You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micheál Martin is still waiting on a call from US President Donald Trump. Patrick Semansky/AP/Press Association Images

Taoiseach Micheál Martin still waiting on first phone call with Donald Trump

Micheál Martin has spoken to several world leaders and senior EU figures – but not Donald Trump.

NEARLY 20 DAYS after being appointed Taoiseach, Micheál Martin has spoken to several world leaders and senior EU figures – but he still hasn’t received a call from US President Donald Trump. 

In response to questions from TDs, Martin confirmed that he had “not spoken with the President of the United States of America since my appointment as Taoiseach”. 

While few Taoisigh have faced a more uncertain world upon taking office, the lack of any communications with the White House is somewhat notable from a country traditionally seen as a key ally. 

Leo Varadkar had a 10-15 minute phone call with Trump 14 days after being appointed Taoiseach. 

Enda Kenny met Barack Obama in Washington for St Patrick’s Day shortly after being appointed taoiseach, while Brian Cowen met George Bush just over a month after taking office. 

Martin has already spoken with UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson to discuss Brexit and the Covid-19 crisis, while he has also been in contact with President of the European Council Charles Michel and German Chancellor Angela Merkel among others. 

Prof Ben Tonra, who lectures on Irish foreign policy at University College Dublin, said the Trump presidency had already illustrated that it’s a place where “norms and procedures go out the window”.

“In the normal course of events this would be scheduled by the State department,” he said. 

While stressing that “personal chemistry is decisive” among leaders of bigger nations, he said such a scenario is less a priority for Ireland. 

“When you’re dealing with asymmetry between US and Ireland, it is far less so,” Tonra said. He suggested that there was little evidence that Varadkar and Trump enjoyed any significant rapport. 

There were questions raised following the election of Boris Johnson as UK Prime Minister, after it took nearly a week to arrange a call with Varadkar. 

However, the call – when it happened – was described as friendly

The Department of the Taoiseach did not respond to questions about any plans for a phone call with Trump. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Adam Hernes
    Favourite Adam Hernes
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:18 AM

Would make more sense to talk to Biden.

Mute Nafets Erupe
    Favourite Nafets Erupe
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:36 AM

@Adam Hernes: any chance we can convince Mihal to hold his breath while he waits?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Jul 16th 2020, 9:11 AM

@Adam Hernes: Biden is waiting until Mary Lou is in the seat

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Jul 16th 2020, 9:16 AM

@Adam Hernes: Ha Ha….Is that sleepy Joe your talking about?

Mute Hugh McDonagh
    Favourite Hugh McDonagh
    Jul 16th 2020, 11:58 AM

@Adam Hernes: Joe can tell Martin about his Hairy Legs
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DbE2SmV2bs

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jul 16th 2020, 3:14 PM

@Adam Hernes: Hi Michael , Donald here are the pubs open yet ? I was thinking of coming over.

Mute Hup Abù
    Favourite Hup Abù
    Jul 16th 2020, 3:56 PM

@Adam Hernes: you obviously haven’t seen any of his weird/sick interactions with women and children, a former president of ours been one of them. . .It would make more sense if the cops spoke to Biden.

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:22 AM

Ah didums is the little weasel feeling left out. Not as important as he thinks he is .

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:45 AM

@Derek Anderson: he wasn’t to one who raised it though, which would suggest Martin isn’t overly concerned.

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:22 AM

A slow news day at the journal ha .

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:30 AM

I wouldn’t be too upset, it’s Trump.

From all reports he gets fairly nasty when calling other leaders and can be abusive if they don’t agree with him, except of course with leaders he wants to be like…. Like Putin.

Mute Hugh McDonagh
    Favourite Hugh McDonagh
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:01 PM

@Barry: What accounts are they ,do you have any links?

Mute stefino
    Favourite stefino
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:10 AM

Hes to busy dealing with Chi Na

Mute Jim O Brien Tech
    Favourite Jim O Brien Tech
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:21 AM

And??

Mute Gary Purcell
    Favourite Gary Purcell
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:47 AM

I think Trump has more important issues than a phone call to Me-hole Martin or Leo Vanker

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:36 AM

Trump has probably been trying to call using the dial code for Finland or Vanuatu on the assumption that’s where Ireland is?

Mute Seosamh Púinse
    Favourite Seosamh Púinse
    Jul 16th 2020, 6:29 AM

Pinky and the Brain

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:24 AM

The United States is not an ally politically at this point in time and maybe even less so with a change of president. The main goal of both parties is jobs and to do that they have both targeted American companies here. Make no mistake they can and will swat us aside to bring companies back

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:32 PM

@ChuckE: no they won’t. Those American companies rely on being based in Ireland to access European markets. No doubt about it, when Trump made that claim, the companies and legislators in the US swatted HIM aside.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:04 AM

Lucky Michael. A call from Bozo the clown would be more welcome.

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:24 AM

@sean de paore: Well it would be a call from Bozo the clown!

Mute Hugh McDonagh
    Favourite Hugh McDonagh
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:02 PM

@sean de paore: Biden isnt available at the moment

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:49 PM

@sean de paore: Boris !

Mute Peter Hegarty
    Favourite Peter Hegarty
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:21 AM

They should say when he calls Micheál is on the other line can you hold?

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:53 AM

He is the Lucky one who wants a call from the Dethol King

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:49 AM

Trump just tweeted “Not your Taoiseach”.

Mute Josephus Miller
    Favourite Josephus Miller
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:04 AM

Hi! You’ve reached the Corey hotline. $4.95 a minute. Here are some words that rhyme with Corey

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:32 AM

Absolutely terrified of Trump otherwise he would do everything to stop American tourists coming here at present, Trump probably hasn’t a blue who he is either.

Mute Celtic Kid
    Favourite Celtic Kid
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:16 AM

MM does not have a vote in USA. DT has his own agenda and is fast running out of time! The Poll’s, the Poll’s!

Mute Hugh McDonagh
    Favourite Hugh McDonagh
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:04 PM

@Celtic Kid: The Primary Model has been wrong 2 times in 108 years and predicted 2016 has gone for Trump despite the virus and the looting

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Hugh McDonagh: yawn

Mute Ronaldo Blanc
    Favourite Ronaldo Blanc
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:42 AM

Mehole Martin desperately craving a pat on his head from his master. It’s a pity he doesn’t have the balls to cancel all US flights into the country to prevent a second wave. Ireland is the perfect US puppet state.

Mute Radek W
    Favourite Radek W
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:55 AM

Why would you wait for that?

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Jul 16th 2020, 9:10 AM

I think he might have a few other issues on the go that are more important than chatting about the “undocumented” Irish and Brexit.

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Jul 16th 2020, 7:03 AM

He’s sending a good luck card in your new job instead to Micheal

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:39 AM

Pick up the phone and ring him yourself ya clown.

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Jul 16th 2020, 2:20 PM

Michael: Hello, is that President Chump?
    US President: the name’s Trump, Myhole
    Michael: Mehall Mr Stump
    US President: Whatever. So I believe you are the new Tea Shock.
    Michael: that’s correct
    US President: I’m fond of the odd cup of tea myself.
    Do you drink Myhole?
    Michael: I like the odd Varadkar and coke.
    US President: I don’t like Russian drinks myself because of what they Putin them. So I hear the Irish pubs are not opening
    for a while unless people buy €9 worth of crisps.
    Michael: Well we do our best Mr Frump.
    US President: If you want my advice I would send that virus back to China just like we did in the good old USA. Up the Rebublic.
    Michael: I’m with you there Mr Thump.

Mute RogersRabbit
    Favourite RogersRabbit
    Jul 16th 2020, 10:38 AM

He’s too busy posing with Goya beans.

Mute Ciarán Byrne
    Favourite Ciarán Byrne
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:48 AM

Wait it will come the most important call ever 2 weeks before polling day, one of Trump’s aids will say to him you need the irish American vote sir so better call there prime minister in Ireland ..to which the Taoiseach should answer the phone say hi Donald can I ring you back have Joe Biden on the other line and never bother his hole doing so

Mute SandraMeyler
    Favourite SandraMeyler
    Jul 16th 2020, 2:33 PM

Don’t bother Donald, he won’t be there long

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:15 AM

I must say in that pic trump looks like he is doing a

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 16th 2020, 11:25 AM

@BriP75:
    Or as my grandfather used to say” He has a head on him like a pig having a pIss”

Mute Marian C Cool
    Favourite Marian C Cool
    Jul 16th 2020, 5:46 PM

Why would he want subject himself to be disrespected and lied to?

Mute Míleata Watch Co
    Favourite Míleata Watch Co
    Jul 16th 2020, 1:48 PM

All he has to do is stop flights from the US and Don will be in the phone to him straight away

Mute Tomás O'Loughlin
    Favourite Tomás O'Loughlin
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:23 PM

Well it’ll be is “YOU’RE RIPPING US OFF!! LOOK AT MY GENIUS-IS-NESS!!!! WITCH-HUNT’S!!!!!!”

That’s it, that’s all he’s got.

Mute Aidan Conway
    Favourite Aidan Conway
    Jul 16th 2020, 3:11 PM

Poor lad Mícheál! Feel g lonely?

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Jul 16th 2020, 2:01 PM

Hullo? Can I schpeak to the yoghurt?

Mute seanfean
    Favourite seanfean
    Jul 17th 2020, 1:02 AM

Ring Ring!!! DT:”Meeham? it’s Donald, President of The World, best president ever” MM: “good evening your excellency how can I be of serv-” DT: “yeah never mind with that Meerkat, me and my buddies are flying over on air force one, great plane, really fast, I’m going to be stopping over at Doonbeg, best golf course in all history, for a few rounds. But first we want to loosen up on the driving range. We need a a fuuny looking Irish potato man to fire balls at. It’s gonna be you” MM: what an honor that you s- DT hangs up

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Jul 16th 2020, 3:44 PM

What would the expect call be about ?

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 16th 2020, 11:15 AM

Somebody must have flushed Donnys phone down the Jacks……

Mute Jim Lawlor
    Favourite Jim Lawlor
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:12 PM

He may regret that.