You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A €13 charge for some motorists going through Dublin’s Port Tunnel at peak times will apply from 1 January 2025.
On the M50, there is no increase for cars that are registered with a tag or video account.
However, there is a 10 cent increase for cars, buses, coaches, and lighter goods vehicles that do not have a tag or video account.
This means cars without an M50 account will be charged €3.80, while unregistered HGVs will be charged €7.70.
Asked about the matter in the Dáil today, O’Brien, who was taking Leaders’ Questions today, urged TII and the toll operators to “reflect” on the decision to increase prices.
He added that he is urging them “not to proceed” with the changes, with the minister questioning the timing, given the rising costs people are facing.
The minister said decreasing the flow of traffic through the port tunnel is one of the reasons cited for the increase but O’Brien said it is not working.
O’Brien said he had written to Transport Minister Eamon Ryan on the issue, though he acknowledged that the minister did not have a role to play in setting toll prices.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
81 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Gardai are totally undervalued and under paid in our incredibly expensive society, give them everything they want and more and the nurses and the soldiers too. An all out strike is the only way to focus minds. Easy for the begrudgers to give out etc, but they like the rest of us rely on the Gardai and other services when things go tits up.
Wage negotiations should be done between Unions and government behind closed doors full stop. The public should not be consulted on it or held to ransom if the unions fail to achieve whatever their demands. If your union fails the government who we elected to run the country said your demands aren’t justified and that should be the end of the matter. This should be brought into law asap
Gardai cant get restoration of pay cuts imposed in the recession , but there is plenty of pay rises for tram and bus drivers .
Semi state workers did not suffer the same cuts as public sector workers but are the first to be given rises .
Crazy situation that the emergency services are deemed less worthy than bus & tram drivers !
If I called in sick 4 times and I wasn’t sick I would be fired. The public sector think they are special and with good reason: – none of them lost their jobs during recession – none of them took a pay cut – none of them lost their defined benefit pensions. Tis a great country if you are on the gravy train.
Do you know that a young Guard with a family is paid so little that he is entitled to the Family Income Supplement ? Some Guards have to decide what bills if any will be paid in any given month , Guards are losing their homes because they can’t afford their mortgage., sleeping in their cars because they can’t afford fuel to commute. All this why being employed in “a great job”. As regards the “perk” of early retirement. This was introduced because police the world over were dying soon after retirement if they worked 40+ years. Police early retirement is worldwide. NYPD give full pension after 20 years.
If your going to moan about the pay on a public forum at least put the rates up so we can see what’s what. Do you know that the same young Guard was told the rates before he signed up.
What Gardaí on the beat? There are so few out and about as it is. Good luck to them, though, they also have a lot to put up with and I hope they get decent terms without having to limit their service.
As a serving member of the force having completed 30yrs plus am now eligible for retirement but find myself in a quandary. If I retire my pension is based on my current rate of pay which is 120€ less than what I was earning in 2008. I like many other public and private sector workers have taken the austerity, paid for children to attend college ” no grants for me” etc now it’s time for me to take leave of this great organisation but are being held over a barrel, if I retire I won’t benefit from future pay restoration as the link between pay and pensions has been broken.
Currently I like many others in this position are working weekly for less than minimum pay as we have already have our pension banked and are working just for the remaining half 15000€ after tax. When to take the cost of going to work the extra work load and responsibility that have been forced to take on, my financial adviser as told me that I’m mad to continue working under these conditions. All we’re looking for is our pay rights restored.
The front line staff in this country should get proper pay for the great work they do. The shower in charge of this country should stop fattening. Up their own pension pot & big salaries , & look after the people that are looking after the people of this country
I think special permission was given to GRA members in the emergency response unit to not be sick that day and the ERU intercepted and detained the robbers.
How can an individual guard hold his or her head up and tell someone they’re breaking the law when they too are blatantly and openly doing it themselves. Whatever you think of the merits of the strike this is going to undermine their authority big time.
@mickmc: They can do so by holding their head high for putting up with this abysmal pay rate thus far and fiinally reaching breaking point. As much as people might feel uneasy about them striking, I think the public mostly supports their cause. The Commissioner and the Government are very much at fault here. Hearing Paschal Donoghue yesterday waffle on about it yesterday really got on my nerves. The money isn’t there? Tell that to the local councillors that are getting a pay raise when the people on the front line protecting the public are being ignored.
I’ve a grievance with the government too. I think I pay too much tax. Will I go out and break the law so as to reduce my tax bill? If we all start doing that we might as well have anarchy.
What flawed system would that be Neville. The one where people get paid what they agreed to in the term and conditions of their employment. If the guards is such a bad job why is there multiple number of application for every job available. It can’t be all that bad.
Plenty of red thumb’s but no answer as to why so many people want to become guards. Could it be that although the pay not great after a few year it increases dramatically and if you can keep your nose clean it a guaranteed pay packet for life. And of course there’s the added bonus of a good pension for life after you have served 30 years.
The Gardai going on strike is like the tail waging the dog if the government allows this to happen without serious implications for those involved in this state treason and all respect due to the policing of our state will be dissolved
@Paul Lane: How do you figure? Surely they are as entitled to a return to civilised pay scheme as anyone else employed by the state? When striking is not an option, how else can they get their message across?
Just like the luas and bus drivers showed no respect for the citizens of dublin
Did you condem them too when they held people to ranson for pay RISES
The Garda are looking for pay RESTORATION !
Restoration ! So you want to go back to the point when you got preferential mortgages super early retirement, overtime paid for hours yous never worked. Not to mention all the “other” favours that goes on within the force. Some cheek.
Preferential mortgages that we still have to pay, retirement after 30 years work, overtime paid that isnt worked, really!! And “other” favours which are what exactly. Working night, bank holidays, Christmas, yes its some cheek alright! :-/
Speaks volumes of the guards anyway maybe the guards need to send stronger negotiators to the table I’m sure they have within there ranks people who can go into a meeting and squeeze more out of the government without including the general public.. They do it every day in interview rooms with all sorts of criminals using whatever means necessary
Being a Garda is a vocation. If the government genuinely went bust I would expect the Gardai along with the fire service, doctors and nurses to costinue serving the people. Obviously we as a people would have to learn to protect ourselves and those Gardai and other essential services.
That sounds like the ‘entitlement’ mentality I’ve learnt to expect on this site. ‘I want a free house, money handed to me and a public service that dances to my tune because Im entitled’ We’re a long way from the country going bust like you’re describing.
I would like to say that it is your type of mentality I’ve learnt to expect on this site. You don’t know me but I have worked all my adult life and pay my taxes. I live on a house I paid for over 20 years. You are so typical. Mt point was for the less intelligent such as yourself is that even if the health service colapsed and no wages were paid I would not expect a doctor or nurse to walk away from a sick child. Likewise being a Garda is also a vocation. Imagine a priest refusing to give the last eights because he wasn’t paid.
Can we deal with facts here! Let us have a comparison of European police pay and conditions bonuses, all allowances, hours of work ! Years to work before pension, amount of pension, sick pay, ratio of Garda to sergeants, inspectors, superintendents, deputy commissioners and commissioners etc. Include whether armed or not including tasters, spray etc.
It shouldn’t be a direct comparison, you also need to factor in the various costs of living in other locations, including within Ireland, to get an accurate comparison. I saw this done in a report about Dublin Bus. The drivers were the 3rd highest paid in a direct comparison but 6th highest when cost of living factored it.
The bus drivers were still up there, just not as high as some commentators made out but such accuracy is important in these things.
@Donal Bell: Apples and Oranges. You’d need take in the entire social systems in place and cost of living to be scientific. There has been 9 pay reviews , all positive. The last agreement Haddington had a pay review scheduled in the text, that seems to have had one sole member, he could never complete such a vast and important review, it was never a serious attempt to evaluate,, could be viewed as breach of contract, but member has now left for health reasons, maybe true or maybe he is on a golf course. The timing of announcement at least looked wrong. Any reporters left in Ireland ?
What happened is the benchmarking process in 2000′s as Gardai couldn’t strike and also at that time and even now , they do not have direct union status, which meant they never got the figures quoted in media other sectors got, they didn’t get into the room in most cases but would be consulted by the larger unions on their offer. Nor were they greedy, when figures of 12%-15% were out they were getting and accepting 4.5%. So when the cuts came they were affected disproportionately, they are now double digits behind sectors like the prison, nursing they would be normally be pegged too. In short they took a hit of 130/140 a week into hand, government is offering 12 euro back by end of agreement. Abit of straight talk would help people make up minds on fairness of it, its not a pay rise but pay restoration or a process and path of restoration. You sign up to lansdowne you cannot mention pay till end of agreement.
@ Donal Bell…here’s a fact for you…you need to be tasered for you idiotic comments…and just when you’re about to talk nonsense again you should be pepper sprayed…not once but twice for good measure just incase you think about taking utter tripe again.. think before you type…
@Donal Bell: You ask that over and over. You know the answer, its been given before by me
A, Garda in training 10,000 per annum. On graduation 23000 basic + 7000 in allowances approx
B, London MET, 24,000 sterling in training, 27,000 sterling + allowanes. Similar allowances but instead of rent allowance they are provided housing.
C, Spanish national police, 20,000 in training, 24,000 + allowances on graduation. Similar allowances but no rent allowance as they are not forbidden from working in their own areas. There is however danger allowance for Basque region and city allowance for Madrid, etc. Guardia civil start on 20,000 but are given free housing and board. Local police depends on area, roughly the same as national but without allowances.
D, Gendarmes in France, 26000 on graduation (I dont know while being trained)
E, Germany. 28.000 plus allowances (I am unsure of what allowances)
F, PSNI 24,000 sterling in training, 26000 + allowances on graduation
All make more money but only London is more expensive a place to live.
The problem it seems is that as a republic we have never introduced civil code legal.All republics have civil code legal or the option to take a case to a civil code court of law. Brussels operate under civil code,Strasburg operate under civil code which are more effecient legal courts as they dispense with costly legal precadent research and time consuming process s which see applicants getting decisions within a week in some cases. Common law was introduced a millennia ago to speed up Brehon law which after 5000 years had ground to a halt due to its complex nature. Is not the same phenomena happening again. The Gardai uphold the law however if the ancient legal system of Ireland cannot be modernised to reflect the social and cultural changes of the 21century then the leading citizens of our law enforcement are faced with a unique and intolerable set of working conditions.The founders of our state would probably agree
They certainly proclaimed a republic but a republic without they legal system of a republic is a questionable republic something Mr Noonan will unfortunately discover when he takes an appeal to the courts of Strasburg. I can just hear it now Yes Mr Noonan a republic may set its own taxs under the civil code of a republic.But where Mr Noonan is your courts of civil code and whoch civil code solicotors or accountants signed off on your tax deal?
The Gardai are not at fault here and the solicitors should be out in support of them.A republic without a civil code legal system just isnt a republic.English common law is no longer working it too has ground to a halt like the Brehon laws it refreshed.
Time for a referendum.
Global markets slide as fears over US tariffs intensify
20 mins ago
Apple Accounts
Apple's Irish subsidiary incurs $25 billion corporation tax charge as pre-tax profits hit $76 billion
1 hr ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
2 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say