You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Natalya Okorokova

Poll: Should the Dáil bar be closed down?

A motion calling for the closure of the Dáil bar has been passed by the Kerry Vintners’ Federation.

A MOTION CALLING for the closure of the Dáil bar has been proposed by a member of Kerry Vintners’ Federation who hopes it will go before a national congress.

Sean O’Mahoney, who owns a pub in Killarney brought the proposal before the local grouping and said it was inappropriate for members of the Dáil to be seen consuming alcohol at their place of work. 

He said that the taxpayer should not be footing the bill for the subsidised alcohol prices. However it is understood that the Dáil bar does not have subsidised alcohol prices.

So, today we want to know: Should the Dáil bar be closed down? 

Poll Results:

Yes (12590)
No (3073)
I'm not sure / No opinion (573)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

106 Comments
    Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Bodycoach
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:07 AM

Go to the pub and pay normal prices like everyone else. They get paid enough… contribute to the economy…

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:29 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: nothing to do with the cost – there should not be a pub in work.

Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:39 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: everything to do with cost, if it was just about the pub being at work no one would really care

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:53 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: these guys get bought free food and drink everywhere they go – that’s why they leave big tabs behind. it’s purely about have a “one pint” (Healy Rae term for five or six) and voting on things that affect peoples lives.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:58 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: I voted yes. Now you have made me think again.

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:10 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: comment of the week.i couldn’t agree more.

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:54 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: if the vintners want to shut them down then all they have to do is lodge a complaint that the tab system is in breach of s(8) of the intoxicating liquor act which prohibits the sale of alcohol on credit.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: “However it is understood that the Dáil bar does not have subsidised alcohol prices.” so what is your objection again?

Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Marie Broomfield: understood, not proven, of course they don’t want to tell everyone it’s subsidised… it’s always been subsidised and they have tabs that they don’t pay either. So that’s my point…

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:42 AM

@Dara O’Brien:
    Incorrect
    Hotels sell Alcohol on credit when you put it to your room
    Restaurants sell alcohol on credit when you have a meal
    Retailers sell alcohol on credit when you put it on your CC
    Test case SI4746475

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:04 PM

@Mark Walsh: Not my understanding at all and a search for the test case shows no results – I’d be interested in the details if you could provide though?

Re restaurants, ss2 of the bill allows for drinks ordered with meals to be paid later.

Re CC, consideration is deemed to have taken place when the card is presented – once you have given value to the seller, this is deemed ‘payment’

Re holes rooms – pre-authorization on the cc is treated as above.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:42 PM

@Marie Broomfield: it may not be subsidised but it is sold on credit – which is against the licencing act ! allowing anyone to ‘run up a tab’ or put drinks ‘on the slate’ is in breach of licencing law .

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:46 PM

@Mark Walsh: restaurants and hotels are exempt from that part of the act as the drinks will for a part of the final bill ,which will be settled on leaving the premises . as for credit cards the payment is made to the vendor immediately you swipe or enter your pin — the ‘credit’ part applies to the card holder -not the payment .

Mute Eileen Roche
    Favourite Eileen Roche
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:55 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: yes, the pub down the road from Thier workplace, oh and definitely not during working hours.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:12 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: I bet they drive home.

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:47 PM

@Larry Doherty: And can’t be stopped by Garda. What a fecking joke we are

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy

Do we really need a poll for this? A bar is not necessary in any place of employment except if you work in hospitality. Politicians are most definitely having a laugh here. Literally…!!!

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:46 AM

@2thFairy: except many modern offices have them

Mute DaisyMay
    Favourite DaisyMay
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:51 AM

@joe: have a bar? Seriously? BS. SOME have a drinks fridge where the unwritten rule is that you have ONE on a Friday evening but that’s fast going out of fashion.

Mute James Gallagher
    Favourite James Gallagher
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:37 AM

@DaisyMay: In the tech industry, at least, there are small bars in some offices. Typically one or two taps (there will also be beer fridges)

Mute Greg Cavey
    Favourite Greg Cavey
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:57 AM

@James Gallagher: Exactly. My mate worked in Intercom in town and they had a small bar with taps and a fridge with beers in it. There’s also guys in there on much higher wages than any politician.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:22 AM

@James Gallagher: Ah, now I know why tech support in the tech industry tends to be rubbish

Mute Leo Latorre
    Favourite Leo Latorre
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:50 PM

@DaisyMay: I know an IT company that has a fully equipped pub inside their office.

Mute Eileen Roche
    Favourite Eileen Roche
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:51 PM

@James Gallagher: Definitely should not be alcohol during working hours.. in any workplace. The limit now is barely a have glass of wine if even that. These workers ( Government ) are breaking the law when they drive out the gates of employment.. Has there Ever been a Gardai checkpoint outside Any Gov. building. Wish there was, it would tell a tale. A law they brought in for the people, they are no different from me or you, ,

Mute Free Derry
    Favourite Free Derry
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:09 AM

if I went to work with drink in me I be sacked, the bar is a symbol of how little they care about the people when the important decisions are made.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:05 AM

Yes, they talk enough s, without adding drink to their waffle.

Mute Luke Lee
    Favourite Luke Lee
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:08 AM

Should have closed years ago especially after the night of the bank guarantee. TDs half pissed laughing and joking at a time of such importance was an absolute disgrace. Close it down.

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones

@Luke Lee:
    Not to mention lap gate and that some of them weren’t even paying for their pints..

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/unpaid-d%C3%A1il-bar-bills-written-off-over-failure-to-settle-tabs-1.3171521?mode=amp

Mute Clarissa
    Favourite Clarissa
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:19 AM

Why should my tax subsidise their drinks?? I’d never buy any of them a pint if I had a choice.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:12 AM

Spending over 7 grand on drink in that bar after passing the water services bill shows that it should be closed down. They barely have brains to begin with, let alone while on the lash making decisions that made the country stand up against them.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:13 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Does nt say much for the people who vote for them.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:17 AM

And remind the public of the TDs who left unpaid bar bills before they close it for good

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:18 AM

I’ve no problem with them having a drink and paying for it at the end of their day. But no way should they be allowed drink alcohol during their working day on lunch breaks then go into meetings, make decisions or hold votes etc.

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:11 AM

Absolutely.
    Subsidized gargle for them and minimum pricing for the rest of us.

Mute Paul Nealon
    Favourite Paul Nealon
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:36 AM

In every other occupation I’m aware off its a dismissal if one drinks in work or even brings alcohol onto site close the bar down immediately

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:15 AM

38 no votes must be TDs

Mute HotPotato
    Favourite HotPotato
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:08 AM

If things are to change, at a minimum the Dáil bar shouldn’t be subsidised

Mute David Daly
    Favourite David Daly
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:38 AM

@HotPotato: 100%. They are happy to hike up the price of a pint for the average person but they get a subsidised pint at our expense

Mute James Donnery
    Favourite James Donnery
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:16 AM

Close it quick before Lord Ross goes back on the beer

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:07 AM

It most certainly should be closed down. They have a bar and a gym what’s next a swimming pool, a spa? The Dáil is a place of work not a five star hotel.

Mute BatMon
    Favourite BatMon
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:13 AM

They should turn the bar into a euthanasia clinic, and sure half of them could use it.

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan

Tea, coffees only and a simple aul salad, maybe a bit of beetroot and scallions

Mute liam ward60
    Favourite liam ward60
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:16 AM

Is the dail bar still in operation? Thought it was closed years ago due to them donkeys in the dail not paying their bar bill

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:09 AM

@liam ward60: Unfortunately it’s still open because they found another donkey to pay the tab for them. You and I

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:51 AM

If they closed the Dail and left the pub open would we see any difference,I doubt it.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:24 AM

Who can ever forget Biffo who’s very fond of the aul gargle hungover to death one morning giving an interview to the media, it’s incredibe there’s an actual bar in the one place where key decisions (mostly all shambolic ones) are made about the country, you couldn’t make it up!!

But as I said on here years ago nothing will ever change in Ireland until the people stop voting in the same political party’s on rotation, insanity… Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:25 AM

77 TDs voted no so far

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:12 PM

@Jonny: it would look a bit better but Fianna fail abstained from the vote

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:37 AM

Why should we subsidise their drink?? And we’re prob paying for their lift home after the beer too! Shut it down. They don’t require it for the job. In fact drinking at work is surely illegal?

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly

It isn’t a priority With all the other problems we face as a country.

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent

@Tom Kelly: so what leave it open for tax pay to cover ?

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:17 PM

@Vincent: yeah fair enough.. with Brexit, hospital waiting lists and a massive homelessness crisis.. let’s stick this at the top of the to do list..

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Tom Kelly: yea, because people are only capable of doing one task at a time!! Oh wait, maybe that’s just idiots, the rest of us can multi task

Mute Camilius Woolbottom
    Favourite Camilius Woolbottom
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:28 AM

Close that bloody bar down & go to the pub like the rest of us. What other business has a bar on it’s premises. Seriously, these politicians need a serious reality kick up the hole & so do the muppets that keep voting them back in.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins

Will blow over. FFG will see to that..

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:04 AM

194 saying must be TDs family and friends

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:06 AM

@Sheila Bedford: saying NO

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 18th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Sheila Bedford: I reckon if I had to collect a drunken family member late at nights, I wouldn’t be voting to keep the pub in their workplace open.

Mute richard brogan
    Favourite richard brogan
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:11 AM

Leave it open. Why close it ? Do us Irish have to crib about everything.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:49 AM

These people are proposing and making decisions that will affect every person in this country both now and in generations to come.
    It’s unacceptable that these people seem to think it’s OK to conduct such business and important life changing discussions under the influence of alcohol.
    Do your drinking outside office hours and off site like the rest of us.

Mute mot leave
    Favourite mot leave
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:41 AM

The more important thing is always missed in these debates, apart from closing down the bar which should have happened years ago there should be an immediate examination of the number of TDs and Senators. We have the highest per capita number of representatives in EU and wile the bar is one thing this is a far more important issue when they come calling for your vote

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:48 AM

Dail gym and bar… great to know my taxes are going to such fantastic causes

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:10 AM
    Mute richard brogan
    Favourite richard brogan

@WoodlandBard: got a good laugh of that.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:40 AM

@WoodlandBard:

Mute Karl Clark
    Favourite Karl Clark
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:58 AM

There should never be a bar in there as these are the people that are supposedly be running the country. They don’t do this if they are half intoxicated. Close it down.

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:36 AM

They don’t have to shut it down. They should just stop subsidizing it.

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:47 AM

Yes. God yes. Drinking at work and all that lark.

Mute Tom Hogarty
    Favourite Tom Hogarty
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:13 AM

You’d think that even the Kerry Vintners might have other, more relevant, stuff on their agenda to talk about. On the other hand, if this is to be an acceptable response to the recently passed laws that appeared unpopular in the South West then it deserves no space in the media, IMHO!

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Favourite Andre le Flohic
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:38 AM

No pub! Work is what you need to do lads! Coffee and tea should be allowed!

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:02 PM

I know of no other job in the public sector that has a bar attached to it .This is where the most important decisions for this Country are being made with a pub in the middle of it.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:32 AM

Absolutely not, imagine all the new ways they would find to screw us if they were sober FFS.

Mute Ross McCann
    Favourite Ross McCann
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:50 AM

Most certainly!

Dec 18th 2018, 10:15 AM

Yes. Its about time we get rid of the politicians perks and this deluded bunch gets a dose of reality.

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:17 AM

Horrible idea, its a place where the true dealings take place! Plus its a bargain!

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:38 AM

If we had the right public representatives, there would be only be the appropriate use of such a bar and it wouldn’t need the public to call for it to be taken away!

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:20 PM

Close the bar and let them do the jobs they are paid to do , they cost the tax payer too much to be drinking on the job .

Mute Ferg
    Favourite Ferg
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:57 AM

There is no bar in my job, why should there be one in theirs! Should they not be sobber making decisions on the country and it people!

Mute Richard Sheehan
    Favourite Richard Sheehan
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:30 AM

Leave it be! We are becoming such a nanny society

Mute John Cleere
    Favourite John Cleere
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:48 AM

All a shower of spoofers!! Especially FFG. Get the finger out and sort out this mess!!

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:14 AM

We only have one bar in the Dail, a drop in the ocean to what the Brits have in Westminster. They have many choices for a boozy lunch there.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:29 AM

@Reuben Gray: Oh yes we need to be more like the Brits.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:28 AM

O f course it should .

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:46 PM

On a practical level a bar in a workplace offers nothing but a detriment to their ability to do their job. They of course should have a place to unwind and chat with their colleagues casually but it should be a cafe or a canteen like every other workplace in the country.
    On a symbolic level it has become a representation of the disrespect and disdain politicians have for the taxpayer and the voter. It’s now seen as a symbol of the disconnect between establishment politicians and the average person, a disconnect the political leaders like Varadkar have pledged to bridge citing “new politics”. This would be a good place to start, a small personal sacrifice to show what their priorities are and how they value their position and the taxpayer. It would sicken me if there was any sort of resistance to something like this.

Mute John Declan
    Favourite John Declan
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:51 AM

This Dail passed a racist Alcohol law against the Irish People and they said we have as a Nation a difficult history with alcohol. DNA analysis shows there is no gene link to Alcoholism. We are not a Nation of “Drunken Paddies” , repeal the Alcohol Law and close the Dail bar.

Mute zimfitz
    Favourite zimfitz
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:53 PM

Who else on this platform can say they have a pub at work….. They need to grow up and do something constructive with there working hours.

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty

Who cares

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:05 PM

Not necessarily but the prices should increase to match taxes charged on oil

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:09 AM

Have it open at 6 and not be subsidised.

Mute Fiach Mac Aodha
    Favourite Fiach Mac Aodha
    Dec 18th 2018, 1:44 PM

It should at least be run by an independent business, as a concession or similar. If it doesn’t make a profit, close it down.

Mute Elizabeth Thewiz
    Favourite Elizabeth Thewiz
    Dec 19th 2018, 12:19 AM

It’s a place of work it should be closed immediately. Q how do these ministers get home hopefully not drinking and driving.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 18th 2018, 4:31 PM

Imagine the decisions they could make if they were all sober? Keep it open. Did Leo have a few before his scrap with Doherty today?

Mute Jack Doyle
    Favourite Jack Doyle
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:19 PM

The daily bar is not subsidized, then why is there no VAT on the drink? That’s subsidizing

Mute Andrew Byrne
    Favourite Andrew Byrne
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:20 PM

And that will serve them right for not paying for their Bar bills .
    If Joe public behaved like this he would be called a free loader

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:14 PM

What other public servants would be allowed drink at work ?

Mute angemcg
    Favourite angemcg
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:11 PM

€3 a pint? Sounds like a college not the place that makes our countries decisions,, Absolute criminals, down with that sort of thing!!!!

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:56 AM

Well if your never likely to be in that particular bar then. who cares.

Mute Éamonn MacLáimhín
    Favourite Éamonn MacLáimhín
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:17 PM

If they want a drink then go to one of the many pubs on Baggot Street like all other working people do. Privileges my hole!

Mute Tom OLeary
    Favourite Tom OLeary
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:21 PM

This a stupid silly season motion
    The said dail bar is a public bar used by all and sundry who visit the dail…school tour groups having coca cola n crisps
    Other visiting groups having tea n sandwiches
    All Leinster house staff and reporters having lunch tea coffees soups
    And yes alcohol consumed at normal times after work..maybe with visitors. Also used for meeting briefings lobbying. Absolutely silly impractical to consider closing it
    Misinformation disinformation silly season stuff

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 18th 2018, 2:47 PM

@Tom OLeary: A cafe or canteen can serve all of those purposes, there’s no reason for it to be a bar serving alcohol.

Mute Jack Crabbe
    Favourite Jack Crabbe
    Dec 18th 2018, 12:33 PM

Bunch of slobbering tramps

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:36 AM

How much is a pint in there?

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 18th 2018, 4:32 PM

@Seamus Brady: 3€

Mute John McSweeney
    Favourite John McSweeney
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:49 PM

Very easy poll to get “Yes” votes for. However the thing is the main use of the Dail Bar today is for food and tea/coffee. The days of a load of politicians getting sloshed are really a thing of decades gone past. I’m sure some alcohol is consumed but I don’t believe it’s on the scale it’s let on to be.

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    Dec 18th 2018, 3:48 PM

Keep it open with no taxpayer subsidiaries