You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People lie on the street during a protest outside of the presidential palace in Nicosia. Petros Karadjias/PA Images

Serial killer who admits to killing seven foreign women and girls shocks Cyprus

Police have been accused of failing to properly investigate initial missing persons reports.

A MAN WHO has confessed to killing seven foreign women and girls in Cyprus is being investigated on additional charges of raping a foreign woman he had photographed as a model

The comments in court by Criminal Investigation Department Chief Neophytos Shailos were the latest development in a case that has shocked the eastern Mediterranean island nation, cost both the justice minister and the police chief their jobs that led to strong criticism of negligence.

Police have been accused of failing to properly investigate initial missing persons reports that could have saved the lives of later victims.

Shailos told a court in Nicosia today that the suspect had raped the woman in his car on the outskirts of the capital in early 2017 when he picked her up to supposedly give her the photographs.

He said the 35-year-old army captain had videoed the alleged rape on his phone.

The woman, a 19-year-old foreign citizen, had called the suspect’s wife at the time and told her what had happened, he said. He did not elaborate on what the suspect’s wife did with that information. The two, who have two children, are now divorced.

Shailos said investigators are trying to secure additional testimony from a female friend of the alleged victim, who has since left the island. He did not state her nationality.

The court extended the suspect’s detention for another eight days. He has not been named because he has not yet been charged in what authorities are calling the most horrifying multiple-slayings case that Cyprus has seen.

The suspect, who represented himself in court today and wore a bullet-proof vest, said he had no objections to the detention renewal.

Investigators have been speaking with everyone the suspect had contacted online since 2016, when the alleged first victims, Romanian Livia Florentina Bunea and her eight-year-old daughter Elena Natalia, vanished.

The suspect has admitted to killing both and placing their bodies in suitcases, which he said the dumped in a toxic lake west of the capital.

Last week, authorities pulled a suitcase containing the decomposed remains of an adult woman from the lake. Search crews are now using sophisticated sonar equipment to scan the bottom of the lake for two more suitcases.

The suspect said he also disposed of the body of Maricar Valtez Arquiola, 31, from the Philippines, into the lake.

Only two of the victims have so far been positively identified; 38-year-old Mary Rose Tiburcio and Arian Palanas Lozano, 28, both from the Philippines. Their bodies were discovered in an abandoned mineshaft last month six days apart.

Authorities are also looking for the body of Tiburcio’s six year-old daughter Sierra in another reservoir.

Cyprus President Nicos Anastasiades, who on Saturday called the suspect a “serial killer,” last week apologized to diplomats of the countries of the victims and vowed to bolster protections for foreign workers in Cyprus.

Critics claim the police in Cyprus did not put much energy into the missing persons reports because the victims were low-paid foreign workers.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

7 Comments
    Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:53 PM

Ryan warns we have to be careful about power while shutting perfectly good power stations and pushing electrical heating and electric cars this fella needs to be removed from any form of power fast. This time of day pricing is just price gouging as most people have no choice but to use electricity to cook their evening meals at these times and it is not safe to have anything with a heating element running unattended particularly while in bed such as a dishwasher washing machine or dryer

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:24 PM

@Michael McGrath: Pity we cant grow energy in our garden boxes along side all the lettuce……Ryan would be all over that!

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:57 PM

@Michael McGrath: our electric generation is highly linked to gas, a few old ineffective peat power stations ain’t gonna cover that

Mute Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:41 PM

@Jason Walsh: both those power stations gave enough power for 245000 homes and closing them without ready-made replacements was the height of stupidity

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:42 PM

@Michael McGrath: Perfectly put,and let’s not forget the Rubbish about lettuce in windoboxes,sleeping constantly at work,sleeping might I add on a seat that cost countless lives to put under his arse, he is a disgrace.

Mute Michael Bardon
    Favourite Michael Bardon
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:50 PM

@Michael McGrath: If we just shut him up we could save enough energy to save the world.

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 8:55 PM

@Jason Walsh: they are not old in generating plant terms and yes every few hundred mw make a difference

Mute Irish View
    Favourite Irish View
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:48 PM

Electricity sucking datacenters, an exploding population, sanctions on a major energy provider and the crazy Greens in power is a bad mix!

Mute Vincent Hughes
    Favourite Vincent Hughes
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:58 PM

@Irish View: spot on

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:07 PM

@Irish View: what absolute toddle!

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:37 PM

@Irish View: doesn’t eamon hibernate for the winter.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:00 PM

@Brian Madden: well, according to Irish view we have an ‘exploding population’. Wouldn’t sleep knowing this!

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:22 PM

@Irish View: Ireland is the only country in the world that has a lower population now than 1850. Hardly an explosion.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:46 PM

@Brian Madden: Yea sleeps in the heated Dail for the Winter.

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:02 PM

Thanks Eamo. Turn of the lecky between 5-7pm, ie, dinner time when everyone is home…. slow clap…go back to sleep

Mute Ronnie Smith
    Favourite Ronnie Smith
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:14 PM

Ryan has sleeped walked us into this crisis. He hasn’t a clue how to solve it in the near future. The sooner the better their is an election so we can get the Greens out as they are all a shower of wasters. Their incompetence knows no bounds.

Mute Edel Nally
    Favourite Edel Nally
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:22 PM

@Ronnie Smith: agreed

Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:33 PM

@Edel Nally: l second that – he’s a complete gobshité of the highest order.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:54 PM

“where people are being discouraged to use electricity between 5pm and 7pm” … I’ve seen this written and heard it said but never any mention of how it can be done.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:58 PM

@Earth Traveller: from an Irish Independent article for a few days ago, If you’ve got a smart meter they plan on charging more for use between 5 and 7pm, and perhaps less outside of those hours. They’ve got ways of “incentivising” use according to the article.

Only problem is, just a fraction of homes have these meters so not really sure how they’ll manage it but you can guarantee it’ll involve the user paying more.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:30 PM

@Earth Traveller:
    Erm, don’t put on the dishwasher or the washing machine until later in the evening, do the ironing at at different time, turn off the immersion etc ? Small change in habits would make a huge difference

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:50 PM

@Hector Son: I think most people are already doing that. The majority of power used at this time comes from people doing normal things like making dinner and in the winter turning on a few lights and your heat for an hour or two. Maybe having a quick shower if your home from a days manual labour or putting on the TV for the kids.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:58 PM

@Hector Son: while yes you are correct in some instances not all circumstances can be moved to off peak usage. For instance there is currently talk of introducing time of day tariffs for those with smart meters, between 5 and 7, starting in October….just the time when most people arrive home needing their dinner after a days work….to me, that is gouging, plain and simple. Also, a tumble dryer is one of the more expensive items in the home to run, but no way should you ever put that on and leave it unattended, it is asking for trouble.

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Earth Traveller: it does actually make sense as it is peak load and most likely to lead to load shedding. That is the effect, we all need to stop the blame game and put our shoulder to the wheel. I agree that we need solutions, but just like covid when we need to we will.

Mute Lorna Long
    Favourite Lorna Long
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:09 PM

@Earth Traveller: kinda hard if you are working….

Mute Verners Tess
    Favourite Verners Tess
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:33 PM

2022, a world run by “experts” and this is where we are. FFS!!!!!

Mute noel c
    Favourite noel c
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:52 PM

All cause of Europe sanctions now we need to pay the price

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:11 PM

@noel c: no. It’s Because an mental case invades another country and slaughters it’s people.

Mute Eoin O'Leary
    Favourite Eoin O'Leary
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:15 PM

@noel c: yea them fec kin europeans..let’s just doing nothing and leave putin run riot instead, makes a way more sense

Mute flokster
    Favourite flokster
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:13 PM

Maybe instead of giving households one off payments they should spend these funds in fitting all houses with solar panels?

Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin

@flokster: not much good unless you’re pairing your solar with a battery.
    Charge using solar in morning and afternoon, and on the night rate.

There’s a growing argument for buying only a battery and charging it from night rate electricity to offset your day rate costs. Depends on your usage though.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:44 PM

@Cian Martin: Know a couple in England who are doing exactly that. Working for them but the only gripe they have is initial cost. It’s going to take at least 10yrs to break even. Then there’s the issue of electric cars. As the numbers of cars increase so will pressure on the grid at off-peak times as more and more people charge from home overnight. This will probably result in off-peak rates rising, pushing the break even point for this couple out even further. Panels + batteries would be most cost effective long term.

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:02 PM

@flokster: and how much will that cost?

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:38 PM

@Appaddy: €200 a household according to flockster’s flawed logic

Mute Self Employed Anarchist
    Favourite Self Employed Anarchist
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:13 PM

Nuclear

Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:38 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: they passed motion in the dail that we won’t even import nuclear from other countries such as France. While everyone was asleep – people of Ireland are subservient!

Mute Ciaran Maher
    Favourite Ciaran Maher
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:29 PM

@James Lough: The Celtic interconnect or will bring electricity from France. Mostly nuclear?

Mute Nicholas Grubb
    Favourite Nicholas Grubb
    Aug 24th 2022, 8:27 PM

@Ciaran Maher: Not one KW of power will come on the back of that white elephant. The French nuke surplus is destined for the silly
    Germans who shut down theirs.
    The good thing about the Smart Meters is we will be able to buy in power at few cent when the wind is blowing strong and in surplus.
    Ryan and the Greens are just plain ignorant on this whole power issue. Haven’t got a clue. Get rid of the data centres, big tech and pharma. Kill half the cows and buy a million bicycles. Job done or so they think.!

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:04 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: sure that is what Putin is proposing?

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:05 PM

@James Lough: we have been importing nuclear for years through the two interconnectors.

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:07 PM

@Ciaran Maher: no it is designated for the interconnection of solar in the south of European wind in the North. Possibly in 2027 at the earliest. Meanwhile?

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:47 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: Nucléaire ? Non merci ! Remember all the wolly-heads at Carnsore Point in the 1970’s, headed by Crusty Hoore?

Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:50 PM
    Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:55 PM

@Ciaran Maher: France interconnector won’t be ready until 2026. Ireland imports energy from nuclear 0.93%. the energy motion now restricts any energy import from a nuclear source because of Ryan and sleepy Dāil members.

Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:58 PM

@Appaddy: 0.93% currently and the amendment now prevents this – it’s madness – get the Greens out and reverse this situation or we’ll be in the dark ages.

Mute Brendan Gordon
    Favourite Brendan Gordon
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:17 PM

Yes Eamon, we certainly wouldn’t want to be caught napping on this one….

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:55 PM

They know well we will have blackouts but don’t have the courage to say it. The UK are putting a plan in place for planned blackouts but our shower will allow it to happen on a whim with no notice given to us. My advice is to plan for blackouts folks cause it’s gonna happen.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:37 PM

@Jason Walsh: if the UK are planning blackouts, their situation is much worse. If expect unplanned blackouts to go with it

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:52 PM

@Jason Walsh: Oh let’s follow the UK Jason. They are clearly world leaders. The great British Empire? Not any more..

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:55 PM

Oh feck he’s awake ,new tax on the way

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Aug 24th 2022, 3:55 PM

Perhaps if everyone (very carefully) raised their dwellings and replaced them pointed it in a south-westerly direction this crisis could be averted?

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:12 PM

Price caps don’t work? because the British ones are ending, how about the French ones? capped at 4% not ending anytime soon. The war in Ukraine is the problem – how many increases in 2021 before the war? over 18% increase in second half of 2021 alone. Now they want to increase prices further if you use at peak times, won’t that just push the peak to another time? couldn’t find their own arse with 2 hands and a map, useless.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:44 PM

@Mick Wall: quote of the day Mick had me laughing

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:09 PM

@Mick Wall: TG for Google maps, arse problem resolved.

Mute Tom Hogarty
    Favourite Tom Hogarty
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:40 PM

Every time this man makes an announcement or adds his opinion to an issue, my heart sinks, I become even less confident in our government and I consider reaching for a drink of something stronger than tea, to steady the nerves. Is he not taking the spin lessons like the other fella?

Mute Tony Boland
    Favourite Tony Boland
    Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:14 PM

He’s on a roll today, 2 articles in in a row

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:01 PM

@Nigel Hayden: pity it wasn’t 3 strikes and you’re out,I’d be getting excited.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:25 PM

@John Sleator: if only dreams come true lol

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:16 PM

Who woke him up?

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:56 PM

Fed up with every story about Troy having the comments closed on it. I can understand if it’s a legal case but it’s not (yet). We as the readers of the journal have the right to comment on what he has, hasn’t, could or couldn’t have done particularly given he is a public representative.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2022, 10:07 PM

@Peter: and as usual deleted any pertinent comments regarding white collar corruption and self interest policy setting

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:41 PM

Woolies and penny candles for some households.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:56 PM

Ryan wound have us all on our bikes at home peddling fast to generate the required power to keep the lights on

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Aug 24th 2022, 4:07 PM

Get your aran jumper quick, sheep wool is in short supply.

Mute Johnny Monaghan
    Favourite Johnny Monaghan
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:06 PM

Just get the two Midlands peat power stations open and stop the daily exporting of peat.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Aug 24th 2022, 9:40 PM

@Johnny Monaghan: While the rest of the world protects their peat bogs, we were subsidising the burning of them. Plenty of better alternative than peat

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 24th 2022, 11:52 PM

@Mickety Dee: plenty of bogs still being stripped

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Aug 24th 2022, 8:54 PM

There is an immediate gap and Eamonn et al need to wake up. We are in a WW2 situation energy wise. No gas storage no effective oil storage, relatively new peat stations mothballed, a planning system that takes years to get decisions, a cadre of geniuses that specialise and indeed thrive of objecting to progress, a court system that can be used to stop projects for years.
    I sincerely hope that I am wrong on this, but one cold winter with freezing youth, rising costs and guess what happens next.
    But the government answer is yet another work group to kick the can down the road.
    We have in the past had government’s of national unity in crisis situations. Smell the roses f f sake.

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:37 PM

Christ, the way people go on about data centres they use 15% of generated energy even removing them your at 75% capacity the issue isn’t data centres it is as usual this useless governments ability to not look ahead and forward plan while at the same time also removing generation from grid, this is going to skew total generation so total uptake is higher as less generating capacity. Even if you closed all them, they will move back on premise and use even more energy than before. Data centres are heavily virtualized and efficient, you’d find they’d save energy overall.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent

Sure Eamo, will do.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:03 PM

Anything left in the box Pandora!

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:08 PM

@Damien Leen: Hope

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Aug 24th 2022, 5:57 PM

I think Eamon Ryan needs to be very careful

Mute Sue O'Neill
    Favourite Sue O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2022, 8:27 PM

Eamon Ryan hasn’t a clue what he is talking about… worst minister ever. Get rid

Mute Patricia O'Brien
    Favourite Patricia O'Brien
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:45 PM

F off Ryan and take Troy with you. Sickingly corrupt the whole lot of ye.

Mute Tony Boland
    Favourite Tony Boland
    Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Aug 25th 2022, 12:29 AM

It would be deemed normal practice that, when you intend to shut down one source of creating electricity that you would have another source up and ready. When the turf powered Generators were shut down we had an immediate dilemma as to replacement so, where to now ? Any Cabbage head solution ?

Mute Liz O'Neill
    Favourite Liz O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2022, 11:24 PM

Genuine question. Why didn’t the power supply go tits up when we were all at home for months on end during lockdown; with the heating on,the kettle constantly boiling, and the toaster on overdrive?
    If the answer is that consumption was down because the factories, shops, and workplaces weren’t functioning,then why is the domestic consumer being punished now?

Mute ciaran enright
    Favourite ciaran enright
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:45 PM

That’s right Dougal!

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Aug 24th 2022, 7:57 PM

He needs to hibernate for the winter.

Mute Frank Manweiler
    Favourite Frank Manweiler
    Aug 24th 2022, 6:59 PM

Doh
    Wakey wakey Amen

Mute Michael J Foley
    Favourite Michael J Foley
    Aug 24th 2022, 11:42 PM

Clowns he and all who vote for him

Mute paddy mulcahy
    Favourite paddy mulcahy
    Aug 25th 2022, 9:12 AM

someone told me that global warming is caused by all the hot air coming from Ryan