You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
One person killed and several others injured after car drives into crowd in German city of Mannheim
Husband pleads guilty to murdering Anna Mooney after gardaí hack into attack video on his phone
Tributes paid to woman who died after being hit by SUV while jogging in Tralee, Co Kerry
Dublin Trends
The Doughnut Bubble
Currently there are in excess of 20 stores that have propped up around the capital with the majority having appeared over the past two years. Michael Lanigan reports.
“IT IS WITH a heavy heart that we have made the decision to take an extended break from doughnut making”, wrote Hilary Quinn, owner of Dublin Doughnuts Company on
Tuesday 24 October.
“Whilst we have loved every minute of the past three years, the time has come to hang up our aprons.”
A supplier to cafés such as 147 Deli, Vice Coffee Inc., 3fe, Dublin Barista School, Camerino and Provender & Family, while doing private orders on the side, her company had been active since 2014 before she decided to make her last batch that Saturday.
“It had been on my mind a while,” she said. “I use the word tired and lethargic, but it’s been a solid few years too.”
The announcement comes during a moment dubbed ‘Peak Doughnut’ due to the saturation of the market in Dublin.
Currently there are in excess of 20 stores that have propped up around the capital with the majority having appeared over the past two years.
My conspiracy theory is that there are no doughnut shops in Dublin and it's all just a mass hallucination
It could be read as miniature bubble and naturally as people speculate over the trends decline, within days Hilary was called the “first casualty”.
“I wouldn’t say though that saturation was one of the main reasons,” she contests.
“It’s certainly disheartening to see something I make so lovingly being pumped out by
machines every day. That’s something I definitely did not envisage, but that’s how business works.
Doughnuts aren’t going to go much further if this is the case. We’ve had the same thing with cupcakes and alarm bells are now ringing. I’m not closing because of financial reasons. I want to leave with my head high and in a good place, rather than being forced into it by the market.
Hilary was 21 when she set up the company. At the time it was a gaping hole in
the market, not a bandwagon.
“I thought Dublin was in need of something like this. I was laughed out of banks, business courses and Dublin’s enterprise board. They all said it would never work. The only place was the small Rolling Donuts kiosk. Then Augier Danger came in around 2015, and I’ll admit, I was a bit tetchy when that happened.
They got the wave going. Now, it’s like Starbucks, there’s a doughnut shop on every street corner.
What set Aungier Danger apart as a brand, which captivated people was that it carried
the same stickiness and exclusivity as the cronut, a hybrid of the doughnut and croissant
that from 2013 to 2016 inspired people to queue for two hours in New York just to get
in on the action.
A New York Post headline ‘People in line for cronuts unfazed by nearby corpse’ speaks volumes to this regard.
It was a commodity that was unique, and highly limited, selling out within an hour of Dominique Ansell’s SoHo bakery opening at 8am.
Thriving on word of mouth, social media and the urge to find out what others were
fussing about, as news went across the Atlantic a business such as Aungier Danger was able to capitalise upon that obsession.
On its opening day, 19 October 2015, after taking up residence in a place formerly held by Rolling Donut, the entire deli was sold out in two hours.
Reported on later in various outlets, over subsequent days Irish people too were rushing to buy the treat before the shelves were politely looted.
Clearly a commodity that had stickiness, for aspiring entrepreneurs it was an ideal
opportunity, especially given the simplicity of setting up a shop.
“It’s easier than cafés,” Hilary said.
If you’re doing production off-site, then it’s the simplest model. You need a counter, till, gloves and tongs.
The main asset however, was social media, and more specifically Instagram.
“That’s my target audience. It’s a visual product. People want to take a picture with their
doughnut, coffee and a Dublin background. That’s what people want to see.”
Here, Hilary brought back the comparison to the cupcake fad.
“It’s a lot like Magnolia Cupcakes in New York. That started the whole cupcake thing, and you can almost trace it back to one specific scene in Sex and the City where Carrie sits outside stuffing her face with those cupcakes, lamenting over a personal crisis. The culture here copies America. It starts there. Then it hits London and finally Dublin.”
This leads us down a momentary pop cultural rabbit hole. When I ask has she noticed
anyone referencing anything similar on the big or small screen in the context of doughnuts, she is unsure for a moment.
“I’ve heard people talking about Gilmore Girls and a character sitting in their
sweat pants, getting fat with a box of doughnuts. People say they want to have their
Gilmore Girls day. There was also something in Twin Peaks too.”
Both shows, years after finishing, were given a revival during a period in which nostalgia was all consuming.
In the broadest of terms, the past two years have been dominated by nostalgia, on a political, cultural and social level. On a political level, two of the major events to captivate were Trump and Brexit, and both called for a return to an earlier, more idealistic period.
Culturally, cinema has become dominated by reboots, revivals and sequels to films,
largely those coming from the 1980s, another era in Western history dominated by
nostalgic idealism.
And of course, one of the more vital aspects of marketing the doughnuts, which is Instagram was the social media platform originally launched with a strong nostalgic spin; vintage filters, square photos and the site’s plain white layout, all of which were designed to imitate the Polaroid.
“Instragram is where the trend emerged, because when I first started everything was so
photographic,” Lisa Quinlan, head of Rolling Donuts says, her company having grown
from a small O’Connell Street kiosk set up by her father in 1978.
Certainly, with our business, there is a massive sense of nostalgia attached to it.
“The whole joy in doughnuts is nostalgia,” Hilary adds.
“For me it was eating Cuisine de France doughnuts that my mum got when I was younger. My own recipes are done for nostalgic purposes, like New York Cheesecake or Daim Bar doughnuts. Daim bars amazed me as a kid.
“You see, there’s more to this food than meets the eye. It sparks something in people. It gets them thinking. It’s not just that Nutella tastes good. It goes deeper than that.”
In agreement is Ken Cody, owner of Revolution Bakery.
“It’s our childhood that inspires this. It puts a smile on people’s faces. There’s definitely that association, because they bring back old memories, from childhood or for a lot of people involved, the J1.”
Still, if romanticism triggered the trend, the market is what will herald its inevitable decline, although saturation is but a single factor here.
This was the queue outside a doughnut shop at 8.25 am. Same length queue there an hour later. I don’t understand Ireland anymore. pic.twitter.com/dghCI5x7GV
“There is always going to be a doughnut shop,” he notes. “They’ll still be opening everywhere, like the kind of set ups you see in retail chain outlets. That’s made by a white-label bakery. Those doughnuts are pure and utter processed food, and if you knew what was in the dough or the packaging, you wouldn’t eat it.”
Hilary noted similar issues with competition as rival companies are capable of churning out numbers that exceed her cap of 350 per day, while ingredients such as butter are substituted for margarine.
For bakeries who continue to resist using cheaper ingredients, the past few months and
years to come are the uphill struggle, which will likely begin to see people either
dropping out or altering recipes.
Those pursuing the craft from an artisan stance will be suffering a blow here due to wholesale prices, Ken thinks.
“This time two years ago, we were buying a tub of vanilla pods for €50. When I started, they were €40. Now, they are €100. They are dearer than gold. We still use them, but you won’t see many now. The same product is 150% dearer than it was two years ago.”
This had been set off by two factors in Madagascar. Between 2005 and 2015, a kilogram
of vanilla pods was trading for $30. The crop was in abundance and sparked a feeding
frenzy.
However, as the vanilla farmers were finding themselves short-changed on the
deal, they burned their vanilla crops in protest, with the price rising to $100 per kg.
Thereafter, Cyclone Enawo devastated the island causing prices to shoot up to $600 per
kilogram.
“Everything is up though. Madagascar is just the most drastic one. Butter and cream too
have gone up by 20 to 30%,” due to poor harvest in Europe and the increase in China’s
demand for pastries, which are putting enormous pressure on supply as 100kg of butter
leapt from €400 in January 2017 to €518 as of December (it hit a high of €650 in September).
“Really it’s everything,” Lisa adds. “The money we spend on nuts is nuts. We use a lot of
varieties and those prices are changing. Flour, eggs, coconut oil, minimum wage, they’ve
all gone up, so if you can survive fair play.”
Factors, such as these create a dilemma.
Considering the average price of €3 a doughnut is already relatively controversial,
the final question is who will be paying more. In the case of Lisa and Ken, both say they
are willing to concede these losses.
“We couldn’t do that to customers,” Lisa says. “We have to take the hit and figure out from there what to do. It’s just a risky business now. If you’re going into it now, unless you are passionate enough to find and fill a gap that is not already filled, it is challenging.”
As such Dublin “is now awash with poor quality doughnuts and pop ups, but that’s just
healthy competition and you have to roll with those punches”, Hilary concludes.
“I’ll miss it though. I’m going home to Mayo, haven’t been there since May. My sister who
lives in England sees my parents more than I do. I’ll be helping out set up a pub in Clare
and taking time out to start the new trend, because that’s apparently what I do. This was
always going to be a footnote, which you look back on when you’re 90 and say,
‘Remember that time I did doughnuts?’
“It will always be the same whether doughnuts, coffee or cupcakes – variety and making something different helps you survive.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
58 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Insect Overlord: yes they sell Lidl donuts for 59 cents. Hard to see how you missed that in the previous comment. 59 cents. Lidl donuts. Just think 59 and Lidl and donuts. Write it on your hand now so you don’t forget.
Tá go leor daoine dúr anseo anois nach bhfuil?! Críost… I scuaine do taoschnónna…
There’s many stupid folks out there isn’t there?! Christ… queuing for doughnuts…
@TheJournalAsGaeilge:
Ah I see you have realised that without translation into a recognised language your comments where ignored.
Glad to see you have come to your senses.
@P.J. Nolan: Tá ceart agat, ní raibh siad ach as Gaeilge roimh sin. Ach bhí na freagartha agus drochíde a fuair mé scannalach ar fad. Is tír na gallaibh í fós, tá fhios agat féin…
You’re right. The comments used to be only in Irish, but the reactions and abuse I received for it was disgraceful. It’s a West Brit land still, you know yourself…
@P.J. Nolan: achrannach? Is cuma linn. Ná chur locht ar an teanga. Chur é ar an córas, agus ansin déan rud éigin.
Chip on your shoulder? We don’t care. Don’t blame the language, blame the system, and then do something about it.
@TheJournalAsGaeilge: with it’s pure capitalist ethos and compensation culture, our wee little Island has gone to the dogs. It’s such a shame as I’m probably of the last generation that experienced real Ireland, when folks actually cared more for each other than shoving donuts in their faces.
@TheJournalAsGaeilge:
while abuse is uncalled for this a bad place for someone thin skinned, but why don’t you throw out a few “West brit” insults while your at it, it’s bound to improve your argument.
The only part of the system that I have a problem with is the ridiculous amount of money spent on a dead language.
There is a very long list of better uses for it.
@P.J. Nolan: Tá tú an duine soghonta, ceapaim. Ní raibh mé ach ag insint an fhírinne. Is gall thú. Is fuath leat Éire agus ár gcultúr féin. Mar sin féin, bhí an cáineadh i m’aghaidh gan ábhar! Is cuma le gnáth daoine má tá mo ráiteas as Gaeilge mar tá sé as Béarla chomh maith. Ach is gall thú agus mar sin, ní bhíonn tú ach ag tabhairt amach i gcónaí!
I think you’re the thin skinned one. I was only telling the truth. You are a West Brit. You hate Ireland and our culture. However the criticism against me was unjustified. Normal folks don’t care if my comments are in Irish because they are in English as well. But you’re a West Brit because you’re still always giving out! SAD!
Dublin doughnut co weren’t great and were smaller and more expensive than their competitors. If you want to survive you need to be able to compete with the best
Totally disagree, DDCo doughnuts were far superior in quality and taste. Bigger is not better. Perfect ratio of filling to pastry. Not sickly sweet like some of the others.
Hillary made hands down the best, by quite the distance
It’s a shame she left the market, but she did the right thing, so many poor doughnuts out there now, most will be out of business in a few years.
@Mark Smith: have to agree to disagree. Quality and taste of Offbeat and Rolling Donut are much better. The couple of times I had Dublin Donut co they didn’t have much flavour and weren’t really worth the money
@Sam Harms: I think that the above controversy will never be settled! When I lived in the States, it was the great Krispy Kremes vs Dunkin’ Donuts divide – people on both sides SWEARING that their own choice was infinitely better. Mind you, neither were charging €3 per doughnut….
In a moment of madness pickup some Offbeat ones up in Jarvis the other day. The red velvet ones were terrible, truly mass produced taste of them now. I’m sure they were better before they expanded massively.
Years ago the clothing industry fell apart due to foreign investment by the industry. Now small cafes delicatessens and manufacturers of specialist food products are in difficulty.
Obese millennial manna from gentrification heaven. What do you expect for the relaxed fit generation in Dublin. A Soul Cycle franchise in Portobello? No shortage of Operation Transformation seasons ahead…
#Michael Lanigan: “while ingredients such as butter are substituted for margarine….” NO. you mean “while ingredients such as margarine are substituted for butter”. LEARN ENGLISH FFS!
The next craze: Porridge, Soup and Stew kiosks. You need six Bain-Maries, 10 gastronorms, a till, a fridge and dry storage for your 16oz pots, spoons & napkins. The food can be made offsite in a central kitchen.
Six different porridge choices (jumbo, pinhead, made on milk/water, summer-berry flavoured, etc), 10 topping options for breakfast (seeds, compotes/fruits/cream); six different soup flavours and 10 topping options/breads for lunch and six different stews (chowders, chilli-con-carne, etc) for dinner all the way to after the pubs shut.
I don’t know how, despite all the warnings about sugar and it’s link to obesity, donut-shops are even a thing. Surely there’s a bigger market for convenient access to healthy food?
This idea has been at the back of my mind for the last 7 years, I just wouldn’t have the wherewithal to set up a food business myself. I reckon it would be popular enough for one business to do well from it with a few well-placed kiosks/shops, particularly with health & fitness peeps. The trick is to provide as much variety from as little stock. Nobody wants to be buying the same porridge or soup every day, but with six main choices and 10 topping options you could have a different breakfast or lunch every day for two months without getting bored.
Just keep me in mind when you’re making your millions from it. Let’s say 1% commission on sales?
Please, somebody, run with this idea, it’s probably worth a go.
One person killed and several others injured after car drives into crowd in German city of Mannheim
Updated
1 hr ago
Murder
Husband pleads guilty to murdering Anna Mooney after gardaí hack into attack video on his phone
1 hr ago
Anila Mucaj
Tributes paid to woman who died after being hit by SUV while jogging in Tralee, Co Kerry
7 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 153 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 105 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 51 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 85 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 65 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say