Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/timages

Poll: Do election leaflets count as junk mail?

Have you received election leaflets through your letterbox?

WITH BOTH THE European and local elections coming up, eager candidates have been out canvassing and putting leaflets through letterboxes.

However, local councillor for Waterford City Mary Roche has been asking on X if election leaflets count as junk mail, saying she “usually doesn’t drop in a leaflet if there’s a ‘no junk mail’ sign”.

Whether you have a sign on your door or not, we want to know what you think.

So today we’re asking: Do election leaflets count as junk mail?

Poll Results:

Yes (9164)
No (1466)
Unsure (222)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    May 4th 2024, 7:53 PM

Leinster were lucky to hold on in the end. They should have put them awY in the first half.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    May 5th 2024, 2:06 AM

@Neil Harvey:I wouldn’t say they were lucky. Northampton literally had a chance in the last minute to get a score to win. But Leinster were underwhelming in the second half. Byrne missed too many kicks. That always comes back to haunt you at this level. Frawley is a better place kicker and that’s not just as a reaction to this game. Byrnes place kicking which was one of his big strengths has really gone downhill this season. Frawley at OH and Larmour at FB would be a better combination. Leinster seem to be lacking a little something when it comes to the absolute crunch but if they can win the final nobody will care about or remember this game.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    May 5th 2024, 4:39 PM

@Neil Harvey: Ah Sherlock, we meet again.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    May 4th 2024, 8:01 PM

Byrne was a liability again. He’s just not good enough for that team.

Mute Dave Lawlor
    Favourite Dave Lawlor
    May 4th 2024, 8:38 PM

That last twenty was far from ideal but I’d rather have that drop in performance today and win than in the final and lose. I’d like to see a hybrid team in the next two games to keep lads loose for the final. I can forgive Byrne the two conversion misses but the penalty was criminal. The ten jersey is very much up for grabs.

Mute Cpchurch87
    Favourite Cpchurch87
    May 4th 2024, 9:10 PM

@Dave Lawlor: think the 2 week break showed. That blitz style smothering defence is tiring, and as seen by the few times teams get last SA, it’s usually by getting gaps out wide. Toulouse (and Quins) will punish our second half performance. 7 points missed off the tee won’t be good enough in a final either. I hope Leo plays all these lads over the next two weekends to get them match fit

Mute den
    Favourite den
    May 4th 2024, 7:59 PM

Leinster great start, close at the end. @ tom newell: unlike your description of Leinster fans in this mornings article, there was a shower of Dublin s***bags behind me at the match and I’d say they were never at a rugby match ever. They were the opposite of the D4 regulars, but rather a crowd out of Love/hate that were laundering money buying tickets!! It was f***ing embarrassing to be in the same stadium as the bollocks.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    May 4th 2024, 8:17 PM

@den: I hope you got home safe to your palace and don’t have to deal with any of the great unwashed again.

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    May 4th 2024, 8:34 PM

@den: snotty F#@k

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 4th 2024, 8:36 PM

@den: a very terrifying experience. Coke Park is a dangerous area for defenceless leinster harpees.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    May 4th 2024, 9:42 PM

@John Fagan: You’re a bitter sad guy. Lighten up!

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    May 4th 2024, 9:44 PM

@den: jaysus that must be awful for you and Tarquin.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    May 5th 2024, 5:14 AM

@den: I wonder what they thought of you? Or did they let you know and that’s what has upset you diddums!
    Next time you should confront these ruffians and tell them what’s what. I have no doubt in my mind they would be delighted to hear your rather colour description of them.
    TTFN.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    May 5th 2024, 3:01 PM

@den:d4 snob

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    May 5th 2024, 4:41 PM

@Joe Kelly: He’s right though.

Mute Old Times
    Favourite Old Times
    May 4th 2024, 8:34 PM

Leinster nearly pulled off a Mayo in Croker

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 4th 2024, 8:33 PM

Very lucky for leinster. Not convincing at all, they will have to improve if they want to win the European title.

Mute Cpchurch87
    Favourite Cpchurch87
    May 4th 2024, 9:13 PM

@Sean Money: I agree, but I suppose we looked unstoppable in the semi final the last two years, and we all saw how that went! Maybe a wake-up call like that was needed. Stay very much in our lane. Toulouse and Quins would have beaten us today

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    May 4th 2024, 10:49 PM

The commentary team seemed to laughably unaware of the danger that was unfolding in front of them. They were speaking as though Leinster only had to coast to the finish line from a fair way out even though Northampton were clearly determined and had some very dangerous players and had had the better of about 20 minutes of the second half at that stage. They just seemed to have a total lack of awareness until they realised near the very end that Northampton could win it. On the other hand a semi final win is a win and whoever they play in the final they will need to be better against.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    May 5th 2024, 1:20 PM

@John Moore: nothing new about the commentary being biased. Blue tinted glasses all the way whether Dublin or Leinster are on the pitch. Even in defeat the commentary team skew the praise in favour of the boys in Blue. RTE sporting bias shows in many ways. No mention of our athletes getting an Olympic qualification on the news or our female cyclists winning professional races on the continent. Bog ball, soccer, rugby or horses aren’t the only sports out there.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    May 4th 2024, 8:26 PM

@john fagan: I’m proud to be a working class kildare man and your comment is very insulting as you completely miss Ed my point john, God help you.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    May 4th 2024, 8:35 PM

@den: Dublin s***bags? Stay in Kildare next time.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    May 4th 2024, 8:45 PM

@den: can you just enjoy your team winning at Croke Park for a change?

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    May 5th 2024, 3:10 PM

@John Fagan: our founding fathers must be very proud of all the name calling and insults. United Ireland? Not in my life time

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    May 5th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Joe Kelly: We don’t have founding fathers. Get your history right before you patronise anyone.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    May 4th 2024, 8:05 PM

@Den : spoiled the match for a lot of us regular non Dublin Leinster supporters!!!

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    May 4th 2024, 10:57 PM

James Lowe, a true Leinster hero. Come on the lady boys!

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    May 4th 2024, 7:51 PM

Nothing better than a good cliché: a game of 2 halves.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    May 4th 2024, 8:06 PM

@ john fagan: utter bollock talk from a munster fan. Ross is a great player

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    May 4th 2024, 8:13 PM

@den: I’m a Leinster fan and Byrne isn’t good enough for that team. Finn Smith made him look like he was an amateur.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    May 4th 2024, 8:41 PM

@John Fagan: That Smith lad knows how to kick a footy.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    May 5th 2024, 2:04 AM

@den: He’s decent at provincial level and mostly comes up short in the big European games. Two out of 5 from the tee just wasn’t good enough.

Mute brian nunan
    Favourite brian nunan
    May 5th 2024, 11:16 AM

A big congratulations to Leinster from a Munster fan. Well done.

Mute a million ,really ! country is gone mad .
    Favourite a million ,really ! country is gone mad .
    May 4th 2024, 8:05 PM

COYG

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    May 4th 2024, 9:14 PM

@a million ,really ! country is gone mad .: Come On You…………..???

Mute Batster
    Favourite Batster
    May 5th 2024, 11:18 AM

Great stadium but bloody awful place for a rugby match. Very different crowd than usual for a rugby match. Lots of tracksuits, not many athletes…

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    May 5th 2024, 5:16 PM

Low educated the right wing little manboys that you don’t have to ne borne on this island to be 110 irish , it’s time to take on the haters who have mammy and daddy issues