You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Exterior of Dartmouth Park in Dublin. Google Street View

Dublin City Council says it's 'common sense' not to enter public parks after dark but has just made another open 24/7

Local councillor Hazel Chu supports the idea, but says that local residents are concerned about the potential for anti-social behaviour.

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL is set to leave the gates to a Dublin park open 24/7 from today, with a previous decision to implement the same policy at another nearby park having “resolved the problem of anti-social behaviour”. 

Dartmouth Square Park, located between Upper Leeson Street and Ranelagh Road in the south of the city, will be left unlocked throughout the night and the council says it will monitor the situation at the park with gardaí and local residents.

It comes after TheJournal.ie reported earlier this week that Dublin City Council advises members of the public not to enter a public park after dark and adding that it was “common sense”.

In one such instance, Green Party councillor Hazel Chu asked if solar lighting could be installed along pathways in Herbert Park in Ballsbridge.

The council replied to her that it would be “inappropriate” to provide public lighting within a park as it would give “a false sense of safety and encourage use after dark”. 

Chu said she felt it was a “no brainer” to install lights in this particular park, and said an unwillingness from the council to do could be an indication “we’re not utilising our parks properly”. 

However, leaving gates open at a park without providing public lighting has actually helped to curb anti-social behaviour at Herbert Park. 

A Dublin City Council spokesperson told TheJournal.ie: “About five years ago, due to anti-social gatherings in Herbert Park a decision was made in cooperation with the gardai to leave the gates unlocked.

This resolved the problem of anti-social behaviour and the gates have remained unlocked.

The spokesperson added that the same measure would be implemented at Dartmouth Park from the end of February.

“From the end of this month the gates of Dartmouth Park will also be left unlocked and the situation will be monitored in consultation with the gardai and local residents,” the spokesperson added.

Chu told TheJournal.ie that while she was supportive of keeping the park open, local residents had made contact to express their concerns. 

“It’s a lovely park, and actually quite well-lit anyway so I don’t see a problem there,” she said. “People go for runs, walk their dogs. But residents nearby are unhappy with the potential for anti-social behaviour there. The gardaí and the council need to monitor it closely.”

The Green Party councillor said it was important to invest in and protect public amenities, particularly in making it available for people who may live in the surrounding area in accommodation that doesn’t have its own open spaces.

She added: “I think it’s a good idea [to leave the gates open on the park]. While I have conveyed that to residents, I do hear their concerns. We need to wait and see now how it goes.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:39 AM

No government and we’re opening an unsupervised injection site handy for the lads clever an the greens want solar lights GWTF

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:23 PM

@Tommy the postman: we do have a government? The government is the (up to) 15 people who hold cabinet positions. These people stay in place until a new Taoiseach is elected and a new government is then formed. So… Shane Ross is still Minister of Transport, Eoin Murphy, Simon Harris, Regina Doherty (etc) are still ministers and we still have a government.

Mute Emma Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Emma Fitzpatrick
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:46 AM

I walk my dogs daily in the park in the dark. I’d like to think they’d offer me protection but they’d probably run at the first hint of trouble. Only ever issues around Halloween and the stupid bangers are going off. Seeing as it gets dark by five in the winter it’s almost impossible to not have to go into a park in the dark. For me anyhow

Mute Mick McGuinness
    Favourite Mick McGuinness
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:31 AM

Open all parks simple, I’d love walk my dog when I want. I’m a responsibil owner, people will always get in if and when wanted simple.

Mute Pen Name
    Favourite Pen Name
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:07 AM

I can’t imagine a herbert, dartmouth, or phoenix park being created today. They’re from a certain era.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:54 AM

@Pen Name: Tymon Park was only created in the late 1980’s. It is a fantastic amenity

Mute Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Favourite Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:22 AM

@Pen Name: Try St Catherine’s in Lucan, Leixlip. Open about fifteen years now and probably around the size of Marley Park.

Mute Peter Cuthbert
    Favourite Peter Cuthbert
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:12 PM

@Pen Name: Cabinteely Park Mahahide Castle Newbridge Demesne were created in the period 1980 __2000.Foresight shown in this period it similar to the time when Central Park was created in the USA.
    With increasing population ,more parks of this type are needed

Mute Pen Name
    Favourite Pen Name
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:30 PM

@Peter Cuthbert: I had no idea, thanks. It must be these new development plans (eg. Malahide recently) with miniscule appartments and ‘tree-lined’ roads that has me so sceptical.

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:52 AM

Sure they need somewhere to sleep all the homeless!!

Mute Del Bear
    Favourite Del Bear
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:32 AM

I don’t understand..why are they being left open if they’re not safe to go after dark, people shouldn’t go there and they’re not going to light them properly..just lock em then?

Mute Dow Dubrov
    Favourite Dow Dubrov
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:36 PM

@Del Bear: Locking them makes no difference to antisocial behaviour in them. It just means sightings has to be paid to go around twice a day locking/unlocking them

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:03 PM

I do hope they lock the swings or else ban all FG Td’s from entering them after dark.

Mute Sina Hogan
    Favourite Sina Hogan
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:09 PM

At least it’s somewhere safe for a homeless person to pitch a tent in the area without the fear of being picked up by a digger..

Mute Liam Curran
    Favourite Liam Curran
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:19 PM

Open the parks so all the homeless can be hidden from general public as not to embarrass the political incompetent
    I wonder which bright spark saw this as the solution to the homeless scandal.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:10 PM

Anyone going into a park
    in the dark
    even for a lark
    ain’t a bright spark.

E. Jarvis O’Thrib

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:11 AM

Hazel, how is the park “well lit”? There’s not a light in it and its VERY dark at night. Are you sure you’re talking about the right place?

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:56 PM

All I’m saying is as off 13:00 hours on Sunday there is nothing on the rte news app regarding the poll in the times. It’s a bit wierd.

Mute Irish Snowden
    Favourite Irish Snowden
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:45 AM

They obviously have different kind of common sense compare to us – the stupid kind.

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Mar 2nd 2020, 12:18 AM

Why not light the park with solar lights ~ about the only good idea from DCC

Mute Keith Manning
    Favourite Keith Manning
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:01 PM

Useless and lazy