You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Undated image of Donal O'Sullivan Find Donal O'Sullivan Facebook page via Facebook

Irish man missing for four days in Australia found alive

Donal O’Sullivan was found in the stairwell of a Sydney shopping centre and is being treated in hospital for his injuries.

AN IRISH MAN who had been missing in Australia for four days has been found alive.

Donal O’Sullivan, from Clooney in Clare, was discovered injured in the stairwell of a Sydney shopping centre shortly after 9.30pm (12.30pm GMT) today.

He had last been seen on Saturday morning in Bondi Junction in Sydney by his brother. He never returned to his home and did not show up to work in Canberra on Monday.

Members of the Irish community in Sydney had organised search parties in the area in a bid to find the 33-year-old.

People at the scene confirmed that he was found in a stairwell in Eastgate Shopping Centre in Bondi Junction, just yards from where he was last seen.

He has been taken to the nearby St Vincent’s Hospital to be treated for dehydration and a broken arm.

A message on the Find Donal O’Sullivan Facebook page thanked everyone who had been involved in the search for their help.

“Hi everyone thanks for your support over the last few days,” the message, which was posted just after 1pm Irish time, says.

“We can confirm Donal has been found and is being looked after. We appreciate all your efforts and support! As soon as we know more you will too”.

Police in Sydney had issued an appeal earlier today to find Donal, saying that there were grave concerns for his welfare.

-Additional reporting by Amy Croffey

Read: Irish community in Sydney gather to search for missing Clare man > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    May 7th 2014, 1:49 PM

Good news!!

But how was he not found for 4 days??

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 7th 2014, 1:46 PM

That’s great news.

Mute Barry Creed
    Favourite Barry Creed
    May 7th 2014, 1:59 PM

Drunk. Fair enough. Broken arm. Fine. But you do eventually sober up, so how come he was stuck there for four days? It’s not like a broken arm would prevent you from moving?

Mute Conor Doran
    Favourite Conor Doran
    May 7th 2014, 2:01 PM

Strange one, unless he was somehow trapped from his fall…

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    Favourite Goggles McGlasses
    May 7th 2014, 2:13 PM

That shopping centre is huge, it would be so easy to go unnoticed in an unused stairwell for days.

Mute Jaycee Connallain
    Favourite Jaycee Connallain

It may be due to the fact that doors into fire stairwells in Australia close automatically behind you when you enter the stairwell. They cannot be reopened once they close, this is to stop people leaving a stairwell into a floor that’s on fire, or to stop smoke getting into the stairwell. You must continue down all the levels in the stairwell to the exit door at the bottom. If your not Australian and are unfamiliar with this system, are injured as well, it’s possible to get confused.

Mute Jaycee Connallain
    Favourite Jaycee Connallain
    May 7th 2014, 2:18 PM

*cannot be opened from inside the stairwell

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 7th 2014, 2:38 PM

I would imagine there would be alarm switches fitted throughout

Mute Gary Stafford
    Favourite Gary Stafford
    May 7th 2014, 3:17 PM

@goggles. That shopping centre is tiny, only 3 floors in it. I’m at a loss trying to figure out how he was there for so long, I’m sure all will come clear in the next day or so

Mute wallyballs
    Favourite wallyballs
    May 7th 2014, 4:19 PM

That shopping centre is tiny….its halfway dwn spring st on the left.

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    May 7th 2014, 4:43 PM

Barry maby he was kidnapped beaten and thrown back there 4 days later..

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    May 7th 2014, 5:02 PM

Sorry I misread…I saw Bondi Junction and automatically thought of Westfield

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    May 7th 2014, 1:47 PM

Great news, hope he gets well soon.

Mute Jacqui O Gorman
    Favourite Jacqui O Gorman
    May 7th 2014, 1:53 PM

Good news!! A happy outcome is becoming rare in these sort of circumstances. A big relief for family & friends I’m sure. Well done to all involved in the search!

Mute Gemma McCarthy
    Favourite Gemma McCarthy
    May 7th 2014, 2:26 PM

Thank god he has been found alive and as well as anyone could hope for! It is great news for Donies family and friends and everyone here at home in Clare who knew him from school etc and were very concerned. Big deal if he had been drinking! Who cares!! Anybody who actually knows him wont give a damn if he was drunk only that he has been found alive. Best possible outcome for his family.

Mute Cathal Henchy
    Favourite Cathal Henchy
    May 7th 2014, 3:40 PM

Noel, you should really wait for the facts to emerge before making hurtfull insulting comments like that. The emergency services spent practically no time or money looking for him as it took them 4 days to bother to do anything, about what they saw as an Irish lad who was probably off drinking somewhere. As soon as they did check the CCTV footage (today) they found him straight away. And with regards to the people who volunteered to take the time to look for him – I happen to know for a fact that they don’t care whether or not he was drinking, they are indeed delighted and relieved just to have found him alive and well.

Mute Gemma McCarthy
    Favourite Gemma McCarthy
    May 7th 2014, 3:44 PM

I read that earlier Cathal. That John hadn’t been getting much help from rescue services/police. But as I hadn’t any facts, I didn’t want to say anything!

Mute Monica Zadro
    Favourite Monica Zadro
    May 7th 2014, 11:47 PM

HEAR HEAR! Cant imagine what friends and family went through for those four days himself included! Not too many good outcomes like this one Delighted for them all!

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 7th 2014, 1:57 PM

Just a bit of great news at last thank god.

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    May 7th 2014, 1:55 PM

Thank god he’s ok

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    May 7th 2014, 2:02 PM

Yep good man yourself God, and while your in the merciful mood,could you find the 200 Nigerian girls and get them home safely. Yours Stephen

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 7th 2014, 2:35 PM

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.”.. James 5:13.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    May 7th 2014, 2:50 PM

Can you do prayers by proxy? If so Frank could you say a prayer for the safe return of the Nigerian girls.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 7th 2014, 3:06 PM

The religious heathens think they’ll be heard by God because they recite long repetitious chants

“But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking”.. Matthew 6:7

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 3:18 PM

I gotta say Frank, your comments seem a lot more repetitious and lengthy than Stephen’s. His are fairly succinct and unique so far.

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    May 7th 2014, 4:41 PM

@stephen.. They reckon those poor girls have already been sold.. Heartbreaking..:(

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    May 7th 2014, 5:48 PM

@Elaine sure is heartbreaking and terrifying,just thought they might be a bit higher on Gods priority list.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 7th 2014, 7:07 PM
    Mute Gemma McCarthy
    Favourite Gemma McCarthy
    May 7th 2014, 2:46 PM

What does it matter if you do or if you do not know him! Its a good news story! A lad missing has been found alive! It should make everyone a little happier.

Mute Tom Quinn
    Favourite Tom Quinn
    May 7th 2014, 2:15 PM

Good news. Does’nt matter if he was drunk,he’s safe now.

Mute Janet Coyle
    Favourite Janet Coyle

Thank God makes a change to hear good news hope he recovers x

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    May 7th 2014, 1:50 PM

Sadly I also thought.. Drunk. Hopefully I was wrong.. Either way it’s a great outcome.

Mute Mary Gormley
    Favourite Mary Gormley
    May 7th 2014, 2:04 PM

Great news. His familiy must be over the moon. He may have been locked in the stairwell. These things happen in big buildings.

Mute Cathy Bowes
    Favourite Cathy Bowes

I think it’s a bit presumptuous of everyone to think he was locked all this time! That’s stupid to think!! The effects of drinking would have worn off by Sunday, if he went out to get more drink he would have been sighted. Sounds to me like he may have sought shelter under the stairwell in his initial drunken state then slipped or fell & broke is arm & somehow got trapped under there – hence he wasn’t able to walk home home or call friends to come get him.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 2:05 PM

Bondi Junction is an absolute dump. The Cock n Bull where he was last seen is as bad as it gets – even there. Guy goes missing early in the morning – basically after getting plastered.

In all honesty I had little interest in his case when I read of the circumstances and little interest in this ‘great news’ either. It’s not as if a cure for cancer has just been announced.

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    May 7th 2014, 2:09 PM

Aren’t you a ball of joy!?!

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    May 7th 2014, 2:11 PM

Gerard, I’m so happy that you’ve never had to go through what his family and friends have endured over the last few days, I hope you never do.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 2:12 PM

Thanks Goggles, me too.

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    May 7th 2014, 2:20 PM

Guy had 3 pints on a Saturday morning, wouldn’t call it “plastered” second of all if the place is should a “Kip” as you put it, why did the whole Irish community pull together here and go out looking for him in search party’s and hand out flyers, he fell down an Open lift shaft that was meters deep, it could have happened anyone, if you have little interest in this case why bother comment you miserable fool, the man was lucky to come away with his life

Mute Joe Murtagh
    Favourite Joe Murtagh
    May 7th 2014, 2:23 PM

Well said allan o reilly

Mute Mark Rooney
    Favourite Mark Rooney
    May 7th 2014, 2:35 PM

There may be couple of drunk Irish in Bondi cause of the Bull but it’s far from an absolute dump its a massive shopping district and a hub for the Irish community in Sydney I had great Craic there.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 2:41 PM

Good man Mark!

Mute Mark Rooney
    Favourite Mark Rooney
    May 7th 2014, 3:17 PM

Thank you Gerard..!

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 3:27 PM

No thanks necessary Mark. If it wasn’t for your response I’d never have known how the Westfield in Bondi junction rivals 5th Avenue, Bond Street etc.

I’d also never have known how the area provides such a unique environment for the Irish to basically not mix with others, socialise in high vis vests straight off the site and sample a completely new culture in surroundings just like home.

I’d definitely never have known that you had great craic there – when I woke this morning I had no idea what floated your boat but my life has been thoroughly enriched by your tales of bravura down under.

I salute you, sir. We all salute you.

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    May 7th 2014, 3:35 PM

Gerard,
    Your parents must be so proud of you…

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 3:40 PM

You’re right TOP CAT – I’ve let myself, my family, my school and my community down. What do Mr. and Mrs. CAT think of you? They must like you given that they called you TOP.

Mute James Doody
    Favourite James Doody
    May 7th 2014, 3:55 PM

Couldn’t agree with you more man, I lived in Sydney for two years the irish are an embarrassment over there:-(

Mute Mark Rooney
    Favourite Mark Rooney
    May 7th 2014, 4:02 PM

Interesting!

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    May 7th 2014, 4:45 PM

I agree Alan.. What ever happened to him Atleast he’s safe and well

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    May 7th 2014, 8:44 PM

Who drinks pints on any morning???????

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    May 7th 2014, 9:30 PM

We’re you born with a golden spoon shoved in your mouth

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 8th 2014, 9:09 AM

I believe the phrase is silver spoon but a golden spoon? My, my, my. But why stop there Alan? Perhaps a platinum spoon? Maybe even stretch to a rhodium spoon?

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    May 7th 2014, 1:56 PM

Well done everyone involved in the search. Up the Banner !

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    May 7th 2014, 2:10 PM

That’s brilliant news, so happy for his family at home and the groups of people who were out searching for him. It’s good to have a happy ending to one of these missing abroad stories for once.

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    May 7th 2014, 2:14 PM

It wasn’t a bank holiday you fool! Can you not read ? It said he didn’t turn up for work on Monday, there was no bank holiday in New South Wales, clown

Mute Mark Carroll
    Favourite Mark Carroll
    May 7th 2014, 2:19 PM

LOL

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 2:22 PM

Absolutely! I mean for God’s sake – nobody ever works on a bank holiday. Have you ever called a hospital, taxi or restaurant on a bank holiday? Absolutely everybody is at home watching Bondi rescue! If only we had more incisive, logical people like you in the world Alan.

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    May 7th 2014, 2:25 PM

Your making no sense,

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 2:28 PM

That stings Alan. Was I a little inchoate for you? Let me break it down reeeeeeal slow:

1. Some people work on bank holidays
    2. Well that’s it really – fairly simple

Mute Mark Carroll
    Favourite Mark Carroll
    May 7th 2014, 2:28 PM

Sure it’s terrible hard to even find an open Tesco on a bank holiday Monday these days, nobody works!

Mute Nigel Allen
    Favourite Nigel Allen
    May 7th 2014, 3:18 PM

You’re not your. Clown!

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    May 7th 2014, 9:32 PM

It wasn’t a bank holiday !!!!!! That’s my point! Ffs

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    May 7th 2014, 3:23 PM

great news…..speedy recovery and thanks to all the people who searched, well done…..humanity at its best.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 7th 2014, 3:51 PM

And here was me thinking humanity at its best was Nelson Mandela, Mahatma Gandhi, Oscar Schindler etc. Nope, it’s going out looking for an Irish lad who got locked and fell over.

Mute Peter Hannon
    Favourite Peter Hannon
    May 8th 2014, 11:16 AM

The lad is critically ill. Many of the same people in the Irish community who were up off their arses looking for the lad will also be out in the early hours of Saturday raising funds on a suicide awareness walk around Bondi. That’s humanity in action mate.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 8th 2014, 11:51 AM

OK Peter, in all seriousness I didn’t realise the severity of the situation. There’s a big difference between a broken arm and having brain surgery for head trauma.

Hands up, I was ill-informed and came across as a smart ass having not made myself aware of the seriousness of the case.

Apologies to anybody who was offended including you and the guy’s friends and family. No problem calling it out when I’ve been wrong or caused offence.

Mute niby mccormac
    Favourite niby mccormac
    May 8th 2014, 7:29 PM

You are one ignorant individual. You speak about Bondi Junction being a let down for you as if the Irish community should apologise to you for this misfortunate accident. When really you are the embarrassment. Think before you speak. Paper never refused ink. Consider deleting your previous comments please you have embarrassed yourself!

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 8th 2014, 8:55 PM

Ah no. My apology is to anybody offended at snap judgements made about this guy and his plight. As for Bondi junction my opinion is that it’s an absolute dive. End of really.

Mute Brigid Kelleher
    Favourite Brigid Kelleher
    May 9th 2014, 5:49 PM

Gerard McAuliffe, you’re a smart Alec with a vindictive streak. Don’t try to worm your way back into civilised company. You have exposed yourself.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    May 9th 2014, 6:14 PM

You’re an intriguing individual, Brigid. The term ‘smart Alec’ conjures images of an angry pre-pubescent girl in 1970′s Ireland arguing with someone in a primary school playground. ‘Civilised company’ suggests you like to sit around drinking port, playing backgammon and discussing the worsening situation in Eastern Ukraine on a Friday night.

In any case I can certainly confirm that I have not ‘exposed myself’ to you or anybody else – one can’t do something like that in ‘civilised society’.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4

there was an article yesterday about journos not mentioning alcohol as reasons for explaining why things happen. Ill assume he was being a bit Irish?

Mute Laura Hughes
    Favourite Laura Hughes
    May 7th 2014, 6:45 PM

Hope he recovers from it all…and brilliant to see the community get together to help.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    May 7th 2014, 4:11 PM

Sounds like something from the hangover 2, when Leslie chow goes missing!

Mute Gary Comerford
    Favourite Gary Comerford
    May 7th 2014, 2:59 PM

Wow good news, it’s seldom stories like these have happy ending, great to hear

Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran
    May 7th 2014, 5:15 PM

A broken arm does he walk on his hands ???

Mute joe power
    Favourite joe power
    May 7th 2014, 8:35 PM

Some people just shouldn’t drink

Mute Yvette Lysaght
    Favourite Yvette Lysaght
    May 7th 2014, 7:00 PM

@ Mark Carroll
    Some people actually do work bank holiday Monday’s. I’m one of them and, funny thing really, I work for Tesco’s!

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 7th 2014, 7:35 PM

Good news at last…

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 7th 2014, 4:28 PM

Thank god for that. Miracles happening left right and center. May we have many more happy stories to these situations.
    Thoughts and best wishes with him and his family.

Mute Lynn Hayes
    Favourite Lynn Hayes
    May 7th 2014, 9:03 PM

Thank God, I should imagine a major relief for his family.

Mute John Teevan
    Favourite John Teevan
    May 7th 2014, 4:41 PM

It was a closet and he didn’t want to come out!so his boyfriend broke his arm!fact

Mute James Mc Fadden
    Favourite James Mc Fadden
    May 8th 2014, 2:22 AM

What a piss head

Mute Gaz
    Favourite Gaz
    May 8th 2014, 11:46 AM

Aussie police didnt give a fuk because he was irish. Fact. They didn’t take it seriously at all. W*nkers. Hope he has a fast recovery

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    May 8th 2014, 1:56 PM

Prob same as foreigners that go missing are treated in Ireland , glad he was found anyway , we’ve all had few drinks fallen over ,

Mute Dolores O'Shea
    Favourite Dolores O'Shea
    May 8th 2014, 5:15 PM

No, actually we haven’t ALL had a few drinks and fallen over. Glad he’s found and will hopefully recover but if drink was involved, it should be another wake-up call.

Mute Amanda Smith
    Favourite Amanda Smith
    May 8th 2014, 3:10 AM

Im so glad this man has been found ,,, and god forgive you ppl that are saying horrible things ,,, when you haven got all the facts ,,,,,
    I just hope nothing ever happens you or any of your family ,,,,, cause when someone in your family goes missing its the worst feeling in the world ……FACT !!!!!!
    WE STILL HAVE PPL MISSINGIN IRELAND AND THEY ARE SOME MOTHERS SON OR DAUGHTER ,,, SO SHAME ON THE PPL ON THIS THAT ARE SO QUICK TO JUDGE ,,,,,
    IM SO HAPPY FOR HIS FAMILY XXXXXXXXX

Mute Richard Carroll
    Favourite Richard Carroll
    May 7th 2014, 10:29 PM

Sounds like he woz havin the Craic anyways,). Us Clare lads are madder then a box of angry snapping turtles when we get going on da gargle. Great he’s okay. Hon da banner! !!

Mute John Teevan
    Favourite John Teevan
    May 7th 2014, 5:34 PM

Didn’t even make it too the bush classic

Mute Mick M
    Favourite Mick M
    May 7th 2014, 11:40 PM

Always alcohol with the Irish