You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE DRAFT PROGRAMME for government agreed by Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party commits to investment in a number of areas of transport infrastructure, including €360 million a year for cycling and pedestrian projects.
The leaders of the three parties have been meeting in recent days to hammer out the details of the agreement, which will now be put to their party members for approval.
The agreement commits to an allocation of 10% of the total transport capital budget for cycling projects and an allocation of 10% for pedestrian infrastructure, totalling €360 million per year for the lifetime of the government.
Each local authority will be immediately mandated to carry out an assessment of their road network to see where space can be reallocated for pedestrians and cyclists.
They will also promote cycling and pedestrian safety “through improved design, increased separation and better signage and marking”.
A review of road traffic policy and legislation to prioritise the safety of walking and cycling would also be carried out.
The programme commits to “dramatically” increasing the number of children walking and cycling to primary and secondary school. This includes ramping up the Cycle Right programme to ensure all children are offered cycling training in primary school.
The draft agreement also commits to:
Lead the development of an integrated national greenways strategy.
Widening the eligibility of the Bike to Work scheme, providing an increased allowance for e-bikes and cargo bikes;
Legislating for e-scooters and e-bikes;
A 2:1 ratio of expenditure between new public transport infrastructure and new roads;
Prioritising plans for the delivery of Metrolink, Luas and other light rail expansion, DART expansion and interconnector and Bus Connects in Dublin, Cork, Galway, and Limerick.
A national integrated public transport system with an integrated timetable, one tag-on ticketing system and coordination between bus and rail timetables of all operators;
Policies to incentivise the use of electric vehicles on the roads;
Enabling schools and workplaces to stagger opening and closing times;
A pilot to examine the potential for ride-sharing apps to improve rural connectivity.
Although there will be spending on roads, under these plans the focus would be on the development of public transportation infrastructure. This would include also reviewing fare structures for public transport.
The National Transport Authority would be tasked with producing a park-and-ride plan for each of the five cities, with integrated car park facilities and public transport and cycling networks. This should also include the provision of secure lockers for bicycles, the plan states.
The agreement also promises the introduction of a public transport service standard “under which all settlements over a certain size in terms of population, combined with employment or education places, will have a service connecting them to the national public transport system”.
This document – titled “Our Shared Future” – will now put to each of the three parties’ membership to vote on, and if all three parties approve it, the next government will be formed by Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and the Greens.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
69 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Zoe being a Fine Gael politician is a bit like but at the same time the opposite of the whole Karma thing. Under the idea of Karma a person based on the manner in which they lived their lives can be reincarated into something quite beautiful, powerful etc or something bad and insignificant.
With Fine Gael all the things they do good or bad come back to them in this life…. The one’s that are the slightest bit ethical get pummeled by their own party, asked to leave and become independents and have to exist without expenses and lose the power that they had as part of the FG Party. The one’s that do wrong more often than not end up in cushy semi state jobs where they fiddle figures on boards of Charities but gain huge respect, money and expense for their bad behavior…
But then again what would I know. I only just bought into the promise of “No more jobs for the Boys” on the Late Late Show…..
It seems out of one side of Enda’s and Frances’s mouth comes cries of Judicial reform – but out of the other we get this debate collapsed and we see the same management structure in place with the same personnel in the Gardaí …
We also have reports of the Department of Justice being a somewhat “secretive” organisation – Again same personnel .
Did Enda get Cabinet Approval to sack Callinan – if he didn’t why is Callinan staying quiet ? and did Fianna Fail play along with the Gardaí by collapsing the debate through walkout last week ?
These are all questions and observations that place huge question mark over the ability of the current Dail members to do the job for which salaries they receive and expenses they claim and sign for!
It seems time for another whistleblower because the more the truth is stifled the more it forces its way through somewhere else !
Geery Buttimer is putting his foot in it all over the place on VB as I sit here .
He is after pointing out that Alan Shatter has legal rights as a citizen – David Hall case Mr. Buttimer didn’t hear you screaming blue murder on David Hall and his citizenship !
He has also admitted that he doesn’t have a legal mind – what in the name of God is doing as a legislator in this State if that is the case ?
Last week, Mick Wallace asked kenny in the Dail during debate time if he had received the letter in question, and kenny shook his head to indicate he had not. He then admitted the following day during leaders questions that the opposite was true.
Barrett has performed his duties as ceann comhairle abysmally, but that doesn’t mean he can be endas personal mudflap in this matter either. Debate has been deliberately stifled, and not for the first time.
Well if you asked me yesterday did I get the phone bill I would have said no, but if you asked me today I might nod my head as it arrived in the post this morning.
So no news there Were Jammin, what do you expect from these lying corrupt moran’s. Censorship and control is high on Fine Gaels agenda. But there are so many government apologists, who for some reason feel they have to defend the indefensible and it is very frustrating for those who can see the reality, but we have to keep plugging, even though their arguments are either disingenuous or ill informed
Paul, it’s the same with every govt story on the journal. They literally carpet bomb a comments section with Jorry this, Jean McConville that. It’s pathetic how sad these individuals’ lives seem to be that all they do all day is sit and wait on the next story and hijack the comments section.
I agree but you wouldn’t just put anyone in the chair. There could be a ballot across the Dail, Senate and later checked by the President to ensure that the person acting as Chair has no conflicts of interest against or for the government.
Batman I am sure you are right because the house is out of control and we were along with many many many many many many other promises were promised reform of the way democracy works in this country.
Surely having a vested interest for any of the parties in the Dáil is a bad idea?
Most independents can’t even get talking time, yet they often have the best most independent views to add to debates and often get silenced because of SF, FF, LAB, FG etc etc antics. Another thing is the funding that TDs lose when they leave a party. The party keeps the expenses and the TD loses their power effectively to add to the debates.
Not all for independents by the way. But democracy is only as good as the least powerful of the sum of it’s parts and independents can’t by and large get a look in because of the monopoly of established parties.
When John McGuinness said that Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are all but one – does that mean that he knew that Enda was never going to burn the Bondholders and he and his Party were just playing along ?
Is the avoidance of these questions the “stability” the T.D.s are screaming about ?
Did any politician member of their family get a good deal or write-off in NAMA ?
These are questions for a new Government – It will be along now soon enough – don’t worry !
Wouldn’t empty barracks make great and ready prisons for any white-collar criminals ?
Enda last week one day to Mick Wallace shook his head to indicate no that he received a letter and hey presto next day admitted he had. Last week we had Michelle mulheirn lie about personal calls to Kenya and hey presto she then paid back money for calls she claimed she never made. Yesterday we had Lorraine Higgins labour senator lie on national radio and had not got a clue what she was on about and hey presto she was caught lying . last night a fg TD lied on air about iw as well and had to be put right by other panelists and this was only in week by a government running this country. Shameful it is.
The blame game is too well paid. I would be happier if even one Irish politician had enough moral fibre in their being, to stand up for the people of Ireland that have been saddled with the Debts of International Banksters and their Irish Bondholders. Should we employ some Greek Politicians to represent us?
and in other news. Greece stock market surging 7% today nearly wiping out all the losses since the election. banking shares up 8% and 3 year bonds down from 18% to 16% . Troika being ousted and their finance minster on a tour of Europe negotiating directly with governments on a similar debt restructuring as what Germany had post war. Merkel is not happy and the irish media seem to have a blackout on the topic.
Anyone in the Journal want to do some real work and report on things that might actually affect us.
“Donald Kohn, a member of the Bank of England’s Financial Policy Committee, has forecast that a deal over Greece’s debt will be hammered out.
Kohn told MPs on parliament’s Treasury committee this morning that the two sides are inching closer:
“My expectation is that Greece and the euro zone members and the IMF will work together for an agreement,”
“We have heard some language in the last day or two that suggests a little bit of progress, a little bit of give.””
And they are having a grrrrrrrreat day tony. ;-) stock market now up 10%
Yaroufakis to meet Draghi and Schäuble
Newsflash from Italy — Greece’s finance minister has announced that he will see the president of the European Central Bank, Mario Draghi, on Wednesday.
And then German finance minister Wolfgang Schäuble on Thursday.
Angela on the ropes
Angela Merkel, the German chancellor, has predicted that the Greek negotiations will last for months.
Speaking at a news conference in Berlin, she also declined to comment on the new debt swap proposal:
“It is clear that the Greek government is still working on its position – that is more than understandable if you look at how few days this government has been in office.
“We are waiting for proposals and then we will enter talks … I don’t want to comment individually on all the details that are being disseminated.”
Shatter, Reilly, Barrett, Kelly ( Labours worst joke ever), iPhone Joan, Mulherin, Useless Useless Enda Kenny, Lorainne Higgins (embarrassing listening to her yesterday morning) , Andrew Doyle (did ye hear him last night !!!), Heather Humphreys, Leo Varadkar, not forgetting the fat Rabbit and Gilmore, and the list goes on. We are governed by selfish idiot morons !
Fianna Fáil were awful, terrible, even wicked …. but these Fine Gael/ Labour incompetents are worse !
Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Labour need to go ! There isn’t much else out there but these self serving clowns aren’t fit for purpose and they have proved it time and time again. How many chances do we give them !!!
And is this comment just distracting from Mary Lou being unable to discuss financial matters yesterday?
They are all as bad as each other, all of them, just a game to them.
You mean where she pointed out twice to the interviewer that water is already paid for through our general taxation , and the interviewer acted like she didn’t answer and kept asking the same question?
Another adolescent play on the northern accent. Completely voids any attempt at viable comment that mr gillhouley might be trying to make. Whatever it may be???
Mr. Gillhouley?!? He can’t even spell the name. This is just one of a number of aliases used by the same pathetic troll, M Bowe. Pay no attention at all.
Mary Lou being unable to discuss financial matters yesterday – So? She didn’t get us into this mess, she didn’t compound it and she doesn’t serve other countries interests above her own. Nothing she said was wrong, the agruments are still relevant and the issue still very much alive and it will still bring this government down, no matter how badly she performed in an interview.
Jamming , yes water has been paid through general taxation and now it’s a mess that’s why we need a utility . Yes the government made a balls of setting it up but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s a necessity
In the heat of the moment, an old Blue Shirt bully was forced to eat his words. However, the utter lack of remorse in his words indicate that the bullyboy and his agenda of anti-democratic protection of the FG/Lab profit before people Government will continue.
A man??? No cretin, who makes juvenile play on Gerry Adams accent and refers to Mary Lou in a childish play on her name has tha audacity to speak of putting manners in others. Oh the arrogance of FG/lab trolls.
the mcconvilles certainly thinks so as does the statements of those involved in the murder. don’t worry they are arresting 93 year old nazis to this very day, there is still plenty of time to round up and cage these evil terrorists
Mrgill did you miss the article in which some of that family admitted the only reason they were going after adams and sinn fein was because they thought theyd have money?
Ha ha mrgillhouley Mary Lou made a fool of herself. Have you no comment on Lorraine Higgins making an even bigger fool of herself and labour or the fg TD last night making a fool of himself and fg on TV . do these not concern you as these two are actually with government parties that are running the country.
she did make a tit of herself alright, but mary lou has form on that score. in all honest cold anyone make a bigger fool of themselves than mary looper? i doubt its possible
“SF/IRA” Jesus there’s a blast from the past! It’s been about 24 years since the most ardent DUP loyalists used that phrase. Have you just woken up from a coma Will? If you have let me be the first to welcome you to 2015. Things have changed a bit since you went to sleep.
If you ever decide to join us in the 21st century you will find that things have moved on and antiquated dinosaurs have been left behind.
We know well that is the official party line but unlike the party a lot of people have and will continue to move onwards and forward.
Things haven’t changed to the extent that the recent past no longer exists and I think that’s a very disingenuous comment. Some of us lived in that world of daily bombings, killings and punishment beatings on our doorsteps, how dare you state ‘things have changed a bit’ as if it didn’t happen in such an arrogant fashion. Sinn fein’s past doesn’t automatically get deleted just because they jump on board with water protests. Absolutely, there are a bunch of inept, panicking jokers in the political system in ireland at the moment, they don’t have my support either, but I’d prefer them to the likes of Sinn Fein. We all know what they are. It seems that some people have been bought over by the constant objections from sinn fein to everything. Easy to sit on the sidelines and complain. They are totally unproven in leadership and hopefully that’s the way it will stay.
It’s alright for Shinners to say things have moved on and that’s all in the past but how would they react if FF said something similar about the banking crisis?
it is not news that spamin is a shinnerbot, he is one of the resident shinerbot troll, comes out with absolute gems o a daily basis. he is treated like the village idiot around here, more pity than ridicule.
Joey when you say ” how dare you state ‘things have changed a bit’ as if it didn’t happen in such an arrogant fashion” can you tell me how I said that things didn’t happen in the past? Your moral pontification and preaching seems to forget that the people who used to use the phrase “SF’IRA” are now sitting in government with those very people! Those people have moved on, republicans have moved on but you, will, reagael and all the other multiple account holders and people who hide behind alias’s seem to want to be stuck in the past.
I and the rest of the population are well aware of history as to a large extent we have lived through it so we don’t need a lecture from the likes of you. What we do need is to live for today and plan for tommorrow because time move forward for most of us. If you want to hold onto the bitterness of the past that that is your choice but I and most other people will just leave you behind. We won’t forget what has happened but we will not let it hold us back either.
Please be aware that Will (I am afraid to provide my real name) Derbylight is a spokesperson for the ancient order of the drivel society. Please provide an argument as to why ‘Were Jammin’ is a spokesperson for SF/IRA. What about spokespeople representing Labour/Democratic left/Official IRA or Fine (Blue Shirts/Nazi/Fascist) Gael?
Isn’t it so amusing how
Loyalist/Unionist/Free State/FG Supporters , on this Journal.ie page , are forever changing their Twitter Names , yet it’s the same old drivel pours perpetually from their PC’s ?
The Gerryphobia virus , is rampant amongst these same small minded bunch of ‘head in the past’ merchants !
The poor sad little free state/fg troll/s have done more to recruit people for SF than SF have themselves. Pathetic little small minded free state/fgs.
So Shatter the most undemocratic of parliamentarian of them all, overrules parliament. Imagine if he still had the commissioner on side. In the shadows Eoin O’Duffy smiles!
All the politicians that have been in the dail this last 30/40 years should be hung in public for overseeing some of the worst cases of abuse imaginable..and add corruption to that..can u blame gerry adams for that ?? NO i thought not
And Useless Enda Kenn was asleep on the back benches as part of his pathetic forty year stint in the Dáil when the Catholic Church was abusing kids but that’s different eh ….
Yeah, that’s right, I am not an Enda fan, I think he and Adams and Martin sat back and allowed the MISTAKES take put this country into the place it is today..
It is time for new politics and more accountability
John Gorman, has Kenny met Louise O Keefe yet?? But wait Ms.O Keefe’s abuse wasnt “republician” abuse, so there’s no political milege in that. Kenny, a pathetic hypocrite.
John Gorman,Adams has only been a TD since 2011 so tell me how could he be responsible for mistakes that put this country into the place it is today?
All he can and do is try to clean up FF’s mess and stop FG’s & Lab’s Sheriff of Nottingham school of taxation.
mi5 knew about them as well and we know that Irish Gardaí were in contact with them – so mi5 have protected paedos on this island as well !
Should our Gardaí now reveal these agents for the safety of our children – whatever about doubting the I.RA. as a threat to the State – foreign agents most certainly are ! They should be removed not colluded with !
Make with the motion of no confidence already, how much has to happen before they actually take an official stance instead of whining about him to the media? A biased ceann comhairle is a very serious national matter which concerns us all, if that is what they truly believe then they must lay down the motion. If it’s not then it’s just pathetic political gesturing.
It would be wrong for Fianna Fail or Sinn Fein to table a motion of no-confidence in the Ceann Comhairle just to claim a scalp. Deputy Sean Barrett is a good and honourable man who deserves to be treated better than this. On balance, he has been a very fair Ceann Comhairle who understands the constitutional importance of his role admirably.
As members of the Dail go, Sean Barrett is one of the good ‘uns. He should be preserved, not punished for the sake of a scalp.
if SF learned how to behave then there would be no problem. they really have to learn about democracy as well as economics and a host of other important matters before anyone will view them as anything but idiots
it all basically has to do with manners. anyways we are in no hurry SF will wallow as a nothing opposition for the decades to come so they have plenty of time to learn some manners
So a week after this started we now hear that Kenny has a letter from Shatter and he will produce all correspondence and also asks for Dail record to be changed.Barrett recindes his statement accusing opposition of undermining him this is after he goes on the airwaves to explain his decison.Now today Kenny tells the dail and the public that Shatter cannot stop the dail discussing this matter.So one has to wonder why Kenny allowed this to end up as a confidence motion in Barrett and why he continues to protect shatter.What does shatter have on Kenny that he plays blink first and risks barrett having to resign as cc…So we will have Burton telling media she has full confidence in Kenny yet he allowed the original vote take place after opposition walk out of Dail.This guy is making a mockery of the Dail and the dictatorship he uses to rule his party is been used in the dail to protect his buddies.It boils down to not if but when will Shatter do a Sean Doherty and takes Kenny down…Oh and not a mention on Dinnys newspaper website about this
Mary lou made a complete fool of herself yet again, what is it with sinners as basic addition? imagine herself and jorry are supposedly the brains, jesus wept
The headline changes on the Journal, but everything else remains the same. The truth is quite simply unpalatable in Ireland. I recommend that the electorate Vote for Greek politicians next time they want a change of government.
Did you ever see so many goats reversing? Michael Martin hang your hat up!!!! It’s a shame to hear you bleat so much. Never again will I listen to one word from you. As for the rest of the no confidence brigade shame on ye
Theres no point engaging with these fg trolls. Never heard so much b.s. in all my life. They just keep spouting the same old garbage time after time. Its old and quite boring.
There is no such thing as an unbiased ceann comhairle even independants elected to the position have it made clear to them by their proposers ie the incoming government that they will shield the taoiseach/ministers from certain questions put by the opposition or guillotine issues if taoiseach/ ministers are under pressure if they dont agree to this in advance they will not be proposed or if they fail to adhere to this when in the position even on any issue they would not be proposed following the next general election So you can imagine aceann comhairle who is a member of the governing party would act A former ceann comhairle made no secret of this scenario many years ago Anyone who believes otherwise is brain dead
Kenny and his cohorts could not be trusted to renegotiate with the Troika as they are simply not qualified to do so nor do they possess the political will power to seek any reappraisal of Ireland’s debt
Mother and son face losing home after change to tenants scheme
1 hr ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say