You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Do you shop on Shein?

Have your say.

IRISH CHARITY SHOPS are seeing an influx of clothes bought from the popular fast fashion brand Shein, many of which have never been worn.

Mark Sweeney of Charity Retail Ireland told The Journal it was striking how much clothing from Shein arrived into charity shops with tags still on.

Sweeney said that while donations were always welcomed, the influx of low quality, ultra cheap clothes, sold at further discounts in charity shops, was undermining charities’ efforts to raise funds.

Yesterday, the BBC published an investigation which found many workers in Guangzhou in China were behind their sewing machines for 75 hours a week, trying to make a living from piecework in factories that are part of the Shein supply chain.

In a statement, Shein said it was committed to ensuring “fair and dignified treatment of all workers” and was investing “tens of millions of dollars” in strengthening governance and compliance.

So today we’re asking: Do you shop on Shein?

Poll Results:

No, never (7623)
Yes, every now and then (1759)
Yes, regularly (504)
No interest/ no opinion (446)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 105 comments
105 Comments
    Mute Colm O'Brien
    Favourite Colm O'Brien
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:20 AM

Ireland finally showing some backbone to decades of illegal land-grabbing carried out by Israel.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:37 PM

@Colm O’Brien: It’s great news, hopefully more will follow suit against the rogue State that is Israel.

Mute George O Neill
    Favourite George O Neill
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:50 PM

@Orla Smith: Great news about time and its also amazing to me that I agree completely with Orla for once

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:07 PM

@Colm O’Brien: It’s like which came first, the hen or the egg?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:13 PM

@TamuMassif2019: The egg came first.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:18 PM

@The Risen: the chicken came first as the egg shell is made using a protein only found in chickens

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:32 PM

@Philip Riordan: The chicken came first, as all poultry emerged from a reptillian evolutionary spur i.e. their ancestors hatched over and over and evolved slowly until eventually the first chickens hatched from eggs also.

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:25 AM

I’ll take this opportunity once again to remind everyone that Halligan was elected on the promise of getting 24-hour cardiac care for the South East but immediately threw away the significant leverage he had with the government in exchange for a ministerial job and pension.

Constituents of his are still dying because of this.

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Favourite SF Ankle Tapper
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:51 AM

@Kem Trayle: they elected him…you reap what you sow.

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:35 PM

@Kem Trayle:
    A Ministerial pension trumps all election promises. It’s Irish politics.. Them’s the rules.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:10 PM

@Kem Trayle: just another Liar for sale, he did well, but do not forget this , run him from your door next election, he can have his pension, but I wouldn’t sell him a pint of milk down there ,unless ye like being used

Mute Hugh Jass
    Favourite Hugh Jass

@Kem Trayle: Electing someone just on one issue is stupid especially an idiot like him

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:42 PM

@Kem Trayle: Yes one man makes or breaks government policy, your dead right its all his fault of course, the rubbish that is stuck up here is mind blowing it really is.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:04 PM

@Milk The Drones: not only Irish. Look around.

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:01 AM

The Control of Economic Activity (Occupied Territories) Bill 2018 does not mention Israel and the Palestinian territories but will make it an offence “for a person to import or attempt to import settlement goods”.

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:47 AM

@Padraic O Sullivan: Northern Ireland.. Gibraltar..Cueta..Mellila…Crimea…etc etc

Mute Kilkenny Friends of Israel
    Favourite Kilkenny Friends of Israel
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:54 AM

@Padraic O Sullivan: Therefore it is necessary to remove the word “settlement” and thereby include all parts of the world occupied by other nations otherwise its only drafted against the Israelis. I expect TDs to amend this Bill

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:27 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: it’s the Occupied Territories Bill and it includes all territories recognised as illegally occupied by the UN (both current and future). The illegal Israeli settlements that your referring to is just one example.

Have you gotten yourself confused by the context of the word ‘settlement’? It’s not used exclusively to refer to Israel.

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:41 PM

@Karen Wellington: give another example

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:15 PM

@SF Ankle Tapper: Northern Cyprus.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:11 PM

@SF Ankle Tapper: Western Sahara

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:58 AM

“Halligan said Coveney advised the IA members that their concerns about the impact of members of the Irish government voting in favour of this Bill, particularly from the US, he said. ”

Why are we allowing out government to be intimidated by a foreign state? Nobody should be allowed to interfere with our democratically elected parliament.

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:50 AM

@Patrick FitzGerald: no one is interfering…just realities being pointed out.

Mute SilexFlint
    Favourite SilexFlint
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:49 PM

@Patrick FitzGerald: We avoid saying no to the US, because of “The Implication”

Mute GorillaGrower
    Favourite GorillaGrower
    Jan 24th 2019, 11:22 AM

Absolutely delighted this bill is going to pass .

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:12 PM

@GorillaGrower: it didnt………..

Mute Paul Culloty
    Favourite Paul Culloty
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:39 PM

@deise: It did, 75-44.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:03 PM

@deise: sadly it did. It was an opposition bill n government lost. But it can be stopped by sticking a “money message”on it.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:04 AM

They make me sick why do these clowns go into politics the people did not vote you into the to abstain from voting . This is what happens when you take the 30 pieces of silver your a sad bunch.

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:17 AM

@Donal Carey: political dynasties with vested foreign investments, using their position as elected representatives to protect their private financial interests, abroad.

An absolutely perfect example of FFG.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:13 AM

@Artugal: Totally agree FF fight every day in the Dail against what FG are doing a d when there is a no confidence vote they obtain or back FG same goes for these Independents

Jan 24th 2019, 10:51 AM

This bill drafted by a Palestinian lobby group for Senator Frances Black is solely against Israel, It fails to include any other occupied areas (incl Northern Ireland if we believe the rhetoric) it does nothing to support Arabs in a Palestinian society where violence is encouraged.You should find another way
    https://twitter.com/palwatch/status/1088332204999131137
    https://twitter.com/KilkennyOf/status/1075771640439439360

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:39 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: the UN does not recognise Northern Ireland as an occupied territory. The bill targets any and all occupied territories recognised by the UN as illegal, Israel happens to a very obvious example of this, maybe if they didn’t flout international law they wouldn’t have to throw tantrums over how our government operates.

Mute Laurence Ronayne
    Favourite Laurence Ronayne
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:13 PM

@Paul Whitehead: so you support the illegal occupation of Palestinian land and the establishment of the apartheid state of Israel.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:13 PM

@Paul Whitehead: well I was expecting the old anti semiticism card to be played much earlier in the comments section. You didn’t disappoint after all.
    Again confusing justice for racism. Illegal under the UN of which we are a part. Ireland setting the international standard. Superb.

Mute reabhloid
    Favourite reabhloid
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:51 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: throwing your Nazionist you out of the pram with whataboutery , hang up your jack boots

Mute reabhloid
    Favourite reabhloid
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:57 PM

@Paul Whitehead: anti semetic, and Jews and there are many whose oppose the Nazionist state are anti semetic too??

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:15 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: https://photos.app.goo.gl/dmXLNYKQhBdZh9Nt8

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:28 AM

Coveney is such a little weasel. Lads of 1916 are turning in their graves with every devision FG being based on money. Absolute sellouts.

Mute Karen Luby
    Favourite Karen Luby
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:58 AM

This is where people power comes in regardless of the vote. No one is being forced to buy Israeli goods; just leave them on the shelf if you don’t want them.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:53 AM

@Karen Luby: i love Jaffa oranges

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:53 AM

@Karen Luby: i love Jaffa oranges

Jan 24th 2019, 11:03 AM

@Karen Luby: Some sense here why not have a section with Israeli goods (like the Gluten free areas) and lets see people vote with their own conscience and decide to buy or not to buy these goods.

I’d prefer to see Irish people in homes (not houses) trolleys not necessary in hospitals, an ambulance when I want one, a garda when necessary, a college place & accomodation for our youth, mental health looked after and Suicide beaten & the Banks held responsible for their actions

What are you doing IA, FF FG SF PB4P?

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:10 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: superb whataboutery. Why is it one or the other? Ultra one dimensional comment tbh. How about you stay on topic.

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:09 PM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: they’re doing far more then you are! Whilst your friends in isreal make an entire population homeless and destitute.

Mute Karen Luby
    Favourite Karen Luby
    Jan 25th 2019, 7:24 AM

@Kilkenny Friends of Israel: I didn’t say I have a problem with Israeli goods per se, I am just pointing out people can choose for themselves. Nestle products aren’t banned but I try and avoid them due to their baby milk formula scandal. Same way I try avoid plastic, products containing palm oil etc…

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:35 AM

Politicians There nothing in it for me’ by voting in favour of this bill , so by abstaining they’ll be something down the line. Politics is all about, ‘what’s in it for me. – to hell with ye’ and true justice doesn’t get a look in. Actions speak louder than words.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:45 PM

Abstaining should not be allowed. This is part of their job, which we pay them to do.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:56 AM

So they’ll stop using their mobile phones too?

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:16 PM

@John Mulligan: the majority of mobile phones don’t use Israeli tech.

Mute reabhloid
    Favourite reabhloid
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:48 PM

@John Mulligan: childish Nazionism, your pram short of s dummy ?

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:37 PM

@John Mulligan: Are they made in what are illegal settlements under international law??

Mute Hugh Davison
    Favourite Hugh Davison
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:33 PM

@John Mulligan: Are mobile phones made in the occupied territories? Well, who’d a thunk it?

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:35 AM

Larry, Curly and Moe there in the photo.

Mute Brian Kearns
    Favourite Brian Kearns
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:41 PM

Alan shatter will be livid, best news this year.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 24th 2019, 11:06 AM

Such nonsense from halligan,he supports it but will not vote for it,this man and his colleagues should not be in government,its disgraceful.

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:31 PM

And in other news, The Journal continue to abstain from proofreading…

Mute David Jones
    Favourite David Jones
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:39 AM

Just don’t buy stuff from Israel – simples…

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:20 PM

@David Jones: Ireland imports only a few million worth of goods from Israel but exports close to 1 billion euro worth of goods to Israel. As we look for new markets post Brexit, do we really want to kick off a trade war with the only democratic country in the region ?

Mute Hans Flouride
    Favourite Hans Flouride
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:10 PM

@David Jones: like the chip that operates your smart phone? Assume you’ll be binning your phone post haste.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:14 PM

@Stephen Kearon: It’s as democratic as South Africa during the apartheid era. But a FF supporter probably thought apartheid was a good thing.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:15 PM

@Stephen Kearon: democratic country. Lol. Go read something. There are plenty other democratic countries in the Middle East. Look up the definition of democracy. Your ignorance is amusing.

Mute reabhloid
    Favourite reabhloid
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:59 PM

@Dermot Foley: an apartheid terror state is democracy ??

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:14 PM

@Stephen Kearon: I’m hoping Israel will BDS Ireland and thousands of Irish and Palestinian jobs are lost. Ireland is Banjaxed and nothing short of a Revolution will save us from the Shinners and terrorist supporters.

Israel would be doing the Irish a favour and the terrorist Jihadi supporters would get their wish.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:16 PM

@David Jones: 500,000 Palestinians rely on the Israeli economy.

Why do you hate Palestinians so much?

https://youtu.be/b9J1_G9SHsA

Mute Paul Culloty
    Favourite Paul Culloty
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:45 PM

@Stephen Kearon: CSO doesn’t give any export figure for Israel:

https://cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/er/gei/goodsexportsandimportsnovember2018/

Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Jan 24th 2019, 5:18 PM

@Joe: Israel’s economy also relies on dropping bombs on Palestinian children every now and again.

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll
    Jan 24th 2019, 5:50 PM

@Dermot Foley: Yeh Israel is sooooo bad that’s why 1.6 million arabs live there rather than the paradise that is Palestine

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:38 PM

@Simon Carroll: you spelt ‘prison’ wrong.

Mute victor feldman
    Favourite victor feldman
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:01 AM

@Dermot Foley: name me the democratic states in the middle east…go on then!

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:15 AM

@Stephen Kearon: Democratic..are you a comedian

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Dec 3rd 2021, 5:11 PM

@Dermot Foley: name me a list of middle east democratic countries…!!

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:41 PM

The wording of the headline almost makes it seem that the bill didn’t pass.

Mute reabhloid
    Favourite reabhloid
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:09 PM

@Eric Foley: that’s the journal Nazionism for you

Mute Brian Kearns
    Favourite Brian Kearns
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:40 PM

Alan shatter will be livid, best news this year.

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:29 PM

I’m going to abstain from getting car insurance as I am a safe driver….well done Halligan

Mute Michael O'Byrne
    Favourite Michael O'Byrne
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:01 PM

I think this bill is a mistake. I know many Palestinians work in Israeli factories in the West Bank. I know also that many workers in Gaza were working on Israel prior to Hamas takeover. The West Bank was previously occupied by Jordan. Has it occurred to some that Jordan and Israel have diplomatic relations and flights between the countries. Perhaps Those that support this bill should explain themselves to Apple and other tech and pharmaceutical companies workers should they decide to relocate.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:45 PM

@Michael O’Byrne: the bill got full support from the Palestinians in the West Bank when Senator Black went over there. Do you consider the Israeli bulldozing of Palestinian villages to be replaced with Jewish-only settlements in the West Bank illegal or not?

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:14 PM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: Lol, Mary-Lou visited President-for-life Mahmoud Abbas, who is in year 15 of a 4-year term by the way, and other terrorists in Ramallah, but she didn’t visit Palestinian Human Rights Activist Bassem Eid, any of the 100,000 Palestinians who work in Israel or the other estimated 400,000 Palestinians who earn a living from the Israeli economy.

Sinn Fein and other Jihadi supporters have no problem cutting off the noses of 500,000 Palestinians who oppose BDS, to spite the faces of Jews. Stop spouting rubbish you know nothing about.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9J1_G9SHsA&t=3s&ab_channel=MEMRITVVideos

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:53 PM

@Joe: maybe you will answer my question. Do you consider the Israeli bulldozing of Palestinian villages to be replaced with Jewish-only settlements in the West Bank illegal? Don’t go into hiding now.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:31 PM

@Joe: good man. Didn’t realise you’ve been to Ramallah and the West Bank. The rhetoric that you’re spouting is the greatest load of tripe I’ve heard in my life. If you’ve been there you would realise that Palestinians are in full support of BDS across the West Bank irrespective of where they get their jobs. They’ve lived through worse than having no job. But you’d know that having been there of course.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:01 AM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin:
    “West Bank”? You mean Judea and Samaria.

“Settlements”? Jews were ethnically cleansed from Judea and Samaria in 1948 where they lived for millennia, but when they returned home in
    1967, but you call them “Settlers”?

I strongly support bulldozing homes of terrorists once convicted.

As for “bulldozing villages”? I strongly support demolishing illegal structures, especially the Bedouin School built from car tyres and junk as it was a danger to the children and was built without planning permission on land they didn’t legally own, especially when Israel gave them free land to build safe structures on.

Any Arab claiming they lost land in 1948 can become an Israeli citizen if they can produce Land Title Deeds and show their names on the Land Registry of the British Mandate or Ottoman Empire. No Arabs lost any land in 1948, none. 850,000 Jews were ethnically cleansed from Arab countries in 1948.

Try reading a history book. http://markhumphrys.com/palestine.invented.html

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:19 AM

@Joe: Deluded fool

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh

Government loses vote on Israeli goods trade ban Bill, as ministers abstain
    Junior Minister John Halligan said he is comfortable with his abstention from the vote, stating that ‘the important thing is, the Bill will pass’. Cowards couldn’t take a proper stand, Scrupleless!

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:24 PM

Ahhh the Independent Alliance, abstain on a vote but want to go over to North Korea to talk some sense into Kim Jong.
    Disney couldn’t write a script like it.
    Dumbo, the seven dwarfs, the king of thieves.
    Still nothing as outrageous as the clowns of Leinster House.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:09 PM

Israel please BDS Ireland and thousands of Irish and Palestinian jobs will be lost. Ireland is Banjaxed and nothing short of a Revolution will save us.

In 2016 Ireland exported $2 billion worth of goods to Israel and Ireland imported $83 million from Israel. You don’t need to do business with a country who hates you and you would be doing the Irish a great service. It is likely that POTUS will also have to follow US Law and Ireland will turn into the Venezuelan dream.

The Brain Drain that Ireland has suffered over the years has reached Critical Velocity. It will be unfortunate that so many Palestinians lose their livelihood but I have little concern that the Irish who have been calling for an end to relations with Israel will get their wish, and lose their jobs. Be careful what you wish for.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:52 PM

@Joe: Joe, I for one hate nobody and I 100% approve of this Bill. It’s about human rights, respect and ending occupation, not hate. Give Palestinians the same rights as Israeli’s and stop treating them as an untermenschen in their own land. Martin Luther King day was last Monday, he will be a happy man today. His hopes, vision and dreams live on in this Bill 51 years after his death.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:38 PM

@Charles Williams: Your lack of knowledge of the topic is staggering, I wouldn’t waste my time trying to teach you History of Geography.

Dr Martin Luther King Jr was a Zionist. He is rolling in his grave at the disrespect you show for his legacy.

You know sometimes it is wiser to keep your mouth closed on a topic and have people believe you are a fool than to open it and eliminate all doubt.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcCOT9JhEH0&ab_channel=WorldJewishCongress

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:41 PM

@Joe: you trying to convince us you give a shite about Martin Luther King and Civil rights? You’ve gotten desperate.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:45 PM

A good day for democracy, Ireland and human rights. In the 1930s if more European countries had actively dissapproved of the treatment of Jews, homosexuals etc in Germany some of the later atrocities might never had happened.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:49 PM

@Charles Williams: Stop conflating Jews with the Holocaust. Jews have lived continuously in Israel for over 3,000 years. The Jews didn’t suddenly come to Israel in 1948 from Europe, Europe systematically eliminated most of its Jews. 850,000 Jews were ethnically cleansed from Arab/Muslim countries and came to Israel in 1948 to join other Jews because no other country would accept them.

The Region which the British Mandate called “Palestine” was divided up and 77% given to Arabs to create the Palestinian State of Jordan. No Country named Palestine ever existed, the myth of the country was created by an Egyptian Terrorist named Yassir Arafat in 1964. It wasn’t until Arabs attacked Israel in 2 wars and lost, that Arabs called themselves “Palestinians”, and only as a means to exterminate Jews and the State of Israel. http://markhumphrys.com/palestine.invented.html

Mute Hugh Davison
    Favourite Hugh Davison
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:41 PM

@Joe: Population of Israel 1948: 806,000. Population of Israel 2017: 8,700,000. However did they manage it?

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:49 PM

@Joe: wasn’t the founder of Israel a man by the name of David Grün born and raised in Poland and changed his name to Ben-Gurion? Son of Avigdor Grün, leader of the Hovevei Zion movement, and a forefather of modern Zionism?

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:09 AM

@Hugh Davison: For a start, 850,000 Jews were ethnically cleansed from Arab countries in 1948 and Israel was the only country that would accept Jews. Also, Arabs are 23% of Israelis. Jews have continued to be ethnically cleansed from other countries for years and the only safe place to be Jewish is the tiny State of Israel.

http://www.thetower.org/article/there-was-a-jewish-nakba-and-it-was-even-bigger-than-the-palestinian-one/

Now if you will kindly explain how 730,000 Arabs fled Israel in 1948 and now there are an estimated 15 Million?

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 25th 2019, 12:22 AM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: If you want to know the name of who founded Israel you could either;

Read the Holy Qur’an and find that Allah is a Zionist and gave Israel to the Jews until the Day of Judgement, ie; no good Muslim believes in Palestine as it is not mentioned in the Qur’an, neither is Jerusalem mentioned,

Or

You could refer to ancient history going back about 4,000 years and name the kings of Judea and Samaria, and many other Jewish Kingdoms stretching from Egypt to Syria and beyond.

What is a lot more interesting historically is the fact that the mythical Country of Palestine was invented in 1964 by an Egyptian terrorist named Yassir Arafat, but Arabs didn’t begin calling themselves “Palestinians” until they attacked Israel in two wars and lost on the 4 June 1967. Previously Palestine was a Region under the British Mandate and 77% of the land was given to Arabs to create the Palestinian State of Jordan.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ha443Thi-yA/VpKMMr_cmEI/AAAAAAAAAHI/0ngOWFGdLYk/s1600-r/King%2BHussein%2BJordan%2Bis%2BPalestine.jpg

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:22 AM

Abstain !
    Useless trough seekers..

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 24th 2019, 8:43 AM

Treators

Mute David Maughan
    Favourite David Maughan
    Jan 24th 2019, 9:43 AM

@Dominic Leleu: Trick or?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:07 AM

@David Maughan: treats … For them

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Jan 24th 2019, 5:54 PM

How sad!
    Dáil back terrorists against a democratically elected government.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:51 PM

They haven’t even got the guts to call it the West Bank Settlements Boycott Act’. Has anyone ever asked any of them to name even one other territory this is going to be applied to?

Mute Stephen O'Donoghue
    Favourite Stephen O'Donoghue
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:15 PM

Amazing, have just read through a vast majority of the comments on here and they are all saying well done. Now let’s see what our leaders, the EU have to say about our activities, we are after all ruled by them. Let’s hope that none of this affects our trade with other countries you short sighted lot.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:48 PM

@Stephen O’Donoghue: so you’ve read through the vast majority of comments but it’s obvious you didn’t read the article. Your answers lie there.

Jan 24th 2019, 6:10 PM

Thundering disgrace by feeble minded politicians who have given Hamas, ISIS and Bin Laden fellow travellers a slap on the back and used democracy to undermine democracy. They should hang their heads in shame on the anniversary of our own democracy and its inception, the people in Gaza or the West Bank will not benefit from this but the symbolism undermines democracy in the only democratically elected country in the Middle East.

Mute yoser hughes
    Favourite yoser hughes
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:51 PM

@: Yawn

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jan 24th 2019, 6:39 PM
    Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:08 PM

Great Chance now to sack Ross, the other two will be collateral damage but that’s polatics , then when the dust settles let this bill through, and Rid of Ross , everyone is a winner ?

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:23 PM

The three stooges ride again, into political oblivion

Mute Pat O'Brien
    Favourite Pat O'Brien
    Jan 24th 2019, 5:46 PM

Reading between the lines, looks like this bill will still be blocked further down the line, Today’s vote might be step in right direction, but doubt if it will ever see daylight, Government will find a way to delay and block it indefinitely, Simply Politics;

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:52 PM

@Pat O’Brien: Simply don’t vote for FFG. Not that I think SF will probably do much better but FF/FG need to learn they don’t have some divine right to rule, it’s pure conceit at this stage they blithely ignore the populous and just do as they please secure in the knowledge they’ll be re-elected again and again, if we start hitting them where it hurts- their cushy pensions, huge salaries with tax breaks, expense accounts, fancy dinners, dail bar and living like royalty on the taxpayer dime- they might actually sit up and take notice rather than spouting empty promises.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:48 PM

Halligan trying to have his cake and eat it there “I would probably have voted yes” my eye. Now on to phase 2, FG and FF will use the EU as an excuse not to enact this bill, amazing isn’t it when we’re told to clean up and overhaul our massively corrupt legal system by the EU it’s quietly ignored but when we need a new tax or a policy that the government don’t agree with is voted on “The EU cannot be ignored”

Mute James Moore
    Favourite James Moore
    Jan 24th 2019, 4:34 PM

Senseability has prevailed T, G.

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Jan 24th 2019, 11:47 PM

Very quiet on RTÉ about this storyline

Mute Pragmatist2018
    Favourite Pragmatist2018
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:29 PM

The govt must reverse its plans to block the bill using the “money message” loophole. Time for protests.

Mute Pragmatist2018
    Favourite Pragmatist2018
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:37 PM

The Dail should amend standing orders to abolish this nonsensical “money measure” rule so that the bill can proceed.

Mute Pragmatist2018
    Favourite Pragmatist2018
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:41 PM

@Pragmatist2018: Hmm on closer inspection the problem seems to be “Article 17.2 of the Constitution provides that the Dáil shall not appropriate public money for any purpose unless the Government has first recommended that purpose to the Dáil by a Money Message signed by the Taoiseach. Similarly under Dáil Standing Orders amendments to Bills appropriating public money or imposing taxation are confined to a member of the Government.”. It seems this minority govt is increasingly resorting to the “money message” power to block Opposition bills. https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/government-relying-on-little-known-rule-to-block-bills-1.3133081

Mute Pragmatist2018
    Favourite Pragmatist2018
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:58 PM

@Pragmatist2018: The Opposition should take a leaf from John Bercow’s book in the UK. They should ask the Ceann Comhairle to rule on whether in fact the “money measure” can be invoked in this case. That might help get the bill passed.

Mute Tadhg Kelleher
    Favourite Tadhg Kelleher
    Jan 24th 2019, 11:51 PM

Whats the craic with all these blocking bills? Why is this permitted once they’ve been voted through?

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:00 PM

Stick a “money message” on it and kill it now.

Mute yoser hughes
    Favourite yoser hughes
    Jan 24th 2019, 10:58 PM

@Paul Whitehead: Haha, you see, that has been the Zionist way for decades. You prove you understand that by your statement. Manipulation through wealth, throwing money at opposition to their crimes. All that’s happening here is that none of that will work this time. Regardless of how much you want it.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Jan 24th 2019, 7:30 PM