You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE CABINET HAS decided to place Donegal under Level 3 of restrictions, amid a spike in cases in the county.
The decision was made at an incorporeal meeting of ministers as they considered the latest advice from the National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET).
According to the data published earlier today from Health Protection and Surveillance Centre (HPSC), Donegal’s 14-day Covid-19 incidence rate of 122.5 per 100,000 population is second only to Dublin. With tonight’s latest figures, it now has eclipsed Dublin.
Speaking this evening, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said that government had “no choice other than to act, and act decisively”.
The restrictions will kick in from midnight tomorrow night and will last for three weeks.
“We will not hesistate to take whatever decisions are necessary to protect lives and public health,” Martin said. “The government has decided that all of Co Donegal must now join Dublin.”
The Taoiseach also announced additional supports for the county, with a 30% top-up to the restart plus grant to help those affected during the three-week period.
He said that while not inevitable, it could be the case that other areas could be put under stricter restrictions in the future as the virus continues to spread across the country.
Given Donegal’s proximity to Northern Ireland, the Taoiseach said he’d discussed developments with Stormont’s first minister Arlene Foster and deputy first minister Michelle O’Neill. He also said that Dr Ronan Glynn was in contact with his counterpart in Northern Ireland and that discussions would be ongoing to ensure the most effective co-operation as the fight against Covid-19 goes on.
Martin added that Covid levels in Louth, Waterford, Wicklow, Kildare, Cork and Galway are being watched closely.
Outbreaks are particularly bad in the Lifford and Stranorlar areas, acting chief medical officer Dr Ronan Glynn said at a press conference this evening. In the case of Stranorlar, it has 14-day incidence rate of 336 per 100,000 population – the highest in the country.
“We’re all eager for normal life to return,” he said. “But this is the opportunity the virus has been waiting on… do not underestimate the value of your individual actions. Please stick with this.
I do not want to be back here next week having to make recommendations for other counties. There is an opportunity now for people to take action to stop that from happening.
Today’s decision will come as a blow to the business owners of Donegal, their families and their staff, and especially for rural pubs which have only just opened the doors. I know this will feel like another set back after what has been a really tough year
Under Level 3, a range of new restrictions will apply in the county. All of the restrictions that apply in Dublin now apply in Donegal – with one exception.
People in Donegal would be told to stay in the county and only leave it for essential purposes, only have visitors from one other household in your home or garden and to work from home unless absolutely necessary.
Indoor dining in pubs and restaurants would not be allowed, with only outdoor dining permitted to a maximum of 15 people. Unlike Dublin, wet pubs can remain open but with the same limit of a maximum of 15 people outdoors only.
This weekend, weddings in Donegal can proceed as originally planned up to a limit of 50 guests. However, from Monday weddings can have a maximum of 25 guests.
The government unveiled its new five-level system last week and Dublin was moved from Level 2 to Level 3 on Saturday.
Related Reads
HSE urges people to reduce contacts with average for positive case now at six
Contact tracers to begin asking community transmission cases about visits to pubs and restaurants
'An awful lot of young people might have to die' if we were to pursue herd immunity strategy, Prof Nolan says
It is hoped that increasing restrictions will stabilise the growth rate of Covid-19 in an area and eventually see them reduce to an extent that restrictions can be loosened again.
Donegal-based GP Denis McCauley told TheJournal.ie earlier today that he and colleagues could see Covid-19 “bubbling through the actual community” in recent weeks.
“These aren’t discrete outbreaks,” he said. “It is bubbling through the community. We have one to two weeks to get this under control in Donegal.”
“I think Donegal is probably where it is now because of the warm weather and because it is summer.”
He said that people staycationing in Donegal, coupled with “a complacency that has existed or a little while”, might be the cause of the severe outbreak.
Reacting to the announcement, Sinn Féin TDs for Donegal Pearse Doherty and Pádraig Mac Lochlainn said it would come as “very difficult news” for the people of the county.
They said: “People have tried very hard in recent months to respond to the Covid-19 pandemic. It has been a very challenging time. We now need to dig deep and get back to Level 2 as soon as possible.
“Together we can get ahead of the virus by following public health advice, by limiting our social contacts and staying safe.”
With reporting from Christina Finn, Dominic McGrath
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
177 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
We’re trapped in a revolving door… lockdown followed by spike… lockdown again, spike again…and so on and on… That is not living with covid, that’s hiding indoors away from other humans everytime theres a spike.
@SB: The medical experts are well aware of it. The problem is that we don’t yet have the ammunition to go out and face this thing head on. Restrictions are our only really effective weapon against the spread.
Nothing sinister, but maybe a fantasy about the evil medical men sounds better and gets people excited…
@ihcalaM: so tell me then if its a situation where there’s lock downs every few weeks , open up again , another spike in cases, another lock down repeat and repeat over and over and the virus doesn’t go anywhere, meanwhile 50% of the population will likely lose their jobs and society is on the verge of crumbling, because if they keep on doing this is exactly what will happen, instead of just opening up and protecting those most at risk.
@David Lee: That time of day where David needs everything explained to him again. Locking down areas where the virus is getting out of hand is the only way we can stop over crowding in hospitals for now. They then reopen when numbers have stabilised. See you again tomorrow.
@SB: something sinister going on..NWO power, control and manipulatation …lockdownnthen when a smidgen of freedom doled out the sheeple think giv is great and life’s wonderful…bonkers loo la stuff and it’s a game of jump ok how high!!
@SB: We had record numbers on trollies last year. Throw a pandemic in the mix with our terrible health service and it’ll be a disaster for people suffering all illnesses.
@Peter Denham: and the virus is just going to magically disappear is it? You do realise lock downs won’t eradicate the virus don’t you, all it’ll do is cripple the economy, so keep on with lock downs every few weeks and by next year the country will be bankrupt,and that’s the fact, they haven’t got the money to substain this indefinitely.
@SB: it obviously won’t eradicate it. Just ignore the part where I said our health system will collapse then why don’t you? Also it’s a complete lie that there’s been lockdowns every few weeks. This is the way it has to be until there’s a vaccine.
@Peter Denham: you don’t know for certain it’ll cripple the health system, the majority of cases are young people who don’t need hospital treatment, what’s very certain though is that the economy will absolutely crash if you keep with constant lock downs which do no good whatsoever
@Peter Denham: you have conveniently ignored what I said, the majority of cases are younger people most who won’t require any hospital treatment, even with this spike in cases there’s no shortage of hospital beds right now, you also never answered my question about the economy?
@Peter Denham: And what if there’s never a vaccine? Or it takes years? Or it’s rushed out, and unsafe (manufacturers are indemnified against and harm it causes)
@Shane Fitzgibbon: then we continue as we are with a traffic light system. Cases increase, we protect ourselves by minimizing the spread with a lockdown. The whole world is in the same boat and you’re so tied up with what about the economy, the economy, the economy…. what good is the money if you don’t have your health. If you don’t have a solution or can’t suggest something different don’t ask questions cos it makes you sound unbearable.
@ihcalaM: agreed. We currently have 16 patients in icu. The maximum number of icu beds in this country is 64. When or if it reaches that level medical personnel will need to decide who lives or who doesn’t. No one wants a repeat of what happened in Italy. We have leeway of 45 more people in icu. This is an insidious disease. Its not only life threatening its side effects are widespread chronic and unpredictable in all ages.
@Peter Denham: so why did Sweden who never shut down not experience over crowding in their icu’s when we have more icu beds per 100,000 than they have?
@SB: By that logic, I don’t know for certain that jabbing a pencil in my eye will kill me. It will probably blind me and will definitely hurt. We know for certain our health system is crap. Throwing the pressure of a pandemic on top, might not cripple it but it won’t be pretty.
@Peter Denham: I bet there very few on trolleys now. Nobody going near the hospital. Just shows that people going to the hospital as a first resort rather than last. Obviously not in all cases but in some.
@Laro Alba: a traffic light system for years? People talk about the economy because we need a functional economy to pay for public services. If you think the health service is based now, what about when cuts come because income tax is way down and there are less businesses paying tax. The solution is more research and resources towards rapid testing. A short term lockdown may he needed but once numbers are very low then we need to be randomly testing everywhere and testing at our airports. The only way to close clusters is to break chains of transmissions. This can only be done if the vast majority of asymptomatic cases are caught before they become a problem. With better contact tracing then the virus can be chased down. We can’t go in and out of lockdown for years. That will cost more lives.
@Tim Otoole: nah.. At least donegal pronounce covid correctly.. The dubs should get level 5′d for saying “Cowwwwvid 19″ instead of covid 19 hehe.. Particularly news presentors
@gary mullen: yes it must be very tough for you personally Gary. So many people envying your geographical location. I particularly hear the people of the wild Atlantic way are sick of being woken up by the waves crashing against the cliffs. They dream of the loud brutish Dublin accent and police sirens for their wake up call!
@Luke: “Indoor dining in pubs and restaurants would not be allowed, with only outdoor dining permitted to a maximum of 15 people” don’t think there was an indication that that would not be the case if moved to level 3
@John Egan: apologies I’ve jumped from a times article who state that it was unclear
John look at the road map at level 3 it states pubs and restaurants can be open for indoor dining
Making it up as they go along
@Luke: the comments about not sticking rigidly to the road map and the levels remind me of the car driver who drivers through the potholes cause google says so rather than going around them as real thinking people would.
A roadmap and plan that are rigid and not flexible is doomed to failure if anything changes – so great if we have level 3 with some items excluded but that is the same as having level 3 with some extras included too.
The sad fact is that where road maps are interpreted too rigidly the wheels fall off the car from driving through the potholes and likewise with covid-19 rules.
Government don’t care about SMEs, trying to get orders of fresh produce ready for weekends, only to be told it won’t be needed, Green Party talking about waste of food, when your on a 100 k plus every year why should they care, small grant is not going to keep doors open, 6 weeks of paying staff before you get top up on wages, it is easy to see that not one of them had to pay wage packets every week, if we are all in this together why are they not suffering wage cuts and in some cases SME employers are getting no wages.
You couldn’t make this up, so now they are saying it’s people “staycationing” who might be behind the spike, after all the effort they put into forcing people to stay in Ireland on holidays with tales of how dangerous it was to travel abroad on holiday, when the reality is it’s actually a lot safer, unbelievable stuff, another day more comedy gold.
@SB: isn’t it October they’re supposed to start giving the tax incentive on staycations & eat out . How convenient. Nobody will have anywhere to spend it on .,
@SB: unfortunately a lot of those holidaying in Donegal are from across the border, where the problem is even worse. There’s no quick fix for border hoppers as you can’t just close the border out right.
@SB: They can’t win with people like you. “Staycationing” was an obvious encouragement for everyone to restrict foreign travel. Would you have preferred they completely banned all travel outside your county until next year…. to be on the safer side?
@Pascal Coleman: spot on, government are in a no win position
Not surprised Donegal has spiked. Was there and very little controls in place. Buffet breakfast in hotel with guests sharing scoopers, people ordering and gathering at the bars. That combined with the proximity to NI where the virus is in overdrive. Perfect storm
@SB: Ya see there’s the problem right there, they are basing The Donegal and other Casedemic lockdowns on “Might have been”. In other words completely baseless reasons. On top of this, pretty much everyone with the infection will suffer nothing more than a Common Cold (Also Coronavirus) or possibly nothing, purely asymptomatic.
NPHET, mere getting orgasmic now at wanting to shut down many parts of the country. Last night one of this NPHET muppets came out with a nefarious statement about the young dying, still trying to figure out what their agenda is with this unsupported by research narrative they keep using.
The NPHET ego is losing the run of itself and this failed Government have absolved themselves from making any economic, social and generally helpful decisions. They merely allow an unelected body drive this country into the ground.
@Pascal Coleman: why, it’s far far safer to fly on half empty planes to quiet holiday resorts abroad as I did myself then it is fork out a small fortune to stay in brutal weather in Ireland bored to tears and then you get Covid-19 to top it all off, yeah sounds great alright.
@SB: @SB: Because the experts (who are certainly not you and me) say that containment is the key to alleviating ALL of us of this virus that is killing off the vulnerable who die alone and without a proper burial for their families. Travelling hundreds of miles between countries while sharing limited breathing space with several people wouldn’t be my idea of virus containment….. But then people who won’t take expert advice are a big part of the reason why we’re ALL still in this situation and will be for the considerable future.
@Pascal Coleman: you are aware that planes have air filtration, plus everyone wears a mask, this isn’t the case on Irish rail or Bus Eireann, so you’ll forgive me for saying I feel much safer on a plane than travelling to some overcrowded Irish resort a crowded bus or train, I and many many others have absolutely zero faith or confidence in what NPHET say or do any more, they have all but lost the Irish people.
@Pascal Coleman: another thing if air travel is supposedly so dangerous why aren’t there multiple clusters of airline staff with the virus eh, your not making any sense at all pascal time to admit defeat here.
@SB: “I and many many others have absolutely zero faith or confidence in what NPHET say or do any more, they have all but lost the Irish people.” …. You got your a$$ handed to you a few days ago by loads of people for saying that and yet here you are repeating the same old cràp again. No, SB, the vast majority of people do listen to expert advise, a small minority of gibshìtes ignore it and prolong the restrictions for all of us. Cop on and stop thinking you know more than medical experts, you don’t.
@Thomas O’ Donnell: very few deaths so the answer is pretty obvious. These restrictions aren’t necessary. The livlihoods of hundreds of thousands do matter!
@Paul Potts: relax, the GAFAM will take over Ireland and these 5 companies will employ a fifth of the population each, all working.from home with free pizza delivery.
PS I am being sarcastic. I’d tend to agree.
@Joan Featherstone: you kick the van first as you aren’t bright enough to understand why lockdowns are vital I am not sure if that is a spelling mistake or what you think the expression is
@Monster Munch: They would rise exponentially if no actions were taken, however as I’m sure you’ve noticed almost everyone is wearing a mask while shopping or working indoors, washing their hands regularly and abiding by the guidelines and restrictions. There are as always a few that prefer to shirk their social responsibility but for the most part it’s great to see the deaths not rise exponentially thanks in part to the actions that we as a collective have taken.
I really don’t get the mentality of commenters on here who take joy from counties their not from going into lockdown. Have your nothing else to do to get a kick from? It’s very sad to see. And people want a United 32 counties. Yeah good luck with that.
@Olivia Smith: I believe you meant my comment, I am in hospitality business in Dublin, closed again, I was so angry because they didn’t ask question and no trace, but what I can do? Laughing on my face but cry inside, life needs move on no matter what. If my comment offended you, my apologies. By the way I am not Irish and I do wish Ireland 32 counties will be United in next 5 years somehow, that is from bottom of my heart!
@Olivia Smith: from the first lockdown I chasing news everyday, read comments, then gov respond, act, tracing app, test, boarder control … the way some business run … the world politics game, then I changed my ID to this, I don’t see any light in this tunnel till vaccines, even vaccines out, still will be a game again. My business is on the thin ice, just received 2 more bills today council rate and IMRO, reduced but still big and need to pay with zero incoming, we should be face this pandemic together, but… so frustrated, as said life still move on :)
@There is no hope for humanity!: I do think there should be some exemptions for the likes of council tax and such and I genuinely feel for business who might never recover but I value life over business. I’m sorry if that’s hard to hear. Business can start again, life can’t:(
@Olivia Smith: yes, they did give big credit for the bill, for past few months when we opened still hardly to cover. Anyway as a resident in Ireland I will do my part. no matter what the sun will rise again tomorrow :) stay safe
Incorporeal. Government of ghosts . Decisions taken by telephone call, no accountability, no opposition, no scrutiny. Just slap people with last minute restrictions.
Another lockdown, more unemployment more misery for the people & all for nothing and based on false premises of clusters in hospitality or travel, where they are not significant.
@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Considering the context of Isabel’s comment and the article, I’d say yes, because the opposition parties/independents have been very weak but, the cynical aspect of this is that they are just going to let the government hang themselves – which they’re doing quite successfully – but it is also wrong because without opposition all we have is authoritarianism which only benefits those who impose it on the rest of us plebs.
We can’t rely on journalists; we can’t rely on the opposition parties/independents; we can’t rely on medical doctors/scientists who are politically affiliated; similarly, we can’t rely on pharmaceutical companies; we can’t rely on civil servants; we can’t rely on politicians; we can’t rely on the WHO, so, who can we rely on?
How can any business survive in these conditions where they can be shut down with just a few hours notice if there happens to be an outbreak in a meat factory (for example) on the other side of the county? How is anyone expected to plan staycations? All this uncertainty is going to bankrupt hotels and restaurants around the country. A more measured and sensible approach is needed.
I thought they brought in the level system to make things more easier for people to understand. Dublin is in level 3 and no pubs serving food are allowed open but level 3 in Donegal the pubs serving food are allowed to stay open. So level 3 in Donegal is not level 3 at all it’s level 2.8 or something. This country is a complete joke. They make up the rules as they go along.
@michael: oh yeah.. do you want them to say: “would ye all make the most of the next four days and go to the pub & restaurants” Surely donegal people have been aware of the increasing numbers over the past week. Change to level 3 should not be a surprise.
@Ger Murphy: Pubs and restaurants are already working under restrictions so what difference would it make? Not as if they can be rammed for a few days as people know level 3 is on the way.
@James: I’ll buy you a one way ticket to Sweden if you want? I’ll even meet you at the airport to make sure you get on the flight. Give it a rest with the Swedish method. We are in Ireland. Not bleeding Sweden.
@James: We did learn that we wish to keep our elderly alive unlike what the Swedes did, and that our country has a higher density. Why you defend that method is beyond my comprehension.
@James: The Swedish Covid Utopia myth has been debunked. Go looked at their numbers during the height of the first wave compared to their neighbours. Even the mastermind behind the Swedish plan admitted there were missteps. Just this week a Swedish doctor had to U-turn on the Irish/Sweden model.
@Paul Cunningham: We didn’t keep our elderly alive. Government and NPHET threw them to the wolves. Remember nursing homes and care facilities. Our elderly were also moved out of hospitals and into these hell holes to free up beds. Whats worse a blind eye was turned until they were exposed.
@Isabel Oliveira: the problem isn’t the number of cases right now. The problem is the inevitable exponential growth of those cases if a lockdown is not put in place. It’s simple maths really.
Donegal’s 14-day Covid-19 incidence rate of 122.5 per 100,000 … phew … one would think it’s at least 10 times that to introduce such drastic restrictions
@Adam J: Waterford has stabilised, and most of the recent outbreak was in a meat factory in South Kilkenny.
Even Covid has given has high given Waterford a wide birth.
@Adam J: Waterford has had back-to-back days of 0-5 cases and once Monday comes, the big spike from the meat factory cluster will fall outside the 14 day incidence level. Fingers crossed we don’t have another spike between now and then.
not surprised but the county is almost split in 2 with the north east having the high rates and the south west numbers been tiny. having said that it’s going to spread so movement needs to be curtailed.
wonder if I can go on my training course in sligo next week.
@ed w: Hard to complain with level 3 but you’re right, the vast majority of cases in Donegal are in the area that joins on to Derry & Tyrone.
The rest of the county has very low levels of infection.
@Kevin50: the government doesn’t help with its confusing plans. The Government doesn’t help with its terrible contact tracing system. A lot of outbreaks were in meat plants that the Government knew could be an issue but didn’t do anything about before it’s too late. People had to go to work there as they have no employment rights and then work without social distancing. Once an asymptomatic outbreak happens and is taken home before anyone even knows they are sick then it’s pretty uncontrollable. People have to take responsibility but the Government haven’t been keeping up their side of the bargain.
@Margaret Kane: I presume you know that “the government” are made of people of Ireland and living under the same total control, and not some external imposed organisation.
@Teresa O’Halloran: Wind your neck in and show some respect; but you’re right in one sense, the people of Ireland are only partially under this authoritarian government’s control because they themselves are being politically and financially manipulated by NPHET.
If you’re looking for an argument, pick on someone your own size and age – bring it on, I’m waiting.
@Lao Tzu: You’ve an egg for a head so how can she tell if it’s a man or woman hiding behind that screen trying to be a keyboard warrior. Also no indication if age. It’s laughable that you’re telling someone to pick on someone their own age. You sound like a child.
@Adam J: Waterford certainly doesnt, cases lower than 5 last 2 days lower than 10 every day for the last 5 days its well under control since the large number of cases in the meat plant was controlled
@Sean Dalton: Yep, as I said in a previous comment – we just need to hope that no spike comes before Monday when the original meat plant cluster falls outside the 14 day incidence level. That will reduce the number per 100,000 significantly.
Not enough Gardai on donegal to monitor. Under resourced. This could be a huge issue with tourists coming from all over the country (north and south) and abroad.
@Kathy-Davy Wright: So scary that you stayed a whole weekend so you could really scare yourselves, then travell back home and tell scary stories about how scared you were on Journal.ie.
@ed w:
Same. It’s an incredibly rare sight. Genuinely can’t recall when I last seen someone in a shop without one. Hilarious though to see the confidence of one of the county’s many staycationers from elsewhere log on to give their tuppence worth and never even consider for a second maybe that’s been a factor.
I have a airbnb in my home. . I refuse all non Irish guests every week.. it’s difficult to refuse as you loose all income. . Lost an amazing group this weekend and it’s horrible because they are wise, coming from Dublin they decided a day before arriving that they could cancel and did. I offered to cancel them a week ago when we all learnt about the Dublin restrictions… don’t get me wrong I am delighted they cancelled and full refund. … but.. why can tourists from the UK come to Ireland ffs
Same. It’s an incredibly rare sight. Genuinely can’t recall when I last seen someone in a shop without one. Hilarious though to see the confidence of one of the county’s many staycationers from elsewhere log on to give their tuppence worth and never even consider fir a second maybe that’s been a factor.
Should nurses, gardaí and teachers get extra pay for living in Dublin?
24 mins ago
Ennis
High Court rules that error over single bat should not stop €1.2bn data centre campus for Ennis
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say