You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

[Pic: Brian Byrne]

The parking ban at Dollymount won't be lifted (...Northsiders will have to learn to drive elsewhere)

Barriers were put in place following an incident involving a car stuck in the sand, which led to a woman being injured.

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL says a ban on parking on Dublin’s Dollymount beach, introduced earlier this summer, is to remain in place.

Until recently, there were tw0 car-parks on the strand — one at the southern ‘Wooden Bridge’ end and another in the centre of the beach, near the ‘Causeway’ from Raheny.

Temporary barriers were put in place following an incident involving a car stuck in the sand, which led to a woman being injured.

There has been some opposition to the move locally, with beachgoers reporting an increase in traffic congestion in the area on sunny days.

Concerns have also been raised that people who have difficulty walking, including the elderly, could be adversely impacted by the new arrangements.

According to a statement from the Council:

Due to the haphazard nature of parking, emergency vehicles had difficulty attending to the incident. For this reason and following strong advice from the Gardaí, management in the Parks Service made a decision to cease vehicular access to Dollymount Beach with the exception of emergency and other authorised vehicles.

This recent incident was the culmination of a number of incidents over many years where the 24 hour access to the beach from the causeway has resulted in anti-social activity and concern for public safety. Vehicular access to the beach has caused several challenges to An Gardai Siochana over the years both from a public safety, crime prevention and traffic management perspective.

The overall issue of safety was already under review by Dublin City Council and consideration was being given to restricting the access which would have involved a process of consultation etc however the recent incident resulted in the decision having to be brought forward and there was no real opportunity for consultation or for giving adequate notice.

Council or lifeguarding staff who patrol the beach will meet individuals or groups who are unable to walk the distance between the new set-down areas and the beach itself, according to DCC.

The beach, which runs for 5km along the length of Bull Island on the north side of Dublin Bay, was once fully open to traffic.

The wide expanse of the strand meant it became a traditional spot for locals to learn how to drive. On cloudy days, the relatively quiet Causeway is still a popular spot for L-plate drivers.

Read Half a million euro worth of cannabis seized as gardaí target drugs gang

Read Four-foot-tall emu ‘stolen’ from pet farm in Carlow

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:39 PM

Where am I going to go dogging now?

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:43 PM

The Summit, Howth.

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:53 PM

Does that depraved shit actually go on over here?

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:02 PM

It does joe.. Happened to a “friend of mine” one time.. It was in Dollymount too…

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:06 PM

“Does that *depraved* shit actually go on over here?”

I didn’t realise they had broadband on the Mayflower

Mute Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Bambi Keeling
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:45 PM

Shellybanks near Ringsend

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:21 PM

Marlboro street

Mute John Bransfield
    Favourite John Bransfield
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:37 PM

I thought it was common sense not to drive on sand unless your in a 4×4?

Mute Darragh DB O'Neill
    Favourite Darragh DB O'Neill
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:48 PM

dollier doesn’t having sand in the true sense of the word… its compacted enough to drive on with no hassle at all.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Aug 25th 2014, 8:35 PM

Darragh on a hot day, the sand gets very soft and churned up. People constantly get stuck there.

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Aug 25th 2014, 6:24 PM

Blame the dopey cow that got her car stuck and then decided to run over herself to make things worse

Mute Shane Gibney
    Favourite Shane Gibney
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:00 PM

Simple solution to it build a decent road to access the beach and build a car park that isn’t sand..just to easy for them the rather have the typical irish attitude ah sure feck it will just close it feck them

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:09 PM

That whole surrounding area is a bird sanctuary, I doubt turning it into a car park would go down well.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:09 PM

You couldn’t build a car park on or near the beach without spending a lot of money. The tide came right up the track in the photo above during the storms last winter.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:48 PM

Tarmac the lot. That way you wont get sand on your feet after you go for a swim.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:41 PM

Yoo haven’t been able to drive on Dollymount beach for about ten years. There was a small aree for car parking on the beach but this has been closed off now.

Mute Darryl Weathers
    Favourite Darryl Weathers
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:32 PM

*You

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:21 PM

Critical intervention there.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:42 PM

Correct the yoo but leave the aree alone

Mute cillian32
    Favourite cillian32
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:42 PM

Women drivers …Lol

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:32 PM

Typical council ban everything , no solutions in their brains

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:13 PM

Ban the council. These people are a waste of oxygen never mind tax payers money

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:36 PM

Hmmmm
    I’m a southsider and I learned to drive on that beach !

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:41 PM

Glen. Seriously, what experience would you get by “driving” on a beach?

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Aug 25th 2014, 8:12 PM

clutch control, and gear change

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Aug 25th 2014, 10:28 PM

Steering. Using mirrors. Pretty much all of the basics.

Mute TheIrishBrain
    Favourite TheIrishBrain
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:29 PM

We drove on the beach years ago learned how to handle and control a car safely in a open space.

Mute Peter Pan
    Favourite Peter Pan
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:59 PM

The part about emergency services says it all really, the place was bananas last time I was there.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Aug 25th 2014, 3:55 PM

Life’s a beach ………….i..

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Aug 25th 2014, 8:15 PM

Absolute madness that cars are allowed on the beach in the first place. Drive by swimming next.

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Aug 25th 2014, 5:22 PM

Nanny state Ireland inc

Mute Shane Gibney
    Favourite Shane Gibney
    Aug 25th 2014, 4:14 PM

I’m talking about when you go down the slip just there as a car park roads in bits holes you’d lose your car in

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Aug 26th 2014, 9:18 AM

Not before time