You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí seize €250,000 worth of cannabis at random traffic stop on motorway in Laois

Nearly half a million euro worth of the drug has been seized today across the country.

1 Facebook Facebook

A TRAFFIC STOP on the M7 motorway in Co Laois saw gardaí seize €250,000 worth of cannabis herb from a car that attempted to pass through the checkpoint.

The multi-agency checkpoint, involving Revenue and customs officers, the Road Safety Authority and others along with gardaí, was carried out at Doon, near Borris-in-Ossory in the midlands county.

2 The Laois seizure cianan cianan

The sole occupant of the car involved, a man in his 30s, was arrested and is currently being held at Portlaoise Garda Station.

A forensic examination of the car is pending.

3 The Ballyfermot seizure Facebook Facebook

Separately, €180,000 (nine kilograms) worth of herbal cannabis was seized by the Garda drugs bureau, in partnership with customs officials, in Ballyfermot, Co Dublin, today.

A man in his 40s was arrested at the scene and is currently being held in Ballyfermot Garda Station.

Read: The Charleton Tribunal has an official (different) name, and its opening statement is due next Monday

Read: The Policing Authority chair has a ‘degree of confidence’ in the Garda Commissioner

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:13 PM

Time for protest lads time to start voting in new people so we can get new thinking in this state ff fg just dont cut it anymore there stuck in the stoneage.new people new thinking :-)

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:00 PM

Why don’t you lead the way Bobby. Light up a Joint in your local Garda Station and have a back pack full of weed on your back. Show how much you care for what think is bad law. Be a martyr for the cause.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:00 PM

Mick , you sound to be someone from a background of heavy institution.I agree those that are involved in Cannabis supply in cahoots with synthetics , heroin and coke are to be despised.But cracking down on a guy or girl that chooses to smoke , vape or eat a cookie is just plain wrong.The evidence is there to support the legalisation but as long as the profits from alcohol ( Irish Vitners Ass) , lobbying from Church ( groups) and the champions of the pharmaceutical industry ( include pharmacies ) . The movement has obviously started , you have to admit , but money wins out not human interests. You agree with the law as it stands , fair play but quit raining on those that don’t.Complain to your TD , make the law stronger to stop medical patients from receiving it.See my point ?I see yours.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:03 PM

Alcohol , what’s your opinion on its effects on policing , health system , families , your body ?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:13 PM

@Diarmuid Doran: As I said to Bobby.Neither I or those like me don’t need to do anything about the current law. I am not the one that wants it changed. If those that want it changed would mobilise the “Majority of the Citizens” that they deem to support legalization then they should have little problem in gaining the referendum they seek. But all I have seen are excuses why they can’t.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:18 PM

@Diarmuid Doran: I Personally don’t drink. As for it’s legality the majority of society are content in its use. Policing. Yes it is a headache for the Gardai and the courts. But that goes back to its popularity and legality amongst the citizenship.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:30 PM

Cheack point we got lucky yea right nobodies

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:04 PM

The poor fu@ker must have been shitting himself when he came across that check point. Free the medicine…

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:09 PM

Alcohol is poison time to start locking up the alcohol association.

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:16 PM

Jesus Mick, I’d say you’ve a baton on ya that would clear a pack of hungry dogs out of a butcher’s shop…it’s a plant ffs.

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:21 PM

Anytime I’m travelling in my car with weed in my possession, I’m fearful of being stopped as well Mick. I know it’s illegal but it bloody well shouldn’t be.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:35 PM

@Mick Jordan: somebody give mick his rosary beads back.mick is probably one of those guys that thinks alcohol is not a drug.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:56 PM

Bobby. Simple question for you. Is it currently illegal under the Misuse of Drugs act to cultivate, possess and or supply Cannibis or any of it’s derivatives without licence from the government? Now it’s not a difficult question for you to answer. A simple yes or no.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:04 PM

Just because something is illegal (especially in backward Ireland) does not make it wrong. Similarly, just because it’s legal does not make it right..

Feb 24th 2017, 8:06 PM

Mick .. would you not like to see it legalised?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:07 PM

@Mick: you appear to rely heavily on the state to define your moral values; maybe you should try independent thought instead of mindlessly judging those who choose not to comply with unjust laws..

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:08 PM

It is currently illegal mick but have you ever looked into the history of why it was made illegal? Very influential business people protecting their own business interests lobbying politicians to create such a law.
    There are medical applications to this plant which may be used in the treatment of cancer and other serious diseases. Have you ever wondered why such a thing would be illegal?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:20 PM

So we are all agreed that it is illegal under current legislation. And this guy wasn’t just transporting a small amount for personal use but to supply it to others. And as such was involved in criminal activities. Now as to your question Suzie. I would have zero problem with it’s legalisation for medical use under medical supervision just as such drugs as Morphine, Oxycodon, Lydocane etc are.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:25 PM

Clever Jake. Then why don’t you challenge the law’s legality in court? Surely if you are so sure of the legality your argument you should have no problem in securing a High Court injunction against its implementation. Or as the saying goes “Put up or Shut up”.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:34 PM

@Mick Jordan: its illegal because big pharma and the alcohol industry feel it would damage its profits thats the only reason its illegal mick dont think for one moment that this dictatorship cares about our health because if it did it wouldn’t leave children suffer in pain or our old suffer in hospital corridors while those yacks in dail take a big pay rise this state is corrupted to the core so I say to your mick come down out of your ivory tower and put cannabis legalization to a referendum and we will see if your right or wrong..

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:45 PM

@Mick Jordan: mick your a minority its time you put up and shut up.Cannabis will be legalized it will create 1000s of jobs and much needed revenue.if ff fg dont start listening you will loose thousands of voters for the reason Ireland is fast becoming socially aware we are just not going to put up with your control we are the next generation of voters your old way of thinking is comming to an end..mick so deal with it.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:56 PM

@Mick Jordan: its all ready after starting Mick people will be informed first the stigma attached to cannabis will be softened its not the big bad drug that you were thought in matter of fact its quite the opposite cannabis is medicine .its good for your health and it has to be legalized for all.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:56 PM

That’s the thing Bobby I don’t have to do anything because I am content with the law as it currently stands. You and those that wish it legalised for general use need to have the law changed. Now so far all I have seen is a badly failed attempt in the Dail to have the law amended and a load of hot air on social media sites like this. So I will ask again where is the mass movement for legalisation? Where are the huge marches in towns and cities across the country. Where are the hundreds of thousands of signatures on petitions? Where are they all????

Feb 24th 2017, 9:04 PM

What’s happening is that everybody is talking about it but nobody is actually doing anything about it …

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:06 PM

I will repeat again for the umpteenth time. Do something about it if you feel so passionate about it. Whinging about the law on social media is not going to change anything or bring about the referendum you want. Walk the Walk for a change. Show the Government that there is mass support for such a referendum.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:08 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: so the petition will be for full legislation tax and regulation.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:09 PM

That’s the thing Suzie. If there was the support that Bobby and Clever Jake seem to think there is, it should be a very simple matter of mobilising it. But yet nothing!!!

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:21 PM

Petitions aren’t illegal. Nor are legitimate protest marches. And you will only face criminal charges If found cultivating, in possession of or supplying Cannibis at the time of your arrest. Now if you are not in breach of the law then you have nothing to fear from it. The Gardai can take all the pictures and video they want it wouldn’t matter. If you are not involved in cultivation or supply then you would have nothing to fear from the Gardai searching your home. In fact you should welcome it to show your innocence.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:28 PM

Clever Jake. Why would I do that. I am not the one crying about the current illegality, you are. As for the Majority of the country. A big statement with no proof of that majority. Let’s see you lead a mass protest to bring about your referendum. Or will you do what the rest of the Pot Heads do, whinge and make excuses about why you will do nothing.

Mute Billy Larkin
    Favourite Billy Larkin
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:44 PM

@ Mick Jordan.Jaysus Mick you need to chill out even once in a while.You’re like feckin Robocop.

Feb 24th 2017, 9:51 PM

Bobby .. yes but there’s an awful lot of talk about it but nothing is really being done . .. we talk a lot about it but that’s as far as it goes .. Even that mother fighting for her daughter. . It’s like she’s alone with no support. .

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 9:53 PM

Billy. I am fully chilled. Like I said I am not the one with a problem with the law. But not one person on here that has a problem with it is willing to do anything about it. All I have heard are excuses why they won’t.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:21 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: so where is the best place to start petition its going to have to be tested at some stage anyways .petitions need real names people.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Clever Jake: Again Clever Jake where would the logic in that be. What benefit would it be to me or those who don’t support legalisation? As I also said to Bobby if he was so passionate about what he believed then becoming a Martyr for the Cause should be the least he could do. But like you he won’t because that would mean actually doing something rather than just talking about it.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:04 PM

Mick.
    You make a fair point. You are happy with the law as it stands, let those who aren’t happy with it campaign to have it changed. Just as people would do if for example slavery was still legal here, or as they do on abortion for that matter.

However with cannabis it is not as black and white as that.
    Firstly, There is still a stigma around the use of drugs including cannabis which means those who admit to its use put their jobs and livelihood at risk (reducing open drug use to those who have nothing to loose, the stereotypical “stoner”) meanwhile thousands of productive members of society enjoy cannabis from time to time with no harm to themselves or others.

Secondly, cannabis is everywhere, it is so easy to get and the conseqences relatively small that those who want it have it so only those who feel really strongly feel any need to protest.

That said you are right. Those of us who feel very strongly should start to protest amd pressure government for change.
    Now that the stigma is reduced this should be easier to do.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:05 PM

@Mick Jordan: weed is hardly a narcotic

Feb 24th 2017, 11:13 PM

Bobby. . That’s something I don’t know. . Don’t forget to sign the petition on change.org for Ava ..

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:18 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: ye have done that already sad story disgraceful stuff

Mute Kev McAndrews
    Favourite Kev McAndrews
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:26 PM

@Mick Jordan: You should welcome the Gardai raiding your home ? Mick what planet do you live on.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:41 PM

Kev. If I were innocent of a criminal accusation or investigation then yes I would welcome the Garda search because it would vindicate and clear me of any wrong doing. You may not remember the time the Gardai searched practically every home in the country when searching for Dessie O’Hare. We welcomed that search because like the vast majority of the population were opposed to him and his vermin.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Feb 24th 2017, 11:49 PM

@Mick Jordan: Yer an insufferable goon Mick, begorra, on the other hand, nice pics of you and the grandkids in Thailand, my favourite place ever !!!

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 25th 2017, 2:09 AM

Thanks John. For a creature like you to call me an “insufferable goon” I must be doing all right.

Mute Slava Cickinas
    Favourite Slava Cickinas
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:06 PM

Imagine if we could have just taxed him instead and put this into healthcare system… Oh, wait… That would be blasphemy!

Mute DubKid
    Favourite DubKid
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:19 PM

Nothing random about that, someone’s squealing, good job all the same

Mute Johnny Rotten
    Favourite Johnny Rotten
    Feb 24th 2017, 6:54 PM

Just bloody legalise it already.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 25th 2017, 7:14 AM

20 euro a gram ? I think the Gardai where smoking some of it

Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:29 PM

Whos getting 20 large a unit

Mute B McQ
    Favourite B McQ
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:43 PM

@Francais Williams: the gardaí apparently :P

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:37 PM

Cheak point yea right no stumbles across 8 kg of weed the chap got grased on an the police new exactly what car they were looking now the only thing the chap has for munhies is porige :-) :-)

Mute Rodan
    Favourite Rodan
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:48 PM

“Random” checkpoint my ass!! No-one is that lucky.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:40 PM

Now he hasn even got a joint :-) :-) :-)

Mute Dark Prince Of Athy⚒
    Favourite Dark Prince Of Athy⚒
    Feb 24th 2017, 7:57 PM

Sure Jesus was mad for the auld smack himself. Free the weed man.

Mute Donal Bolger
    Favourite Donal Bolger
    Feb 25th 2017, 8:07 AM

I’d like to know the actual weight of herb found . Gardai , as with all tenticals of this state are shite at math .

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:34 PM

All I have read in comments as always is “Should be legalised”, “Legalise it now”. But what I don’t see are mass protests for its legalisation. What I don’t see are petitions with hundreds of thousands of signatures in support of legalisation. Why not? If you all seem to passionately support legalisation where is the mass mobilisation to bring it about. It appears to be a case of “We talk the talk”. But when it comes to “walking the walk” it’s meh couldn’t be bothered.

Mute goon4life
    Favourite goon4life
    Feb 25th 2017, 5:33 AM

I think the fact that it is readily available and people who want to smoke it, smoke it anyway regardless of the law is whats stopping there from being the mass mobilisation you’re talking about, It would be a different case if it was impossible to get because of the law. Also a lot of people in Ireland have a misconception about the plant, we have always been told that it’s a gateway drug, causes mental illnesses and you’re some kind of junkie if you smoke it, all of which is being disproved with studies and research. The real victims are the people who could benefit from it medicinally rather than just recreationally, medicinal weed can be used to treat such a wide variety of illnesses from anxiety to epilepsy. It also has the potential to replace opioid based pain killers, which is part of the reason certain lobby groups i.e. pharmaceuticals are fighting against legalisation.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 25th 2017, 7:47 AM

Goon4life. The Government have lifted restrictions on it use on medical grounds.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:30 PM

Looking at some of the busts recently it’s quite obvious that smoking weed makes people stupid.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Feb 24th 2017, 8:40 PM

You smoked weed before didn’t you, Emmet?