You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dr Tony Holohan Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie

Dr Tony Holohan appointed to Irish Hospice Foundation board of non-exec directors

Dr Holohan left his position as Chief Medical Officer in July of this year after 14 years in the role.

FORMER CHIEF MEDICAL Officer Dr Tony Holohan has been appointed to the Irish Hospice Foundation’s board of non-executive directors. 

Dr Holohan left his position as Chief Medical Officer in July of this year after 14 years in the role. 

Speaking of the appointment to the board, he said: “This is an important time for the foundation and the healthcare sectors that they operate in. I’m looking forward to helping shape what IHF do to support those in end-of-life and bereavement care.” 

The former CMO had earlier this year intended to take up a position at Trinity College Dublin as a Professor of Public Health Strategy and Leadership but ultimately stepped back from it following controversy over its terms. 

The professorship would have been an “open-ended secondment” funded by the Department of Health and continuing the terms of his former contract, which was understood to bring a salary of around €187,000 per year.

The Taoiseach was among politicians to raise concerns, saying that the secondment should be paused to allow for greater transparency.

Dr Holohan decided against proceeding with the Trinity role, saying he did “not wish to see the controversy” continue.

“In particular, I wish to avoid any further unnecessary distraction that this has caused to our senior politicians and civil servants,” he said at the time.

“My strong belief is that this was a significant opportunity to work with the university sector to develop much-needed public health capacity and leadership for the future.”

It was then announced in July that Dr Holohan was to take up a new role as a professor at UCD in place of his abandoned appointment at Trinity.

A competition for a permanent replacement for Dr Holohan as chief medical officer is ongoing, with public health consultant Professor Breda Smyth serving as interim CMO.

With reporting by Lauren Boland 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

11 Comments
    Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:59 AM

Colm was an outstanding member of An Garda Síochána. His big smile and ever happy attitude was exemplary. He will be missed greatly in the Ballaghaderreen, Castlerea and Charlestown areas.
    Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

Mute Mick Curran
    Favourite Mick Curran
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:57 AM

RIP. Condolences to Garda Horkan’s family and colleagues.

Mute Aine Shanahan
    Favourite Aine Shanahan
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:53 AM

RIP

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:53 AM

This is just devastating.

The person that did this will get life in prison and completely deserve it!

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Tricia G: you do not know that… the person could have been suffering from a mental health issue….

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Not the time to be pedantic Paul

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:14 AM

@Tricia G: yes its tragic, and RIP to the poor man that died in service to the state. But the people who killed Gerry McCabe were only convicted of manslaughter and got lenient sentences, after which they were lauded by many current members of the opposition party in waiting. Justice isn’t always served correctly.

Mute James Fenlon
    Favourite James Fenlon
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:14 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Mental issues or no mental issues he shouldn’t see the light of day again…..

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:20 AM

@Connoroconner: Never miss an opportunity to throw mud eh…?There is a time to play politics football and this isnt it

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:20 AM

@James Fenlon: all quick to judge maybe the very arm should not be visable to an unstable person…

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:22 AM

@Connoroconner: True, however the conviction on manslaughter was largely due to the campaign of intimidation carried out against the witnesses in the case.

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:25 AM

@A2 Poster: He’s right though….mental health is always a great get-out clause, used every time

Mute Johnny Kenna
    Favourite Johnny Kenna
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:30 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: strawman argument at its best. Unless you’ve insider information then that’s wild speculation. Regardless of mental health state when you take someone else’s weapon and the kill them you are a threat to society, said threat needs to be addressed by medical or legal means.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:33 AM

@MickN: it’s a fact.

Mute Sid
    Favourite Sid
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:35 AM

@Connoroconner: The same party also collected one of the killers from prison and threw him a party.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:37 AM

@Tricia G: here’s the thing! It won’t be life will it?.

Mute Fergal_Carlow
    Favourite Fergal_Carlow
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:42 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: all the more reason to protect society from them killing someone else. Mental health nonsense is no defense to murdering a Garda on duty.

Mute Jennifer Monaghan
    Favourite Jennifer Monaghan
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:45 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: oh ffs will you stop a guard is dead a life has been taken…. did you say that about the officers who killed George floyd? Did they have mental health issues? Stop using that as a default excuse

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:47 AM

@Kieran Shortt: Jesus!! Talk about victim blaming. I can tell you I served in the defence forces for 11 yrs and have spent the past 20 in the guards so I can speak with authority that Gardai receive thorough and excellent training with firearms. This could happen to any person. After all we’re only human. Krav Maga or no. When you’re in the heat of a scuffle anything can go wrong. You’re not trying to hurt someone but restrain them which is much harder

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:48 AM

@MickN: It’s not mud, it’s a fact.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:48 AM

@Kieran Shortt: Ridiculous throw away comment, the gardai train their own members in firearms and ‘apparently they weren’t so much interested in how to use them, not that disciplined and didn’t take it seriously’ ????? All armed Gardai are licensed and trained and undergo regular training and yes in a struggle a garda can have his weapon taken , it happens sadly , so stop the sniping and no , no Krav Maga training, you play too many video games.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:59 AM

@Connoroconner: how true ,and how relevant now,but one cant mention the fact Mary Lou welcomed them out at a function,with her bestest smiles and hugs ….nooo not PC to have a complete memory at the min.

Mute Mary Garry
    Favourite Mary Garry
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:06 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: to many excuses

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Jennifer Monaghan: in answer to your question, the officer who killed George Floyd in my view is guilty of murder … this is a separate issue and non comparable…

However, i am mainly pointing out, that sometimes Detectives leave their firearm exposed in the eyeline of a person, that could put the lives of the Garda and others at risk. If the firearm was not needed at the incident it should not have been exposed. Detectives wear shoulder holsters that do not have safety mechanisms like an armed police officer in other countries.

People are quick to judge no one knows what exactly happened.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:23 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: True god knows what really happen,people don’t just shoot Guards,see what happens when full story is out,mental illness is rampant in Ireland most of it goes mistreated!

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:26 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: if I’m not mistaken, no details have been made available as to what happened last night. It doesn’t matter if you’re an ex guard, anti-guard, or otherwise – no one knows, so they should not blame the guards or the guy being held until we know more.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:54 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan:
    You seem to be an authority on everything. Get into the real world….. Give us a break from your rants and wisen up.

Mute Bill Clay
    Favourite Bill Clay
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:01 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: you no absolutely nothing about what happened, all we know is a person who was out serving his country when the vast majority of people were tucked up in bed is now dead. Like others said you seem to have an opinion on everything on here, why don’t you go and do something productive with your life. Everyone is an expert behind a keyboard

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Kieran Shortt: good man kieran. Sling dirt at the victim with absolutely no knowledge of the events.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:27 PM

@Mick Murphy: well said mick

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:11 PM

@Bill Clay:
    Good man Bill. You are 100%correct…

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Tricia G: he should never be released. He doesn’t deserve a 2nd chance, the poor garda won’t get a second chance. Rip

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jun 18th 2020, 2:14 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: are you honestly going to come on here, without anything but the barest facts of the incident, and apportion blame to D/Gda Horkan? What qualifies you to do so? Have you much experience in policing?

Mute Stephen Matthews
    Favourite Stephen Matthews
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:21 PM

@Connoroconner: it us sometimes said that courts are places where justice is dispensed with

Mute Pat Dowdall
    Favourite Pat Dowdall
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:59 AM

R. I. P. sincere condolences to family and friends. Horrific.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:11 AM

The sentence for murdering a garda is 40 years , this was to replace the death penalty but ironically a person serving the 40 years is entitled to remission after 28 years under prison rules and if higher remission for ‘good behaviour’ is taken in to account, a prisoner could actually be released at this point. Condolences to D/Garda Colm Horkan’s family and colleagues, a tragic loss of life, may he rest in peace.

Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:29 PM

@Honeybee: Was always brought up with thinking that if you murdered a Garda that it was death penalty.. Think it should still be the case. At the time it was very relevant as my Dad was an armed detective and it made us feel better that he had some level of protection.. But it seems these days a Gard’s life.. Or any life, is not as valuable anymore. RIP Garda Colm Horkan.

Mute Helen Griffin Davis
    Favourite Helen Griffin Davis
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:15 AM

Saddened to read this. May he rest in peace. Condolences to his family and his work colleagues X

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:29 AM

“And maybe remind the few, if ill of us they speak, that we are all that stand between the monsters and the weak”. RIP Garda Horkan

Mute Liberty Peacock
    Favourite Liberty Peacock
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:34 AM

This is tragic, in a time when so many evil people are demonizing police officers, we should remember they are real heroes. Thoughts and Prayers

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:06 AM

RIP

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:25 AM

My deepest condolences to Garda Horkans family, colleagues and friends.
    May he rest in peace and I wish healing to those left behind.
    A nations gratitude to Garda Colm Horkan.

Mute Fiona Walsh
    Favourite Fiona Walsh
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:13 AM

Rest in peace Garda Colm

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:19 AM

Very sad. Shows yet again how dangerous it is out there for the Gardaí.

Mute Lisa Cahill
    Favourite Lisa Cahill
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:24 AM

So sad R.I.P

Mute Bananaquit
    Favourite Bananaquit
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:30 AM

My condolences to his family.

Mute Karen Ryan
    Favourite Karen Ryan
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:29 AM

Sincere condolences to Garda horkans family and friends RIP

Mute Brendan Hogan
    Favourite Brendan Hogan
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:21 AM

A terrible state of affairs
    RIP young man

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:42 AM

Very sad day for colleagues,friends and family.
    R.I.P

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:18 AM

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam dilís. Hope the killer gets caught and sentenced appropriately.

Mute Anna Porter
    Favourite Anna Porter
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:07 AM

Condolences and sympathy to his family, friends and colleagues. It’s so sad

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:16 AM

R.I.P

Mute Pádraig Ó h-Éanacháin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó h-Éanacháin
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:30 AM

Dochreidte . Comhbhrón lena chlann Ar dhéis Dé go raibh a anam dhílis.

Mute Mark Reville
    Favourite Mark Reville
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:02 PM

It’s surprising that he was on duty alone. I always thought that Garda Patrols always numbered at least two officers. Castlerea would be a fairly dangerous beat anyway. A lot of ex prisoners live in the general area and many of these would be considered dangerous with paramilitary connections.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:39 PM
    Mute Jamie Hannigan
    Favourite Jamie Hannigan
    Jun 18th 2020, 2:01 PM

R.I.P.

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:23 PM

It is a tragic waste of life. The national shock shows how much the Irish public value their police force. At a time like this it is especially stomach churning to hear McDonald of Sinn Fein decrying the shooting of a Garda a couple of weeks after she claimed in a Sunday Independent interview that the Provo 30 year terror campaign was justified. Was the IRA killing of gardai in that campaign justified?

Mute Carol Mc Cabe
    Favourite Carol Mc Cabe
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:19 AM

Omg shocking RIP

Mute Ed Dunne
    Favourite Ed Dunne
    Jun 18th 2020, 11:53 AM

The garda had his own firearm taken from him & then shot & murederd with that very gun ?????? How,just how could this happen.omg this is so sad RIP X