You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The start of Cement Road in Drogheda. Google Maps

Gardaí in Drogheda probe five separate violent incidents over six hour period

Three of the six incidents took place in the Cement road area of the town.

GARDAÍ IN DROGHEDA are investigating five separate incidents, including two petrol bomb attacks, in a six hour period between Thursday night and Friday morning.

They are also aware of another incident where an 18-year-old was assaulted with a weapon believed to be a hatchet.  

Three of the six incidents took place in the Cement Road area of the town.

All took place between 11.15pm Thursday and approximately 5.20am Friday.

Gardaí confirmed that the first incident involved what appears to be a petrol bomb which was thrown at a house in the Termon Abbey area.

There were no injuries in this incident and minor damage was caused to the property.

Less than 15 minutes later at 11:29pm, Gardaí received reports that a man had entered a halting site in the Cement Road area allegedly carrying a firearm.

Gardaí went to the location but nothing was found and no one was injured.

Two and a half hours later, at approximately 2am, officers received reports of another apparent petrol bomb incident on a roadway in a residential area of Cement Road. Damage was caused to the roadway but no injuries were sustained.

A short time later gardaí attended the scene of a car on fire in the St. Laurence’s Park area of Drogheda; it has since been taken for a technical examination.

Another car fire was reported in the St Laurence’s Drive area at approximately 5.20am, that vehicle will also be technically examined.

Gardaí are also aware of an apparent assault on an 18-year-old man with a hatchet in the Cement Road area of the town at around 5pm on Friday.  

It is understood he was struck on the head and needed stitches.

A Garda spokesperson said no arrests have been made in relation to any of the incidents and investigations are ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 50 comments
50 Comments
    Mute Ciaran Hand
    Favourite Ciaran Hand
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:09 PM

A well know travellers area..

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:35 PM

@Ciaran Hand: Will you join Casey’s party????

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Nov 10th 2018, 2:19 PM

@James Reidy: yes

Mute CtrlAltDel
    Favourite CtrlAltDel
    Nov 10th 2018, 2:45 PM

@Ciaran Hand: drogheda is a well know kip

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Nov 10th 2018, 6:05 PM

@CtrlAltDel: I worked there for ten months, hate the place

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Nov 10th 2018, 7:09 PM

@Ciaran Hand: it’s their culture boss,

any comment on it is deemed racist ..

Peter casey is my Hero

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Nov 10th 2018, 11:45 PM

@Ciaran Hand: The have roosters for fighting in cages there as well and that can cause trouble when money is involved…

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:19 PM

It was Diwali the other day Indian festival of lights and I was surprised to see on the news there are 40.000 indians living in this country, 5000 more than the traveling community. None of their wedding descend into bloodbaths, There never clogging the ED abusing staff, there more likely to be treating you. They all work and contribute to society. Also never see them posting on youtube that there going to Kill their fellow Indians. Lots of people arriving in this country come from poor states where human rights are deplorable, It does not automatically mean they will end up in prison.

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:11 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: Spot on Daithi

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:12 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: In fairness I have seen those Indian lads engage in heated arguments around the water cooler over the correct coding protocols for a given IT solution.
    They do not feel the need to escalate any argument to the point of physical conflict as India is a nuclear armed state hence the battle is won before it starts.
    The obvious solution is to provide our indigenous nomads with nuclear weapons of their own thereby negating the need for further conflict.

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:17 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: Well said Sir

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Nov 10th 2018, 3:33 PM

@David McShite: Now, now, they have their own version of Nuclear Weapons—-Hatchets Bell hooks Pitchforks etc You must realise that it’s part of their culture boss!

Mute Galleries and Museums in Ireland
    Favourite Galleries and Museums in Ireland
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:32 PM

Ethnicity and indigenous nomadic culture must be respected and valued. Tribal warfare is a dying tradition with progressively less and less practitioners. A melee with edged weapons and small arms might appear lacking in grace compared to more traditional martial art forms, but the enthusiasm of the participants more than compensates.
    We must embrace diversity..

Nov 10th 2018, 12:44 PM

@Galleries and Museums in Ireland: WTF

Nov 10th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: My thoughts exactly upon reading the article..

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Galleries and Museums in Ireland: Beautifully put, I for one lament the passing of the nobel art of combat and chariot racing. The cut and thrust of the sabre, pistols at dawn, dismembered limbs courtesy of the machete wielding pugilist seeking only to restore the lost honour of the family name so needlessly insulted at a recent cock fight.
    These gentlemen of honour also share your interest in museums, galleries and church artifacts not to mention the ancient Chinese belief in the erectile response of rhino horn.
    A much maligned and misunderstood section of society.

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:36 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: called sarcasm try it

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Nov 10th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: Read between the lines not the actual lines.But if you don’t get it,you don’t get it.

Nov 10th 2018, 3:29 PM

@David McShite: Thank you. Apart from the lost art of inter/intra family combat with adapted agrarian utensils, they aren’t afraid to upskill and diversify: Pet minding and dog walking are new services offered. They’ll provide collection of your beloved little furry friend, without you even requesting it. Unfortunately, they don’t provide returns..

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 10th 2018, 4:24 PM

@Galleries and Museums in Ireland:
    There is indeed much to be admired in their engineering prowess. The ability to turn every day household items into weapons of savagery would put any self respecting CIA operative to shame.
    Now call me an old fashioned fuddy duddy if you will but I still harbour a sneaking regard for the days when sex before marriage was taboo.
    Simply by moving the marriage date to coincide with the onset of female puberty has once again restored old skool order.
    I fondly recall selling a much loved Alfa Romeo Spider some years ago and 6 of the lads turned up together insisting that I accept €150 to part with this lovely machine. Whilst I was unable to accept their offer I was touched by their concern that the same vehicle could spontaneously combust in my driveway that very evening should they not immediately take this fire hazard off my hands.
    I really don’t understand why they get such bad press.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Nov 10th 2018, 9:32 PM

@David McShite: the ability to command a horse n trap would put Ben Hur to shame

Nov 10th 2018, 11:06 PM

@David McShite: *lol. Sounds like you’ve the makings of a mini series there..

Mute Denis Doyle
    Favourite Denis Doyle
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:11 PM

A sure let them at it it’s what they do

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:00 PM

Pikeys at it again as usual.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:29 PM

It’s apart of their culture. The government & society as a whole are to blame. Give them extra money to help them educate themselves.

Nov 10th 2018, 12:45 PM

Gardai will have concrete evidence in at least 3 of the incidents..

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:03 PM

Anyone for some used power tools boss.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:39 PM

The Cement Road area sounds like a hard place to keep law and order !

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:42 PM

@Johnny Mason:
    They are set in their ways!

Mute meltyface
    Favourite meltyface
    Nov 10th 2018, 3:53 PM

@Johnny Mason: Sure I heard they were plastered

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Nov 10th 2018, 4:01 PM

@meltyface:
    We have concrete evidence!

Mute DPentony
    Favourite DPentony
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:10 PM

Travelers making a great contribution to Irish society. Ryan Tubriby & the rest can pull his head out of his behind & come up for a look.

Mute Frank Martin
    Favourite Frank Martin
    Nov 10th 2018, 4:57 PM

5 out of 6 presidential candidates would be happy to live there.

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:54 PM

I believe they do good rates on drive ways

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:42 PM

Cancel Rathkeale let’s go to cement road more action there .

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:48 PM

We should respect all ethnic cultures and not brand them as thieves and fraudsters boss. They bring so much to the community that we should be grateful to have them.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:26 PM

@Dave Ryan: Not to mention their extensive line in fashionable fragrances and clothing for the dapper man about town. Let’s face it, The Waffen SS did cut quite the dashing figure of authority in those Boss original designs.
    Another overlooked benefit to the wider community as well as keeping our health, civil, emergency and legal services in much needed work.

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:35 PM

@David McShite: hillarious boss

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 2:54 PM

The travellers are pillars of society boss

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:13 PM

#paveepikeys boss

Mute Stoneybroke
    Favourite Stoneybroke
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:58 PM

Google Cement road, Drogheda – it sounds like Compton.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Nov 10th 2018, 2:57 PM

“Cement Road”.

I’m sure the other decent residents in that area are ‘mortar-fied’. There were no arrests however as the Gardai need ‘Concrete’ evidence. It must be a very ‘hard’ place to live!

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Nov 10th 2018, 12:49 PM

#Cementville

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:34 PM

They are wrong cause travelers don’t commit any more crime that settled community so as they are less that 1 % of population there must have been 100 x 5 = 500 incidents

Mute Bill Airey
    Favourite Bill Airey
    Nov 10th 2018, 3:42 PM

Gardai day they have nothing concrete to go on !

Nov 10th 2018, 7:08 PM

Its bonkers , were helping nobody pretendings its normal https://www.facebook.com/akos.sinka.7/videos/2139460709418371/

Mute CtrlAltDel
    Favourite CtrlAltDel
    Nov 10th 2018, 1:45 PM

Drogheda is a shite hole

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Nov 10th 2018, 4:40 PM

@CtrlAltDel: where you from Ctrl

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Nov 10th 2018, 11:50 PM

@CtrlAltDel: Dundalk has its characters as well but can be clanish as well with snobbery thrown in. Some say Louth is just one big bag of gossipers and p00 stirrers that will one day swallow itself up into a black hole of nowhere…

Mute Padraig Tiernan
    Favourite Padraig Tiernan
    Nov 10th 2018, 11:53 PM

Straight outa cement road!