You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This photographer's incredible photo of a refugee family has gone viral

He spoke to us about the image.
‘I’ve never had a reaction like this to any one photograph I took.’ – Daniel Etter

YOU’VE PROBABLY SEEN it shared on social media numerous times over the past few days – this photograph of a father crying as he clutches his child, moments after they landed ashore on the Greek island of Kos.

They are Syrian refugees, arrived on Kos after departing from Turkey. On the shore to greet them after their long journey was nobody they knew, but instead photographers like Daniel Etter, who were documenting the influx of migrants to the tiny island.

Etter – whose work has also appeared in Time and Der Spiegel – captured father Laith Majid, who is from Deir Ezzor in Syria, clutching his two children and being embraced by his wife as they arrived ashore in Kos.

Behind them were some of the 13 or so other migrants – men, women, children – who also took the perilous journey from Bodrum in Turkey to Kos aboard a rubber boat that was leaking air.

Etter would go to that beach – the closest beach in Kos to Turkey – every morning, where he would watch as between five and 10 boats, crammed full of refugees, landed ashore. The more powerful boats would reach a nearby lighthouse first.

Majid’s expression is that of a man who has left his homeland and escaped the fate of other migrants whose lives ended in the Mediterranean sea. He faces a future of uncertainty, but at least it is not a future of war.

Etter’s photograph of Majid and family was included in this New York Times article about migrants travelling to Greece, and struck a chord with people immediately.

The photographer told TheJournal.ie that he knew his snap was special, but didn’t anticipate just how much it would touch people.

“It happened quite quickly,” Etter told TheJournal.ie from Paris.

Normally when the New York Times puts something out, because of the audience it has it gets shared automatically. For the last three days, since it has been published it hasn’t stopped. I can’t even keep up with replying to people and I’ve never had a reaction like this to any one photograph I took.

Asked what he thinks makes the image so special, Etter said:

“I think I was really moved by the situation when I witnessed it. And normally when you see it up close, you’re the photographer and you try to translate [the scene] into that photograph, but it never really works. But I was surprised that it touched so many people.

“A lot of people who react to it are parents themselves, and they know how to care for their children and how hard it is even in normal circumstances. And then you see that father who two weeks ago left Syria; you see him in the moment where he did a big step on the way to finding safety for his children and find a future for his children. In that moment, everything comes together.”

Raw human emotion

In Etter’s photo, you see “the war in Syria, everything they lost in Syria, the danger they faced there”.

There is sadness over their extreme loss, but also love:

The love for the family and the relief that they made it happen.
It’s just really human, raw emotions… a lot coming together.

Majid couldn’t speak any English, but his wife – an English teacher – told Etter their story. “I helped them as much as I could and after they arrived I guided them to where they had to go,” he said. They are currently living on a ferry alongside other Syrians who have arrived in Kos.

Etter hopes to keep in touch with the family. “It’s a difficult situation,” he said. “They are not in danger of their life anymore, and the thing is it’s just one family of millions of people.”

When shared online, people began connecting with the plight of this one family, using it as a way of demonstrating the scale of the refugee crisis.

Greece Migrants Migrants and refugees arrive after crossing from Turkey to Kos Alexander Zemlianichenko Alexander Zemlianichenko

One person wrote on the New York Times Facebook page:

This photo transcends all culture and religion. These are fellow human beings in great need, and I pray that they find compassion, comfort, and a new home. Peace to all.

Another said:

He cries for joy because he’s arrived in Kos, Greece. So much migrants these days on this island. But not enough food, not enough roof. Greece cries for help to welcome all the refugees. This man is not arrived. Neither he’s safe. Biggest migrants crisis since WWII. I’m so sorry for him.

The accompanying article detailed the risky – though “remarkably organised” – passage from Turkey to Kos, how migrants would “charge for the sea” in Bodrum at night, heading in rubber dinghies to Kos.

Their journey will have cost them up to €1,5000, paid to smugglers. Already, 2,000 refugees have died in the Mediterranean sea.

Greece Migrants Migrants rest at their tents while to be registered in Kos Alexander Zemlianichenko Alexander Zemlianichenko

The island is about 25 minutes away, but the journey isn’t without danger. Still, it is one of the “easier” journeys for refugees, which is partly why Kos has been overwhelmed by a tide of migrants in recent weeks.

Last week, 1000 refugees were forced into a stadium in Kos for a day, which drew complaints. Tensions have been mounting on the small island as the number of migrants continues to grow.

Most of the Syrians are living rough on the island. Doctors Without Borders (MSF) has called for the Greek government to do better than what it is doing, and replace a registration ship with a permanent building.

Getting help

Turkey Migrants Migrants who tried to begin their journey with a dinghy from a beach near the coastal town of Bodrum disembark the boat after their failed attempt. Lefteris Pitarakis Lefteris Pitarakis

Etter has received many messages from people who want to help the family, but Etter said the problem is bigger than one family. He has encouraged people to contribute to an NGO like Médecins Sans Frontières‎, who are helping on the frontline in Kos.

“I feel it’s more efficient if you donate to people who know what they are doing and have been doing it for a long time,” he pointed out.

As he moves on to his next assignment, it is clear this is one experience that will stay with Etter.

“I was touched, and thought it was a strong photo – but I would never have imagined how many people wrote [to] me and expressed their feelings towards the family.”

Read: More than 40 people suffocated in hold of migrant boat>

Read: Giant passenger ferry sent to Kos – but migrants won’t be allowed live on it>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Nick McKenna
    Favourite Nick McKenna
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:21 PM

So Luas drivers were looking for more than double a teachers salary. Well i suppose the 6 week training course in how to press GO and STOP is probably twice as difficult as the 4 to 6 years it takes to qualify as a teacher up to post graduate level. Fair play.

Mute Alan Tright
    Favourite Alan Tright
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:40 PM

Ye and then we’ll give pay rises to bus drivers and then dart drivers and then Gardai will want a pay rise and then nurse will follow suit. Once they’ve all had a pay rise we will all watch out taxes rise. Fair play.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:59 PM

Had the teacher unions shown the same determination as the Luas workers in their industrial action then their wages would be significantly higher. Instead the teacher unions rolled over and allowed the wages and conditions of new entrants to be slashed in order to protect the current members. It was a betrayal of the basic principles of solidarity and equality. Obedience and compliance is a recipe for exploitation. Solidarity and protest works.

Our impotent unions are largely the result of the sellout of most of the union leadership sold out long ago under social partnership. Jack O Connor, Shay Coady etc are long bought and paid for and have held their unions largely inactive on the sidelines as the nation has been ransacked for 8 years (including Lansdowne and Haddington Rd etc) to pay for the failure of speculative financial capitalism. We’ve all suffered the consequences of that betrayal and will do so for generations.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:35 PM

When are we going to have system where by substandard teachers are routed out and gotten rid of? Wasn’t that’s supposed to happen years ago but the teachers wanted the pay rises and not the work supervision.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:51 PM

@Vincent Wallace: It`s no going to happen,` substandard teacher`can not be routed (sic) out, because they don`t exist – (apparently).

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:09 PM

@Billy Mooney: Give up Billy, do you want everyone to all get a pay rise, all it will do is keep everyone at the same levels but make the country extremely un competitive.

Mute Mr KnowitAll
    Favourite Mr KnowitAll
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:10 PM

@Nick McKenna:

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:51 PM

When are we going to root out the substandard corporate and political establishment who have bankrupted the country and imposed 8 years of vicious austerity on the mass of ordinary people?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:26 PM

Billy – there is an opportunity to remove the underperforming political establishment every four years or so, but there is no opportunity to remove underperforming teachers. There is no negative to removing underperforming teachers from the education system, none.

Mute Clare Bear
    Favourite Clare Bear
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:28 PM

@Vincent Wallace: we do have this already – it’s called the fitness to teach council any teacher can be reported to them by a member of the public.

Mute Hilary Buachaill
    Favourite Hilary Buachaill
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:59 PM

Fitness to teach- teaching council??

Mute Cheeky Bums
    Favourite Cheeky Bums
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:03 PM

Eh.. When we stop voting numpties into our parliament based on who their parents were or because they “fixed the road” or “got traffic lights outside the school” We can’t root anyone out: vote them out!!

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 17th 2016, 12:40 AM

Of course he doesn’t Jayo! Because that would involve identifying people as individuals and the left hate doing that because it shows up our country for what it is.

The largest depository of non contribution scroungers in all of Europe. Paying teachers 32K plus grinds, after school clubs (tax free), to work 6 hour days with 1/4 of the year off!… And at the same time sending out young Gardaí to deal with the scam of the earth for 22K. The left demonstrates it’s bias as they hate the very Gardaí who try their hardest to stop the scam implementing a complete takeover of our streets.

The lefts mission is to keep the poor man poor as he will then keep voting left wing. Once he starts to do well as make a few bob he will realise the cost of keeping his former lifestyle as it will hit his pocket and he won’t vote left anymore…. But keep him poor and he’ll always vote left

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:08 PM

Another 5k and teachers will be getting the same as the average bus driver.

Difference is the 28 pupils in front of a teacher are getting a significantly more skilled service than the 28 passengers on a bus.

Mute Benson Hallahan
    Favourite Benson Hallahan
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:14 PM

Alphanautica, in a perfect world you’d be correct. But a bad teacher has a job for life. A bad bus driver doesn’t

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:37 PM

They do if they work for Dublin bus.. God help management trying to get rid of a bad driver there in that militant, unionised up to the gills cesspit.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:53 PM

@Benson Hallahan:

Benson – either you’re being very sarcastic or that was an incredibly dumb comment. Please give us an instance where a “bad bus driver” was fired.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:55 PM

The teachers salary is a starting salary for a graduate position with no experience

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:56 PM

* also it’s a 9 month job so it’s the same as someone on 42k

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:08 PM

Except that the €31,800 is paid over 12 months, not 9. So it’s not the same as someone on €42,000 at all.

Also, there is no such thing as a graduate teacher. You’re either a fully qualified teacher or you’re not. Teachers do a number of unpaid placements in schools before they’re qualified so no paid teacher goes in front of a class without experience.

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:12 PM

*no such thing as a graduate position for a teacher

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:26 PM

But you can’t have it both ways! You tell a teacher they get paid for the summer they’ll tell you they get paid for 9 months work but averaged through the summer. So his point is correct. If a teacher worked for a year they would be paid 42000

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:39 PM

@James Darcy: But they don’t and can’t work for a full year so it’s an irrelevant, meaningless point

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:41 PM

You have to spend 4-6 years to become a graduate… and what sort of luas driving experience would a new luas driver be bringing I wonder …

Mute Alex Olsen
    Favourite Alex Olsen
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:47 PM

@Kevin Conway he means they work for 9 months…

Mute Cheeky Bums
    Favourite Cheeky Bums
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:05 PM

…basic maths would disagree. 31 does not equal 42. It’s about cash in the pocket.

Mute Benson Hallahan
    Favourite Benson Hallahan
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:19 PM
    Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:30 PM

The problem in society is most people think others are overpaid for what they do. These same people think they themselves, are underpaid for what they do.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:10 PM

Irish society. It’s only when you move to another country that people actually understand, appreciate and are advocate fair wages paid to difficult professions compared to Ireland where people moan, gripe and are bitter and would prefer guards/teachers etc to barely scrape the poverty line.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:13 PM

I’m glad to see the newer teachers get this restoration, but if I remember correctly their colleagues in the staff room were given a choice a number of years ago: take a pay cut like pretty much everyone else in the public sector, or pull the ladder up on the newer entrants.

Solidarity me arse, they chose themselves over the ones coming after them, took early retirement, and then stuck it to newly qualified teachers yet again by hoovering up relief posts to supplement their pensions.
    Thereby denying the newly qualified teachers the on the job training they’d need in order to secure permanent employment!!!

Flush out the old brigade, get new blood into the school system, kick the church off the boards of all national schools and let the newer teachers dictate a revised syllabus +/ exam regime over a course of 5 years.
    Brian.

Mute Ed Ucator
    Favourite Ed Ucator
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:16 PM

@Eamonn O’Riain: You remember incorrectly. Teachers voted to take on extra work, lose supervision payments, increase supervision hours from 37 to 43, do stupid Croke Park hours so core pay wasn’t cut. It was agreed THEN the government cut the pay for new teachers. Their wording was something along the line of “serving teachers will no lose core pay” It was a slight of hand trick from government.

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:32 PM

And who do you propose will run the boards of management eamonn?? Politicians?? God save us from that

mary
    Mute mary
    Favourite mary
    Sep 17th 2016, 7:00 AM

The Croke Park agreement never mentioned cuts to new entrants. This was a choice made by the government which the majority of teachers would never have voted for. Please get your facts correct!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean

Good for them. Now the only thing standing in their way of a good wage is the legion of “retired” teachers who keep stealing all the jobs.

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:54 PM

A legion suggests that this is common practice. It’s completely untrue but don’t let that get in the way of you talking complete crap

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:07 PM

What happens to the pay of teachers who have worked for the last two years, who started on 28,100? Who are now on the same pay as workers who start tomorrow?

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:11 PM

what about the teacher who got paid more fifteen years ago? pay scales and rates change. you can’t be back paying everyone all the time. great that newly qualified teaches will start out on a reasonable salary. I’m sure the teachers who started two years ago will have their own increments too.

Mute Brian Dowling
    Favourite Brian Dowling
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:43 PM

On RTE news they mentioned they would be back paid

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:14 PM

Gravy train in full flow now. Queue up in an orderly fashion please. Next up college lecturers and state librarians. They work with books too.

Mute Patrick Ramseyer
    Favourite Patrick Ramseyer
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:25 PM

Good performing Teachers should be the best paid people in the Public Sector, we entrust our children to them and the future of our country. In my humble opinion they should earn twice that.. but link it to performance & results.. bigger salaries would attract more teachers into the profession, leading to better schools and smaller classes… And no , I am NOT a teacher.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:53 PM

The lefties don’t like elitism in schools, so the privately funded schools, heavily subsidised by parents, are being wiped out to cater to the lowest common denominator.

Mute Nigel Lane
    Favourite Nigel Lane
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:01 PM

Linking teachers’ salaries to results is a tricky one. What results do you use? Standardised tests, in-house tests, Junior Cert, Leaving Cert? They all have their flaws. Do students’ results in these tests always reflect the quality of work or commitment of the teacher? How do you account for teachers in special education, home liaison etc?

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:43 PM

@Patrick Ramseyer: Linking pay to “performance” has been a disaster anywhere it has been tried as it’s extremely difficult to objectively assess a performance. Inevitably they judge it based on the outcomes of their classes but that’s utter nonsense there is huge variance between schools, areas and even years.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:04 PM

@Patrick Ramseyer: We know your not a teacher, because no teacher would agree to any assessment of their `performance and results`, like you suggest, LOL!

Mute Eoin McDonnell
    Favourite Eoin McDonnell
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:01 PM

Haha, so a teacher teaching children from a wealthy, educated and caring background who has lots of support from parents should get paid a lot more than the teacher who works twice as hard to teach children from disadvantaged broken homes…with little or no home support. Ha now how does that make sense?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:11 PM

because you can weight performance results based on historical results in both subject matter , drumcondra results and parental responses. I’m aware that it’s not going to happen, and if it did it would be along the same lines as the civil servant “everyone gets 10/10″ system. It doesn’t stop us from thinking about how to implement it, even if it will be stymied by the profession it is supposed to improve.

Mute Eoin McDonnell
    Favourite Eoin McDonnell
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:21 PM

Performance related pay is not a new thing. It was common practice in Ireland 130 years ago. Unfortunately it led to teachers only teaching to the test and focusing on the 3Rs…Reading wRiting and aRithmetic…this destroyed a holistic and well balanced education system and was abandoned. Have a look at the UK education system currently slipping down international educational league tables, where 80% of teachers the majority marked as Good or Outstanding quit teaching within 10 years and their literacy and numeracy scores are lower than ours and slipping…THEY HAVE PERFORMANCE RELATED PAY…no Alien8 I guess you know best you old rambelling fool.

Mute F J D
    Favourite F J D
    Sep 16th 2016, 8:21 PM

And also it’s private education subsidised by the tax payer ??

Mute Barry Cuneen
    Favourite Barry Cuneen
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:47 PM

Best point yet.The private sector don’t pay everyone the same.They pay the best more.To motivate them.Teachers become disillusioned when they see no reason to work harder.And teachers are charges with motivating students.Pay the man United manager peanuts and keep him on the same money for years and then cut his pay,they then win the league a few times in a row.His pay stays the same.Then he would get disillusioned and become demotivated.

Mute Barry Cuneen
    Favourite Barry Cuneen
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:49 PM

I’m sorry eoin but in post primary at senior level,I don’t devote lots of my time to teaching “not” for the exam.Its unfortunate but I work for my students and they have college in their sights.

Mute Eoin McDonnell
    Favourite Eoin McDonnell
    Sep 17th 2016, 10:24 AM

True Barry…I had actually forgotten about secondary school. I was stuck in a primary school bubble!! :-) Tis unfortunate but at the same time I think heaping all that pressure on 7 or 12 year olds who need to perform well in tests so a teachers wage will increase is grossly unfair…as it would be for secondary students who have to deal with a LOT more than just academic pressure!

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 17th 2016, 10:55 AM

@Patrick Ramseyer: How about taking into account parents’ comments or complaints about teachers? A teacher can basically do what he or she wants, and is not accountable to anyone. At primary school level, I don’t think that academic performance is as important as making sure that children feel valued and safe. Dealing with a child who goes dreads going to school every day because a teacher shouts and demeans children is a real issue for many parents. Personally, a grade on a page means nothing when my child is not happy. And we don’t entrust our children to teachers because we respect and admire teachers. We do so because it is the law.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:06 PM

Fine starting salary. Enviable.

Mute ricky bobby
    Favourite ricky bobby
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:10 PM

How is this enviable? What are you comparing it to?

Mute Declan Burke
    Favourite Declan Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:11 PM

@rory conway: Then go study for six years (4 year Degree and 2 Yeah Hdip) and become a teacher. No need to envy Rory!

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Homer's imp son
    Favourite Homer's imp son
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:13 PM

Lol, it’s hardly enviable

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:20 PM

@ricky bobby: Well as always, lots of teachers here when an article like this comes up, the last time I posted here I have to say, thanks to a teacher that “came clean” admitted he got 48 Euro per hour on a 2 year casual secondary appointment. I also can reveal a New teacher starting out receives 38 Euro per hour ( that is before the rate increase announced today ) and a vice principal of a secondary 90 Euro per hour. Not bad, not bad at all.

Now where are the naysayers?

Do you want me to scan in proof?

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:23 PM

Anyone know a Dublin bus drivers starting salary?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:00 PM

Ricky as a graduate stating salary it’s envious by engineers , marketers , barristers etc

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:01 PM

Declan not many teachers have done a 4 year degree, most have three a year degree from a university .

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:11 PM

Nice money for amount of working days in their year, fat pension and early retirement options. Can’t have any complaints with that.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:27 PM

Can the teachers here stop spinning stories. The minimum a teacher needs is a 4 year teaching degree. If you do another degree and then want to teach there is a two year HDip that used to be one year. And on another note I don’t see how education should play a role in your pay – your value added to the classroom is all I care about.

Mute Hilary Buachaill
    Favourite Hilary Buachaill
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:53 PM

All new entrants have a four year degree.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:57 PM

€31,800 at 22/23yo with no previous employment experience is unreal. We have IT grads with MSc starting at €28K.

Mute Saorlaith
    Favourite Saorlaith
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:24 PM

@Sean @114: Its rare for a 22/23 year old to get a full time Fixed Term Contract. Vast majority won’t be earning anywhere near 31K. I was teaching half hours last year. Was coming home with less than €300 per week.

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:55 PM

It takes a 4-year degree to qualify as a primary school teacher. Fact.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:34 PM

So you’re qualified by the age of 23/24 yes? Fact! You know, EVERYONE goes to college these days. I spent 7 years doing a primary and masters. I came out on min wage to an insecure job with a poor pension scheme with no perks, no union and 260 working days in the year. I didn’t get paid o/t but was expected to work extra hours to get the job done. That is the real world. Teachers need to wake up and stop playing the victim. The sense of entitlement, like other areas in the public sector, is frightening. Spend some time working for a private enterprise where any wage increase you get is purely performance and profit based, your pension is decimated by market slumps, your job is constantly at risk and you have to work until you are 70. Stop whinging, be glad for what you have and get back to work for a couple of weeks before your next holiday in Oct.

Mute Karl Alldritt
    Favourite Karl Alldritt
    Sep 17th 2016, 1:25 AM

To a full time job?

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 17th 2016, 1:42 AM

Well said Sean! Couldn’t agree more!

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 17th 2016, 1:43 AM

Well said Sean!

Mute Susan lloyd
    Favourite Susan lloyd
    Sep 17th 2016, 8:50 AM

Brian 4 year degree includes hdip or 3 year degree then hdip/masters 5 years total

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:26 PM

Nearly €9,000 more than a newly qualified Garda.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:35 PM

@Eyepopper: Anyone thinking of becoming a guard should think about teaching then.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:38 PM

Unless they wanna be a guard and don’t wanna be a teacher.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:42 PM

@jason bourne: Then the salary would be of no concern to them. Problem solved.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:51 PM

Don’t think there was a problem to start with. It equates to parity and fairness! A fair wage for a difficult job!

Mute John Gallagher
    Favourite John Gallagher
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:51 PM

Jason, I’m sure you’ll be the very one complaining about the response time of Gardai if you needed them!!! They’re desperately under resourced, doing a tough job. People like you only add to the problem.

Mute John Gallagher
    Favourite John Gallagher
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:52 PM

Comment was directed at Trevor, not Jason.

Mute Diablo2014
    Favourite Diablo2014
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:32 PM

@Eyepopper: You forgot the extra 25% approx guards get in allowances so probably only a few grand behind them. Considering it can take 4-5 years to become a teacher and around 8 months paid training for guards,not too bad at all

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:57 PM

The ” under resourced ” Gardai were able to assign 5 guards for 4 months to investigate the Jobstown protest. They’re bringing a child to court next week charged with false imprisonment for sitting down behind Joan Burtons car. There’s no shortage of resources when the interests of the powerful are threatened.

Mute Saorlaith
    Favourite Saorlaith
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:22 PM

@Eyepopper: Its 31K for a teacher on full hours which is uncommon for an NQT. Many start off for a few years on half hours so you can half the 31K.

Mute Helga Pataki
    Favourite Helga Pataki
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:27 PM

Unless the teacher’s name is Enda Kenny, in which case the salary goes up to €185,000 + benefits.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:26 PM

People are all very quick to undermine the people who are providing crucial public services to them and their families , through education and public transport. Everybody is entitled to a decent living wage and we should be glad for the people working in our public services!

Sep 16th 2016, 4:13 PM

Correct we all remember a teacher that either spurred us on or did the opposite. These are the adults that will engage our kids. Not something to be taken lightly. At least if they are paid a good wage we can hold them accountable.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:07 PM

what makes you think that they will be any more accountable because you are paying them a higher wage? as you said, good teachers and bad teachers will all get any pay increase, including what will be offered after the next round of secondary school strikes that should be due soon.

Mute Barry Cuneen
    Favourite Barry Cuneen
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:41 PM

Bottom line is you would not do the job for the wages that are being paid so it doesn’t concern you.Your lucky anyone is doing it for the money that’s currently being paid to nqt’s.Most of the good teachers out there would buy and sell a lot of people in other professions but they are tied to the job as they love teaching.That is not to say that it doesn’t cause a strain.To work to the best of your ability you need to be paid for the work you do and not your job title.The reason you have “bad teacher” is because you are asking people to mentally drain themselves day in day out for little money.Thats why they become disillusioned.

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:12 PM

They will also get 6 months holidays twice a year :-D

Mute Alan Tright
    Favourite Alan Tright

It is party time right across the public sector!! Shame the same can’t be said for those in the private sector.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:13 PM

Totally. Unions capitalising now and its despicable. We need a competitor to the current education setup.

Mute Alan Tright
    Favourite Alan Tright

The electorate must really want to pay higher taxes or do they think these pay rises will be covered by magic?

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:33 PM

Alan instead of moaning what everyone else is looking for why don’t you grow a pain and give your employer an earful. Are you the only worker paying tax supporting the country on your todd? ???

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:30 PM

Maybe because like most private sector workers if Alan ‘gave his emoyer an earful’ he would quickly find himself unemplpyed.

Mute Bryan Whaley
    Favourite Bryan Whaley
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:23 PM

Private sector workers can also join a union and look for better pay and conditions.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:21 PM

or you can join a company like the majority of the workforce that gives increases if the company is doing well, like most businesses now. no unions involved. the only ones not getting increases are the ones that let some other guy do the talking for him, and tired him into a collective agreement that ties his performance with the lazy bloke that doesn’t pull his weight.

Mute Grace
    Favourite Grace
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:22 PM

What planet are you living on? You think it’s that easy to ‘join a company’? Jobs, like money, don’t grow in trees…

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:06 PM

Thats more like it

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:12 PM

Why is that more like it? What value are we getting from this salary? Will we be addressing the job for life assumption of teaching? Will we be addressing the standards in teaching? Will they now be accepting changes in the curriculum to support these contracts? Teachers are one of the most vital people in our society but until we sort the unions they will not be as effective or protected as they should be

Sep 16th 2016, 2:16 PM

Maybe more men might be interested in teaching something the profession needs. Not saying anything is wrong with female teachers I just think kids would benefit from both sexes.

Mute Alan Tright
    Favourite Alan Tright

Yay pay rises across the board, I wonder who’s going to pay for them?

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur

Because if salaries are low, only women will be attracted?

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:44 PM

@James Darcy: Good luck with that James !, (sorting out the teachers unions I mean)

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:56 PM

can all teachers sign up to this new part rate, or is it mandatory to be a member of one of these unions to teach. surely the contract is between the department of education and the teacher, not the union?

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:58 PM

And how will you “sort” out the unions James?? The teacher unions are perfectly entitled to fight for better working conditions and pay for their members. People like you have no appreciation whatsoever for inordinate amount of voluntary work teachers and other staff put in to keep schools open and functioning as well as they do. But it’s much easier to take lazy potshots

Sep 16th 2016, 4:09 PM

No Ben but why do you think that men are not becoming teachers? Surely there is an element of pay involved? I cannot believe it doesn’t play a part. What do you think?

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:17 PM

I can believe that if we paid teachers more, then more people would apply. There is no reason to suppose that there would be proportionately more men, unless you think that women are more likely to work for less money.

I’d guess that the small number of men applying to be teachers is not unrelated to the common assumption that any male with an interest in children is inherently suspicious.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:15 PM

The header to this article should read ‘Newly Qualified Teachers (lucky enough to find a job) will now start on 31,800 a year.’ My belief is that there are still more qualified teachers than there are jobs available to them.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:41 PM

Same in every country with our unemployment rate no?

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:32 PM

So the government are going to continue to discriminate against ASTI members, who took a democratic decision not to accept Lansdowne Rd deal. They’ll then attempt to get them to vote again (and again if necessary) to get the desired result? Same for the Gardai in the GRA (but not AGSI). Kim Jung Il would be proud of such tactics.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:41 PM

I think the government should accept the ASTI decision and not ask them to vote again
    Teachers who want to accept the new pay levels should move to the TUI

Mute Sarah Coppinger
    Favourite Sarah Coppinger
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:41 PM

It’s not actually possible to change unions while there is an ongoing dispute.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:18 PM

em, asti members decided not to take an offer for pay rises and add a result did not get pay rises. other teachers agreed to pay rises, and so they got pay rises. and if I’m not mistaken, everyone has the right to free association – no one is legally bound to join one union or another and can leave at any time, in dispute or not.

Mute Sarah Coppinger
    Favourite Sarah Coppinger
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:43 PM

Well you are mistaken Alien8. The secondary school unions have signed an ‘anti-poaching agreement’ in the past whereby members are not able to change unions during disputes. I suggest you look up the facts before you make yourself sound even more foolish than you already do.

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:24 PM

No difference between a teacher and a bus driver. Teacher teach the same thing every year as so drivers do the same thing daily. The Alphabet isn’t going to change and the bus won’t grow wings to fly!

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:30 PM

The teacher teaches the same thing every day? That’s probably just your teacher and why you are obviously so thick. U learnt the same thing every day from junior infants to sixth year. Idiotic comment. But bus drivers do the same thing every day – that’s correct.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:56 PM

The pupils are all drones too. They just sit there soaking up the information, learning diligently and passing their exams.
    Teaching is easy isn’t it. Basically you just need to be able to read out the book, assign the homework and correct the exams.
    Compare that to driving a Luas.

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:08 PM

They don’t even correct the homework these days matey. Pupils swap books when they get to school,lazy teacher calls out the answer and they correct one anothers. It’s a brain dead job in which they have half a year off with pay and they are whinging about it.

Mute Alex Olsen
    Favourite Alex Olsen
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:42 PM

€31,800 a year starting for a part-time job. yes please.

Mute DarinaR
    Favourite DarinaR
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:05 PM

How is teaching a part time job exactly?

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:28 PM

It what world does it make sense for a teacher/nurse to earn less than a Bus or Luas driver.

And teachers should not be paid the same. Good/Great teachers deserve more money than average teachers.

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:24 PM

For such high points to get in the leaving the pay is not great! I know they get holidays etc but not an easy job for that wage! Does it go up??

Mute Avril O Brien
    Favourite Avril O Brien
    Sep 17th 2016, 10:22 AM

@Howye Lads: it goes up by €1,000 per year

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:07 PM

think ill give up my career in accountancy and become a teacher!!!

Mute JP Foley
    Favourite JP Foley
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:13 PM

@James O’Brien: I did just that. Delighted I did. I qualified as a teacher a year ago. I’ll earn about 20 grand this year which is my second year of teaching. No full time hours available, but I see the part time hours as my probation as such and as I get more experience, hopefully I’ll get more hours. Took nearly a 40k pay cut, but I love my job now.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:56 PM

JP
    The likes of you are an inspiration.
    Teaching isn’t just a job but a vocation. A good teacher is a huge benefit to society and they should be fairly rewarded.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:38 PM

That’s good news for them but how does the dept of education plan to budget this? Will these go onto the same pension entitlement as the senior teachers costing the state an arm and a leg?
    Will senior teachers have their high pay reduced to pay for this and will we see less holidays for these new teachers so we get the taxpayers get some bang for our bucks.

Mute Kevin MacDermott
    Favourite Kevin MacDermott
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:48 PM

I am slightly confused, presumably if you are a newly qualified teacher you have not necessarily joined a union, so how can pay scales be used to entice you to join one union over another. I would have thought that is illegal.

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:34 PM

Bus drivers start earlier and finish later. They work weekends and bank holidays. Can’t compare teachers and bus drivers. Also teachers can earn extra correcting state exam papers. School books are also created by teachers. They also charge 50 euros per hour for grinds in the evening. Look at the performance of some of our teachers who went into politics. Enough said.

Mute DarinaR
    Favourite DarinaR
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:09 PM

Have you every corrected state exams yourself? Oh it’s a walk in the park.. 400 scripts over a two week period.
    Don’t comment about things that you haven’t got a clue about.

Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Sep 16th 2016, 8:44 PM

I WONDER HOW KENNY AND HIS GOVERNMENT WILL FUND THE PAY RISES FOR THE OVERPAID PAMPERED TEACHERS.I SUPPOSE HE COULD CUT DISABILITY ALLOWANCES,HE COULD TAKE MEDICAL CARDS OFF SICK CHILDREN ,OR CLOSE HOSPITAL WARDS.THE LIST IS ENDLESS

Mute mary harris
    Favourite mary harris
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:17 PM

Good money for a BA degree & HD. You certainly would not get it in the private sector. One of the few countries where public sector is paid much more than private sector.Then they have another crazy scheme you get extra pay if you do another degree. What private sector job would pay you more for an extra degree without performance being taken into account. Extra degrees are just one of the factors taken into consideration for promotion.

Mute Elaine Cooling
    Favourite Elaine Cooling
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:53 PM

Everyone keeps talking about teachers not getting paid enough; they’ve gone to college for 4 years and they start off with a crap salary. I’m a scientist, went to college for 6 years and started on €14,000, was increased to €16,000 after 3 years. I did unpaid work placement as part of my course too. My husband is an accountant and started on €4000. What about everyone else? We are all in the same boat.

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:22 PM

So newly qualified teachers will start on about 32k a yr…..and newly qualified Gardai will.start on about 24k a yr…..so what’s wrong with this picture????? Teachers work about 180 days a yr wirh every Christmas, easter & summers off working basically 9-4.30 mon-fri and guess what down the line it won’t be good enough where as our Gardai will 10 hr days , Morning , Noon,Night, Christmas, Easter and Summer and will more than likely put their lives on the line at some stage to protect ours. …to me it should be the other way round with newly qualified Gardai starting on the 32k a year and the teachers getting the 23k a yr since 180 days is oy 6mths so if you break it down to the hours actually worked teachers would still bea earning more than the Gardai.

Mute Shane Farrell
    Favourite Shane Farrell
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:23 PM

I don’t begrudge fair days pay for fair days work but 31k is bloody good starting out.

Mute Clare de Buitléir
    Favourite Clare de Buitléir
    Sep 18th 2016, 2:42 PM

Teachers should just drive the Luas…easier life for same pay.

Mute Jimbo Jones
    Favourite Jimbo Jones
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:22 PM

Obviously teachers should still be paid more but for 9 months work, it’s a relatively good starting salary.

Mute Jimbo Jones
    Favourite Jimbo Jones
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:21 PM

For 9 months of working. That’s a pretty good starting salary.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Sep 17th 2016, 8:02 AM

So is this good news for our nurses, Garda as well.

Mute Mark Harrison
    Favourite Mark Harrison
    Sep 17th 2016, 12:33 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast
    you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of
    hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about
    this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month
    ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and
    I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about
    $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money
    into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught
    ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it
    also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect
    you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (
    atmmachinehackers1@gmail.com ). Tell your
    loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how
    my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is ;
    atmmachinehackers1@gmail.com

Mute Lisa Pal Joy
    Favourite Lisa Pal Joy
    Sep 17th 2016, 8:05 AM

Hi everybody,I won Lottery of $528.8 (Five Hundred Twenty Eight Million Eight Hundred Thousand Dollars) two weeks ago in Jackpot from 38 lottery play now i have my car and a house.I was introduced to a spell caster called Dr Papo a months ago by a colleague who he helped with lottery and marriage issues. All what he said and what he promised to do really happened.I guess never believed in magic or spells because i thought they were mostly scam acts or tricksters until i met him,everything changed,it exists but only in the right hands and with it everything is possible.I don’t know how to pay him for this but i really hope i can do something important and special for him by telling the world on how i became rich now with his magic lottery spell, he his good in love spell, get your ex back, HIV spell, Pregnancy Spell And other spell if you are in need of any help contact him here DRPAPOSPELLCASTER@GMAIL.COM OR DRPAPOSPELLCASTER@YAHOO.COM
    CALL +2347087462033