You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rory McIlroy missed short putts on the 16th and 18th holes. Alamy Stock Photo

More major heartbreak for Rory McIlroy as Bryson DeChambeau wins US Open

Northern Irishman let slip a winning position in the closing holes.

LAST UPDATE | 17 Jun 2024

BRYSON DeCHAMBEAU CAPTURED his second US Open title, edging Rory McIlroy by one stroke in a dramatic back-nine duel at Pinehurst.

The 30-year-old American, who also won the 2020 US Open, fired a one-over-par 71 to finish on six-under-par 274 while McIlroy shot 69 to stand on 275 after 72 holes.

bryson-dechambeau-celebrates-after-winning-the-u-s-open-golf-tournament-sunday-june-16-2024-in-pinehurst-n-c-ap-photomike-stewart Bryson DeChambeau celebrates at the last. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

McIlroy, thwarted in a bid to end a 10-year major win drought, led with four holes remaining but made bogeys on three of the last four holes, two of them on short putts, to help hand DeChambeau the title.

In a collapse mindful of Greg Norman’s epic 1996 last-round loss to Nick Faldo at Pinehurst, McIlroy missed par putts from 2.5 feet at the par-3 17th and just inside four feet at the par-4 18th — tension-packed misses for bogeys that left McIlroy one behind.

DeChambeau found dirt and weeds left and a bunker at 18 but blasted his third shot to four feet and sank his pressure-packed putt for the victory.

Raising his arms in triumph, DeChambeau screamed and jumped for joy, then paid tribute to the late Payne Stewart, the 1999 US Open winner at Pinehurst who died only a few months later.

“That’s Payne right there, baby,” DeChambeau said into a television camera, pointing to a pin of Stewart on his cap.

– © AFP 2024

Written by AFP and originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View 49 comments
49 Comments
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:01 PM

Arrest and suspicion do not mean guilt.

Hopefully when arrested this individual gave full and unconditional assistance.

Ordinary and decent people were killed by angry and vicious killers seeking glory and exercising pure hate. There is a real duty, a moral duty, to provide all possible assistance.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:12 PM

@Tony Daly:

Did you manage to watch ‘Jihadi next door’?, now deleted from Netflix? Any of their dubious like minded associates should be arrested and brought in to “assist” law enforcement agencies, it’s the logical thing to do as Jihadists have no morals.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:17 PM

@Rowe:
    BBC radio 2 today spoke about it.
    The actual recorded footage for Jihadi next door was 41/2 hours long before editing. Amazingly the UK police did not request it even up today, despite one of the boys in it going on to feature in the attack.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:19 PM

@Rowe: the rule of law should continue to be observed. It is part of The Western way. It is what distinguishes us from those who attack us.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:21 PM

@Mike Cantwell: it is those assumptions which produce false positives and obstruct identifying those who are truly guilty.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:26 PM

Well Tony every decent person would assist the Guards but 66% of Muslims in Britain will not assist the Police with re to Terrorism I can’t imagine the numbers will be any different here

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:00 PM

@Mike Cantwell: you are incorrect. Moderate Muslims, the vast majority, will give discreet and confidential assistance.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:15 PM

@Tony Daly: You’re dead wrong – the statistics are there to prove it.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/survey-reveals-chasm-between-muslim-values-and-rest-of-uk-d30hl55lk

‘One in three’ muslims would tip off police if they believed someone close to them was involved with terrorist sympathisers.

Are you prepared to alter your position now that you have been shown this data?

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:20 PM

@Tony Daly: Tony..while it’s admirable that you come to the defence of the majority of peaceful Muslims sometimes you have to look at it objectively. While this man may not have had anything to do with the attack if he was carrying false documents, even if the purpose was social welfare fraud, I have no time for him and believe he should be deported.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:21 PM

@Tony Daly:

The law of the land doesn’t really apply to those who live under Sharia.

Mute Shane Moynihan
    Favourite Shane Moynihan
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Tony Daly: Tony Daly man!!! You are wrong as usual !! Stop pushing a false agenda u old hag

Jun 7th 2017, 8:24 PM

@Mick Murphy: what would be the odds though for getting him deported ?

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:38 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: lol…you know the answer to that as well as I Suzie

Jun 7th 2017, 9:00 PM

@Mick Murphy: sadly I do , Mick …

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Mick Murphy: It’s a sad state of affairs when our best chance of tracking jihadis down will be through welfare fraud officers .

Mute Jasun Ó Cearnaigh
    Favourite Jasun Ó Cearnaigh
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:47 PM

@Ken Hayden: sometimes an unethical decision is the best decision in the long run for the greater good! Its called consequentialism and is the usual form of ethics in this world! I dont know why you softies think this should be changed!

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Jun 8th 2017, 1:29 AM

Where did Tony go?

Mute מוחמד אל ח'ליפה
    Favourite מוחמד אל ח'ליפה
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:21 PM

Thank God Ireland is an island and not in mainland Europe, wish Ireland and its people the safety and prosperity.

Mute Rondon
    Favourite Rondon
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:45 PM

A file will now be prepared for the Director of Pathetic Prosecutions…some serious overtime in that office!! Joke shop

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan

The western news blackout on the ongoing genocide in the Yemen by the Saudi regime can’t continue, this poses a huge moral problem for Irish citizens, American backed forces are currently fighting side by side with Isis, the Saudi warplanes are being refuelled by American planes which is the service we supply at Shannon, in short we are assisting terrorism against the Yemeni people while standing shoulder to shoulder with the victims of Isis closer to home.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:52 PM

@Dave Hogan: Its a civil war, gift wrapped by a typical sunni v shia proxy conflict. Saudi V Iran. The Yemeni people you suggest we should be assisting are also fighting against Iranian armed Yemeni / Hezbollah forces. Yet again you only manage half the story. The Saudis have absolutely killed the majority of civilians, whilst the Houthis have and are being investigated for war crimes. Absolute poverty, poor sanitation and almost zero water resources pose a far greater long term threat.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:16 PM

Just like all the arrested in London and Manchester released without charge……a smokescreen…

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:00 PM

Are people quilty by association now?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:04 PM

@abcyz: the hysteria and blood lust revenge brings out the worst in some people. They are the ones who respond just as ISIS wants them to respond.

Terrorism is deliberately provocative. It is meant to trigger fear, hate and revenge. It is intended to undermine western values of fairness and justice.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:05 PM

@abcyz: Given what happened they’re certainly worthy of questioning.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:10 PM

@abcyz: wouldn’t it be worse if they weren’t investigated especially after one of them was found with the London attackers documents? god forbid something happened here with one of these lads, everyone would be up in arms demanding why they weren’t at the very least investigated. well done gardai for doing their job.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Tony Daly: wont be long changing your tube if it was someone close to you….

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:18 PM

@Paul: that is the lame argument as to emotion. It is meaningless.

Mute Stevo02 Scofield
    Favourite Stevo02 Scofield

@Tony Daly: what way would you respond if it was one of your family members caught up in one of these attacks ? Not all Islamic people are bad people but 80% are in favour of sharia law being implemented..Our stupid government will let more good and BAD in to the country..And more attacks will occur ..I’m sure your in favour of open borders too yeah? All love one another and everything is sunshine and rainbows like Katy Perry suggests..You don’t fight back with hate but at least open your eyes because I guarantee you if an attack happened one of your family members you would have a different view

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:02 PM

@Stevo02 Scofield: I have no idea but my personal reaction in a period of immense grief would not be a sound basis for policy. Try to exercise objectivity.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:13 PM

@Tony Daly:
    Objectivity!!!!! On the journal?

Good luck with that.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Tony Daly: western Europe is rapidly resembling Isreal before the wall was built to protect its people from the slaughter of suicide bombers what wall is Europe going to bulid to protect is people from jihad killers

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:43 PM

@abcyz:
    Released without charge, file being prepared for the DPP as per normal practice. If the investigation found nothing untoward there would be no file for the DPP.

Mute Shane Moynihan
    Favourite Shane Moynihan
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Tony Daly: There he goes again

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:52 PM

Yes they are
    You lie down with dogs you get fleas
    Released without charge a joke
    Hold them and deport them
    This country and its police force are a joke

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 7th 2017, 8:03 PM

@Mark Walsh: feel better?

Mute Shane Moynihan
    Favourite Shane Moynihan
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:10 PM

@Tony Daly: Yes Tony I do, I have another one for you too…

Mute Shane Moynihan
    Favourite Shane Moynihan
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:11 PM

My name is Jafar
    I come from afar
    I have a bomb in my car
    Allahu Akbar

Mute Jasun Ó Cearnaigh
    Favourite Jasun Ó Cearnaigh
    Jun 7th 2017, 10:41 PM

@Mark Walsh: too right! Any suspicion and your out soft lefties have so much blood on their hands and still moan!

Mute Tariq Ibn Ziyad
    Favourite Tariq Ibn Ziyad
    Jun 8th 2017, 12:48 AM

@Shane Moynihan: Oops, looks like you switched from your ‘Mark Walsh’ account by accident! Are you Suzie Sunshine and Matty Kilcock too?

Mute Damien Dineen
    Favourite Damien Dineen
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:11 PM

Ah sure of course!

Mute Damien Dineen
    Favourite Damien Dineen
    Jun 7th 2017, 7:13 PM

@Damien Dineen: I don’t mind once we are on the ball checking this stuff as quickly as possible!

Mute Kevin Spencer
    Favourite Kevin Spencer
    Jun 8th 2017, 8:09 PM

Up Wexford