You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Supporters and workers, following their arrest and release, outside Store Street Garda Station in Dublin. Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Liquidator withdraws negotiated deal after Debenhams workers occupy stores in Dublin and Cork

Workers at Henry Street store were arrested this morning.

LAST UPDATE | 8 Sep 2020

THE LIQUIDATORS for Debenhams have withdrawn their backing for a deal with workers, following the occupation of two stores this morning and the arrests of some former staff. 

Workers had occupied two stores in Dublin and Cork at 7am in response to an “insulting” redundancy settlement offered last week that would have reportedly seen €1 million in funds offered to former staff at the department store. 

Several workers and protesters in the Dublin Henry Street store were arrested by gardaí, but are now being released from Store Street Garda Station. 

Another store on Patrick Street in Cork was also occupied as part of a dispute that has lasted over 150 days. 

In response to the occupation, the liquidators have withdrawn backing for the agreement. 

“Late last night we indicated to Mandate that we were minded to withdraw support for the indicative settlement put forward to workers last Friday,” said a spokesperson for KPMG, which is running the liquidation of Debenhams. 

“This decision was based on the reactions over the weekend from former employees and the likelihood that even if the proposal was passed by Mandates’ members it would not be accepted by many of them.

“Following the actions of certain people over night it has now become clear that the offer is not acceptable to the former employees and others.

“No further settlement agreements will be negotiated by the liquidators with the former employees. 

“The liquidators are disappointed by these developments as they entered the discussions in good faith,” the spokesperson added. 

Trade union Mandate has said that it is disappointed by the decision from KPMG. 

Gerry Light, Mandate Assistant General Secretary, said: “This occupation will hopefully highlight the plight of the Debenhams workers and the changes needed to address tactical insolvencies.”

“These workers should never have been put in this position in the first place but inaction by successive governments has led to this and will lead to more actions like it unless something is done soon,” he said. 

“Since day one of this dispute Mandate has actively been engaged in finding a satisfactory resolution for all Debenhams workers and is something that we intend to continue to do.”

Arrests

Patrick Street shop steward Valerie Conlon told TheJournal.ie that it was a “disgrace” that people had been arrested. “At the end of the day we’re asking for what we’re entitled to,” she said. 

She said that the workers had planned to occupy the buildings for two days. “It is a peaceful protest so we hope they let us stay for two days, so we’ll see,” she said. 

Workers in Patrick Street have told TheJournal.ie that gardaí have spoken to them, but the occupation is being allowed to continue for now. 

The Debenhams workers have been protesting and campaigning across the country for a number of months for a fair redundancy settlement from their former employer.

Over 1,000 workers lost jobs across the country as a result of the closure of the Irish arm of the UK chain in April.

The company had four stores in Dublin, two in Cork and others in Galway, Limerick, Newbridge, Tralee and Waterford.

Some Irish workers had almost 30 years’ service at Debenhams.

Last week, trade union Mandate said that it had negotiated a potential resolution to the Debenhams dispute. Workers were to be balloted this week on the deal, but many have said that the settlement wasn’t enough

Jane Crowe, the Henry Street shop steward, was among those arrested this morning. Earlier, she had had issued a statement in which she expressed her disappointment at the deal. 

“To say that we are disappointed with Micheál Martin is an understatement. His government have had more than two months now to come up with a fair settlement – they need to do much better than this,” she said. 

‘I’ll throw myself in the firing line’

Protesters are being released this morning from Store Street Garda Station. Speaking to reporters this morning, one of those arrested, Sean Powney, said he was taking action for his mother. 

“It’s mostly for people I work with and my mother,” he said. He said she had worked in the store for many years.

“Mainly I’m doing this for her sake, because I can’t have her getting arrested. But I’ll surely throw myself in front of the firing line for her.” 

Sinn Féin’s spokesperson for employment and workers’ rights, Louise O’Reilly, called KPMG’s decision to withdraw from the deal “unacceptable”.

“This is entirely unacceptable. A ballot is underway and it is vital that workers are given the space to make up their minds on this issue. KPMG must immediately re-engage with the workers and their representatives,” she said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

129 Comments
    Mute RadioMikeOBrien
    Favourite RadioMikeOBrien
    Sep 8th 2020, 7:58 AM

Fair play to every one of them.

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:47 AM

@RadioMikeOBrien: at least they will be happy that the principles of the few are intact, while their ex colleagues lose out on getting anything out of the liquidator. Poor situation. but there are no winners in this.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:36 AM

@Brynþór Patrekursson:
    It is a matter of fairness, rights and equality.
    For workers the unions are the big problem. They are forced to, and should, act independently. Now they should step up their own rank-and-file organisation.
    It is workers on one side, and employers/unions on the other.
    Watch out also for the pseudo lefts like Boyd Barrett, Murphy etc deceiving the workers. And watch Sinn Fein spoofing as well.
    Form rank-and-file!
    Fight the bosses!
    Fight the unions!

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:22 AM

@PV Nevin: what absolute nonsense, both Richard Boyd Barrett and Paul Murphy have consistently supported the Debenhams workers, visited the picket lines many times and spoke in the Dáil on their behalf which has been very welcomed by the workers.

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:25 AM

@Conor Kennelly: Two trotskyite rich boys who never done a hard days work in their lives. Working class heroes both of them.

Sep 8th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Conor Kennelly: both of their submissions in the dail started off good, but then they added in nonsense that made it unacceptable to Irish law. While this administration is obviously a fudge on Irish law, looking for two years pay and putting individual pay ahead of state liabilities was ridiculous, and pure pandering. The offer of €1m additional when the company has no obligation under administration laws should have been embraced. Unions flupd up, the few that took it upon themselves to take over fluped up. Loser was the employees that needed the boost.

Sep 8th 2020, 2:25 PM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: btw… Just noticed on reports that some of those arrested were not even employees, just “casual middleclass marxists”.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Sep 8th 2020, 4:10 PM

@Conor Kennelly:
    Their ‘support’ is pro forma. A sham of wordy verbiage.
    If you think Boyd Barrett, and Murphy, are leaders of the working class, then you understand nothing. Working class leaders lead a fight, not pleadings for crumbs. Working class leaders fight for socialism.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Sep 8th 2020, 4:20 PM

@Alan Dillon: Neither of them are Trotskyists. They are phoneys. Anti-working class snakes in the grass.
    Here is a Troskyist:
    https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2020/09/08/ann6-s08.html
    Part six of a series

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:05 AM

One days pay per year of service!!
    That’s really rubbing their faces in it.
    You’d give it to a child to buy sweets….. I sincerely hope they win the battle for fair play……. . DON’T GIVE UP!!!

Sep 8th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Joe Toner: actually 11, which is significant to the few long term ex employees.

Mute Jurga Moylan
    Favourite Jurga Moylan
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:20 AM

Should be a complete boycott of their online store until this is resolved. Best of luck to all of them.

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:02 AM

Fair play to them, treated appallingly by the company and that so called offer negotiated by Mandate and KPMG is a joke clearly designed to pressure the workers into giving up their fight for fair redundancy. More power to them, up the workers!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:31 AM

Am I missing something here that they believe it’s Mícheál Martins issue. Private industry negotiating with union. Its a disgraceful offer but that’s not his fault. Taxpayers can’t step and top up everywhere people feel they aren’t getting what they want.

Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:57 AM

@Diarmuid: The Government failed to implement the Duffy Cahill report after the Cleary’s debacle. They still refuse to implement it. This would protect workers from this happening again. Debenhams are working within the law, but that doesn’t make it right. The law need to change but our Government only look after the fat cats, not the ordinary worker.

Mute Garrett Mullan
    Favourite Garrett Mullan
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:02 AM

@Diarmuid: yes you are missing something

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:01 AM

@Diarmuid: It was the taxpayers who had to pay for statutory redundancy when workers were abused by their employers. As far as I know legislation was passed preventing workers being abused by the likes of Debenhams. This legislation is sitting on a desk unsigned..Well done to the Debenham workers.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:14 AM

@cars: companies do fail… not all employers are fat cats and they dont even have social welfare to fall back on. the Duffy report was full of holes it prevented company restructuring which is normal practice during the life of a business.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:54 AM

@DeWitt: Restructuring? You mean separating the loss making from the profit making and the workers coincidentally happen to end up in the loss making side?

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:03 AM

@DeWitt: Debenhams are fat cats

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:27 AM

@Aidan O’ Neill: not really. Check their latest accounts.

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:40 PM

@cars: fine gael, the party of law and order!!

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: nope. Like separate companies for research and development, export specific, etc. Its normal if you need to raise capital

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:06 AM

I am confused why do they expect anything above statutory? I have been made redundant twice and that was all I got. One of the companies ended up with a product that was €2million per licence as a result of the team I worked on. They sold it 12 times the following year. I didn’t feel like I was owed any of that money as I was paid for work I did.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:46 AM

@Craic_a_tower: because Debenham’s liquidated the hell out of everything to pad shareholder gains and screw over the workers. I get that companies can legally do this but doesn’t mean they should.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Aidan O’ Neill: that doesn’t really explain why they think they should get more than statutory. The creditors are owed money the staff aren’t. They are getting paid and a package but want more. What is the logic that they are due more?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Craic_a_tower: You were entitled to redundancy I’m sure the Senior management and shareholders would not have suffered the same fate as you did..If you are happy in not willing to fight for your rights ..that’s your choice, but thank Christ others who are willing to fight.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:17 AM

@Donal Desmond: fight who? Debenhams are gone the liquidator is in place. he has to pay suppliers, etc. the worker got their ENTITLEMENT… so?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:33 AM

@Donal Desmond: yes I was entitled to it and I got it as they are. Their rights are being met. The question remains why should they get more? You and others are not answering that. When taking a job terms of employment are agreed so if senior management agree better terms when being hired that is their right too. You really aren’t explaining what rights they don’t have. The shareholders have lost money and the management lost their jobs. You just sound angry but can’t explain what the issue is. The company was losing money and not viable.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:41 AM

@DeWitt: No the workers did not get their entitlements, Why should Debenhams be allowed to walk away. How many time have workers being wronged with the tact approval of governments of the day. Clearys, Vita Cortex in Cork. The workers in Cork occupied the premises for months. Thankfully they were well supported by the people of Cork and won their case. Funny you fail to mention the comment and legal obligations that Debenhams agreed with the workforce . You condem the workers for fighting for their rights, Yet you do not mention the company that has abused their work force .

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:45 AM

@Donal Desmond: they paid the worker for the work done. Hardly abuse. The workers got statutory payment.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:48 AM

@Donal Desmond: what entitlements did they not get?

Mute Frankie Cappuccino
    Favourite Frankie Cappuccino
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:52 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Some of the workers have been working for the company for 30 years and would end up walking away with a thousand or so odd quid. Is 30 years of someone’s labour worth about a thousand euro to you? While shareholders haven’t lost out, the people who have litterally allowed the company to exist are being left behind. There’s your answer. Jesus christ the fact people are even arguing about this is grim , get a grip.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:58 AM

@Craic_a_tower: statutory redundancy pay is 2 weeks per year plus one extra year. This isn’t what was offered. Someone with over 20 years was offered less than €1500.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Frankie Cappuccino: they are entitled to 2 weeks of pay for every year plus 1 additional week. So 61 weeks of pay with a limit of €600 a week. So €24k minimum. Where are you getting they only getting a thousand euro as their package? The additional amounts are not statutory payments. They are looking for more. If that is not the case point to something saying different because it isn’t in this article. I am open to correction but the state guarantees statutory redundancy.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:11 AM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: not true. The issue is they originally thought they would get 4 weeks per year and it was reduced to statutory. It is in the Irish times. That does seem nasty but not what you are saying which is simply untrue.

Mute Frankie Cappuccino
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Because someone I know who worked for the company for over 30 years is being offered just over a thousand euro, that’s the whole issue here.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:28 AM

@Frankie Cappuccino: they are lying or you are. They are getting statutory.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/deal-negotiated-for-extra-1m-in-redundancy-payments-for-debenhams-staff-1.4346759

I will admit I didn’t know that others got 4 weeks before which really seems to be the issue. That I can understand but that is how redundancy works. The first to leave get a better deal so the rest of the staff stay. Happened to my wife when she got a great deal and people stayed thinking they would get the same later. That doesn’t happen you get less.

Mute Frankie Cappuccino
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Your right actually we’re both lying I’m only arguing with you here on a Tuesday morning for the craic. I know someone personally who has worked for the company for over 30 years and isn’t getting 10% of your mentioned 24k.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Frankie Cappuccino: so the Irish times is lying? The legal requirement for Debenhams to have a redundancy and insolvency fund doesn’t exist? I have provided proof you should be able to do the same. Either the person telling you is lying or you are lying about knowing a person making up the claim. There is no alternative at this point. I at least know why they are complaining now but not why you continue to make a claim so easily disproved.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:57 AM

@DeWitt: The workers are entitled under law to statuary redundancy. Not the pittance agreed to by the union who failed in their duty to consult with the workforce. Is it not an incitement on our society where people defend companies and vulture companies who with the blessing of successive governments that allow big business carte Blanche to do what they want . Certain people will be first to criticise workers for defending their rights, Yet remain silent concerning the banks, big business facilitated by politicians brought this country to it’s knees.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Donal Desmond: they are getting statutory redundancy!!!!!!! Read the link I posted. If you have evidence they are not, provide this information. It is a legal requirement of companies over a certain size to have a redundancy and insolvency fund to protect such pay. They want more as other people made redundant before got 4 weeks per year. Prove your claim and explain why the Irish Times is lying and how the company dodged their legal requirements every tax year

Mute Tara
    Favourite Tara
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:33 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: Can they not get statutory plus the €1500? Are they being fobbed off with less than €1500 in total for over 20 years service and no statutory redundancy?!

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:42 PM

@Tara: no they are getting statutory redundancy and were offered more which has now been taken off the table. There are people here who don’t understand that the money was on top and claim it was the entire payment. That is not the case. A person with 30 years will get at least €24k calculated on minimum wage and 40 hour week. You would expect somebody with 30 years experience to be on more than minimum wage but the cap is €600 a week so max €36600 in statutory.

Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:58 PM

@DeWitt: The workers have received nothing. All of them are owed outstanding wages as well as holiday pay, on top of redundancy.. statutory or otherwise.

Sep 8th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Mirabelle and a couple of the outraged haven’t read the details. Everyone is entitled to statuary redundancy, and a liquidator can decide to provide more by allocation of resources. The socialists are claiming that the company (which owes €200m+) should give more, as per previous deals, but the liquidator doesn’t have to. They offered this €1m package in addition to statuary, which the mandate employee accepted, but then employee representatives broke into three property, causing the liquidator to redo the maths.

Mute Brendan Hoey
    Favourite Brendan Hoey
    Sep 8th 2020, 3:39 PM

@Frankie Cappuccino: they got there wages every week they were employed for the work they did I belive , so unless they own shares in debenhams i dont know what they think there entitled too? They got statutory right? Move on get another job…..life isn’t fair sometimes so put on your big boy pants and keep on trucking…..it was just a cheap clothes shop who relied heavily on cheap slave labour for there product so not a great loss to our society really….

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:00 PM

@Tara: from my understanding, listening to workers on the radio over the months, they haven’t gotten penny, statutory or otherwise. I might be wrong, but I’m just basing This on multiple interviews on the radio.

I wouldn’t trust anything the other side are saying, tbh. A couple of weeks back, KPMG announced that everything was sorted and The protests were no longer legal.. This was factually incorrect. So.. I’m not inclined to believe kmpg saying this 1 million was a top up.

Besides, if they were contracted to get 4 weeks redundancy pay, and dont get that that’s a breach of contract.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:06 AM

Good for them, lets hope the fat cats wake up now & give them their entitlements

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.

What the workers seem to fail to understand is that when a company goes into liquidation there is only so much of the pie to share out.
    The Share Holders, the Debtor’s and the Staff are all looking for their slice.

People are shouting about “Fat Cat” Share Holders. But in reality many if not most of those funds belong to Pension Funds. And they will be lucky if they see 25 cent in every Euro invested. It will be ordinary workers trying to save for their pensions that are losing out. But hey let’s just shout about some abstract “Fat Cats”.

Then come the Debtors. Most of those will have been the Stock Manufacturers. Already struggling with a worldwide recession and less incoming orders, they want to send them into liquidation and bankruptcy and thus put more people out of work.
    So what’s left are those that worked in the Stores. And they will get what is theirs by law, and were offered a little extra of what was left. But decided that it is not enough. But there is only so much of the Pie to share out and the first two get their portion first. Now that they have thrown out the offer of the extra money, “they have cut their noses off, to spite their faces” all they are going to get is the statutory amount.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:47 AM

@Mick.: well explained. However I dont think the lefties want to hear facts when ideals, principles and of course entitlements are in play

Mute Patrick Brompton
    Favourite Patrick Brompton
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:21 AM

@Mick.: In a liquidation, the liquidators get paid first, then the employees get their statutory entitlements, anything left is shared pro-rata among the creditors (e.g. suppliers) and it would only be if the creditors were paid 100 cents in the € that the shareholders would then get a dividend. It happens but it as rare as hens’ teeth for the shareholders to get any return.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:29 AM

@Patrick Brompton: And like I said it’s the likes of Pension Funds who would be the majority shareholders. The investors in those funds are ordinary working and retired people.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:36 AM

@Mick.: the problem is when the company uses liquidation of one section as a mechanism to pay less than what is owed (to suppliers or employees), despite other areas of the company being liquid at very least, rather than a company actually needing to go into liquidation.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:38 AM

@Mick.: pension funds are massively diversified. One poor performing stock in a fund would not make much of a difference.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:00 PM

@DeWitt: Don’t think it was the (Lefties) that caused this mess. Perhaps you should look to the capitalist system that is geared to defend big business at the expense of the workers.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: It all adds up. With the global recession as deep as it is, Debenhams is not the only company in trouble. A few sectors seem to be riding this storm such as Pharma and Tech but manufacturing in general and retail/hospitality seem to be the biggest loser’s. So a little here and a little there all adds up when taken as a whole.

Sep 8th 2020, 1:40 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: AFAIK, the taxman is the first that needs to be settled, and the liquidator had to put aside 20% of Debenhams resources to revenue/us first.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:24 PM

@Donal Desmond: the system that takes risk and creates work.

Mute nazi killer
    Favourite nazi killer
    Sep 8th 2020, 7:59 AM

Did they not sign a deal just the other day? Lads we talk about Boris reneging on deals, time we start treating these unions with the same disdain if this is how they carry on.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:03 AM

@nazi killer: they were offered and rejected a deal

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:05 AM

@nazi killer: what you think workers should just accept any crumb that’s thrown to them regardless of how bad the offer is, I imagine if you were in this position you’d think differently

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:10 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett:
    They were offered pittence… And you know it! Show a bit of support to the underdog… Go on try it…. You’ll feel better for it!!!!

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:20 AM

@Joe Toner: joe. What are you on about? I’m correcting nazis comment that they broke a deal, they were offered a deal – a terrible deal but still a deal which they promptly rejected. They are not breaking any deal as nazi would have you believe

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:45 AM

@nazi killer: the Union leadership negotiated the deal and asked the workers to accept it which the workers promptly rejected. There’s a distinction between the union leadership and union members.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:53 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett:
    Sorry Jim if I misunderstood. Meant no malice….. Just as mad as hell at the way these people are being treated…..

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:00 AM

@Joe Toner: fair enough Joe, stay safe.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:03 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: read the article. They have yet to be balloted on the deal so how could they reject it

Mute Garrett Mullan
    Favourite Garrett Mullan
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:03 AM

@nazi killer: there was no deal

Sep 8th 2020, 9:53 AM

@John Buckley: it looks like the company and union negotiated a deal. The union (not employees) then discussed this with actual employee reps who rejected it and started this occupation. No deal was ever presented to actual employees, and it has now been renaged as there is a) no obligation for payment under liquidation and b) the employees have not put forward representation that can make a deal.
    End result: liquidator saves a few quid, store staff are left with nothing, union employees get paid and loudest ex-employees get headlines and publicity.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:21 AM

@nazi killer: The union agreed to the deal . The problem is the union failed to return to the membership to sanction the deal. At the time of the economic crash , Union leadership especially the likes of David Begg,Jack O’Connor betrayed the membership by agreeing to draconian austerity measures to repay for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilitated by politicians. Pay cuts , loss of basic rights were given away. The same Begg who when retired was appointed to state boards or O’Connor who intended to stand for election for the so called Labour party. That certainly was flogging a dead horse. Paracites who destroyed the lives of the people they were supposed to represent.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:48 AM

@nazi killer: Like Boris the union failed to bring the terms of the deal to the membership. It is obligatory to return to the membership for approval or rejection..I am quiet sure you would not sign an agreement if you were not informed of terms and conditions.

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:03 AM

@Conor Kennelly: So at least one of the people arrested for “occupying” ( illegally entering) the building didn’t work for Debenhams ? It appears the workers protest has been hijacked by far left rent a mob “activists”. The workers will end up with nothing, but the principle of it is more important eh ?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:56 AM

What kind of society are we living in? Workers made redundant , then refused a decent & dignified redundancy demonstrate and occupy the empty building are arrested ?

Mute Ian Hoey
    Favourite Ian Hoey
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: €1900 for full-time worker who has over 20yrs service and half that for a part-time is decent and dignified???. Are you joking.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:09 AM

@Ian Hoey: did they get paid for their work during the 20 years?

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: whats dignified by occupying someone else property?

Mute Siofra Cronin
    Favourite Siofra Cronin
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:28 AM

@Ian Hoey: She means they were refused a decent redundancy (not that they refused a decent redundancy)

Mute Paddy Cullen AIWS
    Favourite Paddy Cullen AIWS
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Ian Hoey: 2 weeks and 1 day for each year of service, so 44 weeks for someone with 20 yrs done, you reckon that’s only €1900???

Mute PaulOMahoney Irish
    Favourite PaulOMahoney Irish
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:32 AM

Yesterday the CEO of Debenhams was on the BBC or Sky? Anyhoo the parent company is in administration in the UK and according to him will survive “after serious restructuring ” he then went on with a sob story about trading conditions blah blah, but let out that the company has over £60m in “free cash flow ” now for a company who is allegedly struggling that is a huge amount of money.
    I simply cannot see why this money, or a portion of it can be used to pay proper redundancy to staff here.
    I will stand corrected on this but I think the Irish operating company is a separate entity from the UK but my point stands if Debenhams UK has this money it needs to be used.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:08 AM

@PaulOMahoney Irish: 60m is nothing compared to their debts. should suppliers not get paid.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:58 AM

six arrested and being held in store street garda station get down and show support if around town

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:21 AM

what about the workers in the supplier companies. they have rights as well.

Mute Ludie Creech
    Favourite Ludie Creech
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:51 AM

“We’re asking for what we’re entitled to.” Says all you need to know.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:13 AM

@Ludie Creech: except they are getting what they are entitled to they want more

Mute Ludie Creech
    Favourite Ludie Creech
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Craic_a_tower: by what standard are they “entitle” to anything. If the company should freely choose to offer them compensation, that’s great. But for one to insist they are “entitled” to something someone else has, is borderline extortion. Don’t get me wrong, the company should do and provide everything they are contractually obligated to do/provide. Beyond that, anything else they choose to do or not do is completely up to their discretion. Such entitlement mentality is a plague on much of the global culture.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:41 AM

@Ludie Creech: the law says what they are entitled to. For every year of service over 16 they get 2 weeks pay up to €600 with an additional week on top. A company of a certain size must have a redundancy fund to pay this which is ring fenced so not a company asset just a legal requirement. It is an entitlement of employment not extortion in any shape. What they are trying to do is get more from the company’s assets and I agree the method is a form of extortion along with intentionally misleading the public to think they are getting less than they are.

Mute Ludie Creech
    Favourite Ludie Creech
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Thanks for the clarification. Very helpful. Again, I believe the company should provide everything they are legally/contractually obligated to do. I appreciate the employment law lesson. Cheers.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack

@Craic_a_tower: but you failed to mention the 2 weeks per year plus statutory agreement being renaged on by the company in your last sentence.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:13 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: no I didn’t. I pointed out it is unclear if the company offer 4 weeks or it was an assumption due to the last redundancy package. If you have proof the company did that I would love to read it. That would be poor behaviour but not illegal or a change to anyone’s rights. The company could have said that but the liquidator actually decides in the end who are independent of the company. They asses the assets and follow the law.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Sep 8th 2020, 8:59 AM

Solidarity

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:08 AM

what are the suppliers who are owned money. are they not “entitled”… the workers want it all.

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:30 AM

Victory to the workers!

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:06 AM

disgraceful behavior. no respect for law. they are being offered their statuary payment, but want more. why are they so special.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:23 AM

@DeWitt: I wonder if Grant management services are happy to have someone like this working for them.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:35 AM

@DeWitt: didn’t understand this myself the issue is the last redundancy they gave 4 weeks per year. So the staff were expecting the same. It is unclear if the company said this would be the case at any point so that is the issue. People claiming they are only getting a small amount are wrong. There is a slight issue in liquidation procedure not being followed but the company do not have to offer more.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Fergus Lynch: not sure.

Mute arnaas
    Favourite arnaas
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:54 AM

Blame the unions on this from start to finish. How the unions and the staff expected the company to continue trading. Their demand were too much. Floor supervisors getting €59 per hour for Sunday and bank holidays. Checkout staff getting €29 for same. Not sustainable. M & S staff are the same. Give it time an they will follow.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 8th 2020, 9:59 AM

Boycott Debenhams online… They don’t deserve the support of the Irish shoppers! Support the Irish businesses and workers…..

Mute Bikes rule the world
    Favourite Bikes rule the world
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:09 AM

So a lot loose out to a few idiots, KPMG have done the correct thing and pulled the offer, why negotiate with people who will never be happy and have tried to bully them into what they want? Also if PBP support the workers why not pay them what their after themselves?

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Sep 9th 2020, 5:32 AM

@Bikes rule the world: they want what they are entitled to, under their employment contracts. Their contracts stated 4 weeks per year redundancy. This is not what they are getting.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick

So what is the government doing about this appalling treatment of the workers,
    Workers rights have gone down the toilet from the day we joined up with the EU Mafia
    Journal is restricting what I really want to say about the Kildare Street heads in the trough .

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 10:35 AM

@John fitzpatrick: what rights are they not getting?

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt

@Craic_a_tower: dont introduce facts please. This is all about communist ideals.

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:06 AM

@John fitzpatrick: Go back to bed. You’re still drunk.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:58 AM

@Craic_a_tower: are you reading the same article
    Stay OFF the craic

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon

Your comment shows a complete lack of understanding of how industrial relations and the law actually works. It is illegal for any union to drag unrelated companies into a secondary dispute. The union would soon find itself in court and have its assets frozen if it attempted to do so.

Mute Bikes rule the world
    Favourite Bikes rule the world
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:16 PM

@Alan Dillon: A union tried to do this a few years ago(possibly related to a Dublin Bus Strike) and it didn’t end well for them

Mute Virgil
    Favourite Virgil
    Sep 8th 2020, 1:09 PM

They’d actually be better off using the energy to look for another job. The company is bust (it was obvious it was going under about 3 years ago). The workers could spend another 6 months protesting and still get nothing. It’s tough but that’s the way the economy works

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 8th 2020, 1:54 PM

@Virgil: the company is not bust all there shops in the UK are open the irish staff are right to fight for their rights

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Margaret Kane: they aren’t the same company.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 8th 2020, 4:17 PM

@Craic_a_tower: there Debenham stores enough said

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 5:26 PM

@Margaret Kane: I guess you mean “they are”, and no that is not how it works. It is particularly childish response too.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy

Keep going boys and girl fk disgrace the way there being treated ✌✌✌

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Sep 8th 2020, 1:50 PM

Fact is this occupation is legally classed as a burglary which is a felony and not trespass which is a civil crime. Once the Liquidator goes to court and gets an injunction to remove them the Gardai will have no choice but to enter the property arrest and remove them. Following this, they will be charged with burglary and they will be convicted and then have a criminal record. If they do any damage to any property within they can be jailed but even if not they have now made themselves unemployable

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:05 AM

The state again backing big business and banks etc against the workers. They only want a fair deal, that is all.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:18 AM

@Paul Cahoon: So most of the Share Holders who being Pension Investment Funds of ordinary working and retired people are now “Big Business”?
    And who do you think will make up the losses the Banks take? Would it be those small businesses seeking loans through higher charges and interest payments by chance?
    Like dominoes set in a line there is a knock on effect, unless someone removes a role or two to create a break. And that is the Governments job, creating that break to prevent that knock on effect.

Mute Ludie Creech
    Favourite Ludie Creech
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:34 AM

@Paul Cahoon: I’d be curious as to your definition of “fair deal”. By what standard would you deem any “deal” as “fair” or not?

Sep 8th 2020, 1:45 PM

@Paul Cahoon: the state backs the rule of law first and foremost. It has both statuary redundancy scenes and administration to ensure that business don’t fleece the state and employees. It’s why the employees and taxman got something, and those roles enable us to treat all companies the same and give them safety. It’s not some billionaire on a boat these laws protect – it’s us.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:42 AM

Appalling treatment of staff truly is shocking, yet we’d Leo recently sending his kind words to soon to be redundant Brown Thomas staff yet not a peep to the less glamourus lot in Debenhams. Those saying tough luck and shame on workers/unions for bullying KPMG etc, I hope you never end up in a similar position to the workers. Pig ignorant comments here as usual.

Mute Nan
    Favourite Nan
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:15 PM

Joe Duffy will sort it out, look what he did with the bank of Ireland, Talk to Joe

Mute Michael Lyne
    Favourite Michael Lyne
    Sep 8th 2020, 7:49 PM

Is anyone understanding that the company is bankrupt, and hasn’t made a profit for years in Ireland.

Mute SéanM
    Favourite SéanM
    Sep 8th 2020, 11:37 AM

The deal is an insult if only Mandate leadership fought like the Debenhams workers. If Mandate had mobilised it’s full membership the bosses and the government could have been put under real pressure and not dragged on 150 days.
    Win or lose the Devenhams workers have set a high water mark with lessions for workers fighting for their rights.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 12:35 PM

@SéanM: very uneducated comment. They are getting statutory redundancy so in your mind it is an insult every time somebody is made redundant. You also suggest the unions act illegally and risk their existence by acting like gangsters.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 8th 2020, 1:48 PM

KPMG are hachet men Debenhams should be ashamed of themselves as should the Irish government who hide everytime people lose there jobs disgraceful

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Sep 8th 2020, 3:24 PM

Withdrew an offer staff weren’t happy with

Mute Elizabeth Eccles
    Favourite Elizabeth Eccles
    Sep 8th 2020, 2:35 PM

its an absolute disgrace how they can arrest these people fighting for what they should have gotten from the very start shame on them and the government does nothing as usual ….take them all on and fight fight fight you have great support out there don’t give up

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 8th 2020, 4:19 PM

@Elizabeth Eccles: police have no shame

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 8th 2020, 5:27 PM

@Margaret Kane: look at them enforcing the laws of the country. How dare they!!!!

Mute Derek Mc Carthy
    Favourite Derek Mc Carthy
    Sep 8th 2020, 2:37 PM

Gerry light is general secretary not assistant secretary anymore. John Douglas has retired