You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A DISQUALIFIED DRIVER was arrested at Carbury, Co Kildare for drunk driving and causing a collision.
According to Gardaí, the driver was 10 times over the legal limit and caused a collision He was arrested by the Naas Roads Policing Unit.
The man was brought straight to court, where he was fined and disqualified from driving for 6 years.
The legal limit is currently at 50 milligrams of alcohol for 100 millilitres of blood. The fine for exceeding the limit depends on the scale at which its exceeded: €200 for those slightly over the limit, and three penalty points; and €400 for those who greatly exceed the limit and 6 months disqualification.
You can read more about the penalties for drink driving here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
41 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Trevor Hayden: if people want to spend a night in front of the telly with a bowl of popcorn and a bottle of wine listening to a mixed bag of songs from around Europe then so be it… to be fair it’s not RTEs fault that the PUBLIC voted Israel’s song as the winning entry last year (it was 2nd or 3rd after the national juries vote).
I actually like that all of this is helping to highlight some of the Palestinian/Israeli issues. Hopefully people will learn more about the conflict as a direct result of the contest and use this knowledge in a meaningful way.
“farce show, farce channel” …cancel then both? Ahh stop!
@Curious: Triggered, I’d prefer ” Boycie’d” Rte trying to sell a second rate farce to the public as entertainment.
Jesus it makes the X factor entertaining and that’s real tripe.
@Gerry Campbell: There would be as many Israeli Arabs present that would have the inclination to go – as like all such events in Israel. As for the “huge amount of Palestinians” in the audience – well if it was in Ramallah or Hebron then maybe but its in Tel Aviv in Israel so probably not.
Gerry. It’s been highlighted elsewhere in this thread that maybe you don’t read “good” but the Arabs became Palestinian for the 1st time in 1964. Jerusalem east (no such thing btw) wasnt held by Arab Palestinians it was held by Jordan. To regain this capital they talk about. Christians there milenia would have to be expelled as Jews who lived there milenia were expelled when Jordan invaded
Just to let you know as well. 20% of the Israeli population are Arab. They are judges, Doctors, lawyers, Teachers and Nurses
They’ve the exact same rights as Jews
Sorry you’ve never been to beautiful Israel and believe such bs
@Damon16: Israel considers Palestine part of its territories. The reason you wont see Palestinians there is because they are living in an apartheid regime.
@Gerry Campbell: I don’t know who’s going to be in the audience but you’re almost certainly right. It’s up to individual nations, tv stations and participants to highlight what it is that they see and to broadcast that to their own national audiences. The show itself is one part of an event that spans across an entire week.
@CouncilWatch: Shalom oh Nameless one, now Israel is a state stolen by the Jews ,bargained for ,by wealthy American Jews to save Britain’s arse as they were losing WW1…..that I’m sure means as little to the likes of you as that young girls teeth your soldier knocked out last week , brave boys and girls you have there ,ye will be grand .
@Cal Mooney: That is true, the Palestinian people are living under an apartheid regime of Hamas and the Palestinian authority who won’t allow their own people to live in peace, take the money given to better the lives of the Palestinian people by the UN, US and EU, (our taxes) to line their own pockets and keeps their own people oppressed for their own murderous ideology.
1. Israel is not in Europe, just because they cant play nice with the neighbors they should not be allowed use this or Eufa as propaganda for their illegal activities.
2. Criticism of Israel is not antisemitism.
3. RTE need to listen to who pays the licence fee and not be bullied by Israel like our Government have been in the past.
@Dave Connolly: Not in continental europe , but is part of european broadcasting union who organise event, as is turkey and most north african countries. Competition is open to them if they choose to take part.
@Dave Connolly: Several contestant countries aren’t in Europe. Membership of the EBU is the only qualifier. If RTE are to listen to who pays the license fee, the average viewing figures for last years contest was 690,000 – it peaked at 1 million during the results segment, then yes it’ll be a worthwhile show. We shouldn’t be bullied by moral relativists who hate Israel.
Have you been to Israel Dave or are you another armchair educated who listens to the lies the racist IPSC who replicate the actions of the Nazis in the 1930s spin?
How many of the tiny 11000 signatures are actually Irish when the Nazis leading the boycott charge called on their international co Jew haters in the international BDS campaign to sign?
@Clifford Brennan: I dont hate Israel. but what they are doing is illegal and morally wrong. They are acting like bullies and need to be called out for what they are.
@Sarah: I agree with RTE’s stance, Eurovision is non-political event but it is a human one; and anyone with an ounce of basic human dignity or any belief in human rights should shun this event while it is being held there
@George O Neill: your taking the mick . The Eurovision in recent years is as political as you get. Voting or not voting for allies or foes. Ukraine expelling Russian singer. This is no longer a contest. It’s influencing you neighbours.
@George O Neill: nonsense. Israel has far more human rights than any of the states around it. Check out its neighbours track records on lgbt rights and tolerance of religious difference
Lol. So one of the few Countries where Arab Women can vote (Israel), where LGBTQ Arabs can be openly gay (Israel) and where the Lord Mayor of Tel Aviv is Arab is……apartheid????
@CouncilWatch: I am pretty sure women are allowed to vote in all middle East countries except in the likes of US backed Saudi Arabia, Bahrain etc. Palestinian women are not allowed to vote in Israeli elections even though Israel claims Palestine as part of its territories. In Bahrain, 70 percent of the population are not allowed to vote. In Egypt, no one is allowed to run as President except the US backed coup leader. Israel has diplomatic relations with both of those countries. No surprise there.
The anti-Israelism and left-wing control of the media in Ireland is just all-consuming. The fact that RTE dithered for a month as to whether to confirm their participation in an event, popular with Irish people, shows how willing RTE is to bend-the-knee to the hard-left.
I haven’t been a big fan of the Eurovision since the turn of the century, but I have to point out that those petitioners, mentioned in the above story, certainly don’t represent me and would not represent the vast majority of Irish viewers who will tune-in the watch the 2019 Eurovision held in Israel this May.
@J. Reid: Left-wing control of media is a myth. The private media is owned by corporations, RTE is very supportive of our centre-right government parties.
@Squiddley Diddley:
@J.Reid
Above is an excellent example of the confirmation bias BS all accross social media .
If RTE put nothing more than a brown circle on the TV screen for a day one side would screem RIGHT WING CONSPIRACY while the other would Bellow LOONY LEFT MEDIA CONTROL.
@Patrick Nolan: I would actually tend to agree with you. RTE is pretty middle-of-the road, like most our main political parties, and does get flak from both extremes, which is probably a good sign. They do give a platform to all sides but are generally quite accepting of official statements and tend to be more questioning of Sinn Fein and other small parties. As such they support the status quo, which is to be expected of a State broadcaster. That’s hardly screaming “right-wing conspiracy” is it?
The difference between the wars in Yugoslavia in 2008, Georgia in 2009 and the situation in Ukraine and in Azerbaijan is that the oppressed Palestinian peoples themselves through civil society groups are calling for the boycott…its quiet evident that all people observing the boycott support peoples being oppressed worldwide, this is evident by the massive public support for the Occupies territories bill that was passed by both houses of parliament which targets thieving bas**ards who handle stolen goods worldwide….do we support criminality? certainly not .
@Ibhar Mac Suibhne: Palestinians are not calling for any boycott if Israeli goods, their shops are full of them, the Universities in Israel are full of Palestinians, including the hypocrite who started the BDS movement, they use Israeli techknowledgey and work in Israeli factories, stores and farmlands earning 4 times the Palestinian national income, BDS ruins their lives not the Israeli, don’t be fooled by the propaganda. I will never stop buying produce from Israel no matter what bill is passed making it illegal to do so, no one will tell me who I can or cannot purchase from. BTW, that bill will never pass in Ireland anyway, it would destroy our own economy and send us into another worse recession and the government know that.
If we had no problem with them being in the Eurovision every year before, then we have no problem with the possibility of them winning it, which we did.
Besides, the Eurovision isn’t a political platform.
We pay TV license fees. If those fees are going to a broadcaster who is activeily supporting war crimes we are within our rights to boycott the TV license fee. If RTE do this then I say we boycott the TV license fee as I do not want my taxes going to fund war crimes.
@Wade Wilson: I assume you are as outraged at the money that the Irish government gives every yr to the Palestinian authority – half of whose budget is spend on lifetime pensions for terrorists and the families of suicide bombers.
Oh and I will laugh at you if you mention the UN who have the Gulfies managing Women and children’s affairs and the just given Senegal a leading position in human rights
They have had a year to figure their diplomacy, a year hoping the Israeli’s would get them off the hook by behaving, but nope,still knocking children’s teeth out with the butts of rifles ,will RTE show some backbone, not a chance ,out we’ll go like sheep …
Interesting insight but nowhere does ot mention that NOT ONE country is boycotting Eurovision in Israel and that RTÉ has twice before attented Eurovision in Jerusalem.
The left-wing fantatics who cheer on the Palestinian regime should not be allowed to dictate what our national broadcaster does.
The Eurovision is now a political arena with minipulated voting to friend or foe , Ukraine expelled Russian singer over Crimea. So let’s now say this is above politics.
Dont care for Eurovision but the public voted for that song because they liked it (different strokes etc) and the tradition always has been that the winning country hosts the next yr. Talk of boycotting is stupid. No country boycotted Russia when it hosted it or the winter olympics etc. Its a cultural event being hosted in Tel Aviv in Israel proper – not the occupied territories. That’s like arguing that the academy awards or whatever should have been boycotted when the US invaded Iraq – it makes no sense.
I hope the contest goes well and I’m delighted it will be hosted in Tel Aviv. Israel is a unique and interesting setting for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.
RTE participating in this charade would be shameful, not just to the clique in Montrose, but for the Irish people. It’s time we took a stand against our nationality being abused by the spineless, mindless drones in RTE.
@Willie Penwright: I think the vast majority of Irish people would disagree with you. A well organised political petition can only get 11,000 signatures. That says a lot. Thats 0.3% of the total number of people who voted in the last GE. Noise, both statistically and literally.
@CouncilWatch: you might be trying a bit of too hard there. Although you did give me a chuckle at the trying to portray that you were laughing and not offended.
@m_murphy: when will the journal introduce laughing me bollo##s off emojis? Talk about delusional.Pick up a history book and jump off the left wing band wagon!
@m_murphy: Hahahaha there’s that word again that the anti Israel/Jews haven’t a clue about the meaning, genocide, funny how there are 7 times the amount of palestinians now than there were in 1948 when Israel became a nation. Over 7 million today, genocide means less not more. educate educate educate.
@CouncilWatch: 11 thousand, not a million, a million Irish people wouldn’t sign anything put to them by the IPSC antisemite liars, and I would say most who signed did so on Grafton street on their stall, people ignorant about Israel just passing by doing their shopping trying to make themselves feel good about themselves. Trust me on that, I see them all the time.
This should be a no brainer. This contest has is a farce. It costs a fortune , hosted by over paid presenters ,tax payers money wasted ,and entries by people who lost a fortune in the recession. Enough is enough, regardless with what is happening in other parts of the world its time to get rid of.
Agree. Last week a Jewish kid, 19 was raped, tortured and beheaded in Israel.
The terrorists family will be getting hundreds of thousands of dollars as the Palestinian have a Pay for slay policy when their people kill a Jew or a Christian or a Ba’ai or a Drueze or a Bedouin
Three points made is this piece fro the IPSC are inaccurate and in my opinion lies, (1) Israel does not occupying Gaza, Israel pulled out in 2005, receiving rockets and mortars on their communities in return. (2) there is no mass slaughter being conducted just a few kilometres down the road.” and if they were referring to the 50 Hamas terrorists killed last year at the boarder fence while trying to enter Israel to slaughter Jews, then it just shows the type of people they are. Terrorists supporting terrorists. (3) There is also no occupation of Jerusalem, it has been the capitol of Israel for the past 3 thousand years, just because the moors invaded Israel and occupied Jerusalem in 636ad, doesn’t mean it belongs to the arabs. Jews have always lives there, arabs have not. 11 Thousand signatures to boycott Eurovision does not represent 4.5 million Irish people, and certainly not me.
On a personal level, I will be boycotting eurovision, not because I’m anti semitic but because of appalling abuse of Palestinian people, their land and civil rights.
I don’t watch it, but if I would query anything, it would be, why is Isreal (and others) in the Eurovision, but not in Europe?
Yes I know technically why, but it’s just weird, but so is the Eurovision, so who cares, sing your hearts out wherever you want.
I have a dilemma. I am a rabid anti-Semite as the Joos own all the banks and caused Communism too. But I can’t support the Palestinians because of all the lefties who support them.
I am not saying whether we should or should not participate . Just on whether or not Israel is in Europe or not. May I just point out they are certainly closer to Europe than Australia
'Ireland was very smart': Trump namechecks Ireland as he pledges tariffs on pharma imports
Keith Kelly
12 hrs ago
Sindbad
At least six people feared dead after tourist submarine sinks off Red Sea coast in Egypt
Updated
33 mins ago
The Morning Lead
'Ireland was very smart': Trump namechecks Ireland as he pledges tariffs on pharma imports
Keith Kelly
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say