You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The bridge over the N11 situated near Loughlinstown roundabout Google Maps

Diversions lifted on N11 after earlier incident on bridge

Gardai diverted traffic from N11 to M50 to keep road clear after a man’s behaviour on the bridge caused concern.

Updated 13.35

GARDAI HAVE LIFTED diversions from the scene of an incident on a bridge over the N11 where a man’s behaviour caused concern earlier this morning.

A number of gardai and squad cars had been at the bridge, which is situated near Loughlinstown hospital and the Loughlinstown roundabout, after a man had been in some distress there.

One lane of the road had been blocked and traffic had been diverted from that point at the N11 to the M50 to leave the road clear.

Gardai have this lunchtime confirmed that the man was removed from the scene unharmed and the scene has been cleared and diversions lifted.

-additional reporting by Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 10 comments
10 Comments
    Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:03 PM

Liverpool’s luck finally running out. They are in a false position having got points their performances did not deserve.

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:06 PM

@Nodon: one loss in 17 games and second place that’s some luck alright.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:16 PM

@Nodon: lol .. what happened to the old addage.. the table never lies.. ! Only applicable when it suits you ? try harder troll.. winning the amount of points they have from a losing position shows more about a team than .. luck. As Delia would say.. let’s be having you…lol

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:22 PM

@Brian: even Liverpool fan Jamie Carragher admits that their performances have been poor.

Mute Deano
    Favourite Deano
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:37 PM

@Nodon: I agree,we have gotten away with one on a few occasions alright,but that in it self says something, winning when not at our best,but also if liverpool want to challenge for the league they will have to improve, and no better place than next Saturday night,fair play to utd they had little choice to play the way they did and probably had the best chance of the game to win it.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:38 PM

@Nodon: you’re conflating poor with lucky.. poor ? At times.. resilient.. 100 per cent. Some luck though being top of league b4 today.. and with a bit of ‘ luck ‘ top of the league for Christmas next week.. so according to you we should all take our lead now from Carragher and the sky sports pundits. Id say your a .. “but Roy is right man’.. judge football for yourself.. don’t leave those plebs tell you what to think.. inevitably they’re wrong.

Mute Michael Costello
    Favourite Michael Costello
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:51 PM

@James Rowan: as a Utd fan I wholeheartedly agree with you. With just 1 or 2 better roll of the ball Liverpool would have 1. I do agree with manager and player comments ” wrong decision made on some attacking occasions “… As for Utd they have no excuses now. Only weekend football to concentrate on…

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2023, 1:30 AM

@Nodon: 2nd in the league? Scored twice as many goals as united? Still in Europe?

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 18th 2023, 8:03 AM

@James Rowan: morning james

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:29 PM

Greatest team in league history said ONE league in 33 years Lol Lol Lol

Mute Deano
    Favourite Deano
    Dec 17th 2023, 10:24 PM

@Liam Dunne: lol,lol,lol,brilliant.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Dec 18th 2023, 9:47 AM

@Liam Dunne:Almost as funny as UTD celebrating draws these days lol

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Dec 17th 2023, 7:47 PM

In the end United dragged them down to their level. Good game plan executed I guess you have to say. Keane coming out with his usual over the too repetitive “tough” analysis. Gets boring.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:10 PM

@Liam: the game was boring, the atmosphere was poor

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:17 PM

@Liam: boo hoo. Liverpool could still be out there and not look like scoring. Not uniteds fault, liverpool aren’t as good as they think they are. I think they’ll finish 3rd behind city and arsenal.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:24 PM

@Brian Dunne: who’s boohooing Brian.. lol. How would you know how good they are..? you don’t watch them.. by your admission. So your assessment of the title race isn’t worth a…. boohoo. Your opinion is not to be taken seriously .. how could it be?

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:26 PM

@Brian: dry your eyes mate

Mute Deano
    Favourite Deano
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:28 PM

@Brian Dunne: On the other article brian you stated you don’t watch liverpool,so why comment on how good they are or are not.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:31 PM

@Brian Dunne: good comeback Brian.. lol.. everyone can see you for what you are.. a waffler.. ‘I know football but don’t watch it’ waffler.. zzzzz lol

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:32 PM

@Deano: from what I’ve seen, and in the games involving manchester united, liverpool are behind city and arsenal. Ive also seen loads of pool fans on here saying they’ve been playing poorly all season but getting results.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:35 PM

@Brian: i actually have a life outside of watchin football, so im happy if i see united and bohs every week. Anyone else it’ll be on motd.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:37 PM

@Deano: shhhh Deano.. Brian’s an expert.. doesn’t need to watch a team over a season to form an opinion on them.. 90 minutes in a ‘derby’ will suffice. Tis ‘experts’ like him you’d be paying a subscription to the 42 to listen to in the comments section.. lol

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:37 PM

@Brian: do u watch united regularly?

Mute Deano
    Favourite Deano
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:39 PM

@Brian Dunne: I don’t disagree brian,as per my earlier post,liverpool have been poor at times this season,but I believe that in it self says something, winning and playing poorly,liverpool will have to improve to challenge,I give credit to utd to day,no choice to play the way they did,got a point and could of actually won it.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:44 PM

@Brian Dunne: So you don’t see Liverpool on MOTD..? Your waffling… you talk like you are an authority on Premier League football.. and I say that as someone who has seen a lot of your comments.. you have time enough in your life outside of football to post ad nauseam.. but now you admit you rarely watch it. make up your mind man,, you either know what you’re talking about or you don’t..

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:48 PM

@Brian: glad to hear your a fan of mine. Look ye didnt get the result yous were hoping for today. Not the end of the world. You didn’t lose either so take the point and move on. Don’t be wasting energy on what im saying.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:51 PM

@Brian Dunne: unfortunately yes.. over the last 30 years.. watched their great teams and now their siht teams.. the last decade has been brilliant as it is going someway to offset their glory years.. but I watch all teams or try to as much as I can to give an informed opinion as to the league. also as an avid FF player I’m immersed in all teams and every player.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:54 PM

@Brian: fair do’s! I wish i had the time to watch every game.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:56 PM

@Brian Dunne: Not a fan… But I can read.. and I do be seeing your opinion a lot.. for a poor fella who doesnt have a lot of time .. fair play to ya… lol. just don’t waffle about Liverpool and label them, if your opinion isn’t informed .. and it isn’t .. by your admission. Just admit you were wrong and move along and we’ll say no more about it ;-)

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:58 PM

@Brian: jesus lad calm down. Not the end of the world if someone doesn’t think your team is brilliant! Don’t let my opinions wind you up. Its only my opinion and im sticking to it btw. City and arsenal to finish ahead of the pool. But i could be wrong, we’ll see!

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 17th 2023, 10:10 PM

@Brian Dunne: but Brian thats my point.. its your opinion.. and I simply pointed out as someone who doesn’t watch Liverpool regularly.. that your opinion of them as being ‘bang average’ isn’t worth a jot. You surely get the logic of that. Anyway man .. best of luck to ya.. I’m not out for a barney .. just your comment needed addressing imo.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 17th 2023, 10:12 PM

@Brian: well consider my comment adressed. Good man.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Dec 18th 2023, 7:11 AM

@Brian Dunne: think they will be fourth you forgot about villa or did you not look at the top of the table

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Dec 18th 2023, 8:01 AM

@John Kenny: i think liverpool will finish ahead of villa.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Dec 18th 2023, 12:12 PM

@Brian Dunne: boohoo? Brian on the windup again as per. Thought you don’t watch football only MOTD?

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Dec 18th 2023, 12:14 PM

@Brian Dunne: I think Everton will finish above United.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:22 PM

The death of Israeli hostages at the hands of Israeli forces shows us the complete stupidity of war.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Dec 17th 2023, 8:42 PM

@Eamon: That’s what shows you..!?

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 17th 2023, 10:01 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: shows Israelites kill anybody who tries to surrender

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2023, 1:27 AM

@Eamon: Yeah, but if McAllister was playing, it would never happen!

Mute Elvis
    Favourite Elvis
    Dec 17th 2023, 9:20 PM

Awful game and performance from LFC couldn’t break thru their defence, didn’t take our chances and perhaps the TAA shot was our best chance….need to improve or spend some money in January window…I wish !!!

Mute Ray Grogan
    Favourite Ray Grogan
    Dec 17th 2023, 11:21 PM

COYS…….

Mute Michael Fielding
    Favourite Michael Fielding
    Dec 18th 2023, 5:50 AM

@Ray Grogan: lol. ‘Lads….it’s Tottenham’.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Dec 18th 2023, 9:36 AM

Lots of grown arse Irishmen falling out and arguing over which one of “their” English football teams are better than the other, hilarious.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Dec 18th 2023, 9:49 AM

@Paul Fahey: Edgy, only “grown arse” sounds like Americanism

Mute michael odwyer
    Favourite michael odwyer
    Dec 18th 2023, 12:24 PM

@Paul Fahey: i thought sport transcends politics

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Dec 18th 2023, 9:51 AM

The level of entitled hubris spewing from the mouths of our johnny foreigner loving government is disgusting