You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

William Murphy via Flick.com

Sink your teeth into the landmarks of Bram Stoker's Dublin

Explore the places that shaped the Dracula author in his hometown of Dublin.

THIS COMING NOVEMBER marks the 165th anniversary of the birth of Dracula author, Bram Stoker. Stoker, renowned for creating Count Dracula, one of the most celebrated villains of literature and cinema, was born in Clontarf, and lived and worked within Dublin’s city centre before emigrating to London in 1878.

Originally published in 1897, Dracula tells the story of Jonathan Harker and his encounter with the Count in his castle. Filled with suspense and terror, it’s no wonder that the story has gripped readers for 125 years. Halloween, in particular, presents the opportunity to sit down with the lights off and watch one of the many cinematic versions of this legendary vampire.

viersengermany-july9-2020viewonstackedold Shutterstock / Ralf Liebhold Shutterstock / Ralf Liebhold / Ralf Liebhold

Over the years, Dracula has been portrayed by countless actors across a number of adaptations on the stage and screen. Most famously, Bela Lugosi played the bloody-thirsty count in 1931 and Christopher Lee two decades later in Terence Fisher’s 1958 production. The Godfather and Apocalypse Now director Francis Ford Coppolla gave audiences a thrilling (and now cult classic) interpretation of the story and character with Gary Oldman in heavy prosthetics for Bram Stoker’s Dracula, released in 1992. 

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 12.18.23 cinema.classic.gentleman Instagram cinema.classic.gentleman Instagram

Much has been written about the enduring legacy of Stoker’s novel. It’s remarkable to consider the global and cross-generational impact Dracula has had, especially on those from his home of Dublin. Walking around the streets Stoker would have wandered, you can appreciate how the city informed the world of his seminal work. 

23rdnovember2018dublinireland-entrancetomarshslibrarysituated Shutterstock / Derick P. Hudson Shutterstock / Derick P. Hudson / Derick P. Hudson

It has been noted that Stoker regularly frequented Marsh’s Library, hidden behind St. Patrick’s Cathedral, to borrow books and it’s said that he was fascinated by the underground crypts in St. Michan’s Church and visited them often. 

Those are just two examples of Dublin’s imprint on Stoker and his writings. Let’s explore some of the other significant locations from Bram Stoker’s formative years in Dublin.

1. 15 Marino Crescent, Clontarf

Screen Shot 2022-10-20 at 14.58.41 Marinod3 Instagram Marinod3 Instagram

A little outside of Dublin’s city centre, this is the location of Bram Stoker’s birth on November 7, 1847.  He remained there until the Stoker family moved to Artane Lodge when he was 2 years old. He spent much of his childhood within the family home at Artane Lodge, where he lived with his parents and 6 siblings, confined to his bed until the age of 7 due to illness. Naturally, this time allowed the young Bram to develop his imagination and instil a passion for building stories in his head.

Today, across the road from 15 Marino Crescent is a quaint park named Bram Stoker Park in his memory. 

2. Trinity College, Dublin 2

dublinirelandjan212017courtyardtrinitycollegeatsunrise Shutterstock Shutterstock

When the time came for Bram to attend university, he enrolled in Dublin’s Trinity College in 1864. There, he studied and graduated with honours in mathematics in 1870. A year later, the university was attended by Oscar Wilde. While there, Bram spent many hours in the university’s much-visited Long Hall Library and was extremely involved in all aspects of student life from partaking in sports and societies. 

3. Dublin Castle, Dublin 2

dublinireland-panoramicviewofastrongtowerofthe Shutterstock Shutterstock

Upon graduating from Trinity College, Bram followed in his father’s footsteps and worked as a civil servant in Dublin Castle. He remained in employment within the walls of Dublin Castle for a decade. During that time, after finishing his day’s work in the office, Bram was moonlighting as a writer for the Dublin Evening Mail newspaper, mostly contributing theatre reviews. 

4. 30 Kildare Street, Dublin 2

Situated close to his alma mater and moments away from Grafton Street, Bram lived at 30 Kildare Street. This was where he lived with his wife, Florence Balcombe until the couple inevitably emigrated to England. Across the pond, Bram worked as the manager of the Lyceum Theatre in London for almost three decades. This would be the final dwelling for Bram Stoker in Ireland. 

Comments
    Mute Paolo
    Favourite Paolo
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:12 PM

I agree that the GAA should open its doors for such an occasion. It’s about the cause not the sport.

That said, I sick of hearing former and current soccer players having a go. These players are overpaid and as such if 200 of them donated 5,000 each then a million could be raised.

Just an alternative view/solution

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:13 PM

@Paolo: Who says they are not doing that also.

Mute Paolo
    Favourite Paolo
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:14 PM

@CrabaRev: Who says they are. If they are I would then gladly retract my comment but until then my view stands

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:19 PM

Are you going to tell every one how much you contributed?

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:21 PM

@Paolo: I agrre with you, I like Duffer but dont like his comments.. I would love to go to see this one, i saw Liam play once in Celtic plus I thought he was a talent ..
    Would be great to see Keane and Irwin agian too

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:40 PM

@CrabaRev: I have no doubt that many of them have made significant donations but, appropriately have not advertised the fact and nor should they, merely to assuage your pusillanimous outrage. As to being overpaid, the market determines their worth, not begrudgers.

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:43 PM

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: sorry, that was meant for Poalo

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:06 PM

@Fracko: No ones asking him to give a couple of thousand? You are missing the point.

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:19 PM

@Paolo: Interesting to see that Damien Duff has a great command of the English language. What else would you expect I suppose.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:21 PM

@Paolo: Dahayeser comments summed it up perfectly

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:44 PM

@Tim Quigley: What??

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:45 PM

@Tim Quigley: no different to the board of Anglo Irish bank or any other organisation

Mute Paolo
    Favourite Paolo
    Jul 24th 2018, 10:20 PM

@Irish Bob: Just read it and he’s right. The league here is struggling. Just look at Bray and Limerick. If those commenting cared about the game then they’d be out supporting their local team but sadly they’re not and all the bashing of the GAA and FAI follows.

Mute Brian Goggin
    Favourite Brian Goggin
    Jul 25th 2018, 2:04 AM

@Paolo: well said it’s becoming a joke now

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:17 PM

I would like for the GAA to open for this occasion also.
    But I really dislike alot of the anti-GAA comments from people.
    Rules are rules, i dont like like a lot of rules either.
    The GAA has done great things for this country since its foundation, I believe it has done more for this country as a independant organisation that any others.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:42 PM

@Irish Bob: to be fair I think the GAA probably need the money. The pairc will not be used till next summer. It would make sense to allow Munster to play there and if City do will in Europe the cross isn’t that big. But this should have been agreed before the redevelopment money was given.

Mute Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:51 PM

@prop joe: it would make financial sense but it would be promoting both sports. Which is the philosophy behind the rule. Plus they wouldn’t be receiving any money as the gate receipts go to his family.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:56 PM

@prop joe: Look I have no issue with other sports being played in GAA grounds, nearly had a tear in eye with the Rugby in Croker, my lad plays both Hurling and Soccer.
    And yes the money would be good for the GAA. Of course there is lots of issues in the GAA, but there is far more good than issues.
    This is a new one in that nomally Soccer testimonial’s are played at a ground the player used to play at, and this siutation should have been discussed between the GAA and the oranisers instead of the rubbish that has been on the TV, Radio, Newspapers and Social Media, most of it just bashing the GAA, by hypocrites that pick and chose what laws and rules they decide to follow or not follow. But unfortunatley this is the way of things these days.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:58 PM

@prop joe: I am also a Liam Miller fan and thing he was not given enough time at Man U, definetley one of the most skilled Irish players ever.

Mute Jason Blackman
    Favourite Jason Blackman
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:00 PM

@Irish Bob: you are quite correct. Rules are rules and must be respected. Much like paying for water was a rule and you clearly respected that. GAA have done great things but they have also got 30million in funding from government to build this stadium so now to help out the community here.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:09 PM

@Jason Blackman: I do and still pay for my water, I have my own well. I am totally against the super quango that is Irish Water though. If you feel like lining the pockets of Gerry Grant and Elizabeth Arnett then I feel sorry for you and your ignorance of the real facts.
    WTF has that got to do the GAA ?
    Have the GAA refused yet ?

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:26 PM

@the druid: i meant independant as in not the Goverment, you do know ofr many years the only sense of community in areas was driven through the GAA .. what the point with ye anti GAA people, ussing this to futher other agendas i suppose .. comments by Dahayeser later is post sums it all up really .I have noting else to say ..

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:47 PM

@Irish Bob: rules are rules hut rules and laws must adapt with time. Once women were not able to vote due to rules. A rule you set yourself should always be able to be reviewed or changed. Part of the rules for them getting the 30 million was to open POC to the community and develop the surrounding area this has yet to start planning to do. Funny they can choose what rules they want to follow

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jul 24th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Irish Bob: the GAA bashing is a bit much and I am not a big gaa person . I completely blame the politicians who decided to give the money for the studium up grade. now they want to change the rules. Personally I think there is more to this story than meets the eye. Is there a need for more events to make the studium sustainable?

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Favourite Anthony Avenell
    Jul 25th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Irish Bob: A country that relies on a minority sport for its pride, character and culture is a sad country indeed. Grow up and live in the 21st Century. GAA is just a part of a wider propaganda programme.

Mute Dahayeser
    Favourite Dahayeser
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:03 PM

It’s funny looking at all the whinging on this topic and how all the blame is being distributed. The GAA of course are taking an almighty bashing, there are a fair few swipes being taken at the FAI for not having a worthwhile stadium in the second city. John Delaney is taking a bashing, his famous salary of course is taking a hammering. People do love a good old whinger don’t they?!

One question, say Cork City were playing one of Miller’s other clubs, Hibernian or Perth glory would there be a need to move it to a bigger stadium? No despite the social media hoards apparent empathy with the Miller family, the answer is – of course not. I don’t think the whingers really care too much about the Millers, they just love a bit of GAA / FAI / John Delaney bashing. Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Keano are the draw here.

Oh how the “Irish” soccer fan salivates at the mouth at the prospect of any tiny crumb from the English Soccer table. Even a gang of over 40 having a leisurely kick about is more appealing to them than a top of the table league clash between our very own league champions Cork City and the aristocrats Irish of football Dundalk…

So to summerise, we pour our money by the bucket load in to the English game and then when we don’t have a stadium that can hold even a modest 5 digit crowd we blame … the GAA, the FAI, John Delaney … insert as you please. Time to look closer people. This problem is one of the “Irish” soccer followers own making. Show a bit of loyalty ad support our own teams like the Scots and we don’t have this problem.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:17 PM

@Dahayeser: nail and head .. hard to beat atmosphere in Turners Cross against Dundalk .. pity its too smal for this, would be some atmosphere.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:18 PM

@Dahayeser: Where is any reasonable person blaming the GAA, it is a simple question of facilitating a special event and it would be nice if one Sporting Organisation could give that special helping hand to another Sporting Organisation.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:49 PM

@Dahayeser: You have totally missed the point. This is nothing to do with the FAI, John Delaney, English Football or league of Ireland. It is simply to do with the GAA being asked to support an event to raise funds for the family of a local sportsman. A man who died very young and left a young family. They GAA are refusing, because the event is a sporting event that is different from the one they play. There will be no cost to the GAA and no inconvenience to the GAA. I have no strong opinions on the GAA in general, but in this particular incidence, they are wrong wrong wrong.

The other thing that has amazed me is the unbelievable pettiness and vindictiveness of the posters on this thread who have been trying to support the GAA’s position ( I don’t include you in that). I am beginning to to think that the intransigence of the GAA is not just in its management. It also appears that the hatred of ‘foreign games’ is still alive and well in some of the GAAs grass roots supporters.

Mute David O'Sullivan
    Favourite David O'Sullivan
    Jul 24th 2018, 10:35 PM

@Dahayeser: absolutely spot on

Mute Mark Day
    Favourite Mark Day
    Jul 24th 2018, 11:41 PM

@Dahayeser: 100% on the money sir. Support our own, because it’s your kids that will be playing football on poor pitches and getting changed in leaking dressing rooms. Why? Well remember those trips to Anfield over the years that cost maybe €4,000 and the €600 you spent on the New Jersey every year? It’s nowt to do with the GAA and as poor as the FAI are, it’s little to do with them. It’s the Irish ourselves that are to blame for the poor league infrastructure here.

Mute Brian Goggin
    Favourite Brian Goggin
    Jul 25th 2018, 2:23 AM

@Dahayeser: Great post,as a Gaa secretary and as a soccer manager this has annoyed me big time,to me Liam was a talented player that probably left Celtic too early could have become a legend up in paradise,so a tribute to the lad is absolutely fantastic but the story now is the Gaa v soccer really not on

Mute Stephen Moroney
    Favourite Stephen Moroney
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:13 PM

Well he is an Irish sportsman after all who unfortunately has his life cut short.
    It only makes sense to help his family down the road!!

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:39 PM

@Stephen Moroney: part of the problem arose when the organisers started ploughing on with plans for Pairc Ui C without even asking GAA. All perfectly understandable but sure everyone loves to bash the GAA every now and then

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Jul 25th 2018, 7:53 AM

@Stephen Moroney: They should be told to stick the ground where the sun don’t shine.

Mute Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Favourite Brendan T. M. P. Bur

There’s one key element going unnoticed in this debacle: the refurbishment was done using public funds i.e. our taxes and hence, citizens should have access, particularly for this worthy event. Further, I would suggest that the vast majority of patrons attending would be from a vast array of sporting backgrounds, if any. This is regressive and smacks of the “ ban” era.!

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:22 PM

Maybe they should hold a GAA match in his honour, or a competition in any sport that has managed to put a strong infrastructure in place to support their games rather than lining the pockets of greedy executives at the expense of providing public facilities for membership.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:29 PM

@Liam Doyle: The GAA have received hundred of million in state grants for the facilities they have. The Executives of the GAA are very well paid also. And they GAA won’t reveal their salaries, which is saying something.

Mute Chicken George
    Favourite Chicken George
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:32 PM

@CrabaRev: every farmer in the country has received grants. Should we just build social housing on one of their fields under the guise of it being a good cause and they got a grant

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev

@Chicken George: That analogy is not even close.

A better analogy is: If they received grants to plant a certain crop, you would expect them to allow anyone in Ireland to buy that crop, and not restrict the sale to only family members.

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle

@Chicken George: that’s essentially how well considered his argument is, but lacking alternatives or logic he is destined to repeat the same ill-reasoned, mundane nonsense over and over unfortunately.

Mute Noel Peacock
    Favourite Noel Peacock

@CrabaRev: if you did your homework you might see that the FAI, LOI clubs,grass roots level have also received millions of euros in funding from the government and national lottery but have not utilized it properly, the GAA will open its gates but it will not be enough for your haters… all you soccer guys should concentrate your efforts on helping John Delaney find that €5 million he misplaced from FIFA and was not accounted for… at least the GAA can account for their money

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

@CrabaRev: what about the 100’s of millions the FAI have also received with sweet f.a. to show for it. At least the GAA have the facilities to show where the money goes. John Delaney is on€350,000 a year mutiples of anyone in the GAA or IRFU for that matter. If it wasn’t for the IRFU they wouldn’t even have the long term rent of half a stadium.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Liam Doyle: When €30m euro of taxes go to fund a stadium I would expect it to be used for the good of all the sporting organisations in the country, it appears so do the government.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/pairc-ui-chaoimhs-liam-miller-refusal-queried-472926.html

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:52 PM

@Eddie Aherne: I am not a huge fan of the FAI, The FAI have received a tiny fraction of the amount the GAA have received over the years.

This is not about the FAI. It is about raising money for a local sportsman’s family, and the largest sporting organisation in the country refusing to allow one of their stadia to be used. It is petty in the extreme.

Mute Joe L
    Favourite Joe L

@Liam Doyle: thinking the same myself! I’d love to see the GAA offer the use of Pairc Ui Chaoimh for a GAA match in honour of Liam Miller. If everyone who believes that PUC should be open to such a tribute were to attend, then surely it would be a massive success!

pg38
    Mute pg38
    Favourite pg38

@Liam Doyle: public funding was given for a municipal stadium

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:13 PM

@CrabaRev: you should look up all the grants the FAI have received if you think they’ve gotten far less than the GAA. The fact is there’s very little between what the 2 associations have received. It’s what they do with their money is the issue. What use do other sports get out of the Aviva? Seeing as that cost the taxpayer a cool €190 million. Every year there’s a capital sports grant last year it was €7 million. The FAI got 2.8, the GAA 2.3 and the IRFU got 1.9. In fact for the previous 5 years the FAI have received the biggest portion. They now have applied for s grant to redevelop Dalymount, if granted will the GAA or IRFU have the use of the facilities there, no of course they won’t.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:16 PM

They are some shower of muppets in the GAA. This was a no brainer, but it does appear that some in the upper echelons of the GAA have no brains.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:18 PM

@CrabaRev: Pot and Kettle comes to mind ..As does all of your posts.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:20 PM

@Irish Bob: Are you okay there Bob?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob

@CrabaRev: Where are you from ?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:23 PM

@Irish Bob: Sorry Bob I am happily married.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:24 PM

@CrabaRev: Do you let your partner out of the dungeon often ?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:32 PM

@Irish Bob: So not only are you throwing personal insults at me, but you are insulting my partner. Would you like to have a go at my children also?
    You are a classy bloke

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:34 PM

@Irish Bob: Ah! just checked your twitter page. Now I understand. Good luck.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob

@CrabaRev: you are the classy person that started the post calling people muppets .. They you try to be funny in not answering the question and then get annoyed when same done to you .. Build a bring man and get over it

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:44 PM

@CrabaRev: As if I didnt check your new’sh fake one !!
    and you wonder why i said pot and kettle earlier to you..

Explain yourself, where are you from, why to you hate the GAA ?

Ah dont bodder, I know the answer anyways ..me bus is coming work day over yippe .. now of to my lads U-14 Hurling Match ..

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:50 PM

@CrabaRev: Yeah sure.. start insulting the people who’s help you want. It’s no wonder the Ole Ole brigade have a reputation for being thick…

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev

@John Ryan: I don’t know what the ole ole brigade is. I am just pointing out the pettiness of the GAA as an organisation in refusing to help raise money for the family of a local sportsman. It is poor PR. And shows the complete ineptitude of its management.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:19 PM

@CrabaRev: It won’t make a blind but of difference to the GAA whether they open the stadium or not PR wise.Their matches will still still out. The only one’s who’ll come out looking bad here will be idiots like you demanding that it change it’s rules of a lifetime because some other code can’t take care of their own. This is already backfiring big time on the FAI and it’s fanboys with people asking where the money the taxpayers spent on them has gone. People like you wading in with insults and snide remarks about the GAA is hardly going to endear them to the cause.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:29 PM

@John Ryan: Check out later post by Dahayeser .. excellent analysis .. lets see the responce to it.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:16 PM

@John Ryan: The dogs on the street can see who the spotlight falls on here. It’s not because of this one thing but because of massive well of support for a new more forward thinking GAA that’s not peering our of the rubble of 1916. People have had it up to their necks with their old biddy ways.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:38 PM

@Tommy C: And yet next weekends games will be sell-outs despite what people say.. won’t matter a bit which way this thing pans out..

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:25 PM

@John Ryan: but that’s not what the GAA is supposed to be about. I’ts supposed to be about grass roots and community. And that’s where this type of thing does damage.

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz

Does it have to be in Cork? Why not hold it in the aviva or thomand?

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:23 PM

@G Fitz: I suppose not, but he was a Cork native as Keane and Irwin are too ..

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:24 PM

@G Fitz: He was from Cork, so you would think that it could be held there

Mute Chicken George
    Favourite Chicken George
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:29 PM

@CrabaRev: Normally testimonials are played where a player had his career irrespective of where he was from.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:41 PM

@Chicken George: This isn’t a normal testimonial though.

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H

@Chicken George: Its not a testemonial tho, is it?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev

@Chicken George: This is not a testomonial.

There are some really bitter GAA heads on here.

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:48 PM

@CrabaRev: if he was from leitrim what would they do? I know that doesnt matter in this case but the point is you would hold it in a place that is available. I can see it from both sides. Where do his wife and kids live? Is cork even convenient for them?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C

@G Fitz: because it’s a charity event for his family and fellow county men and Wemon who would make up the bulk of the paying supporters. Why should everyone have to hit the motor way to Dublin? That’s nonsense

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev

@Fracko: I have no particular feelings for the GAA or the FAI. It just amazes me that people can be so small minded and petty in this day and age.

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:21 PM

@Tommy C: so I’ll support it as long as I don’t have to go out of my way? Who cares if the gaa have to put 100 years of tradition behind them

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:02 PM

@G Fitz: ???????????? My mind boggles

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:06 PM

@G Fitz: That’s not tradition. That’s out dated war of independence old biddy behaviour. They died so we could have a future not to have us stuck in our past.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:32 PM

@Fracko: You clearly don’t understand what the word petty means. There is nothing petty about giving out about an organisation who refuses to support the family of a recently deceased local sportsman.

I just had a look at your public twitter page.- now that’s the definition of petty. There are some really classy GAA fans on here.

Mute Red Ruskie
    Favourite Red Ruskie
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:39 PM

Just get on with it and open the doors – like drawing blood from a stone at this stage.

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh

Typical GAAAAAAA
    if we worked together as a sporting nation a lot could be achieved

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:23 PM

@Mark Walsh: You mean if the GAA carried others not willing to put in the work a lot could be achieved. Funny you don’t see groups like the IRFU or even Cricket Ireland getting themselves into the fixes soccer in Ireland seems to get itself into…

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:48 PM

@John Ryan: what fixes are you talking about? I look forward to your list?

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:24 PM

@peter crew: Oh let’s see… Remember the Ireland-Scotland for the Euros bid using Croke Park in the bid without permission ? Then there’s little things like €5m bribes sorry loans to keep sthum about being kicked out of major tournaments.Things like not being able to pay players medical bills despite the head of the FAI being paid ten times the average industrial wage. Saipan was another one.. The list is as long as my arm.. Funny how other organizations, who’s administrators aren’t payed a fraction of footballs don’t constantly end up with these problems..

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:25 PM

Too little.. too late

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:11 PM

Cork County Board must be doing their head in here. The ONLY county board in the South to vote again Croke Park opening CP to soccer/rugby. A county board who had to wait 3 weeks to send Cork City FC a congratulatory tweet on winning the double last year … and only did so after public pressure and after a vote of their management committee. How will they handle the ‘soccer crowd’ [and probably some Englishmen to boot] playing in their beloved PuC?

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Ordinary lad: Everyone who knows anything about the story knows the Cork county board we’re agreeable to this from the start but their hands were tied by Croke Park. Still waiting on Cork city’s congratulations on winning the Munster championship again.

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:12 PM

@Eddie Aherne: haha Eddie … stop trying to save face here. The time for positive PR was a long time ago. There’s a public position and the private stance that the Cork country board has on this. The dogs in the street in Cork city from Togher to Knocknaheeny know this. Frank got Flower Lodge (his greatest ‘stroke’) … we may well get PuC as a secondary home ground. # €30million

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:19 PM

@Ordinary lad: Save face. You’re calling Michael Flynn the main organizer a liar so. Flower lodge as usual the FAI didn’t have a pot to piss in and needs the money to look after themselves rather than pay for facilities. God the soccer boys get very jealous when they realize they’ve got nothing.

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

@Ordinary lad: Save face. You’re calling Michael Flynn the main organizer a liar so. Flower lodge as usual the FAI didn’t have a pot to piss in and needs the money to look after themselves rather than pay for facilities. God the soccer boys get very jealous when they realize they’ve got nothing.

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:20 PM

@Ordinary lad: Save face.? You’re calling Michael Flynn the main organizer a liar so. Flower lodge as usual the FAI didn’t have a pot to piss in and needed the money to look after themselves rather than pay for facilities. God the soccer boys get very jealous when they realize they’ve got nothing.

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

@Ordinary lad: Save face.? You’re calling Michael Flynn the main organizer a liar so. Flower lodge as usual the FAI didn’t have a pot to piss in and needed the money to look after themselves rather than pay for facilities. God the soccer boys get very jealous when they realize they’ve got nothing.

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Jul 24th 2018, 8:34 PM

@Eddie Aherne: You’re funny Eddie. Frank and co might be the big men in the bunker and their little GAA circle but they are being whipped big time here by Micky Flynn … a man who successfully took on US vulture funds and regained control of his company. What did the Fuhrer say ? … ”the soccer crowd, I wouldn’t even let them into the car park at Croke Park” …….. The Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport >>> European Commission Directorate-General for Competition >>. European Court Of Luxembourg …….. #€30million

Mute Eddie Aherne
    Favourite Eddie Aherne
    Jul 24th 2018, 9:03 PM

@Ordinary lad: Unfortunately I can’t say the same about you, you’re not funny at all. Just full of the usual whining and moaning. Oh we’ve got nothing despite all the government money we have also received down through the years.

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Jul 24th 2018, 9:28 PM

@Eddie Aherne: Hee Hee Eddie … the hole you’re digging is getting bigger and bigger and ….
    ———–
    “Bull” McCabe: The field is mine.

The American: Well we’ll see about that, won’t we?

————–
    State Aid Registry
    Email: stateaidgreffe@ec.europa.eu
    Postal address:
    European Commission
    Directorate-General for Competition
    For the attention of the State Aid Registry
    1049 Bruxelles/Brussel
    BELGIQUE/BELGIË

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:46 PM

I pay 185 euro for a tv licence ,and i cant even watch my national sport ,now these idiots cant make a simple gesture to an irish sports star whos life was cut way too short .public money has been used for some of the best sporting facilities in the world and i see no good reaso why this stadia can not be used .ffs the irish are experts at bending the rules .arsehole s in highplaces

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey

@Anthony Gallagher: why can’t you watch your national sport on your tv? Is your tv broken?

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:33 PM

@Ray Dempsey: are you just stupid or blind? ,please what i said before making childish comments .

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:41 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: so why can’t you watch your national sport. They show games on rte

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Jul 24th 2018, 6:06 PM

Can they be any more pompous

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jul 25th 2018, 12:28 AM

Gaa got 30 million euro of tax payers money to build that stadium

Mute Kevin Gallagher
    Favourite Kevin Gallagher
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:19 PM

Should this not be the other way around?? “Organisers consider offer of stadium from the Gaa”

Mute James_665
    Favourite James_665
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:14 PM

C’mom GAA get the finger out, Liam was proud Corkman!

Mute Allen harrington
    Favourite Allen harrington
    Jul 25th 2018, 1:47 AM

Retired Irish Soccer players are a disgrace, slagging off the GAA. FAI has a lot to learn about how to run their organisation. I feel sorry for the family been dragged into this shite. If the organisers went about it the proper way from the start this could have all been avoided. The true professionals in this country are the players that go every week and train and but a huge effort in and revive no payment. How dare they slag off the GAA.

G
    Mute G
    Favourite G
    Jul 25th 2018, 11:35 AM

Surely the point here is that GAA shouldn’t be allowed have rules that exclude people, sports, events etc. It’s ancient behavior and there is no place for that type of carry on in a modern pluralist society. This exclusion doesn’t represent what people on the ground want and should certainly not be allowed for organisations receiving state funding. Golf clubs can’t exclude women etc.

Mute Tauri Ursique
    Favourite Tauri Ursique
    Jul 24th 2018, 5:53 PM

It’s called meitheal. Simple as that.

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:09 PM

Cork County Board must be doing their head in here. The ONLY county board in the South to vote again Croke Park reopening. A county board who had to wait 3 weeks to send Cork City FC a congratulatory tweet on winning the double last year … and only did so after public pressure and after a vote of their management committee. How will they handle the ‘soccer crowd’ [and probably some Englishmen to boot] playing in their beloved PuC?

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 24th 2018, 7:26 PM

@Ordinary lad:
    I just hope they have had a phone call from their sponsors …….. bare jerseys next season!

G
    Mute G
    Favourite G
    Jul 25th 2018, 12:10 PM

Imagine a GAA team approached their local golf club with a request to hold a golf classic fundraiser and were told – sorry the rules of our club state that we cannot hire the course out to any other sporting bodies. We have our next AGM in February 2019 and might talk about it then if you like but in the meantime rules are rules. There would be uproar.

Mute tubbsyfingal
    Favourite tubbsyfingal
    Jul 24th 2018, 9:14 PM

The gaa are utter bigots

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Jul 24th 2018, 10:51 PM

Try for thomond instead, 25k capacity. Ignore GAA

Mute Sinead foley
    Favourite Sinead foley
    Jul 25th 2018, 12:02 PM

An exceptional event calls for exceptional measures….this tit for tat name calling and defending the honour of both sides is sullying the entire event. The FAI haven’t the facilities true but this isn’t the time or place to discuss it. The GAA have the facilities and given the exceptional circumstances could have facilitated with minimum fuss….this isn’t merely a football game…it’s a charity event where ALL in the fine city of Cork should be cooperating to honour one of their own. This debacle is a sad day for sport.

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien
    Jul 25th 2018, 11:46 AM

Message to the G.A.A. Make a decision either stick by your rules or change (bend) them and stop messing about . It not Liam Millers family being considered here, its only your fear of public opinion.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Favourite Anthony Avenell
    Jul 25th 2018, 10:32 AM

Who the hell do the GAA leadership think they are? Sport is sport and prejudice and historical bias should have not be displayed under any circumstances. They should move with the times and stop being so terribly petty. They are acting like power crazed children.