You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cypriot President Nicos Anastasiades. Geert Vanden Wijngaert/AP

Cyprus president demands bailout decision on Thursday

Earlier today the European Commission said it is up to the Cypriot government now to present an alternative scenario for the bailout.

CYPRUS PRESIDENT NICOS Anastasiades has demanded that a decision on a bailout deal for the near-bankrupt eurozone member must be made on Thursday, the official CNA news agency reported.

“A decision on a Cyprus rescue must be made on Thursday at the latest,” CNA quoted Anastasiades as saying as he left the presidential palace in Nicosia tonight.

Anastasiades had chaired a meeting of his cabinet today, and state television reported he was to present party leaders with a Plan B aimed at securing an EU-IMF bailout for the Mediterranean island.

Earlier today the country’s interior minsiter admitted that its two main banks may never re-open after the troika rejected a ‘plan B’ put forward by the government.

The European Commission said later that it is now for the Cypriot authorities to present an alternative scenario that will not be vetoed by its national parliament.

- © AFP 2013

Additional reporting by Michelle Hennessy.

Related: Brussels: ‘It’s up to Cyprus to come up with a revised bailout deal’>
Read: Cyprus minister: Troika rejects our Plan B, and banks might never re-open>

View 65 comments
65 Comments
    Mute Gavin Ross
    Favourite Gavin Ross
    Mar 20th 2013, 9:50 PM

That’s one unhappy lookin dude!

Mute Jason Moran
    Favourite Jason Moran
    Mar 21st 2013, 2:50 AM

You just cut to the heart of the matter – he looks unhappy. Needless to say -not needless- the international banks are stealing their money.

Mute EU Auditor
    Favourite EU Auditor
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:31 PM

The monkey is off our back in Ireland for a while but the Circus is still in town (just look at Ming, Lowery, Quinn, Wallace and the rest of the corrupt TSs).

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:27 PM

How many of them were drunk on the night of the “deal”?

Mute Jason Moran
    Favourite Jason Moran
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:08 AM

Lowery and Quinn in the same sentence with the other 2 eejits, really? It’s all a circus but I’d rather be in a cage with 2 socialist panda bears who make questionable personal decisions, rather than hump zoologically predetermined partners. Whereas Quinn and Lowery? They deserve – what? Going with the animal analogy – they should be put down.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:35 AM

Cage fight sounds good.

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:23 PM

And the Euro circus rolls on, economically flattening every country in its path..
    next stop….
    *Slovakia*

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:25 PM

Apologies, Slovenia…

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:31 PM

The way I look at it. The more basket cases teethering on the brink around Europe, the better little old Ireland looks in comparison

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:28 PM

is that the party line….push the lads in front over the cliff to buy time
    genius mr shaw genius!

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:33 PM

The guy on the news today explained the bailouts very simply
    Spain ; SUBORDINATED BOND HOLDERS PAID!
    Greece : Government bond holders paid !
    Ireland ; Taxpayers paid !
    Cyprus : depositors paid – oh no hang on their government said NO!

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:35 PM

Yes that’s it Kevin my bills really care what people think about little old Ireland!!

Mute Peter Daly
    Favourite Peter Daly
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:57 PM

Dermot
    There are no bond holders of consequence in Cyprus and a substantial proportion of Bank deposits are hot money being laundered for Russian Mafia. What’s the issue? Should the Cypriots reject a bailout then all of their deposits in the banks are gone!

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:29 AM

Sums it up ,Irish fools lead to drink at Germany’s empty pool.by Enda

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:16 AM

Mohammed- I think you’ll find that the size of your bills are very much affected by confidence in Ireland given its impact on the interest rates we pay on our massive debt. We’re in a bailout because the markets lost confidence in Ireland, remember?

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:17 AM

@john- Yes. Ireland first. No apologies.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:36 AM

So we’ll all hang separately so?

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 7:36 AM

@censored- your steadfast refusal to recognise that Ireland is recovering, not deteriorating , your grim determination to cast Ireland in a the role of train wreck rather than resilient survivor is a little sad. It’s like you need us to fail just to vindicate your world view and more specifically your hatred of this Government.

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:11 AM

Kevin
    incorrect
    the fine gael party first, the elites second and a long way third the people of ireland

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:29 PM

@john- you’re so right. I was just saying to Seanie Fitz & Quinner over dinner last night how loathsome the common man is. I swear, Quinner nearly spat out his Chateeauneuf du pape. Seriously, man- do you never tire of your “Citizen Smith” rhetoric? It’s not necessary to demonise those you disagree with. You don’t need to ascribe sinister motives to them. You can think Enda Kenny isn’t good enough without necessarily thinking he’s in league with the devil.

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:33 PM

hahaha citizen smith good one!!!
    you are the one who has been demonising the people of this country ever since you started posting here
    its all our fault ….we all went mad…
    the likes of the people you mention have destroyed this country not the ordinary hardworking classes but your happy like your government to brush their names under the carpet
    I certainly think Enda Kenny isint good enough and he has proved my point time and time again but he is not even remotely intelligent enough to be in league with the devil!

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:10 PM

Not a big deal really. Russia will help cos it will want a say in the gas/ mineral reserves south of the island, as yet unproved and Troika will sit and wait as they know €30-odd-bln is belonging to Russians in the now closing banks. And if Cyprus goes ‘down’?…. So what? No big effect on the ever revered world financial markets! A blip. And a lesson taught by the Troika that they will not be put over a barrel like in Spanish negotiations last year.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:30 PM

Cyprus is a stones throw from Syria ! There is a British military base there , this has massive potential for anarchy hopefully it won’t happen but the Arms industry’s revenues are way down this year! The cost of the war on terror sits at 600 billion!
    Hopefully I’m wrong but with America (I.M.F.) and Russia involved…….

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 9:55 PM

As has been said- he looks like Podge or Rodge. Who is he demanding the decision on the bailout from? The EU or Cypriot TD’s?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:02 PM

They don’t have T.ds in Cyprus Kev

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:11 PM

If foreigners can call our Taoiseach Prime Minister, I can call their MP’s, TD’s….

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Gavin Ross
    Favourite Gavin Ross
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:12 PM
    Mute Leonard Washington
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:14 PM

Fair enough. Pity you lads don’t have the balls to talk to the IMF like that.

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:20 PM

Yes, Leonard. I wish I was sitting here now wondering whether the wages sitting in my bank account would ever make it to my wallet or whether instead that cash would disappear as the financial infrastructure of my country fell down around my ears. I’d love that.

Mute iBob101
    Favourite iBob101
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:21 PM

Wasn’t there an American Eagle on the Muppet Show that looked like him?

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:21 PM

They do have STD’s in Cyprus, by the way. My mate told me.

Mute iBob101
    Favourite iBob101
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:26 PM
    Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:27 PM

Beaker, I can see. The Blue Eagle, not so much.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:34 PM

The wages from my pay packet barely make it to my bank account. Due to you lads fleecing every normal persons wages in tax. Ye not goin to start intimidating people like you were on the other thread Kevin?

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:41 PM

You’re going to have to explain that Leonard? I didn’t understand it on the last thread either…

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:46 PM

Plenty S.T.D’s though

Mute Danny Murray
    Favourite Danny Murray
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:54 PM

Ohh I think quite a few of our TD’s are there quite often… maybe more to the North, carrying big bags of moolah.

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:59 PM

@Kevin, what I understand from reading more verbose articles is that he will present an new plan tomorrow. The new plan will meet the EU requirements, but is rumored to spare bank deposits under 100000 euros. He is demanding the parliament examines the plan during the day and makes a decision on it. He is not really demanding anything from the EU, as EU officials have confirmed they have 10 billions ready as long as Cyprus can raise 5.8 billion, using the bank tax or any other mean.

I was doing a bit of research and these numbers are crazy. Cyprus has a GDP of 20 billions, an existing debt of 15 billions, and has been running a 10% budget yearly for quite a while. The banking sector is worth 800% of GDP where the oversized one in Ireland was “only” 400% before the crisis.

What is going on here is a banking crisis twice as large as the Irish one, combined to chronic and massive public deficit similar to what Greece had been doing before their bailout (their debt is currently lower that what Greece had, but with the 10 billion loan they now need, it will suddenly jump to 125% of GDP). Not looking good for Cyprus :-/

Mute Leonard Washington
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:10 PM

That’s a terrible thing to be calling Kevin.

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:30 PM

all those comments that mentioned MUPPETS should be banned journal
    I got banned for saying MUPPETS!

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:36 PM

Kevin; I ask you again; do you have a vote in ireland?
    Or to put it more succinctly Are you an Irish Citizen?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:51 PM

You must be Michael Noonan, all you can do is make ‘jokes’ and gloat over the troubles of another country – co-incidentally. Greek speaking country. Who could forget his fabulous quip about feta cheese? Laugh- I nearly did.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:53 PM

That remark was to ‘kevin’

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:19 AM

Fergus…you shouldnt be talking about STDs with that pretty lady on your arm! Careful there now!

Mute Jason Moran
    Favourite Jason Moran
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:26 AM

Kevin you look like an egg. Any relevance to what you are saying? Whether he looks like Podge or Rodge is irrelevant. Mildly funny but ad hominem.

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:03 AM

@sheik- to be clear, I’m not gloating over the misfortune of another country. But I’ve been listening to rhetoric for months now about how our Government were cowards and traitors and “if only they stood up to the EU” there would be a miraculous turn around in Ireland’s fortunes while I pointed out that Ireland, sadly had zero leverage over the EU and was really pursuing the only course open to a country in our position…..the very same course as Spain, Italy and Greece were following. What’s happening in Cyprus is a pretty graphic illustration of the futility and inherent danger in posturing and populism and an endorsement of Ireland’s policy of constructive engagement. Its a sense of vindication that you’re sensing. I hope Cyprus do get sorted- as long as the solution in no way impacts on Irelands recovery.

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:05 AM

@dermot- Yes. I can and do vote in Ireland. I’ve a passport & everything. All the mod cons.

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:06 AM

Jason- your second name is very close to moron. Does that have any relevance to what you are saying?

Mute Kevin Shaw
    Favourite Kevin Shaw
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:13 AM

@boris- the numbers are depressing for sure, though in the medium term if the gas rights expected for Cyprus materialise they should be ok….an advantage they have over Ireland. If you’re right, though the last 48 hours will constitute one enormous waste of time as Cyprus will ultimately sign up to the original deal presented by the EU ( including the EU’s preference for leaving those with savings less than €100,000 alone) and all they will have achieved is to damage further their country’s reputation, create ill-will towards themselves at Troika level and breed more uncertainty in their banking sector.

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Mar 21st 2013, 7:41 AM

@Kevin, yes if what they vote about is what was originally on the table, what a waste indeed! (And possibly when the banks reopen they will find out that they gave enough time for foreign investors to work around the closures and move their money abroad, and that the tax is not enough anymore)

Lets see today.

Mute mecanicalrat
    Favourite mecanicalrat
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:52 PM

What ever happened to contagion….probably the same as jobs stability and growth oh and not to forget the 5 point plan #kenny

Mute Henry Sanner
    Favourite Henry Sanner
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:02 PM

how many more countries will they be milking …
    this is like a bottomless pit and peole keep throwing money into it…

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:40 PM

The EU are showing a bad case of Brinksmanship ….

Mute Jock O'neill
    Favourite Jock O'neill
    Mar 20th 2013, 9:56 PM

Lads this is not looking for the rest of us .

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:16 PM

Good/Bad

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:28 PM

They’ll be looking for you next!

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:15 PM

Get your money out before the Q starts!!

Mute Jock O'neill
    Favourite Jock O'neill
    Mar 20th 2013, 10:00 PM

Good sorry

Mute Arbitrasure
    Favourite Arbitrasure
    Mar 21st 2013, 5:10 AM

If we see Cyprus default and ejected from the EU it will show us the path we could have chosen.
    I wonder will we be envious.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:23 AM

Someone should tell ole grumpy puss that hes not really in a position to be demanding anything from anyone!

Mute Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Mar 20th 2013, 11:05 PM

He really does remind me of an old Mr Bean

Mute daniel fell
    Favourite daniel fell
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:18 AM

Mother Russia will sort it out, I wonder how Angela will react to that in the morning.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:43 AM

…If “Mother Russia” does ride to the rescue…what will be the cost? Naval Bases, Gazprom Bank take over one of the banks? Who knows, but there will be a cost…..

Mute daniel fell
    Favourite daniel fell
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:43 AM

Britain has the military side of things sewn up. Russia already has two commercial banks operating there with over 30bn of capital invested/based there. Russia had rights on Cypriot gas fields so gazprom is also in situ already. Putin will just undeine things there or else put a massive Russian crested stamp right in the middle of the island

Mute Jason Moran
    Favourite Jason Moran
    Mar 21st 2013, 2:39 AM

Cyprus President “demands” bailout decision on Thursday. A population of 1.1million. We were just too big to complain/get arsey/cop on.