You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland

Consumers turning to discount shops and own brands for groceries

Latest Kantar figures show strong growth for Tesco in last quarter, while Aldi and Lidl are increasing their market share.

NEW FIGURES on Ireland’s grocery market show that stores’ own brands and discount retailers are capturing a bigger share of the market.

Figures released by Kantar Worldpanel in Ireland for the quarter ending on 5 August show that overall the Irish grocery market has fallen by 0.9 per cent since the same period of last year.

Tesco and Dunnes have held on to their top one and two positions, with 28.8 per cent (up 0.4 per cent) and 21.6 per cent (up 3 per cent) market share respectively.

Meanwhile, discount retailers Aldi and Lidl now account for 12.4 per cent of the total market. Aldi’s share increased by more than a quarter to 5.7 per cent for this period of 2012, while Lidl grew by 2.2 per cent to 6.7 per cent.

Superquinn’s share dropped from 6 per cent to 5.5 per cent over the year, and Supervalu’s share grew slightly to 19.6 per cent.

Kantar Worldpanel commercial director David Berry said that Tesco’s strong performance over the year was “fuelled in part by a rise in a ‘little and often’ approach to shopping which is driving customers through the doors more regularly”.

“The economic imperative to reduce waste has led to an extra 3.9 million shopping trips over the latest quarter when compared to last year,” he added, “although the challenge for the market is that each trip has reduced in value by over €1.”

Kantar’s figures are based on the grocery purchasing habits of 3,000 households around the country.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:34 AM

One of the greatest opportunistic strokes of the last decade by Alan Kelly. Hopping on the McCabe bandwagon in the final weeks when it looked cut and dried, 2 years after Clare Daly & others raised the issue, when he himself was in government and did nothing. A slew of photo opportunities and TV appearances followed for the Knight in Shining Armour, the biggest ego in Irish politics.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Justin Barrett: at least he challenges politicians and has fought a lot of battles on this. I admire him

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:48 AM

@Chris Finn: Is that you Alan?

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Chris Finn: The only one who admires Alan Kelly is Alan Kelly. Hi Alan?

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:37 PM

@Chris Finn: seek help

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:02 PM

@Chris Finn: “power is a drug” Kelly? Narcissistic megalomaniac

Mute Let free speech live
    Favourite Let free speech live
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:28 PM

@Chris Finn: If you admire him I’d say you need to go somewhere and have a good chat with yourself.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:32 PM

@Misanthrope: it is incredulous that somebody that loves himself so much and everything is all about him that people wasted their vote on him thinking that he would represent them instead of just himself. Fools.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Dec 14th 2017, 5:19 PM

@Chris Finn: he had no problem imposing an unjust property tax on us she minister!

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Dec 14th 2017, 5:19 PM

@Liam O Connor: when he was minister!

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Dec 14th 2017, 5:20 PM

@David Dickson:
    You are a good judge DD. Spot on.
    I know the man.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:58 AM

@Chris Finn: we have a groupie on our hands lol

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:35 AM

This guy just loves publicity!

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:40 AM

@iohanx: would you prefer this guy wasn’t challenging politicians and keeping them honest

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:51 AM

@Chris Finn: I’d prefer a different guy.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:36 PM

@Arnold Alley: I know, I still have three shirts and a blouse to do.

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    Dec 14th 2017, 2:18 PM

@Chris Finn: Wow, honesty and Alan Kelly in the same sentence. That’s a first.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:35 AM

Imagine the boredom of the poor fecker that has to endure Alan Kelly’s conversations.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:52 AM

The labour party dont like being insignificant in politics . they’re jumping on any bandwagon for publicity.how can journalists get it so wrong,he did nothing for whistleblowers when in government, the labour party backed the commissioner 100% so they could remain in power.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:02 PM

This guy will stop at nothing to keep his name in the spotlight. The only thing this man should be remembered for is the absolute shambles that was Irish Water and water charges.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Tommy Roche: he doesn’t bother even pretending he gives a sh¡+€ about homeless or poverty because there’s no decent photo opportunities or media spotlight in it but conspiracy &phone tapping is sure to get him on the front pages.. he’s a cu..

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Tommy Roche: remember he said it would be his “legacy”? Well that is it, that is all I canremember him doing, how did that go for him?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 14th 2017, 5:58 PM

Funny how he’s criticising the legislation. Who makes our laws? Did he spend his entire time as a Minister on the phone doing deals?

Mute Laurinda Barber
    Favourite Laurinda Barber
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:33 PM

@Tommy Roche: Very true. And more besides. what is he so afraid of and who is giving him information?

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ

Arrogant bàstard. I’d love to see voted out.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:28 AM

O God, this buffoon will doing anything to raise his profile.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:38 AM

@Joseph Dempsey: eh he exposes politicians and keeps them honest. You have just won dumbest comment of the year

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Chris Finn: I’m with Joseph on this one

Mute john-Doe
    Favourite john-Doe
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Chris Finn: Agree. I was never a fan of his but he is doing good work on the PAC committee.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Chris Finn: would this be the other politicians who have been raising the very issues this clown to take notice of only recently, I recall he also had plenty of opportunities to raise issues when he was in government, a little late in the day for crocodile tears I’m afraid. Kelly is an opportunist , nothing more, nothing less apart from also being an irrational loud mouth

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Dec 14th 2017, 3:24 PM

@Chris Finn: you have to see that he is a bandwagon jumper

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic

Does it not cross his mind that if the gardai have tapped his phone it indicates that they think he’s involved in criminal activity, and that this would reflect poorly upon him?

Mute Kitta Please
    Favourite Kitta Please
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:20 PM

@Lurfic: Ridiculous comment. Obviously he has good reasons to believe that he is being monitored for political reasons. He clearly said that this is something to be aware of from people who advise him on the matters.

Mute Laurinda Barber
    Favourite Laurinda Barber
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Lurfic: so true

Mute Geffrey Kane
    Favourite Geffrey Kane
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:00 PM

I find Kelly to be insufferably obnoxious. However, I get the impression he has a sniff of something here. His public perception is almost as important to him as his self perception. As one poster above said, he jumped on the McCabe bandwagon in the last two weeks of the shitshow that ended Fitzgerald as minister, once all the long hard work had been done. I get the same feeling here. Seems like he’s jumping out in front of something so he can be first to say he brought it up.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:14 PM

Who in their right mind would want to know what Labour are doing .

Mute Gggordon
    Favourite Gggordon
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:53 AM

I have no time for his politics .. however Kelly’s work on the PAC has been great … his questioning was critical in the exposure of the dept of justice and Garda collusion to smear McCabe … he has been very bullish in not taking vague answers from the HSE in relation to the whistleblower and grace case.

But unfortunately due to his Irish water calamities he will not get the credit he deserves on these matters

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:45 PM

@Gggordon: I agree with this. I think he’s been excellent in opposition. I’d never want him anywhere near government again though.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:42 PM

@Conor: You sum up Kelly and liebour perfectly Conor, great in opposition, liars and turncoats in power.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:28 AM

What does he think the Gardai are after….The mole who leaked government documents to him….Is that not their job under official secrets act hunting moles….

Mute Tony Mc Grath
    Favourite Tony Mc Grath
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:56 AM

There may have been a leak, Alan.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:06 PM

He’ll do anything to get his name up in lights….this is not show business Alan.

The Justice department have better things to do – stop wasting their time – and stop costing us money, in other words…get lost!

Mute Denis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Denis Mc Kenna
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:34 PM

Between tapping and leaking I think he should call a plumber

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:34 PM

Next weeks headline…..

“Alan Kelly seen out on a date with Amanda Brunker”

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:44 PM

@Larry Fitzwell: Following weeks headline….

“Amanda Brunker reveals why she is emigrating”

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:05 PM

@Tommy Roche: Week after interview with Hello magazine……

“Amanda Brunker on how the Maurice McCabe scandal has affected her, and how she was once a whistle blower too”

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Dec 14th 2017, 11:53 AM

What do he r any of the other Labour mouth pieces Di when in Government Nothing. They should have been wired out at last election

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:11 PM

I don`t doubt the capacity of AGS for dirty tricks, that has been well proven over the years. But AK is just an insufferable attention seeker.

Mute John Dman
    Favourite John Dman
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:29 PM

Regina doherty wil be kicking herself she didnt think of this! Makes a change from the old death threat yarn!

Mute David Hughes
    Favourite David Hughes
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:20 PM

I once walked past Alan Kelly while he was talking a phone call in the street. Should I be expecting a visit from the guards?

Mute Horace
    Favourite Horace
    Dec 14th 2017, 2:05 PM

Have we an honest politician in this country at all, anyone? Anyone?

Mute Tony Mc Grath
    Favourite Tony Mc Grath
    Dec 14th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Horace: William Wallace, Wexford Braveheart. Connoisseur of everything Italian,…. or maybe not, forgot to pay his taxes.

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:33 PM

What a clown

Mute Chris Lane
    Favourite Chris Lane
    Dec 14th 2017, 3:45 PM

The only tapping he is concerned with is water taps!!!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:31 PM

Of course Alan Kelly’s phone calls are being monitored. I’m not sure, though, why he is making such a fuss over it. It’s just reality.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:29 PM

Bomb Squad called in, death threats, phone tapped. Who would be a TD? Having to continually invent b/s like this. Hard work!

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:07 PM

If he has been tipped off by a Garda mole and it turns out his phone was tapped this would trigger an election.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Dec 14th 2017, 12:16 PM

The opposition parties in the Dail are making the Government look good at this stage. Bunch of attention seeking clowns.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Dec 14th 2017, 2:08 PM

I hope it’s not a frivolous accusation ,if their is any truth in this allegation then it doesn’t bode well for the high ethos and rigorous accountability the organs of the State now uphold.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Dec 14th 2017, 1:35 PM

Who uses landlines anymore?

Mute Barry Kelleher
    Favourite Barry Kelleher
    Dec 14th 2017, 5:07 PM

He is slowly becoming the biggest pain in the arse in the country.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Dec 14th 2017, 2:34 PM

It has..by his Ego

Mute Jim Kearney
    Favourite Jim Kearney
    Dec 14th 2017, 2:29 PM

This Guy and his Colleagues should be Shot for Treason

Mute Pat Morgan
    Favourite Pat Morgan
    Dec 14th 2017, 4:51 PM

This poor man could get counselling and I’m sure some medication for his unfortunate condition..

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Dec 14th 2017, 7:57 PM

Has to be the biggest Dick head in Irish politics