You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Four doctors and a pizzeria owner go on trial in Costa Rica for organ trafficking ring

The alleged ring was busted in 2013 with the arrests of the five men, suspected of carrying out 14 kidney transplants illegally.

A TRIAL OF four doctors and a Greek pizzeria owner accused of running an illegal organ trafficking ring in Costa Rica for wealthy foreigners began today in the capital San Jose.

The five allegedly sought out poor people willing to sell their kidneys for between $6,000 (€5,000) and $20,000 (€16,700), mostly to Israelis but also to European clients willing to pay as much as $100,000 (€83,000) each.

Surgeries to remove the organs were allegedly carried out in some of the many private clinics in Costa Rica that each year attract thousands of foreigners for cheap medical tourism.

The trial is expected to run through 30 November, with a bench of three judges deciding the verdict.

According to the prosecution, the ring was led by doctor Francisco Jose Mora Palma, head of the nephrology unit dealing with kidney diseases at the public Calderon Guardia Hospital in San Jose.

The other three doctors accused are urologists Fabian Fonseca Guzman and Massimiliano Anunzia Mauro Stamati, and peripheral vascular specialist Victor Hugo Monge.

The Greek man, Dimosthenis Katsigiannis Karkasi, was accused of operating from his pizzeria near the hospital to find potential organ “donors” with financial problems and linking them up with the doctors in exchange for money.

The alleged ring was busted in 2013 with the arrests of the five men, who were suspected of having illegally carried out 14 kidney transplants.

Prosecutors were to call on 25 witnesses to substantiate their case – including a former policewoman who was said to have worked with the ring after selling her own kidney, and who accepted to give evidence against the five accused.

If convicted, the doctors and Katsigiannis Karkasi risk prison for the traffic of persons.

For the pizzeria owner, that could be six to 10 years behind bars. For the doctors, because the charges involve abusing their professional status to commit a crime, the sentences could be eight to 16 years.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Woman found dead at Bestival is daughter of Coronation Street actor John Michie

Read: Outrage after controversial YouTube star PewDiePie uses the N-word in latest video

View 31 comments
31 Comments
    Mute Linda
    Favourite Linda
    May 27th 2017, 5:06 PM

Kodi boxes you say? I’ll have a look,
    thanks Journal!

Mute Government Sachs
    Favourite Government Sachs
    May 27th 2017, 7:30 PM

@Linda: you don’t need one. A phone, laptop, PC or tablet will suffice. You can even get 1080 pocket projector with kodi installed.

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    May 27th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Government Sachs: or stick kodi/iptv on your smart TV

Mute Government Sachs
    May 28th 2017, 11:12 AM

@Philip Mckenna: you don’t need to buy anything is my point.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    May 27th 2017, 5:05 PM

I bought one and promptly cancelled my cable subscription. They’re fantastic!

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    May 27th 2017, 5:12 PM

@Martin Flood: thanks Martin, I’ll drop by this evening to watch the Kel Brook fight. Then I’ll grass you up on Monday.

Mute Government Sachs
    May 27th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Martin Flood: In the US they call that ‘cutting the cord’

Mute dB O'Neill
    Favourite dB O'Neill
    May 27th 2017, 7:40 PM

Lads if ye ruin Kodi for me I won’t be responsible for my actions.

Mute Ivan Enoughofit
    Favourite Ivan Enoughofit
    May 27th 2017, 5:20 PM

Kodi is perfectly legal . No such thing as a kodi box ,it’s an android box that runs kodi ,that in turn has streaming apps loaded on to the kodi platform to give access to premium content.
    Will never be able to stop free streaming sites and if Sky would stop ripping Customer off would be no need to access these sites

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    May 27th 2017, 5:26 PM

@Ivan Enoughofit: I think the illegal side was f things is the fact they are ‘Pre Loaded’ with illegal content sharing. Nothing illegal about buying a Raspberry Pi, Nothing illegal about installing Kodi, nothing illegal about using a proxy. What’s illegal is using the sites that deliver the content, and if a device is being sold with this already to go and enabled, that’s illegal.

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    May 27th 2017, 7:01 PM

@Daniel: well that kind of a silly thing to say. Your internet is sold with this already to go and enabled

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    May 27th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Daniel: i think there is a loophole that allows you to stream content but not download as that is illegal

Mute Darren Sheils
    Favourite Darren Sheils
    May 27th 2017, 7:59 PM

@permo dermo no that loophole was recently closed in a court ruling

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    May 27th 2017, 8:03 PM

@Permo Dermo: The EU recently made it illegal to stream as well.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    May 27th 2017, 10:48 PM

@Celtic_Horizon: but not to receive streams

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    May 27th 2017, 5:56 PM

The journal, adverts, done deal are all owned by the same company.

Quick search on adverts for Kodi – http://www.adverts.ie/for-sale/q_kodi/

Quick search on Done Deal – https://www.donedeal.ie/all?words=kodi&area=Ireland&campaign=14

Hello Pot, this is the kettle, you’re black…

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    May 27th 2017, 5:17 PM

Kodi boxes ? There is no such a thing. These are Android boxes. Kodi is an app which can be installed on your phone and even on tv running Android. Are you suggesting those should be banned as well? Check your facts before you write something Rob.

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    May 27th 2017, 5:28 PM

@Remington: I think they are suggesting pre-loaded devices are to be banned. Devices that have the software such as Exodus already installed. That would be illegal.

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    May 27th 2017, 5:44 PM

@Daniel: I get your point but one the other hand your laptop comes preloaded with web browser which allows you to download illegal content. Also as far as I am aware streaming content is not illegal as you are not saving any data on your device. What’s illegal is providing the stream.

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 5:08 PM

Didn’t even know you could buy stuff on Facebook…. hmm.. did I just get suckered by some stealthy advertising….

Mute David Hennigan
    Favourite David Hennigan
    May 27th 2017, 5:12 PM

Okay, calling a media player (and that’s what Jodi is) a piracy enabling device is dumb. Should we all delete Windows Media Player from our Windows computers or ban Plex. If you have a problem with streaming services, go after the streaming services, not a media player.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    May 27th 2017, 5:16 PM

Kodi has shut down.

Mute David Hennigan
    Favourite David Hennigan
    May 27th 2017, 5:20 PM

@ray.farrelly: how can open source software ‘shut down’? What does this statement mean?

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    May 27th 2017, 5:24 PM

@ray.farrelly: What do you mean ‘Kodi has Shutdown’? I just downloaded it?

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    May 27th 2017, 5:44 PM

I read it on google.

Mute @PadNyl
    Favourite @PadNyl
    May 27th 2017, 5:50 PM

@ray.farrelly: link

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    May 27th 2017, 5:53 PM

@ray.farrelly: what are you on about. Not only it is available on Google play to download but I am watching it as I am typing it.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    May 27th 2017, 6:06 PM

@Remington: the Internet is now shut down.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 28th 2017, 7:10 AM

SKY deserve what they get. Robbing people to give footballers and their creepy agents millions while ordinary people are living on the streets. Kodi cannot be shut down without closing the internet.

Mute lez ferguson
    Favourite lez ferguson
    May 27th 2017, 6:35 PM

Trust the journal to get it arseways.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 27th 2017, 6:53 PM

Why not mention that these wicked boxes are on sale on Donedeal and Adverts ?

Looks very strange that you picked Facebook marketplace!

Mute @PadNyl
    Favourite @PadNyl
    May 27th 2017, 5:47 PM

Thanks for the free advertising

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 27th 2017, 7:18 PM

I see we all became legal experts overnight.

Mute LIAM BYRNE
    Favourite LIAM BYRNE
    May 27th 2017, 5:49 PM

Kodi is not the problem it is people trying to make money by selling so called fully loaded boxes. You just have to look online to see that people are been ripped off when they buy these so called fully loaded boxes. This is not Kodi’s fault they do not supply fully loaded boxes and the software that they do supply is not fully loaded, they don’t supply plugin’s to watch pirate content. You can download Kodi and use it on many devices and operating systems. Kodi is not the problem.

Mute Wurley Burgoh
    Favourite Wurley Burgoh
    May 27th 2017, 11:55 PM

Very surprising comments, some downright brash.

I have complete package from you know who, all sports/movies/usual channels for €113 per month (includes free telephone + rewindable tv)

I can sleep easy at night anyway lads.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 28th 2017, 7:13 AM

@Wurley Burgoh: If you are fool enough and have the money. The people using streaming sleep easy to.It not illegal.

Mute Sean Nonutts
    Favourite Sean Nonutts
    May 27th 2017, 8:00 PM

i have a sony android tv in which sony makes kodi available as an app for the tv, seems that sony have no problem with streaming films etc in fact they facilitate it!

Mute Sean Nonutts
    Favourite Sean Nonutts
    May 27th 2017, 8:14 PM

“The boxes are often tweaked to give customers access to pirate TV ”

anybody know how i can get this channel? :-)

Mute Government Sachs
    May 27th 2017, 7:27 PM

The Internet enables piracy.