You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Diageo is raising the price of a pint of Guinness by 12 cent from February

The company said the increase is due to “significant inflation in input costs across our operations”.

GUINNESS-OWNER DIAGEO will increase the price of its beers from next month due to inflation.

The price increase, first reported by Virgin Media News, will add 12 cent to the price of a pint, excluding VAT.

The company said it had absorbed cost increases “for as long as possible”, but it could no longer do so.  

The Vintners’ Federation of Ireland, which represents publicans, has called on Diageo to reconsider the move, adding that publicans will most likely have to pass on the price increase to their customers.

In a statement to The Journal, a spokesperson for Diageo said:Like many businesses in Ireland, we are facing significant inflation in input costs across our operations.

“We have absorbed these costs for as long as possible but unfortunately, we can no longer continue to do so,” the spokesperson said.

“As a result, we have written to our customers in the on-trade to advise them of an increase on our draught beer list prices of 12 cent per pint, exclusive of VAT.”

The price change will be applied across the whole Diageo draught beer range and will take effect from 1 February 2023.

Other beers distributed by Diageo include Hop House 13 and Smithwicks.

It comes after Heineken increased its keg prices by 9% in November, following “significant increases in the cost of energy, packaging, and raw materials”.

The increase added 17 cent plus VAT to the price of a pint.

Commenting on the matter at a press conference this afternoon, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said he thought the increase would cause financial hardship for publications when combined with other rising costs.

“I think pubs form a very important part of our economy and a very important part of our tourism offering, our welcome and a very important part of our social fabric as well,” Varadkar said.

“I don’t think a 12 cent increase in itself is going to put any pub out of business but I suppose with combined rising costs, it will cause financial hardship for many.”

The Taoiseach also encouraged people to apply for the Temporary Business Energy Support Scheme (TBESS).

The Vintners’ Federation of Ireland has said the announcement by Diageo is “further bad news for the pub trade already grappling with soaring energy costs, inflation and the general increase in the cost of doing business”.

Vintners’ CEO Paul Clancy said: “Following the increase in Heineken prices in December, this is the second major price increase our members are having to deal with in a few short weeks. Publicans are getting hammered from every angle at the moment and this news from Diageo is a further blow to the trade.

“We’re heading into the quietest few months of the year for the trade so the increase in the price of a pint couldn’t come at a worse time,” Clancy said.

Due to the unprecedented cost of doing business publicans will have to pass on this price increase to their customers, which is something they are very unhappy about.

“It’s well documented that energy costs are at all all-time high, while at the same time the trade faces losing the 9% hospitality VAT rate at the end of February. The trade can’t keep taking these hits on what appears to be an almost weekly basis. The VFI is calling on Diageo to reconsider its decision in light of the pressures on the pub trade.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Oct 21st 2012, 7:57 PM

Special because we done what was needed thank you all the people like myself who just done what was needed instead of moaning. Hard work always pays off

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:12 PM

Don’t celebrate just yet, there’s nothing concrete in that statement is there??
    “reaffirmed their commitment to examine…”
    “They recognise in this context, that Ireland is a special case, and that the Eurogroup will take that into account.”

I REALLY hope you’re right, but this is noting more than a confirmation that they’ll “take a look at it” again.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Favourite Nikolas Koehler
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:30 PM

Yep, I feel the same. I won’t begrudge bad news but we don’t know how much, if any, will be debt reduction and how much will be terms of repayment.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:33 PM

Agreed, apart from spin and waffle the only sentence in the entire statement with any meaning is;
    “They recognise in this context, that Ireland is a special case, and that the Eurogroup will take that into account.”
    This does not mean anything has changed from this morning, all she has said is that Ireland has had to endure difficulties that other countries hadn’t and that may affect their decision. Or it may not. It’s like a fed up parent saying “I’ll think about it” to an unruly teenager’s pestering, when what they really mean is “no”.
    While she may like to think it, legally can Angela Merkel speak for all the other countries involved on this issue, is the decision Germany’s alone?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:44 PM

Rusty balls ask yourself who is the paymaster and then you have the answer to the question you posed.

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:50 PM

Oh I know Germany has the biggest wallet in Europe, I said “legally”. If it’s a case that the one with the most money calls the shots, which it effectively seems to be in all but name, then I guess she can speak for everyone. But if you were on that Eurogroup would you not be just a little p!ssed off with her presuming to speak for you?

Mute Meh
    Favourite Meh
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:54 PM

This will be danced with for the next while until we are in election mode. Merkel & Kenny are the same Christian Democrat wing in the EU. Merkel will allow Kenny to deliver, but not too soon incase we see through it and don’t vote them in again.
    This is a sham, hopefully if there is some respite cynically put in place to win the next General Election the Irish people see it for what it is. Remember they could begin easing the burden now or let you suffer on while they gear up for the election win.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:58 PM

what hard work was that exactly, bailing out the rich and the bankers, hammering the old and vunerable and being true patriots by paying the household charge while those at the top continued to live the life and kiss europes asses like zombies…….I hope to whatever god people believe in ye so called non-moaners, patriots and hardworkers are right about this cos were at the last chance saloon and rather than a big fat we told ya so coming from so called moaners were all gonna be in deeper shit than we already are

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:09 PM

@ Meh I couldn’t agree more, I’d love to be wrong but I think it’ll play out as you indicated.

Mute Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:31 PM

Spoofing to calm the storm that was coming with the bond markets…

Mute richie meade
    Favourite richie meade
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:01 PM
    Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:53 PM

Yes… The basket case of Europe…

Mute Larry Roe
    Favourite Larry Roe
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:16 PM
    Mute Mark Fagan
    Favourite Mark Fagan
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:34 AM

Have the sheeple still not learned ? Ah well another €12.5 bn less by the end of 2015 should wake them from their slumber.

Mute StewartHand
    Favourite StewartHand
    Oct 22nd 2012, 7:16 AM

It’s like an Irish mammy saying “we’ll see” when you asked for something nice!

Mute Disildoforus
    Favourite Disildoforus
    Oct 22nd 2012, 9:45 AM

@stewarthand and usually as a ‘mammy’ when I say ‘we’ll see’, I actually mean no, but I’m not in the humour for the tantrum I’m going to hear and it gives me time to make up a good excuse and offer an alternative suitable to me!

Mute Creatively Maladjusted
    Favourite Creatively Maladjusted
    Oct 22nd 2012, 10:48 AM

lol

Mute Máire Egan
    Favourite Máire Egan
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:18 PM

JP you are deluded mate if you see this vague statement as something positive and also extremely naive…..Enda Kenny has got absolutely f*****g nowhere and trust me he is going nowhere fast. Eddie Hobbs spoke candidly on Marian Finucane over the weekend and he said we are in the SAME position we were in 4 years ago our politicians don’t have the spine to stand up to the German and French banks we CANNOT afford to pay back bondholders period WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE!!!!!!!

Mute Trevor Singleton
    Favourite Trevor Singleton
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:00 PM

Actions speak louder than words… Please get on with it !!!

Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:03 PM

There was obviously some “doing” for her to mumble those words.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:05 AM

If it happens at all it won’t until she’s sure of her place. Election on the way and German electorate not wanting to hand away the money….

Mute David Kennedy
    Favourite David Kennedy
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:01 PM

Seems like positive news. Now for the standard cynicism that generally gets commented on here…..

Mute Derek Hand
    Favourite Derek Hand
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:46 PM

Oh yeah. The web is just full of cynicism. I was built for cynics. Ignore then

Mute Tom Curtis
    Favourite Tom Curtis
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:56 PM

Cynicism is a necessity in today’s EU. I’ll believe It when I see it. My guess is we will be spun along with vague promises for years until every cent has been paid back to German and French banks only then to be told to suck it up. If you believe anything else you a being very naive.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:34 PM

SShh..don’t be disturbing Polyanna. Realism not allowed…bad for confidence. And ya can’t have white-collar confidence trickery without yer confidence.

Mute David Kennedy
    Favourite David Kennedy
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:27 PM

@Derek… the web is full of cynics? I’ll believe that when I see it.

@Tom- naive? Not me sir…. Enda Kenny cares personally about me, my family and my future… didn’t he go to my Granny’s cousin’s funeral and he gave me a secret wink one night when he was on Primetime.

@Damien- I agree that we have to be realistic… positivity at the expense of fact and likelihood is tiring and false. However it seems that the vocal online tend towards glass half empty more often than half full on here. Hopefully it’s a step in the right direction.

And yes…. I will hold my hands up and admit that I Googled ‘Polyanna.’ I’m now going to square peg it into my daily conversations as a metaphorical slap in the face to the uninformed. #smug

Mute Adam Walsh
    Favourite Adam Walsh

Hon Kenny !

Mute Cal1 Mooney
    Favourite Cal1 Mooney
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:04 PM

Sadly, WE know that this is window dressing. Germany and the EU have zero intention of taking the European banking debt back off the Irish shoulders. Why should they, we have already made it soevereign. They can renegotiate the loan over 50 years, but that will still mean that 20% of all Irish tax paid over the next 20 years will go to pay off the banking debt.
    The Emperor has no clothes, and trust me, Enda Kenny in the Nip is not something any of us want to see… Photo Op or Not.

Mute LarBren1
    Favourite LarBren1
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:25 PM

I don’t see anything particularly positive in that statement. Queen of Europe wants to help us get back in the markets where we can borrow money from German banks rather than borrow it from the Troika. There is nothing concrete about what we really need – debt restructuring.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:30 PM

Their taking the p— !

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:30 PM

We need considerably more than debt restructuring.

The system is unfit for 21st century purpose, its still running on a 19th century imperial Great Gameplan. Primitive minds in pin-stripes won’y solve the raft of planetary shit heading for the fan.

Read a little history. These cycles are unsustainable, the oscillations are getting more extreme. These people have invested their careers in a redundant model, they won’t abandon it now.

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:43 PM

If Merkel wants us to borrow from her banks, then why is she asking us to close our deficit?

What you’ve just said makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:48 PM

Its clear what germany wants David, to give Ireland a small bit of breathing space to allow us to continue to pay off debt thats not ours. This will happen and your leader and noonan will hail it as a victory.

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:01 PM

Yeah, Merkel just loves being forced into a clarification on a Sunday afternoon by a country a fraction in size of her own and with herself up for election in a matter of months…..

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:07 PM

Didn’t see anything in the article about the frau being ‘forced’ to do anything David, and I doubt inda would be the person to do it considering he wouldn’t even face ursula halligan in a debate pre-referendum.

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Favourite Creamy Hamstrings

Ok well that seems a bit more positive that her last statement. If they don’t do this though we will never get out of this hole!

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Oct 22nd 2012, 8:43 AM

‘Special’…zis ist der Deutch fur ze ‘basket’, ja.

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:07 PM

Now line up all the critics all the moaners and all the whingers together with all the politicians from Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein in particular and offer a public and a sincere apology to the Taoiseach for the abuse heaped on him constantly sine he assumed office but particularly since he returned from Brussels.
    Where are they……………..slinking off into the long grass to hide from the responsibility they need to accept for continually running down the efforts being made on their behalf and specifically making that task harder through their ignorance and stupidity.
    Well done Mr Kenny and colleagues. We owe you a DEBT …..of gratitude.

Mute Senan
    Favourite Senan
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:13 PM

Spot on Paddy, well done lads, hopefully they can leverage this statement to get an agenda item on the next meeting of finance minesters

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:19 PM

Please, spare us! I’ll be the first in line to congratulate them if they get a decent deal on the debt, and by that I mean a write down, not stretching it out for 50 or 100 years!
    There’s nothing in that statement but posturing, when is this change going to happen; WHEN are they going to take it into consideration that Ireland is a “special case”???
    And when (if) they eventually get around to it, who says they won’t come to the same conclusion anyway.
    Nothing to be happy about here, we don’t owe them anything, but between this lot and the last shower, they owe us 10′s of billions.
    Get a grip!

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:45 PM

Paddy, go to bed and have a good sleep.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:49 PM

Paddy apology for what?what deal has he got?If something isn’t done about our debt,people in this country would rise up.All this statement is for is to keep us calm for another while.As another commentator on here said there never was a deal,Merkel never agreed a deal.The only people saying she agreed a deal was our government.

Mute Nuala Reid
    Favourite Nuala Reid
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:50 PM

this statement doesnt change a thing. there is no commitment to do anything only looking at our situation and taking it into account. she didnt confirm anything on the deal the gov are harping on about. i will give credit where its due but none due yet.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:53 PM

An apology for what. They have said nothing new only reaffirmed the statement from June which is worthless. She was clear on Friday that there will be no retrospective recapitalisation of banks. FFG/Labour can come on here in droves and try to spin it otherwise but there is not one word in that statement to indicate that she has changed her mind on this. And there is no way Spain or Portugal will accept having to pay out if we got a deal and they didn’t.

Mute Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:13 PM

Get real, thank Kenny my hole, I didn’t hear the magic words and that statement was dragged out of her after a lot of wrangling through fear of the markets hammering our bonds in the morning!

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:29 PM

Paddy there is only one word I can use to describe your comment.

PREMATURE.

Perhaps you should wait until there’s actually an official statement before you rush to congratulate, celebrate and demand apologies..

Mute Joe Shaw
    Favourite Joe Shaw
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:33 PM

@Paddy
    When you realise that the ‘deal’ Edna Kenny is talking about is a restructuring of the time frame of the debt, not a write down, I’ll give you a screen grab of that statement you have just made, so that you can see in the cold light of day, just how ridiculous it actually is…

Mute NedStark
    Favourite NedStark
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:49 PM

Hi Joe, restructuring the time frame is as good as a reduction of debt. It’s known as inflating away the debt. Lots of countries have done it.

Mute Margaret Mc Avinue
    Favourite Margaret Mc Avinue
    Oct 22nd 2012, 4:50 AM

Seeing is believing—- Action speaks louder than words—-how many times before have we had broken promises!!

Mute Stephen Madden
    Favourite Stephen Madden
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:01 PM

Positive sounding statement. Hopefully we see the action in due course.

Oct 21st 2012, 10:54 PM

Another ‘positive sounding statement? Whoopee.

Mute Senan
    Favourite Senan
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:08 PM

Good to see the government force a statement on this from Europe – well done

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:21 PM

Yes, good job lads, almost 5 years and you got a statement that they “might” give a sh1t.

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:06 PM

So where is the deal?

Oh wait we have to wait yet again for another round of talks, which will result in another round of talks and another round of talks and ……

Yea right,

If we have a debt deal give us a debt deal, We have a budget in 8 weeks time it would be nice for once to have a budget that isnt going to screw those who can least afford it yet again!

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland

Irish Times now picked up this story.

Its nothing more than Spin.

From the Times.
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny and the German Chancellor Angela Merkel reaffirmed tonight the commitment made on June 29th to task the Eurogroup “to examine situation of the Irish financial sector with a view to further improving the sustainability of the well performing adjustment programme.”

FFS, how long to they need to “Examine the situation”.

Spin, Spin, Spin to keep the Irish happy just at a time when we were actually starting to question this government.

No dates, No deadlines, Just Spin.

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:55 PM

your correct, it is a spin. The fact is the government has run out of ideas a long time ago and they are going to try and milk the taxpayer for what they have.

Oct 21st 2012, 11:00 PM

Real Ireland the time required to examine the situation is until all the bond holders are payed. So not this year and not next year as we will be paying 17 billion to bond holders next year. Not sure if we have more bondholders to pay off in 2014. But what ever once we have done that we will be cut loose.

Mute Jesus O'Shea
    Favourite Jesus O'Shea
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:16 PM

Arbeit macht frei.

In fairness to Kenny though, at least he puts huge effort in. Biffo would have gone on the beer for the weekend.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:22 PM

using a term like biffo makes you just as ignorant as Cowan to be honest.

Mute Jesus O'Shea
    Favourite Jesus O'Shea
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:26 PM

He earned it.

Mute David Curran
    Favourite David Curran
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:08 PM

more political hype believe it when it happens

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:36 PM

Isn’t it extraordinary that we have so many people whose only outlook on life and politics is so negative. Do most of you not realise that when the Taoiseach is in Brussels at Meetings as serious as this one that he need all the support he can get rather than the appalling criticisms that are actually undermining the Irish position.
    We are so ignorant as a people with the childlike belief that we can make public comment about the most powerful European policing by accusing her of being a Nazi and a Fuhrer and think it doesn’t matter or it won’t bet back to her. We then go on sites such as this and abuse the politicians who have to negotiate with these people with such a tainted and embarrassing background.
    Sometimes you get the resuLts you deserve!

Mute On the dole
    Favourite On the dole
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:44 PM

Put the cork back in the bottle Paddy !! Or Mick ……

Mute The Avarus Animus
    Favourite The Avarus Animus
    Oct 22nd 2012, 8:41 AM

Absolutely deluded Paddy, no wonder are country has been sold out to the highest bidders with spineless Vichyites like yourself who unquestionably follow our “great leaders” (debt collectors) and their German overlords.Your not even worth this comment.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:10 PM

I think this is just spin, I think that merkal is going to sell out on.ireland as she has her own interests to protect (german.elections,next year)

Mute da rant
    Favourite da rant
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:22 PM

We are a “special” case alright. To have paid all the unsecured bondholders, “special” isn’t the word!!! Lets see the deal that saves us first before we cannonise Enda!!!

Mute Bridget Hynes
    Favourite Bridget Hynes
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:17 PM

Just throwing us a few crumbs to keep us under the thumb and working for nothing… cheers Enda!

Mute Niall Hawthorne
    Favourite Niall Hawthorne
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:27 PM

To those saying that this comment is just “spin” – why the hell would Merkel bother her arse? She had no reason to release a joint statement, unless it was meant. Ireland is a very small piece of the Euro crisis. The statements on retrospective debt deals is actually aimed at the big guns like Italy and Spain, ironically for future reference. The deal needs to be done but credit so far where it’s due to Kenny for baffling feathers in Europe to get our (relatively speaking) small issue on the agenda.

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland

To keep the markets happy tommorow morning.

I have no doubt the plan is to get Ireland back to the bond markets and then dump us, tommorow our bonds would have jumped the wrong way if they thought we werent getting a deal.

No they can rest easy because its back to square one, a promise that sometime in the future they will discuss the special country Ireland. Nothing more.

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls

She did it, and there was absolutely nothing substantive in the statement, because Ireland has been no trouble to Europe/Germany. We borrowed the money from them to pay back their bondholders and we will then be paying them back for decades, they will proffit greatly from our meek obedience, all they have to do is give us the odd gold star, not like the Greeks.
    Now if things were to change and our politicians were to be seen to be what they are, useless, and Ireland suddenly began to cause trouble, protests, strikes and mobs on the street maybe a new election, maybe the next lot would actually be a bit more militant. No, no, Germany couldn’t have that, they’ll protect their interests, their money, even if that means Angela Merkel appears to say something nice to Ireland, she may even throw us a few crumbs next to keep us content. Who knows?

Mute Diarmuid Donoghue
    Favourite Diarmuid Donoghue
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:51 PM

real Ireland: nail on the head

Mute THE GRINDER
    Favourite THE GRINDER
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:26 PM

She is afraid we will carry out the threat, no more Kerrygold Unless.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:33 PM

They cannot afford for Ireland or in particular the Irish to start questioning any of this. We have to be be seen as pliable , compliant, well behaved and doing as we are told ….€64,000,000,000 Jesus we are pure idiots for not putting a stop to this nightmare !

Mute Finbarr O'Riordan
    Favourite Finbarr O'Riordan
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:12 PM

less talk more deal

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:07 PM

GROW A PAIR ENDA INSTEAD OF GROVELLING LIKE THE WIMP YOU ARE TAKE THE ECB TO THE EUROPEAN COURT,,WHAT THEY DID TO US WAS AND IS ILLEGAL,,AT LEAST THREATEN THEM WITH THE COURTS YOU SPINELESS IDIOT

Mute Darren Martin
    Favourite Darren Martin
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:18 PM

I’m sittin’ right here. No need to get all shouty!!! *pish*

Mute Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:00 PM

Legal action should be taken and can be dropped if deal is secured on bank debt.. ECB acted illegally (apparently).

That is how you get leverage.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:24 PM

As informative as this article is, I can’t get past the ?64.1billion.
    Makes me sick.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:09 PM

Hopeful more than positive….it’s very hard to believe a word that comes out of either of them. I get the impression tht Merkel is saying ths just to shut Kenny up and to stop him frim ringing her….I’d be sceptical although would hope to be proved wrong.

Mute Pat Keating
    Favourite Pat Keating
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:39 PM

I wouldn’t care what the reason is. If it was because of the 6-1 soccer result, it wouldn’t matter. If it was to shut Enda up, fair play to him. It’s another step in the right direction.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:20 PM

If this turns out to be a deal on the debt that is not ours, fantastic, until then these are just more words being used to kick that much battered can!

Mute Kevin Fitzsimons
    Favourite Kevin Fitzsimons
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:35 PM

Special case more like basket case !!

Mute Horse-World
    Favourite Horse-World
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:00 PM

Took the words out of my mouth ‘

Mute Lisa Lawless
    Favourite Lisa Lawless
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:26 PM

Me too

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:27 PM

Special needs…

Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland

Has there been a soft landing? Have we just turned another corner? Not one red cent? Frankfurt’s way or Labour’s way? Wear the green Jersey? Jobs Boost? 3.2% growth this year? Bank Deal? or is just more bags of smoke? One thing’s for sure CPA is go. Death to the taxpayers!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:26 PM

Talk is cheap, lets see action and no more broken promises from FG/Labour!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:29 PM

Stephen
    You are correct , talk is cheap. This is nothing more than spin. Kenny saw the reactions of people on friday evening and on saturday and he got worried the cash cow aka Irish tax payers were going to waken up to the fact that we are being robbed . He got afraid and rang his boss to get help…

Mute Mike McCarthy
    Favourite Mike McCarthy
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:15 PM

Enda is Special ok,real Special.

Mute Robin Wilson
    Favourite Robin Wilson
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:20 PM

One of Merkel’s advisers obviously saw that her weekend speech- in which she outlined her clear intention- had caused some political difficulty for her most obedient little poodle among the PIIGS leaders. To fob him off without committing anything whatsoever, the advisor scripted this meaningless hot air – interchangeable with statements to Greece, Spain etc, so now Enda looks slightly less of a spineless failure than everybody knows he is. It’s all blah blah until we LEAVE THE EURO.

Mute David Barrett
    Favourite David Barrett

Leave the Euro? You think its bad now, it will be 10 times as bad if we leave the Euro!!

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Favourite Nikolas Koehler
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:46 PM

@ David, sadly, you’re absolutely right. This would be possibly the very worst moment to leave the Euro, saddled with debt that would still be in Euro, and with very little worth on which to base a new currency on. It “might” have worked as an alternative to accepting a bail-out, but the country needs to recover a sizeable amount before considering this.

Mute Robin Wilson
    Favourite Robin Wilson
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:54 PM

The country with the most to lose from a break-up of the Euro is Germany. Factor that into our negotiation stance. We would be leaving all this unplayable debt behind if we did leave, but it is more likely the debt would be written off before we got to that point. Unfortunately.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:50 PM

Ireland would grind to an economic halt if we left the Euro.

People may think that Goverments can print unlimited amounts of money but the reality is they can’t. A new Irish pound would devalue hugely against every major currency thus increasing our debt level because our existing debt would be in Euro and other foreign currencies. Our import costs would rise accordingly, interest rates would go up significantly triggering massive mortgage defaults and our banks would have no access to the liquidity that the ECB is currently giving them so they’d probably collapse. In effect we’d be exactly where we were in 2008 and the four years of hardship that we’ve already suffered would have counted for absolutely nothing.

The rest of Europe including Germany would suffer if Ireland defaulted and left the Euro but our economy is a fraction of the entire EU economy so the effects would be fair worse here than anywhere else.

Mute Robin Wilson
    Favourite Robin Wilson
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:02 AM

Jim the point is that getting away from the Euro means getting away from the ECB. We have a valid point that the money we borrowed was forced on us and done to prop up foreign bondholders- ie it is “odious debt” and we can quite rightly repudiate it, and I would suggest to anyone to read up on how Ecuador did this successfully. A devaluation is exactly what we need, and as yet untapped oil could be leveraged against oil imports, the main problem with devaluation. It may involve finding new international partners, but any right-thinking person can see that the ECB, Germany, France et al aren’t partners at all, they are owners with nothing but contempt for us. It’s time we started seeing ourselves as participants in this mess whose actions can affect the overall dynamic, rather than frightened little children observing from the sidelines. And as for Germany, the biggest fear they have is their current customers devaluing their currency against them..who would they sell to? It would terrify them and they would have far more to lose than we would.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 22nd 2012, 2:39 AM

@robin , you seem to completely ignore the mess our domestic finances are In which is the main reason we are in a bailout program , current levels of running this country cost about 20bn more per year than we generate in tax , that’s 100bn in 5 years , where can we access that level of capital if OT Europe , are you forgetting the reason we are in a program us because we can’t borrow on the markets , all the anti euro grandstanding sounds great and populous but you have not given a single credible workable alternative.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 22nd 2012, 7:38 AM

Dave, there is no “credible” solution that maintains the wealth in the country, including the current path.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 22nd 2012, 10:19 AM

Well trying to separate the debt , get a write down , readjust the current spending and get a bit real with running costs is route that if implemented might, FFS we still pay John Delaney 360000 to run football , mariane Finnucane 500000 euro to do weekend radio show and on and on it goes …….

Mute Malcolm Spencer
    Favourite Malcolm Spencer
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:47 PM

If you all can comment so well on this site why don’t you get out there and do something about what is happening to this country . If we allow our supposed leaders to continue to do as the EU and the bankers want we will have to eventually default on our debt. There is no way as a nation we can ever pay these debts we are accruing and we are only getting in deeper. We need to look to our nearest neighbours Iceland for the solution as to what I and others suggested doing three years ago and we could be well on our way to getting out of the austerity the E U and others want us to give in to. We are only selling on this debt to our children and our children’s children.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:59 PM

The reality is that every Government sells debt on the their children and their children’s children. Debt is constantly rolled over and reissued. That’s how global markets work. In ireland’s case the problem is that the bank guarantee loaded too much debt too quickly.

We’re never going to get all of that debt taken away. Any deal will only remove some of this debt but the reality is that if some of it can be removed instantly and the rest can be put on the long finger, inflation will reduce the amount of debt in real terms. Also over a longer period if the economy grows the ratio of debt to the value of the economy shrinks as well.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:05 AM

One other point. Iceland didn’t have a huge gap in the fiscal spending when their banks collapsed. Therefore they didn’t need to plug a hole in their finances in 2007/8. We not only had to pump money into the banks, we also had a yawning fiscal gap because Government spending was being pumped up on the back of unsustainable tax revenues.

However because the Icelandic currency collapsed they now have a debt to GDP ratio higher than Ireland and a budget deficit every bit as big as ours. That should be a lesson for all those people who tell us we should leave the Euro because that’s what would happen to a new Irish pound.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 22nd 2012, 7:28 AM

Do you have some links about Iceland’s fiscal spending at the time Jim?
    I’ve never heard that before, the only reasoning I’ve ever heard is because of our membership in the Euro.

Mute Damien Mc Elroy
    Favourite Damien Mc Elroy
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:23 PM

Since when did herr mearkel become the leader of Europe come back Churchill we need you

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

When she started dishing out the cash.

Mute mike
    Favourite mike
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:29 PM

If he pulls this off we might let Mayo win the all Ireland next year.

Mute Jesus O'Shea
    Favourite Jesus O'Shea
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:29 PM

Ah leave it out – ah here leave it out.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:10 PM

jazus i may stand corrected but the words unique and special are vague. after 3 days he has at least got a statement out of her

Mute StemC
    Favourite StemC

Delay delay delay and all the while we are still forking out for bond payments. Christ almighty they must think we’re stupid. Greece needs 13.5 billion euro In further cuts next month so that will top the agenda until the new year and we will be put to the back of queue all the while paying off more bonds

Mute McNamees On TheGreen
    Favourite McNamees On TheGreen
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:38 PM

Has Enda found the G spot ?

Mute Tús Nua
    Favourite Tús Nua
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:22 PM

Hope thats “G” for German…..lol

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:35 PM

Greece gets a 100 billion write-off of its debt, and Ireland gets a vague statement declaring that we are a special case. Meaningless platitudes. Kenny gets a humiliating pat on the head from Sarcozy, and today on page four of the Sindo, we have Noonon getting a pat on the head from the Eurogroup president Jean Claude Juncker. This is beyond humiliation.It is absurd, grotesque and utterly shamefullof our so called leaders.

Mute THE GRINDER
    Favourite THE GRINDER
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:26 AM

It’s just insulting to those adults who get patted on the head like school children but its devastating for us who put our faith in them to deliver us from this nightmare and now find that our future was placed in the hands of people who pretend to be tough when seeking office but turn out to be something entirely different. A confidence trick. Performed by Con Men.

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:16 PM

Anyone notice its only Journal.ie covering this story.

Nothing from RTE, Not even from the website of the Taioseach.

Where did Journal.ie pick this story up from?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:18 PM

Don’t hate us just because we break news quicker!

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:43 PM

I didnt give you the thumbs down!

Well done Journal.ie, First in ireland with this news!

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:16 PM

I really wonder what has been promised in return.

Mute Darren Martin
    Favourite Darren Martin
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:23 PM

I think 6 counties is the usual isn’t it?!

I’m only joking before the loopers arrive….

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:46 AM

A reach-around, perhaps

Mute Real Ireland
    Favourite Real Ireland
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:12 PM

One good thing may come from this.

Enda clearly has been feeling the pressure all weekend, Obviously he has had to get off his lazy arse and contact Merkel and somehow manage to get her to make a statement about us being special.

Hopefully Enda may now realise that when backed into a corner the Germans also cave in and if he pushed harder for a deal we may just get one.

Time to fight Mr Kenny and force something from them. No more Mr Nice guy, the milky bar kid is in town.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Oct 22nd 2012, 7:34 AM

I don’t think he sees it as them being backed into a corner, he sees it as him being backed into a corner.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:53 PM

Embarrassing.

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow

It really looks like enda in the photo is thinking ‘oh shit, we really are f#%ked’

Mute Glayce Karoline
    Favourite Glayce Karoline
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:47 PM

Puppet

Mute Sean O Reily
    Favourite Sean O Reily

NOT

Mute Tommy Hornblower
    Favourite Tommy Hornblower

How bout the begrudgers like urself Shane get up off ye’r arses, run for election and do a better job…. Put up or shut up! It’s easy to criticise and if u have a better plan, genuinely I wud like to here it.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:37 PM

A tea bag has more backbone than quisling kenny.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:46 PM

Tommy might be too late by the time an election is called.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:59 PM

I think Merkel might be worried that Enda could be in trouble in the not so distant future about his fat income and pension. Time will tell.

Mute Sean O Reily
    Favourite Sean O Reily

We so lucky to have Mr Kenny in charge.

Mute Padraig Culbert
    Favourite Padraig Culbert
    Oct 21st 2012, 8:56 PM

The key issue in terms of timing is the upcoming Budget. If our fiscal situation improves after that it might be too late for the likes of some elderly people who will be denied home help etc etc.

Mute Darren Martin
    Favourite Darren Martin

“Go Enda… It’s your birthday…”

*doin’ the Dad dance*

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:14 PM

Will resist the urge to be sceptical & cynical (for now!).
    This statement makes no concrete commitment & sounds an awful lot like the typical FG spin HOWEVER I’d rather support it for now.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:43 PM

Spin? The only spinning here is from the usual anti-Government sources that pervade Journal.

Yesterday they were almost gleeful in the fact that apparantly a deal wouldn’t be done for Ireland’s banking debt because it allowed them to moan at the Government. Today of course when it looks like something will be done they’re straight out with their “this means nothing” comments. Yesterday they were all about Enda “growing a pair” and “standing up for Ireland” and “talking to Angela Merkel”. Today when he does that exact thing they’re still not happy.

To be honest its fairly clear that some posters here actually don’t want a deal because it doesn’t suit their narrow political agenda. They’d probably be far happier if no deal was done and no doubt when a deal is done they still won’t be happy.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:53 PM

Those people are actually complaining that this statement sounds very much like what we have head before and are yet to see any benefit from. There is nothing concrete in the statement, just a “we’ll bear it in mind, we’ll see”. We are sick of weaselling, we want something definite. That’s all. If you have a problem with that I would question why.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:53 PM

*heard before

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:09 AM

Yes it does sound familiar because its a reiteration of the statement that came out at the previous meeting which acknowledged that some form of deal had to be done to break the link between sovereign and banking debt.

That deal is being negotiated and every single statement that has come out since is basically different government playing to their local markets. So the Germans and the Finns want to be seen to be playing tough. The Irish want to emphasise that a deal is being done and the reality is that the negotiations happen behind closed doors. The problem here is that every negative statement by the Germans and the Finns is being held up as reality and every Irish statement is being denigrated as spin. The truth actually lies somewhere in between.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:12 AM

So you are in know now,explain how you know a deal will be done.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:20 AM

I’m not in the know but the reality is that a deal will be done in some format that allows every side to claim something. Ireland needs to get back into the financial markets next year or else they will have to get another bailout. Nobody in the EU wants Ireland to have to get another bailout so it will be in everybody’s interest to do a deal that is satisfactory enough for the markets to believe that Ireland can go its own way from 2013 onwards. If that means some form of debt reduction so that Ireland’s debt to GDP ratio can be sustainable then that’s what they’ll do.

Mute Martin Morrissey
    Favourite Martin Morrissey
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:09 PM

its all a load shit kenny and co said before been elected that not 1 cent would they get and guess what they haven,t just billions out of us all of them are looking after themselves and couldn,t give a shit about anyone else

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:12 AM

You’re wrong. FG said that no MORE money would be put into the banks beyond what had already been agreed. The existing payments would be honoured but that was it. And while you probably won’t believe it, that is exactly what has happened.

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:16 AM

Good man Enda, Keep letting them shit on your head and saying thanks for the hat. That’ll get us places. Cap doffing eejit

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:16 PM

These spin speeches are worse than the repeated Jobs action plans we keep getting every month

Mute Andrew Dunne
    Favourite Andrew Dunne
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:39 PM

Got to play hardball with theses Eurocrats Kenny

Mute Stephen curran
    Favourite Stephen curran
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:46 PM

Until we actually see a renegotiated deal on our debt this is mere empty rhetoric from Merkel. This statement should not be lauded as a win for Kenny, as it will no doubt be spun by the government.

Mute John Farrelly
    Favourite John Farrelly

German verb einstellen had dual meaning that is “to adjust” or to “abandon”. Let’s hope she means the first, either way at least fianna fail are gone!!

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Oct 21st 2012, 9:39 PM

Yeah, now if we could only get rid of their policies.

Mute Ronan Cahill
    Favourite Ronan Cahill
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:32 PM

Here here! United we stand. Divided we fall. Wize words and the founding cornerstone of the Eu. The sovereign must be split from the financial, the alternative is to fully create a financial system that is 100% public owned and minus any liabilities from the private era. Communism although a favourable ideal in many respects may fail again. Ireland Is getting out of the mess Europe is now finding itself in and not even Germany will be immune. Soon the Irish people will be asked to help Europe in the same way as we were asked to help Africa.

Mute Noel Fitzgerald
    Favourite Noel Fitzgerald
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:33 AM

How do you know a politician is lying? Their lips are moving!

Mute On the dole
    Favourite On the dole
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:46 AM

Simple answer is, Get a journalist any journalist will do , and ask the German finance minister this, Is Ireland getting a retrospective deal on its banking debt Yes or No …..

Mute Jesus O'Shea
    Favourite Jesus O'Shea
    Oct 22nd 2012, 12:53 AM

Great idea. Should the journalist speak German or English ?

Mute On the dole
    Favourite On the dole
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:00 AM

Irish maybe !!

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Favourite Thomas Daniel Foy
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:04 AM

I’ve got a solution. Sue the Germans for bombing the North Strand in WW2. With retrospective interest added on the settlement should clear our debt ;) hehe

Mute Ant O'Fearghail
    Favourite Ant O'Fearghail
    Oct 21st 2012, 10:23 PM

“Special” is the German word for “basket.”

Mute Julia Crimmins
    Favourite Julia Crimmins
    Oct 21st 2012, 11:00 PM

I wouldn’t be surprised if we didn’t see any straight talking until after the german election next autumn, an meybe not even then

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Oct 22nd 2012, 3:24 AM

I am suck of Politicians speaking from their very well written scripts and speeches,written for them by their over paid advisors They speak the speech and not with intelligence

Mute dingle berry
    Favourite dingle berry
    Oct 22nd 2012, 1:03 AM

Youi may laugh and scoff, but the realy sad thing about this is that this is the best he could do: yet another vague promise…

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Oct 28th 2012, 3:30 AM

after November on the Childrens Referendum” Eu will Want A Bailout For Germany And France” the bailout is Sooner than ye all think”The Month Before December” but They need the Article of Justice Reform in the Childrens Referendum to Make The Complete bailout Legal as we will open the can of Worms to Fundermental Human Rights Exposure”

Mute Creatively Maladjusted
    Favourite Creatively Maladjusted
    Oct 22nd 2012, 10:58 AM

I can’t help wonder if people would think the statement is positive if the media wasn’t presenting it as such.

So they have a “view to further improving the sustainability of the well performing adjustment programme” and think that “Ireland is a special case”
    What bailout country isn’t a special case and who’d want to dis-improve the situation?

Seems pretty meaningless to me.