You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Photocall Ireland

Viable explosive device found in Dublin

The device was found on waste ground in Darndale.

A VIABLE EXPLOSIVE device has been made safe in Darndale in Dublin by an army bomb disposal team.

The device was found on some waste ground near a residential area in the Belcamp Lane area and the team arrived on the scene at around 6.05pm.

It was made safe without the need for a controlled explosion and was removed to a safe military location for further examination, where it was confirmed to be viable.

This is the 42nd viable device made safe by an Army Bomd Disposal Team so far this year.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute James O'Sullivan
    Favourite James O'Sullivan
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:33 PM

I wanna know what’s goin through the minds of these brutal gang members as they lay down these bombs! Good work by the bomb disposal team yet again, can’t praise these lads enough!

Mute kevin.hayes
    Favourite kevin.hayes
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:44 PM

I have been wondering over the last year or so… In this day and age- what exactly is an explosive device and Who plants these devices?

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:46 PM

Em, I know, a device that explodes??

Mute Reginald's Tower
    Favourite Reginald's Tower
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:46 PM

Traveller & Gangland fueds mostly. Generally they are pipe bombs. Very easily made unfortunately. At least that’s what I heard from a Garda.

Mute Reginald's Tower
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:38 PM

Feuds

Mute jonathan masterson
    Favourite jonathan masterson
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:33 PM

Again? It’s like living in Belfast during the 1970s

Mute Reginald's Tower
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:42 PM

No it’s not Jonathon. It’s nothing like it.

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Jun 29th 2012, 2:49 AM

What is it with all these bombs, that is all you here every week.

Mute KENNY
    Favourite KENNY
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:42 PM

Darndale still as mad as ever

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:14 PM

Can we get a pin map from the graphics department showing the location of viable devices discovered in the last few years? I’m going to be settling back in Dublin in a few months and could use some guidance.

Mute Brian Horton
    Favourite Brian Horton
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:21 AM

If darndale was on list of possibles, it’s not a pin map you need…..
    Lobotomy comes to mind.

Mute Irish Patriot
    Favourite Irish Patriot
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:10 PM

Thank God I dont live in Dublin.

Mute Gordon Bernard
    Favourite Gordon Bernard
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:26 PM

We already thanked him…

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:47 PM

Yeah it’s just as well the job of village idiot was already filled.

Mute jonathan masterson
    Favourite jonathan masterson
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:54 PM

It was a tounge n cheek comment. Lighten up a bit!!!!

Mute Will Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Will Fitzpatrick
    Jun 28th 2012, 10:32 PM

Typo – “Army Bomd Disposal Team” should be “Bomb”.

Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:00 AM

Should be bomb? Sure we all thought it was ‘bond’!

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:24 PM

For a moment I thought it was in Priory Hall and the City Manager had asked Mc Feely to make the problem go away. After all it was the city manager who bought 26 of these monstrosities of the drawing board even though Mc Feely was banned from another Dublin City Council site. Both people are still walking around free as birds.

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:00 AM

@meldoylesun
    So Mel would you rather have SNAs trying to defuse bombs and protecting your money on it’s way to the bank or guarding the mint or the inmates in Portlaoise? Retirees from the DF have earned every cent of their Grats.

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:57 AM

@ mickyboy Byrne .
    toy soldier I presume…don’t mean to offend especially the young child injured by pipe bomb.

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Jun 29th 2012, 1:21 AM

Define toy soldier tommo

Mute Redser
    Favourite Redser
    Jun 29th 2012, 1:30 AM

Most of the devices discovered are not actually explosive devices as they don’t have any explosive within. A Pringles packet with wires and a battery is classed as viable but it doesn’t have explosives but if it did it could explode. So it’s reported as viable but realistically about 80-90% of these devices have no chance of exploding. The guards are not experts so they call EOD out and they make the call.

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Jun 28th 2012, 11:58 PM

Media dramatics…viable device can be anything from a firework cracker to an alarm clock and a battery……

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:05 AM

So there you have it folks EOD Expert Thomas Hannigan is the man to call in future when you have a suspect device to defuse.

Mute Andrew Eager
    Favourite Andrew Eager
    Jun 29th 2012, 12:06 AM

Like the one that blew the fingers off the five year old last week, and possibly would have killed him had he not being wearing his cycling helmet? That kind of media dramatics? It must take an A-Bomb to impress you.

Mute Chris Dunphy
    Favourite Chris Dunphy
    Jun 29th 2012, 1:44 PM

This is happening far too frequently. We have to shout “enough!” and reclaim our country from the criminal shitheads.