Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda/Facebook

Two men arrested after €2.8m drugs seizure in Drumcondra

Quantities of cocaine, heroin, cannabis herb, cannabis resin and ecstasy tablets were seized by gardaí.

TWO MEN HAVE been arrested today after a “significant” drugs were seized from two cars and a premises in Drumcondra.

The men, aged 25 and 30, were arrested at the scene by members of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau.

It’s estimated that five kilos of cannabis was found during the seizure.

In a follow-up search at an address in Drumcondra, quantities of cocaine, heroin, cannabis herb, cannabis resin and ecstasy tablets along with drug packaging and mixing paraphernalia was also seized.

The total amount of drugs seized in excess of €2.8 million.

The raid was part of ongoing investigations targeting serious organised criminal activity in the Dublin Region, Gardaí said.

The men are being detained at Finglas Garda Station under the provisions of Section 2 – Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act 1996.

Investigations are continuing.

Read: Gardaí appeal for help locating woman (58) missing since yesterday

Read: Two men due in court over quad bike thefts in Limerick and Cork

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Presuming Ed
    Favourite Presuming Ed
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:46 PM

Legalise ‘em all and move on. It’s getting monotonous at this stage.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 20th 2017, 10:07 PM

@Presuming Ed: Not going to happen. And yes the refrain of Legalise is getting monotonous.

Mute Presuming Ed
    Favourite Presuming Ed
    Dec 20th 2017, 10:16 PM

@Mick Jordan: Where did you get the crystal ball Mick? It’s happened in other countries and it should happen here too. Or would you prefer the war on drugs to trundle on indefinitely?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 20th 2017, 11:39 PM

@Presuming Ed: Where has Heroin or Cocaine been legalised do tell?

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 20th 2017, 11:45 PM

@Presuming Ed: because its not a stroke of a pen simplistic thing , do think the gangs and drug lords will just go way if its legalised ? or do you suppose they are the ones that are allowed control the newly legalised market ? Will they pay tax ? What legal entities / channels exactly would own / distribute / package / and manage the financial affairs of the drug supply ? DO we have a legal entity that buys from cartels overseas ? Do you have some details on other countries that have done this miraculous legalisation of their drugs market and just ‘moved on’. I presume you mean Portugal – well look carefully because they essentially just wanted to change from it from criminalising to making it a health issue – a great thing and something I also agree we should do that here – but thats not quite the same . Its easy and populist to just keep saying legalise and move on – but in practice the reality is not that simple.

Mute Presuming Ed
    Favourite Presuming Ed
    Dec 21st 2017, 12:17 AM

@Mick Jordan: apologies Mick, I am talking about decriminalisation in other countries. I was wrong, you win. As you were.

Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills
    Dec 21st 2017, 2:28 AM
    Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 21st 2017, 10:21 AM

@Rob Mills: You don’t seem to understand the difference between decriminalization and legalization. The former no longer makes it an offence to possess small amounts for personal use. The latter would make the sale and supply legal. Now of you bother to read your own link you will see that it is the former that they refer to. Nowhere in any country is it legal to sell or supply Class A Drugs.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:44 PM

Jaysus, some session the lads were planning.

Mute Techguy.ie
    Favourite Techguy.ie
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:46 PM

no white christmas after all

Mute Presuming Ed
    Favourite Presuming Ed
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:51 PM

@Techguy.ie: Don’t worry. I’d say they aren’t the only drugs in the country.

Mute Techguy.ie
    Favourite Techguy.ie
    Dec 20th 2017, 10:34 PM

@Presuming Ed:

wont affect me dont touch the stuff

Mute Presuming Ed
    Favourite Presuming Ed
    Dec 20th 2017, 11:06 PM

@Techguy.ie: Apart from the coke, ecstasy and weed, either do I.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:29 PM

Someone’s subscribed to Dublin Live

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Dec 20th 2017, 9:38 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: the after party is called someone will Dublin die

Mute Stephenkee
    Favourite Stephenkee
    Dec 21st 2017, 10:12 AM

Probably already back on the streets. Queue barrister expressing remorse on behalf of their clients with dozens of previous convictions and suspended sentences.