You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

On the double: Darwin Nunez. Alamy Stock Photo

Darwin Nunez double fires 10-man Liverpool to victory at Newcastle

The Uruguay international levelled with nine minutes remaining and then snatched victory three minutes into stoppage time.

LAST UPDATE | 27 Aug 2023

FORGOTTEN MAN DARWIN Nunez came off the bench to fire 10-man Liverpool to a sensational 2-1 win at Newcastle as they staged a late, late show.

Trailing to former Everton striker Anthony Gordon’s opener and at a numerical disadvantage following Virgil van Dijk’s dismissal, the Reds refused to accept defeat and got their reward when the £85million Uruguay international levelled with nine minutes remaining and then snatched victory three minutes into stoppage time.

The Magpies were left to reflect on missed chances – Alisson produced a stunning first-half save to deny Miguel Almiron, who later hit a post – but Jurgen Klopp’s men scrapped impressively to ensure their unbeaten run against the Tyneside club extended to 14 games.

Klopp celebrated wildly in front of the home dugout and on the pitch after the final whistle as the home fans among a crowd of 52,214 trudged away barely able to believe what they had witnessed.

The visitors made a lively start amid a raucous atmosphere as former Magpies target Dominik Szoboszlai forced an early corner, and it was they who set the tempo as the game unfolded.

However, Trent Alexander-Arnold left himself walking a tightrope after picking up a needless sixth-minute booking for kicking the ball away, and he was perhaps fortunate to escape further punishment after Gordon went down under his challenge seconds later.

Newcastle keeper Nick Pope, who was sent off in the corresponding fixture last season, endured a testing start and he came for, but failed to connect meaningfully with two early corners, although as Bruno Guimaraes, Sandro Tonali and Almiron gradually worked their way into the game, the traffic towards his goal became less congested.

Joelinton mustered the first attempt on Alisson’s goal, a reward for Guimaraes’ persistence, although the keeper was more than equal to the task, but opposite number Pope was extended much further to repel Luis Diaz’s near-post strike after a mazy 17th-minute run.

Pope comfortably claimed Mo Salah’s curled 24th-minute effort after the striker had cut inside full-back Dan Burn, but Liverpool’s game-plan was torn apart seconds later.

Alexander-Arnold mis-controlled Salah’s pass, allowing Gordon to steal in and race away before sliding a shot past the advancing Alisson, and worse was to come for the Reds when skipper Van Dijk felled Alexander Isak on the edge of the box three minutes later and was dismissed.

Only Alisson’s brilliance prevented Newcastle from doubling their advantage nine minutes before the break when he somehow managed to claw Almiron’s stinging volley onto the underside of his crossbar.

With defender Joe Gomez having replaced the sacrificed Diaz before the break, the Reds returned knowing they needed something special to force their way back into the game, but Gordon continued to terrorise Alexander-Arnold, and it was the Magpies who looked more likely to add to their tally.

Almiron skied high over after Joelinton had surged into the penalty area before crossing, but with the 10 men largely sitting deep, Newcastle found themselves having to unpick the most steadfast of locks with midfield pair Guimaraes and Tonali the main protagonists.

Szoboszlai and substitute Diogo Jota helped to ease Liverpool back into the contest as the home side were forced to defend, and although Gordon blazed a 64th-minute drive just wide of Alisson’s left post, it took a superb intervention by Sven Botman to prevent Salah from making the most of a delicious exchange with Jota.

Almiron was unfortunate to see a 76th-minute shot come back off a post with Alisson beaten, and the Reds capitalised on that stroke of good fortune with nine minutes remaining when Nunez seized on Botman’s error to fire past Pope.

With Newcastle pushing for a winner, the Uruguay international repeated the dose deep into injury time, running on to Salah’s through-ball to snatch an unlikely victory with a similar finish.

Written by Press Association and posted on the42.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 40 comments
40 Comments
    Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:24 PM

It’s always good to see Saudi Arabian sportswashing lose out. And I’m pleased for Nunez too.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Aug 28th 2023, 5:44 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: that’d be the same sportswashing that liverpool made a handy wedge off over the summer.

Mute Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Favourite Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:26 PM

One of the best comebacks you’ll ever see. Like Klopp said even better than the Barcelona game. I totally agree.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:37 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: read before the game,if Liverpool win,it’ll be first time in their history to win away at Newcastle 3 times in succession. Don’t know if that’s PL history or all time history,either way,I was jumping up and down in front of tv celebrating!

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:47 PM

@Larry Betts: hope you didn’t spill any beer

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:07 PM

@mainmsam: Tried replying to you twice,my comments have been removed?

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:53 PM

@Larry Betts: sure look once the beer is safe

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 9:08 PM

@mainmsam: You got it! Nothing controversial,just my usual comments. Beer is safe!

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:25 PM

Not bad for a carthorse,as described by a football illuminati last week,well done Darwin nunez.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:39 PM

@Thomas: Wijnaldim did the same in famous game v Barcelona. Disappointed at being left out,intended to make a huge impression. That’s why Origi was such a super sub too

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:46 PM

@Larry Betts: yes larry I remember said game,it was nearly three days before I made it home after that one,and origi did something similar to Newcastle a few years back,I was in work for that one thank god.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:34 PM

Liverpool haven’t really kicked into gear at all yet so having 7 points on the board is quite the achievement. Hopefully Nunez kicks on from here. He should get the nod ahead of Gakpo really.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:42 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: A lot of Liverpool players had an off game today,for some reason or other. Gakpo usually very reliable. It’s good to mix things up though give all players a chance,keep them all hungry

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:54 PM

@Larry Betts: It’s actually amazing they got a result with the amount of poor performances. And with 10 men… very strange game. Still, I’ll take it!

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor

How’d you like them touches, eh Neville?

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:59 PM

Delighted for the Saudis

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:21 PM

Absolute bottle job from the barcodes. Could be auf wiedersen pet to eddie howe if things dont improve.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:34 PM

@Brian Dunne: So many controversial incidents in that match,Brian.Doesn’t make sense. And you know who I support! Second TTA foul warranted a yellow,ie a sending off. But the 1st yellow was a joke. Trent fouled and slid off the pitch,threw the ball back on the pitch,gets booked! Rule is ‘kicking the ball away when opponents are awarded a free kick’. It was Liverpool’s free kick,he threw the ball back into play,not kicked away. LFC played terrible all game,but what a result to turn it around with (deservedly) 10 men.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:45 PM

@Larry Betts: bizarre weekend for the refs larry! Great result for the pool to be fair, excellent start to the season for them.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:57 PM

@Brian Dunne: Fair play to ya Brian. Sporting rivalries are put to one side in the name of Fair Play. Cheers,mate

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Aug 27th 2023, 10:20 PM

@Brian Dunne: Newcastle by far the better team and if it wasn’t for Allison this game would have been a cricket score. Huge improvement needed going forward or it’ll be another bad season. Don’t let this win paper over some very big cracks

Mute Mawbawsa Ritchie
    Favourite Mawbawsa Ritchie
    Aug 28th 2023, 12:47 AM

@Thomas Reddy: Give over, with all the chances, Newcastle had, they still couldn’t score and goals with games.
    They still need a 20+ a season striker and a couple of defenders, they’re far from the finished article.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:06 PM

Why are my comments all of a sudden banned? Posted two replies,nothing showing. Is this a VAR review?

Mute Canada Goose G Dog
    Favourite Canada Goose G Dog

What a joke Newcastle are. Cannot beat a terrible Liverpool squad with only 10 men!

Mute David Hughes
    Favourite David Hughes
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:36 PM

@Canada Goose G Dog: Go goose your g dog Canada

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:08 PM

@Canada Goose G Dog: You’re only as good as your last game!

Mute John Duff
    Favourite John Duff
    Aug 27th 2023, 10:06 PM

Absolutely delighted the sport washing Newcastle Saudis beaten.
    The Saudi league are buying up any players that are willing to take the big money on offer.
    We have to push back and not pay any attention to this Saudi league.
    That is the only way to stop them.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 27th 2023, 10:34 PM

@John Duff: A noble idea,but football is all money now Saudi or otherwise,and has been for a long time,just look at Chelsea,taken it to another level entirely.

Mute paulie
    Favourite paulie
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:55 PM

Newcastle blew it smash and grab job for Liverpool a decent side will destroy that defence.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 27th 2023, 11:39 PM

@paulie: Newcastle are a decent side.

Mute Stephen Moroney
    Favourite Stephen Moroney
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:52 PM

That’s Nunez’s goals for the season done !

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 27th 2023, 9:38 PM

@Stephen Moroney: He will have two more than anthony so.

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:48 PM

Don’t tell me the scouse won their Second league in 33 years LOL #embarrassing

Mute Canada Goose G Dog
    Favourite Canada Goose G Dog
    Aug 27th 2023, 7:52 PM

@Liam Dunne: they are peaking now for this season.

Mute Dave c
    Favourite Dave c
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:04 PM

@Liam Dunne: way past your bedtime. Mummy will be up in a few to tuck you in.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:18 PM

@Dave c: can your mummy tuck me in

Mute Hugh De Payans
    Favourite Hugh De Payans
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:36 PM

@Liam Dunne: Probably a Manchester United fan. I was wondering when they’d rear their heads here. Good to see them focus their minds back on soccer after all their off-field troubles with Giggs and Greenwood.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Aug 27th 2023, 9:00 PM

@Hugh De Payans: don’t forget Antony

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Aug 27th 2023, 11:57 PM

@Mise Freisin: reported

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Aug 27th 2023, 8:16 PM

Hang ur heads in shame