You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dr Maitiu O Tuathail was critical of the crowds he saw congregating yesterday. Eamonn Farrell

'It felt like All Ireland final night': Images of packed crowds in Dublin city last night prompt criticism

Former health minister Simon Harris was critical of the crowds gathering in the city, saying “we’ve come too far to go back”.

THE SCENES DRIVING through Dublin city centre last night felt like “All Ireland final” day, a GP has said. 

Images of people congregating in outside settings in the capital last night have drawn criticism amid fears that a lack of adherence to social distancing and other guidelines could lead to a resurgence of Covid-19 in the community. 

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One’s Brendan O’Connor show this morning, Dr Maitiu O Tuathail described the city as “completely rammed” with people socialising and said there was a “festival atmosphere”.

“It was profoundly upsetting to be honest,” Ó Tuathail said. 

His sentiments were echoed by former health minister Simon Harris this morning, who tweeted: “C’mon everyone. We’ve come too far to go back.”

Last Monday, Ireland entered Phase Three of re-opening the country after the Covid-19 restrictions introduced in March. 

The latest phase has permitted restaurants and pubs – that serve food – to re-open. All those re-opening have to adhere to the public health guidance but there are fears that re-opening could bring about a rise in cases of Covid-19.

Dr Ó Tuathail said that to see people not adhering to the guidelines after the events of the last few months was a “slap in the face to those who’ve broken their backs to keep the country working”. 

He highlighted the “new phenomonen” of take-away pints, with people filling the streets and having a few drinks. 

He said that colleagues in the health service had been “psychologically traumatised” by what they’ve had to deal with during the crisis, and don’t want to see a resurgence in cases again. 

“After last night, I really think we’re weeks away from a second wave,” he said. 

Minister Simon Harris added: “Great to see our economy re-opened and social life resuming but let’s keep using our cop on and common sense. We owe it to each other, to those families who have lost loved ones, to the local business we want to keep open and to our kids.”

The Licenced Vintners Association was also critical of the images shared of street drinking in Dublin yesterday.

It said in a statement this afternoon: “This is in no way acceptable and completely jeopardises public health, given the lack of social distancing observed.  

Unfortunately scenes like this have been taking place over the last few weekends in Dublin city centre. We are reminding pubs who are serving takeout of their responsibilities. Legal advice issued by the Gardaí in May said that any drinks purchased as takeaways must be consumed more than 100 metres from the pub which sold the alcohol.

Many of the images shared were of Dame Court in the city, which has several nearby pubs including the Stags Head. In a statement, the Stags Head pub said it wanted to reaffirm it has been closed since 15 March. 

“We look forward to welcoming all our loyal customers when we return on 20 July. We will be following all social distancing protocol for the safety of our staff and patrons,” it said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

196 Comments
    Mute John Walker
    Favourite John Walker
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:23 PM

Chris Evans more than twice as much as Graham Norton!? There’s more than sexism going on there!

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:49 PM

@John Walker: You should bear in mind that that doesn’t include his talk show.

The BBC pay his Production Company which then pays him (or he pays himself…….. if you know what I mean).

I suspect that’s a damn GOOD salary over and above his actual BBC salary.

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:50 PM

@John Walker:
    Chris Evans is an irrepressible genius, he’s ginger, he’s original, creative, cutting edge, climbing the greasy pole of stardom trough sheer force of personality, money is not his goal, he’s already blown 80 million on cars and booze, when he began dating Billy Piper he bought her a silver Ferrari full of roses, she couldn’t even drive, Chris is car crash TV, when he gets bored he goes drinking and gets sacked then starts again, Chris personifies the idiom ‘You can’t keep a good man down’.
    Compared to Chris Graham Norton is pure tedium.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:21 PM

@John Walker: being a good negotiator?

Mute Conor Byrne
    Favourite Conor Byrne
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:38 PM

“The BBC’s highest paid woman is Claudia Winkleman”

Who? Exactly.

I 100% agree with equal work for equal pay. But you can’t compare salaries for people who have different levels of exposure, higher ratings, and different jobs on different shows. That’s not comparing like with like.

The only fair comparison here would be to compare 2 BBC news readers – since they actually have the same job on the same show & do the same amount of work.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jul 19th 2017, 6:56 PM

@Conor Byrne: When you look at the likes of Chris Evans and Graham Norton who both had successful radio and TV shows last year when these contracts were paid. The large salaries they can command are based soley around their personalities rather than something like a large popular show like Come Dancing which, though popular, is not centered around any one personality.
    For this reason the “stars” can command the big money and, rightly or wrongly, that’s just the way it is. Inevitably this will be compared to America where the “Stars” can command many times these salaries and women like Oprah and Judge Judy Sheindlin earn vast sums us mere mortals can only dream of. It’s not sexism, it’s just business, and the entertainment business is cut throat.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:25 PM

Jaysus, when Tubridy and Duffy and company hear about this there is bound to be a strike. They aren’t on anywhere near that cash

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:38 PM

@Nick Allen: per head of listenership and population, the BBC presenters are on less than their RTE counterparts.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:39 PM

@Nick Allen:
    Given the difference in population,shouldn’t Duffy,Untidy,etc be on a fifteenth of what Norton(a real presenter ) makes..around 60,000 seems fair..

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:42 PM

@Dermot Lane: Yes – but there are dozens and dozens of stations, from regional to specialist.

Mute Aine
    Favourite Aine
    Jul 19th 2017, 3:51 PM

@Nick Allen: the Tv licence isnt been used to pay the BBC crew tho, and there would be a slightly higher viewship for the BBC than RTE

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 19th 2017, 5:16 PM

@Fank Pulman: true but Evans gets 15 million on BBC

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:22 PM

That’s F ing Scandalous!!!

Chris Evans £2million++ He should be pushed onto some obscure satellite tv channel somewhere not paid that much for nothing!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:29 PM

@Dub_Right: Evans entertains over twice the population of our country – everyday on BBC radio, as well as a good few here!!

Mute NeilGoochFerriter
    Favourite NeilGoochFerriter
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Dub_Right: i dont like him at all, he was a disaster on top gear but he has 15 million listeners !

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn

@Dub_Right: Probably includes his Top Gear contract for the year in question.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:54 PM

@Fank Pulman: Evans has over 15 million listeners.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:32 PM

Claudia Winkleman earns almost half a million £££ per year – utterly mind boggling.

Mute Thinck
    Favourite Thinck
    Jul 19th 2017, 2:03 PM

@John Ryan:

She spends almost as much on makeup to be fair

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:29 PM

I see Graham’s agent negotiating a healthy pay rise at the next contract discussions

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden

@Nick Allen: Doubt it, he get’s paid for his talk show via his Production company. His BBC salary would be for things like Eurovision etc.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:56 PM

Probably the best broadcasting organisation in the world. It won’t stop wingers here winging though.

Mute raymond grehan
    Favourite raymond grehan
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:57 PM

How much is Bana of Aleppo on? The young girl ‘tweeting’ from Aleppo in Syria about the bad man Assad; a story pushed by the BBC and most other MSM? All the while her father was a local nusra man(terrorist) and her mother, an English teacher, put words in the little girls tweets and used her daughter as a propaganda tool against the Assad Government.
    http://21stcenturywire.com/2017/07/18/uk-column-news-western-media-continue-to-cash-in-on-the-bana-of-aleppo-myth/
    The BBC have always done lite entertainment well. Well done. However on the other side, they have been instrumental in the death and destruction of millions of people across the world in Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya, and Syria, as lead propagandists for the industrial military complex of the UK and US and their allies.

Mute Sorcha Hendry
    Favourite Sorcha Hendry
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:09 PM

I’m sorry but what does Chris Evans actually do for the BBC?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Sorcha Hendry:

Brings in 15 million listeners to his radio show.

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Jul 19th 2017, 3:24 PM

Actually, it’s just over 9 million, but I take your point.

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Jul 19th 2017, 7:35 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Good radio show it is too – I’m still listening to BBC Radio 2 all day at work (except for Jeremy Vine, podcasts fill that gap) since last Christmas – great music choice (with minimal repeats!), the lack of sports news and, especially, ads, means I would never go back to Irish commercial radio. The pay mentions today may be high in some cases, but is more than justified in most, especially when competing with attempted poaching by the commercial sector.

Mute John Conroy
    Favourite John Conroy
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:28 PM

Got to love Linekar. King of the cheesy pun.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:27 PM

@methodical2020:

The BBC make some great programs for both TV and radio

Mute Meanderingsz
    Favourite Meanderingsz
    Jul 19th 2017, 4:08 PM

Is nobody gonna mention Stephen Nolan being one of the highest paid in the UK 400-499,000 per year!?! You know Nolan, the fat guy on BBC NI that shouted at a politician via video link on that Miriam Callaghan show a while back…How is his wage justified?

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Jul 19th 2017, 6:19 PM

@Meanderingsz: He broadcasts every week day on BBC Radio Ulster, BBC Radio 5 Live from Thursday to Sunday and presents his own live TV show from Belfast!
    Happily his weight doesn’t effect the excellent content of his shows.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:20 PM

Jaysus Ryan Turbidity is a bargain – sponsored by RTE

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:27 PM

How can RTE keep our stars , when the BBC is paying ‘proper’ salaries ? Please dont send this article to Tubbs or Marian ….

Mute Jonathan Stapleton
    Favourite Jonathan Stapleton
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:22 PM

That’s Racist

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Jonathan Stapleton: The other BBC.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:53 PM

LOL! Comments of the week.

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Jul 19th 2017, 4:01 PM

Chris Evans and Graham Norton worth every pound

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:58 PM

Is it any wonder the toothy chap can buy Ferraris at 20 million a pop

The mind boggles

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 19th 2017, 3:19 PM

When will we see how much we pay our creaturs?? And when will they get reasonable rates?

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:43 PM

The real question here is who the hell is Jermey Vine?

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Jul 19th 2017, 7:41 PM

@Daniel Murray: BBC Radio 2 show between 12 and 2 weekdays. I listen to Radio 2 every day at work, but I skip his slot with podcasts – not my scene, but he’s obviously popular enough in the UK.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jul 19th 2017, 6:19 PM

And linekar still feels the need to advertise crisps

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jul 19th 2017, 7:57 PM

Gary Lineker on £1.7 million? There are footballers who…. oh wait. Sorry.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Jul 19th 2017, 8:14 PM

Pity they couldn’t have a Transfer Market like in the Soccer Leagues,

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Jul 19th 2017, 2:27 PM

Turgid Tubridy needs to go there to get paid commensurate to his talents…

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Jul 20th 2017, 8:02 AM

@George Salter: Guess why all the “stars” are still at RTE… actually, RT stood in for Graham Norton on his BBC Radio 2 show last year – not sure how it went, but I see that Alan Carr and Mel Sykes are doing it this year.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Jul 19th 2017, 11:58 PM

two fools to be honest……victims of ZIONIST extremism !!

Mute Niall Cunneen
    Favourite Niall Cunneen
    Jul 20th 2017, 2:06 PM

How the hell can the BBC even employ that human disaster zone that is Victoria Derbyshire ? Every single human tragedy story is jumped upon and squeezed for every bit of drama and sensational aspect she can find….She,and her production team,are purveyors of human suffering and couldn’t give the tiniest of damns about the people in terrible situations that they cruelly exploit

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Jul 19th 2017, 8:03 PM

Who cares . I for one haven’t heard of any of them in years . Let them off

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Jul 19th 2017, 11:21 PM

to be honest what person in thier right mind give a f** about these two muppets ? seriously ? c’mon journal surely your better than this shiiiiiiiiite !!!