You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leader ratings: How did you rate Johnson and Corbyn in tonight's ITV debate?

The hour-long face off was the first of many ahead of election day in three weeks.

THE FIRST HEAD-to-head debate of the UK general election debate took place this evening.

Boris Johnson and Jeremy Corbyn faced off in the live ITV programme before an audience of 200 people and took questions on Brexit, the NHS and their own characters.

Johnson is seeking to get a public mandate as Prime Minister and win a parliamentary majority while Corbyn is seeking to return Labour to Downing Street for the first time in nine years.

This evening’s clash is the first of a whole host of debates that will take place before election day on 12 December. The BBC will be hosting several and Sky News has one next week. 

But how do you reckon the candidates measured up under the glare of the TV studio?

We’re also letting you rate how host Julie Etchingham got on as moderator of the debate and you can rate each out of 10 below (just click ‘rate now’ to compare your take with readers’ average rating) …

Boris Johnson

Jeremy Corbyn

Julie Etchingham (presenter)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:11 PM

Corbyn definitely won that

Mute Louise B
    Favourite Louise B
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:05 PM

Sorry was busy watching I’m a Celeb

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Louise B: grim

Mute Louise B
    Favourite Louise B
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:54 PM

@Ruth O’Mahony: for Gods sake!

Mute Louise B
    Favourite Louise B
    Nov 20th 2019, 12:00 AM

@Ruth O’Mahony: get a grip on yourself. I love seeing brucey in a bikini.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Nov 20th 2019, 12:49 PM

@Louise B: Strange comment because I’m A celebrity started after the debate
    Ps be honest wit your comment

Mute Bill Collins
    Favourite Bill Collins
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:29 PM

Corbyn is’nt a very inspiring individual but at least he speaks coherently. Boris splutters and wanders, can’t seem to complete a sentence, just jumps from one unfinished utterance to the next.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Nov 20th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Bill Collins: Boris forever trying to pronounce his middle name … de Pfeffel

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:49 PM

I’m no fan of the tories but Bojo does come over well. Corbyn speaks passionately but bojo has more spark. I kind of find bojo the more likeable of the two

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:20 PM

@Dean Anderson: despite the fact he lies constantly?

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Nov 20th 2019, 12:25 AM

@Dean Anderson: Like able is NOT something you want from your Prime minister. Competence is what you want! Boris is a lying moron! No matter how likable you think he is!

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Nov 20th 2019, 10:09 AM

@Dean Anderson: Bojo loves himself primarily.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:21 PM

And the clapping every time someone said something, so annoying.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:09 PM

Missed that, my night time control of the remote has been lost to the ladies and their love of seeing celebs suffer….

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:15 PM

@Devilsavocado: ol shite ya

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:21 PM

@Kieran Stafford: it’s a worthy trade, the power is mine at the weekend, I get to watch all the football I want, and not a single moan.:)

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Nov 20th 2019, 12:58 AM

@Devilsavocado: how did you swing that one. I’m led to believe that I have control but i rarely can watch a match without some interruption. Lucky git

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:56 PM

All the video clips I see Corbyn out canvassing show the people responding well to him. Any clips I see of Borris in public, well let me say this, if Corbyn loses the election, I think the US should send in the military, because we know they detest unfair election results.

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:33 PM

Simple question 9 times to Corbyn. Strange he couldn’t answer .. Liebour will be slaughtered ..

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:38 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: what was the question???

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:42 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: he answered the question multiple times. Negotiate a new deal and put it to the electorate in a second referendum. You seem to have a problem with democracy. Really stupid that you keep up with this Liebour nonsense when even tonight Johnson avoided answering questions about his integrity and he’s on record as lying so many times.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:27 PM

@EillieEs:
    The British people were asked a straightforward question by Parliament in 2016, what direction do you want us as your elected representatives to take in regard to our relationship with the EU, do you want the country to remain as members or do you want us to leave.

In their vote the people chose to leave, an while I would agree that Brexit will be detrimental to Britain and it’s economy, that was the decision of the people.

Democracy now demands that the result of the 2016 referendum be honoured and vindicated before another referendum takes place on the same issue.

The position of the Labour Party is incompatible with what they said in the aftermath of the referendum and in the course of the 2017 election.

They will suffer in December as a result.

Mute Ray Finn
    Favourite Ray Finn
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:56 PM

@Garry Coll: they are also on their 2nd general election, the people already voted, why are they being asked again? One and done is the Democratic way?

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Nov 20th 2019, 12:09 AM

@EillieEs: you seem to have a problem with democracy those who bothered to vote voted to leave if people were not happy with the information they had they should of voted to remain end of….

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Nov 20th 2019, 1:52 AM

@EillieEs: you seem to have a problem with democracy In action the people voted to leave in the first place…let them go it’s the will of the people

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:00 AM

@Garry Coll: If only it was that simple ,lies started spreading about the good and the bad things that a brexit will bring and people got wary and unsure and now there are lots more voters on the list over the three years to be considered

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Nov 20th 2019, 8:47 AM

@Willy Mc Bride: corbyn didn’t answer repetitive blasted.brexit questions because he is not a parrot. He said his piece and did not repeat himself ONCE. BUMBLING BORIS IS A LYING TOAD AND A PARROT.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 20th 2019, 10:41 AM

@Garry Coll: except it wasn’t a straightforward question; some voted for a customs union, some voted for a Canada-style Union. What’s the problem with people voting on the actual deal that’s been negotiated?

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:51 PM

The outcome of Brexit has a huge impact on clients of mine, but wild horses couldn’t drag me to watch that pair of eejits talk crap and lie their heads off for the evening.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Nov 19th 2019, 11:01 PM

Corbyn surprised me – Boris is a heck of a Bluffer – A pity Corbyn didn’t straighten his glasses.
    Electorate – ???? Love Bluff and scoundrels

Mute Mrkbrn.
    Favourite Mrkbrn.

Watching people force other people to do something they don’t want to!

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Nov 19th 2019, 10:43 PM

@Mrkbrn.: is that brexit

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Nov 20th 2019, 8:47 AM

Debate what debate?Im a Celebrity was brilliant.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Nov 21st 2019, 8:13 AM

Politicians,
    They’re all liar’s
    Isn’t that what they do at the doorstep.
    According to the good old over paid TD Pat Rabbit,
    And don’t forget A.Hole Tony Blair,
    Weapons of mass destruction,
    I’ll take Boris the lier over the Lefty lying dangerous muppet corbyn .