You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/Brezhneva.od

Dog warden issues warning to owners after three dogs attacked in Co Clare in recent days

Frankie Coote said that in one instance, an unleashed bulldog attacked another dog who was being walked.

A DOG WARDEN from Clare County Council has issued a warning to dog owners to act responsibly after a spate of three dog attacks in Kilrush in recent days. 

Frankie Coote told RTÉ’s News at One that in one instance, an unleashed bulldog attacked another dog who was being walked. It’s owner was also attacked as they attempted to protect their pet.

In another incident, a pitbull jumped a wall and attacked another dog. Coote said the owner didn’t know the pitbull was out and described the situation as an “accident”. 

In the third incident, which Coote also described as an “accident”, a dog ran out its owner’s door as they opened it and ran into a neighbour’s home and attacked the neighbour’s dog. 

He said two of the cases have been resolved, but that he is still looking for one of the dogs. 

As of the 1 February, it is now a criminal offence own an XL bully dog in England and Wales without a certificate. The dogs must also be kept on a lead and muzzled in public under the new restrictions. 

Proposed restrictions and safeguards on owning XL bully dogs in Northern Ireland were also announced last month.

Coote said, however, that “no matter what laws you bring in, you’re always going to have people breaking them”.

“90% of the people that have these dogs, they keep them under control and they’re responsible and they show respect for the safety of others,” he said. 

However, he added that “you get the odd person who doesn’t, and it only takes one”.

“None of us wants to see a person or a child being killed.”

Coote said he was not “picking on XL bullys and those type of breeds”. However, he noted that if a “Jack Russell, terrier, sheepdog, bites you or attacks you, then okay you get bitten, you get away, you may not get away from one of these if they get you down, they’re very strong”.

He said: “If I had one of those breed, I would have a muzzle on it even in my own house. When I’d have visitors over in my own garden, I’d put the dog away.”

Coote admitted that there will be people who own these dogs who won’t agree with him, but said that “one fatality is too many”.

“Videos that I have taken myself since Christmas of dogs dead out on the road and this bulldog still pulling them around the place. It’s not good,” he said. 

It was announced last month that former Garda Deputy Commissioner John Twomey is to head up a new stakeholder group on dog control.

The group will be tasked with bringing recommendations to the Minister for Rural and Community Development in terms of strengthening the legislation around the control of dogs.

It will also examine the issue of restricting certain breeds of dogs, in line with actions being taken by regions in the UK.

There are currently 10 restricted breeds in Ireland, including a so-called “ban-dog”, which is a cross or mixture of any of the restricted breeds.

Certain rules must be followed by people who have a dog that is a restricted breed.

These include that the dog must be kept on a strong lead that is under 2 metres long, muzzled when in a public place and with someone over the age of 16.

They must also wear a collar with the name and address of their owner at all times.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:27 PM

I have never seen a dog warden in my life. I don’t believe they exist, an urban legend if you will.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:44 PM

@The Green Monkey: One turned up at my front door after my dog defecated in their garden.

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:57 PM

@The Green Monkey: I can assure you that they are real and frankie does an amazing job. He’s been the dog warden in Clare for years. He often did a piece on the local radio to make owners more aware of the potential dangers of certain dogs and also how to look after your dog. Hes a decent fella

Mute Patricia Mc namara
    Favourite Patricia Mc namara
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:40 PM

@The Green Monkey: I know our warden Frankie Cootes. A lovely man. I got a dog from the Ennis pound and met Frankie.

Mute Dawn Harvey Artist
    Favourite Dawn Harvey Artist
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:23 PM

Was in Glenbarrow recently, which is a single track walk which can be hard to get past people on. A group of women with a bunch of kids and 5 small to medium sized dogs, off lead, running and barking at people infront of us. They weren’t aggressive but my 2 large dogs (who were leashed) were getting defensive and protective of the pack barking and running around us. I’d have been blamed if my pair reacted in any way. Thankfully mine are well trained and we pushed past the group. The women did nothing and just walked along gossiping away. Irresponsible dog owners, in a public walking area or mountain trails, are some of the most thick people I’ve come across. Keep your damn dog on leash unless they have exceptional recall, and even then just be considerate for Christ’s sake.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 4th 2024, 7:21 PM

@Dawn Harvey Artist: Photograph the dogs and report them. A fine would teach them some manners and respect for others

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:00 PM

Why does anyone need to own a vicious dog, unless you’re a drug dealer.

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Apr 5th 2024, 5:08 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: a lot of them are younger lads trying to act hard. Anyone who owns a dog like that that hurts or kills somebody should be charged as if they themselves inflicted the damage.

Mute Finbarr Cooper
    Favourite Finbarr Cooper
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:03 PM

Where I live most owners let their dogs off leash in the local park and beach. The law states all dogs must on leash and dangerous dogs must be muzzled. I haven’t seen a dog warden in years and the guards take no notice of this law breaking(same as cyclists on FOOT paths).Don’t get me started on dog s##t.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Finbarr Cooper: family protection maybe? I appreciate your point but it’s not as obvious as you think.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Apr 4th 2024, 8:22 PM

@Finbarr Cooper: Does the law not say that dogs must be under ‘effective control’? That may, or may not, be a leash.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Apr 5th 2024, 5:45 PM

@Stephen Foster: It’s certainly never occurred to me to protect my family by not picking up after our dog. How would such a defense system work – do we fling it at attackers, should we freeze it in bags first?

Mute Larry O Reilly
    Favourite Larry O Reilly
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:35 PM

Unfortunately the breed off dogs is blamed/ at fault but the reality is in the majority of cases it the owner that at fault as they allow the dog too be in control were as it should be the other way around. Another thing that has creapt into dog walking is the harness which are a complete joke the strongest part of the dog or any other working animal is it shoulders so you have little or no control over your large breed of dog with harness.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Larry O Reilly: I think it’s easier to get hold of a dog via a harness, if the owner does have to lift him clear. Plus a dog can sometimes slip out of a collar, but a harness is stronger. As you say, a well-trained dog will be under control and return when called.

Mute Larry O Reilly
    Favourite Larry O Reilly
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:53 PM

@F Fitzgerald: I’ll agree to disagree harness are a fade that came in to make money for pet store I only ever use collar/choke chain for large breeds or softer rope chokes. 100% training is the key to a well behaved dog. Some owner need lessons on how to control their dogs.

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:58 PM

@Larry O Reilly: I have a rescue Staffordshire terrier and walking and controlling her is definitely better with a harness…

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Apr 4th 2024, 8:52 PM

@F Fitzgerald: Correct. You can take out the “four wheel drive” with a harness.
    However, harnesses are not the lazy option or a replacement for training.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Apr 4th 2024, 8:53 PM

@Larry O Reilly: Hoping you are using restricted chokers …

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Apr 5th 2024, 5:13 PM

@Larry O Reilly: the breed matters. XL bullies were bred to be aggressive and to inflict damage. They are one of the only breeds that have actually killed their owners. Size and power also matters. A vicious terrier is one thing but a big bull dog in attack mode can easily kill an adult male let alone a child or another pet. BTW a dog like that that is attacking someone or another pet, use its lead or something else to choke them, it’s one of only ways to stop the attack quickly

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 4th 2024, 5:54 PM

What’s a dog warden?

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Apr 4th 2024, 9:30 PM

‘Wouldn’t hurt a fly’
    It’s not the flies we’re worried about.

Mute David craddock
    Favourite David craddock
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:11 PM

Just ban all dogs , problem solved

Mute Patricia Mc namara
    Favourite Patricia Mc namara
    Apr 4th 2024, 6:43 PM

@David craddock: ban idiots.

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Apr 4th 2024, 9:18 PM

90% of dog owners are responsible but you get the odd owner? So 10 % is called odd owner? My understanding of odd is a little different then 10 %.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Apr 4th 2024, 7:48 PM

Shoot them all if they are off their leashes

Mute Barry Moore
    Favourite Barry Moore
    Apr 5th 2024, 8:19 AM

Is there any way to find out how many fines were issued last year for not having a dog on a leash or muzzle if required?