You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Gardaí seize six dogs in Sligo in joint operation with ISPCA

A German Shepard Malamute, four American Staffordshire Terriers and one mixed-breed dog are now in the care of the ISPCA.

GARDAÍ SEARCHED 14 premises in Sligo yesterday in a joint-agency operation with Sligo County Council and the Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ISPCA).

Six dogs were seized during the course of the search operation including one German Shepard Malamute, four American Staffordshire Terriers and one mixed-breed dog.

The operation targeted persons suspected of owning, using and breeding restricted breeds of dangerous dogs.

During the course of the search, multiple animal health and welfare notices were issued by the ISPCA.

A number of detections were made in relation to the Control of Dogs Act and non-compliance of regulations under the Microchipping of Dogs Regulations, 2015.

The dogs are currently in the care of the ISPCA and are receiving medical attention.

Investigations are ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:07 AM

I’d gladly piss in a bucket for a grand not to mind a million!

Mute Darren Cooney
    Favourite Darren Cooney
    Jan 28th 2017, 1:11 PM

1.25 million is all the therapy I need

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Jan 28th 2017, 1:35 PM

Trump will pay that much to watch.

Mute Pat Patterson
    Favourite Pat Patterson
    Jan 28th 2017, 5:01 PM

Lol

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:13 AM

I’d love to know what the school rule was that the teacher thought she was implementing properly.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:40 AM

Probably insurance risk. Kid wandering the hallways on its own. No one monitoring the halls for accidents.

Mute Ed Ucator
    Favourite Ed Ucator
    Jan 28th 2017, 12:09 PM

@James Darby: Damned if you do and damned if you don’t I condone going to the toilet in a bucket but last year we’d these two incidents.

1) A student was allowed to the toilet, spend 30 minutes out of class, went up to the town and to the shop. The student was caught and the parent defended the child saying they shouldn’t have been allowed out of class unsupervised and it was the teachers responsibility to monitor the children. Her son did wrong because the of the teachers lapse in judgement. The BOM agreed and the suspension was lifted.

2) A teacher didn’t give a pass to a student because they were 10 minutes late to class and said they were at the toilet. Half way through the class the student asked to go use the toilet and was refused. The parent complained and the teacher was told to always let a student to the bathroom.

Both issues were brought up at a staff meeting and we were told “use your own judgement”. Both of my colleagues used their judgement and in my opinion were both right but the parents with rose tinted glasses think that by defending their “precious babies” even if their wrong is good parenting. All their taught is that if you can do wrong and get away with it then it’s ok.

What’s the answer then? Go in a bucket? In classroom toilets?

Mute Billy Larkin
    Favourite Billy Larkin
    Jan 28th 2017, 12:36 PM

She only wanted to spend a penny.She now has $1.4m to spend.

Jan 28th 2017, 1:50 PM

I think you’ll find she didn’t want any of this. Everyone here can only see the money and not the tremendous humiliation and shame of a 14 year old girl having to pee in a bucket. Her high school years, the most formative in your life, was hell and four years and a suicide attempt later and she is still in therapy. If I was her mother I would have done time for that teacher!

Mute Maria Perdu
    Favourite Maria Perdu
    Jan 28th 2017, 2:36 PM

$1.25M Not quite $1.4M

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 28th 2017, 7:57 PM

Only $1.25M? Jaysus, it turns out she was robbed!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:25 AM

What wonderful fellow students who instead of showing solidarity with her for being subjected to this treatment, bullied her to the extent that she attempted suicide. Surely that should be the bigger story

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:53 AM

“Teenager gets bullied in school” doesn’t make international news.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

@Anne Marie Devlin:
    They were teenagers in school, it would be completely the norm to get some slagging for that.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:54 AM

@Awkward Seal:

Pissing is a bucket at school and getting over 1m $ does make international news.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:04 AM

@Nick Allen. Obviously you’ve never seen the aftermath of teen bullying. Try telling parents who have walked behind their kids’ coffins, spent all night at a&e while their kids have their stomachs pumped, stayed up all night trying to soothe children who have been broken that they should have expected some slagging. The girl attempted suicide after a barrage of lewd texts and the spreading of rumours around the school. Doesn’t sound like light-hearted banter to me.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:10 AM

Why , then should teenager gets compensated make international news? It’s click bait to get people riled up over compensation culture and snowflakes. The girl received compensation for the bullying she received as a result of the degrading actions of the teacher. AFP are one of the worst news agencies when it comes to manipulating stories and presenting alternative realities.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:25 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin:

My understanding or knowledge of the results of teen bullying has got nothing to do with the facts. Kids in school slag each other. If a student is forced to take a pee in a bucket then they are going to get slagged. Try dealing with the facts rather then jumping on your high horse accusing me of not understanding the affects of teem bullying.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:27 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin:

The reason it has made international news is that it is a very unusual case insofar as the child got awarded an enormous sum of money for no physical injury and an embarrassment level that one would think that most kids could handle. What bit of this do you not understand?

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus

@Anne Marie Devlin: Bullying is a perfectly natural phenomenon repeated in all and every society. You’ll never eradicate it, you do what the vast majority do, and learn to get over it. What a US court in a civil case, where the threshold for proof and evidence is much lower, may accept as ‘bullying’ may not constitute bullying in many other courts. California is a highly litigious state and usually the biggest awards come from there. It’s snowflake central in the US.

If the bullying was in fact anywhere near what you seem to think it was, then her lawyer wouldn’t have sued for 25k. He would have went much higher. As I said, you need to learn to read between the lines.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:29 AM

@ Nick. No high horse. Simply highlighting the consequences of bullying. What was stated in the article was not a bit of slagging.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:30 AM

Anna dog bites man..no news. man bites dog…news

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:36 AM

The school was wholey responsible in this case they caused the issue and then did nothing to stop the resultant bullying. Those are the facts. I do think the resultant payout was exessive but they didnt go to court looking for that amount. Given our history own with industrial schools I’d thought we’d have a little more sympathy. When you send your child to school its a reasonable expectation they they arent going to be made urinate in a bucket in the corner of the class.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:45 AM

@seanmccann:

Where is the lack of sympathy. Stating a fact that kids will slag other kids and that bullying is a natural phenomenon is not showing a lack of sympathy.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin:

Saying that I “Obviously you’ve never seen the aftermath of teen bullying.” is not simply stating the consequences. It is you getting on your high horse and incorrectly making the assumption that I do not understand the very sad impact bullying has on some kids.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Jan 28th 2017, 4:37 PM

I don’t know, the bigger story has to be about the sheer stupidity of the teacher. Doesn’t say much about their education system if fools without an ounce of common sense are employed.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 28th 2017, 7:59 PM

If everyone who got bullied in school was appropriately compensated, the economy would collapse. Literally.

Mute Aaron Ramsey
    Favourite Aaron Ramsey
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:09 AM

I’d even drink it for that money.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:15 AM

trump would pay to drink it.

Mute Kerry Gallagher
    Favourite Kerry Gallagher
    Jan 29th 2017, 8:03 AM

@Aaron Ramsey: A lot of sick people on here

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:23 AM

Still undergoing therapy? Bet that’ll finish up today now that she got to say that in court. If not, we have a serious snowflake on our hands here.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Mr Snuffleupagus: Imagine what she would have been like had she passed through some of our infamous industrial schools or laundries ffs.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:38 AM

Attempted suicide after sustained bullying by her classmates. Definitely a serious snowflake. Those suicidal teens just need a kick up the backside. No need for mental health programmes at all.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:49 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: yeah, cos everyone who gets humiliated runs off to commit suicide, and this has nothing to do with compo.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:00 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: And it’s easy to see where she gets it from – her litigious snowflake parents.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:13 AM

@mr Snuffleupagus. You should learn how to read ‘news’. It is obviously AFP’s intention to get people riled up about compensation and snowflakes despite the facts of the story saying something different

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:24 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: And you should learn between the lines.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin

@Mr snuffleupagus. You’ll get to the media studies module of the junior cert next year. We can maybe have a conversation then when you understand what reading between the lines means. When you’re a bit older, I recommend reading up on critical discourse analysis.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:29 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: No need I spent 6 years in college doing media and working in Irish media thereafter. I’ve probably forgotten more about media that you’ll ever know, but thanks anyway.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:31 AM

You have obviously forgotten a lot!

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 28th 2017, 8:02 PM

Why are you squabbling like petulant children? It seems like you both have legitimate points to make. Just make them.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall

Still in therapy? God forbid anything really serious should happen in this girl’s life.

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat

My school didn’t even have a toilet. We had the back wall or the ditch. Am I due a payout!!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:15 AM

That’s taking the proverbial.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:24 AM

Must have been an Irish judge.

Mute Bejasus Bejorrah
    Favourite Bejasus Bejorrah
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:17 AM

It’s all trumps fault

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:56 AM

Bajasus, nah…she was anticipating Brexit.

Mute Bejasus Bejorrah
    Favourite Bejasus Bejorrah
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:04 AM

So all the red thumbs agree it’s not trumps fault?…yaaayyy .a win for trump..the snowflakes are beginning to see the light..

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Jan 28th 2017, 11:28 AM

She’s taking the piss

Mute Michael Nyland
    Favourite Michael Nyland
    Jan 28th 2017, 4:53 PM

When I think of all the times I got a “níl” to my urgent request to “an bhfuil cead agam dul go dtí an leithreas? “.

I could have been someone.

Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams
    Jan 28th 2017, 12:34 PM

How much would she have got for a dump?

Mute Donal Proctor
    Favourite Donal Proctor
    Jan 28th 2017, 10:20 AM

New form of Torture liked by Trump but he will leave it to his security experts to decide

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jan 28th 2017, 1:06 PM

@Donal Proctor: __ Piss-boarding?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jan 28th 2017, 1:10 PM

@Ted Murray: yes, good one.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 28th 2017, 8:04 PM

Piss-boarding, eh? Sounds like a potentially valuable intelligence gathering tool. I will employ some russian prostitutes to facilitate further research.

Mute Lenny Hanlon
    Favourite Lenny Hanlon
    Jan 28th 2017, 2:54 PM

She was lucky she had a bucket. It was a bit rougher in a rural Irish national school in the 1960′s

Mute liam hayes
    Favourite liam hayes
    Jan 28th 2017, 1:26 PM

Surely “Davy shite in the bucket” is in for a few bob after this ruling.