You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

informatique via Flickr/Creative Commons

Man stabbed in stomach and face outside Central Bank in daylight attack

The victim is currently in critical condition in hospital.

A MAN IN his late-20s is currently in a critical condition in hospital after receiving severe stab wounds to his stomach and face in a shocking daytime attack.

The victim was standing under the ‘Tree of Life’ monument outside the Central Bank on Dame Street when he was accosted and stabbed multiple times by four men at about 5.40pm yesterday.

He was taken to St James’s Hospital where he remains.

According to gardaí, the attackers were part of a larger group who had walked from Crown Alley, around the back of the Central Bank, and onto Fownes Street. After the attack, the suspects ran back down Crown Alley, into Temple Bar. Two of the men ran across the Halfpenny Bridge.

All are described as males in their late teens or early-20s, of average build and were wearing black or dark tops with the hoods up. Two were wearing grey bottoms, while the other two were in dark bottoms. All were wearing runners.

Gardaí have issued an appeal for anyone who witnessed the incident or saw the offenders before or after and can give directions of their travel to contact them at Pearse Street station on 01 666 9000.

Read: Murder investigation underway as body of man found on Meath beach

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

58 Comments
    Sep 10th 2013, 8:57 PM

Shocking that this could happen in broad daylight on Dame St, must be loads of witnesses, including tourists. Savage act whatever the reason.

Mute Green Burqa
    Favourite Green Burqa
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:55 PM

This was also on Dame St in broa daylight!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZxtFgCsWKE

Sep 10th 2013, 10:40 PM

Yea but that was a group of drunken louts throwing chairs at each other, not quite the same thing as seeing a fella get near butchered in front of you during rush-hour on College Green.

Mute Shane Griffin
    Favourite Shane Griffin
    Sep 11th 2013, 2:17 AM

I love to run a car through them

Mute Green Burqa
    Favourite Green Burqa
    Sep 11th 2013, 6:24 AM

Is it not louts that do stabbings also, or do you have to go to stabbing college for that.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Sep 11th 2013, 8:21 AM

Jamie, unfortunately not that shocking anymore. Driving past in broad daylight the other day I saw a bunch of junkies shooting up out front if the Central Bank.
    Had breakfast on Crow St the other week. Helpful staff were telling bemused tourists to watch their belongings as there were lots of pickpockets & snatch/grab thieves about.
    No law, just disorder.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:28 PM

Indo reporting on the victim of this heinous crime : “He is currently on temporary release from prison for a sentence for assault and is extremely well known to gardai with almost 80 previous criminal convictions.”

And they go on:
    “The father-of-one from Carna Road, Ballyfermot, served only a few weeks of a nine month sentence imposed in July for assaulting a man in the Dorset Street area of the capital last October.”

A few weeks of a 9 month sentence for a guy with almost 80 previous convictions.

There’s your problem right there. Maybe if he got 7 or 10 years after his third conviction he’d behave himself

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:34 PM

Think we should seriously consider chaingangs for these degenerates… Make them fix roads etc.

Mute Fin Tastic
    Favourite Fin Tastic
    Sep 11th 2013, 12:07 AM

Exile to Skellig Rock would be more appropriate.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Sep 11th 2013, 2:00 AM

80 previous convictiosn.

eight zero.

Eighty

Count up to 80. That’s how many times this chap was actually convicted by a judge in a court of law.

Banana republic.

Mute Angela NeeDalton
    Favourite Angela NeeDalton
    Sep 10th 2013, 8:49 PM

Lawless Ireland…and it’s getting worse, day by day.

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:25 PM

It’s pretty sickening to see this kind of lawlessness on the streets of our capital city in broad daylight. I’m in town every day, it’s constantly over run by knackers and seems to be getting worse all the time, unless something is urgently done, our city will soon become a no go area. It’s damaging to our tourism trade and to business in general, yet nothing seems to be getting done, I wish the government would wake up and get their priorities right.

Mute dermot meehan
    Favourite dermot meehan
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:43 PM

Well said Cannabis! The City, especially north of the river (where I’m from) is disgusting. Tourist coming out of the Gresham must think they’re on a different planet.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:54 PM
    Mute Jill :D
    Favourite Jill :D
    Sep 11th 2013, 12:33 AM

You’re completely right. I literally only feel “safe” on grafton street. Id never go futher than college green by myself. I simply don’t feel safe.

Mute Bronagh Butler
    Favourite Bronagh Butler
    Sep 11th 2013, 5:45 AM

What, ever!? How precious.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Sep 11th 2013, 8:30 AM

Correct. Dublin is becoming overrun by the living dead like some sort of Zombie apocolypse. Junkies shooting up in front of the Central Bank. Aggressive beggars on O’Connell St. Knacker drinking everywhere. Drug addicts near Tara St. Pickpocket and Snatch&Grab gangs in Temple Bar. As a bloke, I’m constantly wary and on my toes whenever I have cause to go into the city. I felt safer in London.
    Dublin – no law, just disorder.

Mute Sarah Sue
    Favourite Sarah Sue
    Sep 11th 2013, 5:06 PM

Totally agree, and dont forget the Luas stops, its like night of the Living Dead, only the bravest will survive with their mobile phone/cash/sanity still intact!

Mute Conal Prendergast
    Favourite Conal Prendergast
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:23 PM

Surely the whole thing is captured on clear CCTV? It’s the central bank of Ireland front door?

Mute Conal Prendergast
    Favourite Conal Prendergast
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:25 PM

I simply cannot believe that crime could take place right under the noses of the central bank of Ireland……………………..oh………..

Mute Ter Cahill
    Favourite Ter Cahill
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:19 PM

Never a police presence there. Only time was when the occupy people were there. Seen more recently beggars aggressively harassing tourists around the centra beside central bank. Also seems ok for a lot of them and young teens to sit around there drinking cans. Disgraceful it is allowed right in the middle of the city.

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:29 PM

Yes, it’s very easy for the one or two gardai that are on the beat to move up to a hundred teenagers…

Mute Ter Cahill
    Favourite Ter Cahill
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:42 PM

A presence alone would help. Also not talking about teenagers really. Majority of them are just hanging around there with their mates. There is an element there now too that are just there to harass people and start trouble.

Sep 11th 2013, 12:35 AM

I’m always on edge when I walk past The Central Bank due to the big groups of people.

Mute Graham Kiely
    Favourite Graham Kiely
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:09 PM

If they are caught and if they are convicted, they could spend three years in prison!!!!!!!!

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:06 PM

You spelled “weeks” wrong.

Mute Dalai Obama
    Favourite Dalai Obama
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:33 PM

lol fuh

Mute James Power
    Favourite James Power
    Sep 11th 2013, 1:52 AM

Three years? They should get life they could’ve killed the man.

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:41 PM

If the US has a gun problem, Ireland has a knife problem. At least if this happened in Times Square the NYPD would shot the f@€ker who done this.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:29 PM

One of the busiest spots in Dublin and not a Garda in sight. Too busy scratching their arse outside Kildare street

Mute Simon King
    Favourite Simon King
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:39 PM

Gardai are stretched and under resourced

Mute jake mansfield
    Favourite jake mansfield
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:14 PM

Wow you truly are a genius!!!!

Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:28 PM

We should have gardai at busy spots to allow crime flourish elsewhere.

Sep 10th 2013, 10:29 PM

It’s really not the Guards’ fault, I’m sure most of them would love to tackle these wee thugs, dangerous and all as they are. I also vehemently disagree with the comment that “The City” is disgusting. I find that highly offensive. I love town, but yes there are some unsavoury elements going around. Always has been truth be known, it’s not a new thing. It’s still shocking nonetheless.

Mute Kevin.N
    Favourite Kevin.N
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:58 PM

All cities have bad parts/no-go areas, Dublin isn’t any different.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 10th 2013, 11:10 PM

Outside the central bank right at the centre of a busy tourist area and bus stop should not be a no-go area

Mute Kevin.N
    Favourite Kevin.N
    Sep 10th 2013, 11:23 PM

There have been incidents like this before in Times Square and other city center/tourist areas of NY, LA, London, etc. Its rare but it happens in other cities/capitals as well. I wasn’t inferring it should be taken lightly but people don’t need to exaggerate about Dublin on a whole.

Mute Kevin.N
    Favourite Kevin.N
    Sep 10th 2013, 11:26 PM

Times Square hasn’t become a “no go area” since the shooting this summer…

Mute David Harte
    Favourite David Harte
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:51 PM

Scangers vs scangers more like.

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:22 PM

Replace gun with knife and your in Ireland

Mute John Banks
    Favourite John Banks
    Sep 10th 2013, 11:09 PM

Gardi hrs are cut ,, I don’t blame them for not being there for the public , you don’t see gardi presents anywhere anymore it’s not there fault . It’s the lack of incentive .its up to government to sort it out ,but hey the government are well paid so they don’t give a shit

Mute Neil O'Reilly
    Favourite Neil O'Reilly
    Sep 11th 2013, 2:58 AM

Time for a little rant, compare Dublin to say.. Paris. Dublin, almost no police presence in the city centre, in Paris you’ll see groups of 10 to 20 of them roving around the tourist areas, and they’ll take no prisoners. Not blaming individual guards they’ve a rough job and there aren’t enough of them but the focus seems to be on directing them to tax checkpoints and setting speed traps on motorway slip roads with stupid speed limits rather than doing what they should be doing. And final point.. Why are so many guards these days Harry potter lookalikes that wouldn’t put fear in a 12 year old? :p

Mute Dalai Obama
    Favourite Dalai Obama
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:01 PM

dark tops with the hoods up and were wearing grey bottoms, seen running over the halfpenny bridge towards ifsc.

ifsc v central bank, irelands latest feud.

Mute Mick Collins
    Favourite Mick Collins
    Sep 10th 2013, 11:01 PM

Lol, Hilarious……not

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:45 PM

It’s a extremely dangerous area. The Central Bank of Ireland is beside this area. I would avoid it unless you are a senior banker.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Sep 10th 2013, 10:36 PM

Crime is so rampant in the Capital you could get robbed sitting on your own loo.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Sep 10th 2013, 9:18 PM

Skangers vs Goth kids I’d say.

Mute fizi_water
    Favourite fizi_water
    Sep 11th 2013, 6:57 AM

There should be jail for knife possession. Garda should check these tracksuit lowlifes randomly and if they carry knife to the court with them.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Sep 11th 2013, 8:03 AM

Would be a great answer. Small thing called civil rights gets in the way though. The Gov would need to bring in some useful legislation as there currently isn’t a “random stop and search” power.

Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Sep 11th 2013, 1:14 AM

They probably don’t care but their movements can be traced from street to street

Mute Jason Rooney
    Favourite Jason Rooney
    Sep 11th 2013, 8:57 AM

The guards are out earning revenue ….taking cars from people with no tax nct etc etc….wasters!!

Mute jake mansfield
    Favourite jake mansfield
    Sep 11th 2013, 10:44 AM

Ah poor baby have his car taken !!!!!!!

Mute Tomasz Wu
    Favourite Tomasz Wu
    Sep 11th 2013, 4:52 PM

Looking out for growhouses! Fighting with plants! Our heroes!

Mute Anne Ryan
    Favourite Anne Ryan
    Sep 11th 2013, 6:28 AM

Oh my god that’s horrible,, and this is why I do not like going into town especially if I have to go in on my own it’s horrible to say your scared to go into your own town

Sep 11th 2013, 12:29 AM

It’s especially scary when these things happen in places you actually walk past the odd time. I was only there last week heading to the candy lab! God help that poor man.

Mute Keith James O'Connor
    Favourite Keith James O'Connor
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:28 PM

Gawd your such a drama queen eeeeekkkkkkk

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan
    Sep 11th 2013, 1:04 PM

Am I the only one who thinks that the majority of the comments are a little hyperbolic? This was a savage act but I really don’t think Dublin is as lawless and anarchic as many are depicting it as. Crime rates across Ireland overall have actually dropped over the past 5 years. Granted, I don’t have specific figures for Dublin, but it can’t be too much out if step with national trends can it? (I’d be more than happy to acknowledge facts suggesting the contrary.)

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:26 PM

has anyone sat in on a court session? its a joke, we pay for their legal aid, the guard sits down with his case against the guy/girl he arrested, and he gets taken to pieces by the lawyer!! then the judge goes out to lunch with these ‘free legal aid’ people, its ridiculous!!