You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

George W Bush has turned his hand to painting. Here's his portrait of Putin

Should he give up the day job?

george-bush-vladimir-putin-3 Business Insider Business Insider

THE FORMER US president has some time on his hands these days and has decided to dapple in a bit of painting.

However, he is not just doing landscapes, no, he has decided to paint some of the people he met while on the job, like Berlusconi, Blair and Putin.

The 67-year-old is taking his work very seriously and unveiled an exhibition of his work on Friday at his presidential library in Dallas.

The exhibition is entitled: “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy.”

What do you think, should he give up the day job just yet? Take a look at some of his other works of art:

rtr3jyte Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jyur Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jz3h Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jz8b Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jzc6 Tony Blair painting. Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jzcg Saudi Arabia's King Abdullah. Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jzd3 Businessinsider Businessinsider

rtr3jzfd Another wall displays four different world leaders, including (clockwise from top-left) Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, former French President (2007-2012) Nicolas Sarkozy and former South Korean President (2008-2013) Lee Myung-bak. Businessinsider Businessinsider

Read: Laura Bush: George once drove into a wall after I told him his speech was no good>

Read:  “I was famous and I was powerful” – George Bush wants to step out of the limelight>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 79 comments
79 Comments
    Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:25 PM

Where’s the one of Cowen sittin on the jacks clutching the bog-roll..?

Mute Seamus Dooley
    Favourite Seamus Dooley
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:42 PM

That’s nothing….. U shud see Berties portfolio of potato prints

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:01 PM

People are gonna give him shit for his paintings because it’s George W.

Personally, I quite like them.

Apr 7th 2014, 9:10 PM

Agreed, i think they’re very good.

Mute shay lynch
    Favourite shay lynch
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:15 PM

I think he has medium talent as a painter.

Apr 7th 2014, 9:29 PM

In fairness he’s doing it as a hobby, clearly a bit of talent there. Credit where it’s due, even for a war monger.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:50 PM

Well done George. Saw this last night. Interesting paintings of dogs and self portraits in the shower and in the bath, I shi t you not.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:51 PM

Amazing what painting by numbers can achieve… even with the simplest of minds!

Mute Davin Lynch
    Favourite Davin Lynch
    Apr 7th 2014, 11:37 PM

I miss him,hilarious stuff usually. And his painting aren’t that bad.

Mute Gizmo mac
    Favourite Gizmo mac
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:33 PM

Amazing what ya can do with a set of crayons!!

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:00 PM

‘Fool me once………shame on, shame on………… you……..………..ye fool me yeh can’t get fooled again’

Apr 7th 2014, 9:08 PM

You could be arrestified for a comment like that.

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:13 PM

You’re right too many OB/ GYN’s out there….

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:01 PM

I know that human beings and fish can coexist peacefully..

Apr 7th 2014, 10:15 PM

I don’t blame the Iraqis for being angry about being occupied, I wouldn’t be happy if I was occupied.

Mute Conor O'Callaghan
    Favourite Conor O'Callaghan
    Apr 7th 2014, 11:17 PM

“The French don’t have a word for ‘entrepreneur’”

Mute Mícheál O Muineacháin
    Favourite Mícheál O Muineacháin
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:35 PM

The one of Enda must be on loan to the Tate…

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:18 PM

I notice he didn’t show the painting of himself and Osama,with the twin towers in the background.

Mute Jason Downes
    Favourite Jason Downes
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:36 PM

Well well…not too shabby. If he’d spent more time painting instead if war mongering he could actually have been really good

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:22 PM

He probably calls them water boards

Apr 7th 2014, 9:24 PM

You want to be arrestified aswell?

Mute Nicole McCormack
    Favourite Nicole McCormack
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:59 PM

The mans a complete moron. He should be painting in a prison cell for all the killing of innocent civilians he is responsible for. He is most vile man. A puppet if the US military and religious right. Brainless

Mute Thrillhouse
    Favourite Thrillhouse
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:05 PM

From The Guardian US edition review of his exhibition “One imagines that the excitement over Bush’s paintings forms part of a desperate national hunger for expiation from the unforgivable crime of his presidency, as if translating Bush into a sweet retiree at his easel will erase the illegal war, the obscene economic policy, the environmental spoliation, the executive power grab, the drowning of New Orleans.”

Mute Nicole McCormack
    Favourite Nicole McCormack
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:12 PM

Spot on there

Apr 7th 2014, 8:45 PM

Leo Varadkar is pretty good with Glitter and finger painting I hear

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:50 PM

He certainly has some talent. Let those who knock him post some of their paintings.

Apr 7th 2014, 9:22 PM

Well said.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:56 PM

In all fairness, he is a talented artist. I’m also going to say something controversial. If Ireland had someone like him in power, we wouldn’t see half the lowlifes walking our streets and causing all sorts of trouble. They would fear the death penalty or life imprisonment. Life sentences in Ireland are usually 10 years. Most Judges let criminals off with a suspended sentence

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:16 PM

Last time I checked, the US has a far worse crime problem than Ireland.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:34 PM

Incidentally, the state that experiences the most violent crime according to the FBI, Tennessee, has a death penalty.

In fact, 7 of the top 10 most violent states (Tennessee, Nevada, South Carolina, Delaware, Louisiana, Florida, and Oklahoma) all enforce a death penalty. 2 of the top 10 states (New Mexico and Maryland) only abolished capital punishment in the last two years. Alaska is the only exception.

If the death penalty is supposed to act as a deterrent, it’s doing a p1ss poor job.

Mute Thrillhouse
    Favourite Thrillhouse
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:38 PM

Have you even been to the US? Have you seen Detroit? New Orleans? Any of the south / central states outside of the big cities? The level of poverty in the states is shocking and the crime rate is too and a lot of it can be traced back to disastrous domestic policy decisions from republican governments in the 80′s and 90′s and again with Bush. I agree with you that our sentencing is a joke, but be careful what you wish for. It’s a nice place to visit, wouldn’t want to live there. Certainly wouldn’t want to be poor there.

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:40 PM

Where’s Bertie in the yellow suit?

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:00 PM

Adolph Hitler, John Wayne Gacy and Charles Manson also had a passion for art.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:04 PM

I was wondering when someone was going to make that connection.. This being the journal and all.. Thanks for not disappointing!

Mute Tiara Rad
    Favourite Tiara Rad
    Apr 8th 2014, 4:38 AM

Ahhhh frank….class!!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:35 PM

Senior Infants style

Putin looks like the Lone Ranger after a hard days ride with his mask off

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:54 PM

Former U.S. President George W. Bush has said a portrait he painted of Russian leader Vladimir Putin was inspired by Putin’s reaction to Bush’s dog Barney.

Bush, who has taken up painting since leaving the White House, told NBC’s Today show Friday that when Putin saw the American president’s Scottish terrier — “our dear dog Barney, who had a special place in my heart — he “dissed” him, adding “You call it a dog?’”

A year later, “I go to visit Vladimir at his dacha outside of Moscow and he says, ‘Would you like to meet my dog?’” Bush said. “Out bounds this huge hound, obviously much bigger than a Scottish terrier, and Putin looks at me and says, ‘Bigger, stronger and faster than Barney.’”

“I took it in. I didn’t react. I just said, ‘Wow. Anybody who thinks ‘my dog is bigger than your dog’ is an interesting character.’ And that painting kind of reflects that,” Bush said.

Apr 7th 2014, 10:09 PM

That’s gas.

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:10 PM

Says so very much and yet so very little . Good knowledge.

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:36 PM

Does he have a “day job” these days?. At least colouring in with crayons and markers will help pass the time.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:40 PM

That and hawking his efforts around to different car boot sales

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:59 PM

Apart from the fact that the portrait bears no resemblance to the alleged subject, the very mention of GWB offends me. May he never know rest for the evil he has done.

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:50 PM

We also now know what he was doing while Cheney ran the country

Mute Thrillhouse
    Favourite Thrillhouse
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:02 PM

I want to see George Bush draw the face of every dead Iraqi civilian from his oil-grab war.

Mute Rupert Ruccus
    Favourite Rupert Ruccus
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:38 PM

‘Gonna smoke ‘em outta them caves ‘

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:57 PM

Who was it that said he kept a picture of his mother in law over the fire place to keep the kids away from the fire

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:11 PM

Les dawson

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:26 PM

This man has been painting for long enough now………

……..White washing all his atrocities that is …..

What an EVIL man and instrument of the Devil ….9/11 and Iraq least we forget.

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:48 PM

I think it compares very favourably to some contemporary portrait artists.

The great Hockney’s portraits exhibition circa 10 years ago was an embarrassing mess.

Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:16 PM

I’d love to see a portrait of Bush, done by Putin.

Far funnier I’d say ;)

Mute Deborah O'Keeffe
    Favourite Deborah O'Keeffe
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:53 PM

I am an artist and if I painted like that I would be laughed at! Someone has to tell him that he should keep doing it as a hobby. It takes years if training and practice and he needs to keep practicing!

Mute Celticspirit321
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:01 PM

Deborah, if you were a true Artist, you would criticise someone’s work like this.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:04 PM

*wouldn’t

Mute James St John Smith
    Favourite James St John Smith
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:47 PM

A piss artist

Mute Peter Gaffey
    Favourite Peter Gaffey
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:55 PM

What I live about the portrait of Putin is that george has rally managed to capture the empathy and compassion in Vlads eyes. . Art is a beautiful thing

Mute Hazel Loftus
    Favourite Hazel Loftus
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:00 PM

Wow what crap!

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Apr 7th 2014, 11:57 PM

he should be locked up for the war crimes he commited and enabled!!

Mute Vincent Van Gogh
    Favourite Vincent Van Gogh
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:54 PM

I could do better.

Apr 7th 2014, 11:40 PM

Yeah but why did you go and chop your knob off?

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:59 PM

A talented painter, is old George W!

We’ve clearly misunderestimated the man from Texas!

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:42 PM

Forgot the little moustache just under the nose!

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:09 PM

His Putin actually looks like the head sculpture from Art Attack

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:41 PM

Actually looks like the writer Robert Harris – scarily like him. Wrote Fatherland & Archangel books that are probably putinesque wet dreams.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Apr 8th 2014, 12:13 AM

A war criminal with the death of a least one million civilians on his bloodstained hands

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Apr 7th 2014, 8:49 PM

The one of Faisal is particularly good

Mute Gearoid Griffin
    Favourite Gearoid Griffin
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:18 PM

I’m overcome with Shock and Awe

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:42 PM

Guided by the hand of God…His painting is more adept than his politics- but only just. Looking at them I’d say he could easily lead a new genre of painting ( dubbed ) “depresstionism”.

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Apr 7th 2014, 9:59 PM

Watch out Banksy!

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Apr 7th 2014, 10:12 PM

Very good paintings. Shame he didn’t develop this talent at a younger age.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Apr 8th 2014, 2:07 AM

Those portraits are so poor, they look like they were painted by George Wa nker Bush!

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Apr 7th 2014, 11:35 PM

I’m sure that’s Terry Wogan in the last group of paintings. Canadian flag beside him for some reason.

Mute johnhindepost
    Favourite johnhindepost
    Apr 8th 2014, 1:11 AM

Just out from Wackyleaks…………. George dubya was restoration man on Ecce Homo.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ecce_Homo_(El%C3%ADas_Garc%C3%ADa_Mart%C3%ADnez).jpg

Mute Sean P
    Favourite Sean P
    Apr 8th 2014, 8:01 AM

Hmmm. Look like painting-by-numbers ones to me …

Mute Lech Halabis
    Favourite Lech Halabis
    Apr 8th 2014, 5:54 AM

Funny what he said to his art tutor:
    “There’s a Rembrandt trapped in this body. Your job is to find it.”
    http://nypost.com/2013/11/20/george-w-bush-shows-off-paintings-gets-laughs-on-tonight-show/

Mute Samuel Stone
    Favourite Samuel Stone
    Apr 8th 2014, 12:16 PM

​Clinton also has a flair for painting world leaders — their wives, anyway. Lol…. http://dandygoat.com/bill-clinton-unveils-beautiful-wives-portraits

Mute Myles Fleming
    Favourite Myles Fleming
    Apr 8th 2014, 10:02 AM

If our fearless Enda was given the air time G.B. got G.B’s statements would pale in comparison. He was asked not to speak at party meetings to drum up F.G. support.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Oct 18th 2014, 7:44 AM

They’re not too bad

Mute James Sullivan
    Favourite James Sullivan
    Apr 8th 2014, 2:11 AM

Pains me to say it but the portraits are good in terms of looking like the person, suppose he has to be some way decent at something even if it is drawing/painting like an eight year old child

Mute Tiara Rad
    Favourite Tiara Rad
    Apr 8th 2014, 5:28 AM

There’s one of his dad but non of the current president…? I’m assuming here