You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Derek Fowld pictured in 2002. PA Images

Yes Minister and Heartbeat actor Derek Fowlds dies aged 82

The actor passed away this morning his family have said.

ENGLISH ACTOR DEREK Fowlds, best knowing for playing Bernard Woolley in Yes Minister and Oscar Blaketon in Heartbeat, has died at the age of 82.

The actor passed away this morning his family have said.

The actor died at Royal United Hospitals Bath in the early hours of Friday morning after suffering from pneumonia that led to heart failure caused by sepsis.

He was surrounded by his family when he died and is survived by sons Jamie and Jeremy.

Fowlds began as a stage actor before moving to screen in the 1960s. His first professional acting job was appearing in weekly rep at the Prince of Wales Theatre in Colwyn Bay in 1958, while on summer holiday from the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art.

He then found fame with children as Mr Derek on The Basil Brush Show, alongside the glove puppet fox with the catchphrase “boom boom!”, from 1969 to 1973, replacing Rodney Bewes as the presenter. 

Later, he came to wider attention from 1980 for his portrayal of private secretary Bernard Woolley in BBC satirical comedy series Yes Minister. 

BBC Studios / YouTube

He later appeared as a constant character on ITV’s Heartbeat throughout its 18-year run when he played police sergeant-tuned publican Oscar Blaketon.

Helen Bennett, his personal assistant and friend of many years, told the PA news agency:

He was the most beloved man to everybody who ever met him, he never had a bad word to say about anybody and he was so well respected, adored by everyone. You couldn’t have met a nicer person ever, he was just a wonderful man and I will miss him terribly.

Fowlds released his autobiography A Part Worth Playing in 2015.

- With reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:47 AM

Are the journal sponsored by Shane Ross?

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Sep 1st 2019, 4:26 PM

@Skimothy: sponsored & owned by blue shirts finegael

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:46 AM

How many articles are you gonna get out of that softball interview, The Journal?

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Sep 1st 2019, 1:15 PM

I’ll say it again because it was deleted earlier….

Shane Ross the TD that roared and shouted in the Dail about everything that was wrong with Ireland and it’s politics. He then became a minister and quickly fell in line with the rest of them.

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:20 PM

@Jason Ebbs: very true. A major disappointment indeed

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Sep 1st 2019, 9:41 AM

Shane Ross is a messer. The other year the luas and buses were a disgrace in Dublin. Caused over 2 hour delays to many people. I decided to reach out to him. About 6 months later he tells me it’ll sort itself out….

Mute Alan Walsh
    Favourite Alan Walsh
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:18 AM

@Madra: I know doctors that can’t sign into email, I wouldn’t be too harsh on this point.

Mute Alan Walsh
    Favourite Alan Walsh
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:19 AM

@Alan Walsh: ffs, replied to the wrong comment

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Sep 1st 2019, 2:41 PM

@Alan Walsh: 100mg per nocte!

Mute Raymond Tom
    Favourite Raymond Tom
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:58 AM

Have we reached peak Shane Ross yet?

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:53 AM

@Raymond Tom: nope. But the other chancers must be delighted he’s getting the colonoscopy treatment and not them. Jaysus he was even on Reelin’ in the Years the other day.

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Favourite Y U no spell good?
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:59 AM

Take this for what it is lads and ladies, a funny side point on an interview. Fair enough you don’t like his politics, not a huge fan of him myself, but I’m personally happy to see a politician embrace the funny side of the circus of politics. He’s poking fun at himself for being a flawed human doing flawed human things like the rest of us. Separate the job from the individual and lighten up, it’s an all Ireland final Sunday, enjoy it!

Mute STOIC SAVAGE
    Favourite STOIC SAVAGE
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:03 AM

@Y U no spell good?: ye he’s a great comedian

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:08 AM

@Y U no spell good?: He sounded like he really enjoyed being a meme, that’s not how any of this works.

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:34 AM

@STOIC SAVAGE: might be a new career path for him! :-)

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:36 AM

@Cynical: sure who wouldn’t want to be immortalised in a quality meme!

Mute Matthew Handibode
    Favourite Matthew Handibode
    Sep 1st 2019, 7:37 PM

@Y U no spell good?: Finally some good sense

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:42 AM

Remember Shane “If I was the Minister for Transport the first thing I would do is remove that toll from the M50 bridge, the people of Ireland have paid enough in road tax to well pay for it”. Once they get their asses under that ministerial desk all perception of who they evaporates.

Mute Gods Curse
    Favourite Gods Curse
    Sep 1st 2019, 12:12 PM

No self-awareness whatsoever, he actually thinks he came out of it looking good.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:02 AM

Lads there a bit no actually a lot of brown stuff round yer mouths there after each article the journal published on this lad…….should ease up like the

Mute Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Favourite Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Sep 1st 2019, 10:35 AM

Seriously with all that’s going on this rubbish.

Mute Padraig Grimes
    Favourite Padraig Grimes
    Sep 1st 2019, 2:48 PM

I actually thought this guy was ok until he got elected. What a plonker he turned out to be!

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Sep 1st 2019, 3:08 PM

Nothing sadder than an auld fella trying too hard to be cool. The journal seem to love this fella though.

Mute john howard
    Favourite john howard
    Sep 1st 2019, 3:43 PM

Journal. STOP giving that Man media time. His ego is bigger than his head. Do your job Ross and stop looking for publicity. Journal do your job.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Sep 1st 2019, 1:28 PM

Could be worse, could be photoshopped with Hitler, Stalin, the IMF, Merkel, Pinochet, Pol Pot, CJ…

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Sep 1st 2019, 12:49 PM

Shame Ross Pathetic most political

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Sep 2nd 2019, 12:17 AM

An embezelleing toss pot

Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Sep 1st 2019, 1:44 PM

I read this article about 15 mins after meeting Shane Ross at a local soccer Mini WC this morning.. ☺

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 1st 2019, 3:02 PM

What a idiot

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Sep 1st 2019, 11:43 AM

were evaporates