists are bad. Now compare breaking lights by a cyclist to drivers turning without indicating and drivers win hands down. The amount of drivers who turn (particularly a left turn) and do not indicate is staggering. If you happen to be coming the inside lane and the car just goes left you are a dead man. They do not indicate not do they look, I count several cars a day that drive with their wing mirrors tucked in. But I do totally agree that cyclists breaking lights is a stupid thing to do. It’s dangerous enough out there without deliberately putting yourself in harms way.

Mute Sophie O'Gara
    Favourite Sophie O'Gara
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:46 AM

Drivers
    One Word
    INDICATE

Mute James Gallagher
    Favourite James Gallagher
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:56 AM

@Kieran I completely agree with you that cyclists should use hand signals, on my cycle to work I see some cyclists who neither signal or look behind before performing a manoeuvre. For a cyclist, SMIDSY doesn’t work the same way it does for a motorist.

A problem I experience when turning right (and I do signal on the approach and while waiting, until I’m ready to move) is that cars approaching behind have both passed me on my left and then taken the right turn as well as overtaking on my right and turning inside my [right turning] path. Hand signals are often taken to mean – here’s an opportunity to pass the cyclist.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 12:59 PM

Depends on junction. Almost all of those who do stop stop way past the stop line

Mute Andrew Keane
    Favourite Andrew Keane
    Jul 15th 2014, 5:19 PM

Wow, there’s a broad statement! No cyclist ever stops for red lights? We’d be talking about a lot more than 8 dead this year if that was true.

Mute Patrick McMahon
    Favourite Patrick McMahon
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:14 AM

Bike shops should be giving out free rules of the road booklets Especially for the bike to work people who might be new to cycling. I dnt think there is even a cycling rules of road booklet

Mute eftwopointoh
    Favourite eftwopointoh
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:19 AM

That’s a very good idea, even if it was a small pamphlet with the basics on and where to get more info. Nice one

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:28 AM

The Rules of the Road booklet has always been free.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:29 AM

and contains plenty of rules for cyclists, illustrated by lots of colour pictures of fictional cyclists obeying the law.

Mute Proudly Italian
    Favourite Proudly Italian
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:34 AM

If someone is stupid enough that needs a “rules of the road booklet” to cycle, he/she better take the bus or the taxi…
    I was going on the road with my bike when I was 12, and we had no helmet, no flashlights, no hi-vis orange stuff.
    But we had a brain working and someone who thought us to use it,

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:36 AM

If you had no flashlights you were in breach of one of the first chapters of the Rules of the Road. Your brain may be working but you still need to read the rules before you know what they are.

Mute Proudly Italian
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:56 AM

Sorry, I meant those lights flashing that makes your bike like a Xmas tree.
    Obviously everyone had a frontal light, by law.
    BTW, I’m talking about 30 yrs ago….

Mute Malcolm Lackey
    Favourite Malcolm Lackey
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:13 AM

Your the stupid one! Did your mommy tell you to go play with the traffic when you were 12. Her plan didn’t work.

Mute David Tunney
    Favourite David Tunney
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:41 AM

I think you may be surprised at what the rules of the road say and what motorists *think* they say.

Cycling two abreast is not only fine, its recommended
    Bike lanes are not compulsory

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Jul 15th 2014, 12:28 PM

“Cycling two abreast is not only fine, its recommended”

Did you just make that up? Can you post a link to support the claim please, as it sounds utterly absurd.

Mute Gerard Tyrrell
    Favourite Gerard Tyrrell
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:54 PM

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Cyclists/
    Read this page on the rsa website. It’s easier, quicker and safer to overtake 4 bikes two abreast than 8 in a straight line.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:49 AM

I always find these stories interesting; my tuppence worth… I’m a bus driver & already this morning I’ve had 2 very close calls with cyclists who would have been seriously injured due to their actions alone, 1st guy comes flying onto Dawson street (and I mean fast!) as I’ve already committed to the same turn. Now I can assure you stopping 16 tonnes of bus that’s full of people isn’t easy even when driving slow but it’s even more so when having to slam on! Cyclist didn’t even look back & don’t think he realised or cared how close he came to being pavement pizza.
    Now if anyone on the bus had been injured who do you think has to answer for it? 2nd instance is some ditzy cow on 1 of the Dublin bikes giving me abuse because I waited for a filter light to turn left at Lombard street & then just as I go to make the turn (indicator on) she decides she wants to undertake me & proceed straight. And she had the mobile in hand.
    Every category of road user is guilty of dangerous, illegal & inconsiderate behaviour but not every user is guilty. There needs to be some serious enforcement by the Gardaí but whilst taxis can ply for hire on double yellow lines, vehicles can do illegal 3 point turns & hazard lights mean I’ll park wherever the hell I like then nothing will improve. By the way I am also an avid cyclist, I wear a helmet, hi viz gear & lights & strangely enough obey the rules of the road no matter if I’m driving or cycling.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 12:38 PM

Matt. Not that I agree with this rule but isn’t it illegal for buses or any traffic except cyclists to undertake other traffic when bus lanes are open to all traffic?

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:44 PM

Thanks lads for supporting my point I I made about a year ago when I said it’s not illegal to undertake. Where were you when I needed you?

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Jul 15th 2014, 2:09 PM

My point was if you reread what I wrote, she waited till I had the filter light & had already committed to & passed the point of no return in executing the manoeuvre.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 5:12 PM

My point has nothing to do with what you have witnesses. It has got to do with buses undertaking. The RSA have people believing its illegal to undertake yet if you agree with them why do you and all bus drivers undertake when bus lane is open to all traffic?

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:58 AM

As both cyclist and motorist.
    I cycle on country roads a lot and the amount of times someone dickheed in a car passes with one foot of me (at speed) is incredible.

Minimum space between your car and a cyclist is 1.5meters. Think about that the next time you pass a cyclist.

Mute Michael Legris
    Favourite Michael Legris
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:28 AM

Cyclist, drivers urge you to stop been 2 or sometime 3 in a row, more importantly on backroad !

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:58 AM

Any cyclist who gets a slap of a car for cycling 2 or 3 abreast and chatting away deserves it I think, ret@rded carry on.

Mute Adam Urwin
    Favourite Adam Urwin
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:37 AM

Apart from that being one of the most ridiculous comments I’ve ever seen, it’s completely legal to cycle 2 abreast and cyclists do it to stop dangerous overtaking manoeuvres by a minority of drivers. Unfortunately it’s the same minority that pass too close in normal circumstances and don’t indicate/inch out of side roads into cycle lanes etc

Mute Michael Legris
    Favourite Michael Legris
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:14 AM

Cycling two abreast is perfectly legal, except when it may “endanger, inconvenience or block other traffic or pedestrians” – in which case bikes must ride in single file. Bikes can be temporarily two/three abreast when the outside cyclist is in the process of overtaking.

Mute Richard Bloomfield
    Favourite Richard Bloomfield
    Jul 15th 2014, 11:10 AM

It’s much safer to overtake a short group of cyclists that are 2 abreast than a long strung-out group that are single file.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:55 AM

In Dublin there is no enforcement of keeping the cycle lanes free of parked cars- clampers seem to have no interest in keeping them clear- or the Gardai.

There is a huge amount of glass in the cycle lanes these days as well which forces you to swerve into the main traffic.

And central busy routes like Westmoreland Street still have no cycle lanes.

DCC has to bear a lot of responsibility for its complete lack of safe routes to travel by bike in the city- rather than wasting money on token bike lanes like the white elephant one on the canal which wasn’t needed.

Mute Malcolm Lackey
    Favourite Malcolm Lackey
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:08 AM

I am a cyclists and a motorcyclists, and cyclists only have themselves to blame for most accidents. Only one in ten will use hand signals and even less stop for red lights. Cyclists don’t even get tested on the rules of the road but yet there are suppose to obey them??

Mute Eugene O'Leary
    Favourite Eugene O'Leary
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:05 AM

Note to motorists. It is illegal to park on a cycle path, thereby forcing cyclists out into traffic!

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Jul 15th 2014, 7:26 AM

I used to cycle a lot but now I have a exercise bike in the house its much safer.

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:13 AM

@Jack Dexter – That’s a bit sad tho, isn’t it? It might be safer but why should you have to hide in your house, roads are for cyclists too. Plus, you’ll never experience the wonders of getting drenched on your way home when, five minutes beforehand, it was clear blue skys.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:01 AM

Not to mention the joys of hitting big potholes full of water that looked like small potholes full of water

Mute Josie Jones
    Favourite Josie Jones
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:09 AM

I’ve been hit by both a car and a cyclist while crossing at green light. Fact is many road users (like these two instances) think the rules of the road don’t apply to them. I think there could be a lot more done to enforce the rules of the roads, no one fears the authorities it seems. This is why you still see plenty of people using handheld mobiles whilst driving for example.

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:09 AM

Its definitely in a cyclists interests to wear hi visibility or/and have the cat eye flashing, general driving & cycling standards are pathetic and its not education as any fool can read a rule book, its enforcement by the law is whats needed, yet to read about a cyclist in court.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:07 PM

Cyclists along with motorists should use lights at all times. A blinding sun can make cyclists invisible to motorists especially if their in the shadow of something in the background.

Mute Conor byrne
    Favourite Conor byrne
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:39 AM

I’m a cyclist and a driver but I’m actually thinking of giving up cycling because of the amount of bad drivers on the road .it’s not safe. Last week I was cycling down a hill at maybe 50k. A driver pulls out from a housing estate and I miss by inches. I seem the driver looking at me too which is worse. I think he just didn’t want to get stuck behind me so he decided to in danger my life instead.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:25 AM

The roads are not big enough
    Driving/Cycling relies on courtesy and following of a few rules
    something that is sadly lacking in Ireland today

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:31 AM

When the car came along, we more-or-less got rid of horses and carts. When colour TV came along, we eventually got rid of black-and-white.

Motoring has been here for well over a century now, isn’t it time for the digital switchover?

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:56 AM

Cities and cars do not mix.

Mute Proudly Italian
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:58 AM

I still use my ’87 Piaggio Vespa…. I’m happy with it, and I won’t change for nothing in this world to commute… :-)

Mute Anton de Buitlear
    Favourite Anton de Buitlear
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:47 AM

Seriously, if the cyclists were to pay road tax and insurance on the bike like car ,,drivers,they might show more, respect to other road users, and ban the hat cam, as there more interested in filming whats around them more so whats in front of them,

Mute L ORourke
    Favourite L ORourke
    Jul 15th 2014, 8:57 AM

When cars start paying road tax, we can revisit this idea.

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:27 PM

Its a motor tax and I don’t have a motor on my bike. Sometimes I wish I did, but that’s another story…

Mute Anne Ronayne
    Favourite Anne Ronayne
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:46 AM

The problem for cyclists is definetly motorists(approx 3-5%) who insist on not keeping out when passing out cyclists, who refuse to pull up behind the cyclist when there is an oncoming car, who basically dont seem to have passed the driving test. There is always also a sense that if you are cycling or jogging that you are a nuisance……i realise cyclists too have a duty to be responsible at all times….

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Jul 15th 2014, 11:45 AM

Cyclists are without doubt the least law abiding, yet most arrogant, road users in Dublin. To see one actually stopped at a Red light is a rarity. The Gardai should be doing something about them, maybe then the number being killed or injured would be reduced.

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:26 PM

The stats don’t lie baby. This year, eight cyclists killed versus how many people killed by cars?

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:48 PM

And that proves what exactly …?

Mute samdithers
    Favourite samdithers
    Jul 15th 2014, 1:52 PM

Perhaps in disproves your theory of cyclists being the least law abiding road users.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:24 PM

How many cyclists stop before the red traffic light? Or the stop line? STOP means exactly what it says on the sign, and it means before and not after the sign.

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Jul 17th 2014, 1:38 AM

I do. Always.

Mute Kevin Martin
    Favourite Kevin Martin
    Aug 23rd 2014, 4:51 PM

I’ve cycling and driving here and on the continent for about 20 years.

Its incredible how dangerous drivers are towards cyclists.not as bad abroad. I’ve needed to develop a sixth sense with eyes in the back of my head.

Drivers turning left and cutting off cyclists is the worst offence.

Most drivers think they’re right! …I’ve checked and rechecked with the Gardai. The car cannot cut in and turn left in front of a cyclist. You must stop and allow him/her to pass on the inside.

Ive seriously considering making citizens arrest in future when drivers do this to me. I always chase and stop them an explain their offence. Im thinking o the next cyclist who may ho have eyes in the back of his/her head.

K

Last guy was on the phone and admitted he saw me.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:44 AM

I’ve been living in Cambridge the past 2 years where arguably the main mode of transport is push-bike. You will be very hard pushed to find a road in here that doesn’t have a cycle lane on both sides. I was recently in Dublin and I would find it very intimidating to commute around the city on a bike (safely). I imagine it would be very difficult to implement cycle lanes with narrow roads, also cycling alongside a large truck always puts me on edge as I’m always under the impression the truck driver cannot see me.

Mute Laura Heneghan
    Favourite Laura Heneghan
    Jul 15th 2014, 11:13 AM

Great article. I love cycling and love to use my bike as a form of transport. I recently undertook cycle skills training and although I’ve cycled for many years the training has definitely improved my safety one road. I think both cyclists and drivers should do bike training and in turn improve everyone’s safety.

Mute daragh oneill
    Favourite daragh oneill
    Jul 15th 2014, 9:34 AM

Would be nice to see gardai doing something about drivers using cycling paths as pit lanes for using mobile phones. And is it too crazy and foreign an idea to make it illegal to ride bike without helmet?

Mute David Sherry
    Favourite David Sherry
    Jul 15th 2014, 10:54 AM

Dublin County Councils answer to cycle infrastructure has been the Dublin bike scheme! Which does nothing to make the roads safer

Mute Roger Blagdon
    Favourite Roger Blagdon
    Aug 29th 2014, 1:23 AM

cyclist should be insured to go on the rd… they take up as much room on the rd as a motorbike??? if i scrapped a cycle they can claim off my insurance….who’s insurance can i claim off if they scrap my car??? i used to give them room.. but alas no more they have no respect for rd users or pedestrians at all they cycle along two abreast .when they should only b in single file….they r a fxxking nuisance….oh and by the way i drive an hgv…. when will we c cyclist on the motorways??? the gardi let agriculural tractors on them??