You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dáithí Ó Sé's face has been spotted on this baby Jesus in Sligo town

“Dear eight pound, six ounce, newborn infant Dáithí…”

baby @doldebie @doldebie

WE ALWAYS KNEW there was something extra special about Dáithí O Sé.

And now, he’s been spotted laying in a manger in Sligo town, wrapped in swaddling clothes, awaiting his birthday.

dai

The Johnston Court Shopping Centre’s Baby Jesus is the BULB off Dáithí. Truly he is a gift from heaven.

Thanks to Dolores De Bie for sharing

Written by Emer McLysaght and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-142.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2502112" class="alignnone" /end]

Read: Let’s settle it for once and for all: Roses or Quality Street?

Read: Feast your eyes on the ugliest Christmas jumper of all time >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Bob Freeman
    Favourite Bob Freeman
    Dec 14th 2015, 5:59 PM

This Daithi is small, that Daithi is far away

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:14 PM

It is no more like him than donald duck

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:23 AM

Jesus, isn’t the man arrogant enough and stop making him out to be a God.

Mute Pauric Tighe
    Favourite Pauric Tighe
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:00 PM

Bishops should intervene and upgrade to a grade two relic now for sure

Mute Irish Politico
    Favourite Irish Politico
    Dec 14th 2015, 5:58 PM

It looks nothing like him.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder

Probably explains why he spends so much time surrounded by virgins in Tralee every year.

Mute Hólec Alfield
    Favourite Hólec Alfield
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:02 PM

Good one.

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey

Absolutely zero percent resemblance

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:04 PM

Jesus wasn’t white, sorry guys

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:18 PM

I’m sure he didn’t look like a 3 year old when he was born either!

Mute fiontain mac aongasa
    Favourite fiontain mac aongasa
    Dec 14th 2015, 8:18 PM

Jesus wasn’t real, sorry guys

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Dec 14th 2015, 8:59 PM

You’ve got it arseways, Jesus was more than likely real, the fairytale that surrounded him wasn’t…

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:16 PM

Oh do tell,all knowing Fiontain.

Mute Seoirse Ó Duíc
    Favourite Seoirse Ó Duíc
    Dec 15th 2015, 2:44 PM

Wasn’t Jesus of semitic origins? Are Jews or Arabs not white, even though they are a wee bit darker than the pasty Irish? I don’t see why there should be a debate on his skin colour. Are you saying his skin colour is that important or that you think people should not believe in white, black or asian Jesus? To me Jesus’ racial background has never been as important as his message, but maybe that’s just me.

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 5:57 PM

That’s one ugly baby.

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:00 PM

The treatment of the baby Jesus and his image in this article is in line with freedom of speech and expression. Any cartoons of Mohammed Valerie?

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

The cartoon wars continue. When do you take up arms Sgt. Pepper?

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:08 PM

Jesus, you’re very upset about this lad. I’m just pointing out the obvious double standard. One rule for all other religious and non-religious, one rule for Islamists.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:18 PM

To be fair now nobody has tested the limits of other religions quite like we have the Muslims. Would a cartoon of jesus tea bagging alter boys go down well in Ireland?

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:26 PM

Unlikely that people would go out on the streets with Kalashnikovs and start to mow down innocents in fairness.

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:28 PM

The cartoons of Mohammed were incredibly innocuous. The Danish ones, which resulted in Islamists burning down embassies and killing people after marching and rioting in Islamic states freely where no marches were previously allowed prior or since,

Do you know over 200 deaths were attributed to these primitive butchers in the aftermath of the Danish cartoons published? And people had the cheek to blame the Danes for that rather than Islam itself. The publishers were blamed for the ensuing chaos of a rabble of offended neanderthals running riot at will. All in the name of Mohammed. Of course, you want me to be tolerant of religions but their own holy books warrant and mandate this behaviour. So, I’ll never be tolerant of them, or other people telling me I should be tolerant of them. They are the intolerant ones. They should have been exposed and every major publication in Europe should have joined together and published the pictures of this fictional character at the same time.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Dec 14th 2015, 7:16 PM

Imagine if somebody tried to make a Life of Brian type movie about Mohammad.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Dec 14th 2015, 7:28 PM

Jesus lads will you give it a break. Have you any homes to go to. Go home will ya.

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 7:51 PM

The life of Mo, the paedophile Prince of darkness we should all be tolerant of of.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

They need a beard on that baby.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:37 PM

I can’t understand a word he says..Terrible country accent.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 14th 2015, 8:15 PM

He puts it on to amp up the “gormless culchie” thing he has going. I can guarantee if the BBC came knocking with a fat cheque he’d drop it very quickly.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:18 PM

Sorry Dennise I don’t think he speaks skanger.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:12 PM

Father Ted moment. Kick up the arse methinks

Mute Brendan McCaffrey
    Favourite Brendan McCaffrey
    Dec 14th 2015, 8:33 PM

Oh fer fooks sake…..is this the news ??
    Come on people.

Dec 14th 2015, 6:11 PM

Where is the beard?

Mute Glangan
    Favourite Glangan
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:45 PM

Is he still pretending to be 38 years old?

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa
    Dec 14th 2015, 7:15 PM

Slow news day.

Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Favourite Oisin O'Riordan

Blasphemous

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:03 PM

Do I feel a Spanish inquisition coming on?

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:27 PM

No one expects the Spanish Inquisition….

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:28 PM

The RTE publicity department is at it again.. Just like when they told yer wan to lose her nut in Galway.

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:03 PM

Sweet Jebus

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 14th 2015, 6:54 PM

Anyone fancy a trip to Kerry for Easter?!

Mute Daithi O'Leary
    Favourite Daithi O'Leary
    Dec 14th 2015, 7:17 PM

People always mistake me for Daithi O’Sé, does that make me jesus too?

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Dec 14th 2015, 10:27 PM

Really scraping the barrel for anything to start anti-Christian sentiment.

Mute AnthonyB
    Favourite AnthonyB
    Dec 14th 2015, 11:11 PM

He’s not the messiah. He’s a very naughty boy!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:48 AM

What was he laying (sic) in a manger? Easter eggs?

Mute Seoirse Ó Duíc
    Favourite Seoirse Ó Duíc
    Dec 15th 2015, 12:57 PM

It makes perfect sense that the second coming of Christ is a Kerryman