You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Concerned about your drug use? This test will tell you how harmful it is

Tony Duffin of the Anna Liffey Drugs Project said a real benefit is the test’s availability 24/7.

AN INTERACTIVE SELF-assessment tool for drug users has been launched on the drugs.ie website to allow adults to complete an online test to identify harmful drug use.

On completing the test, the user will receive video feedback based on their specific responses, with suggestions on what to do in order to change any risks relating to their drug use.

Drugs.ie / YouTube

Tony Duffin, Director of the Ana Liffey Drug Project said today that benefits of the test include its availability 24 hours a day, seven days a week and the fact that engagement is confidential and anonymous.

“The test can also be accessed by large numbers of people at a time that suits them,” he explained.

Duffin said this is a “validated clinical measure” and what makes it unique is the personalised video feedback which he described as a “first internationally for a test of this nature”.

Anyone interested in doing the test will find it here.

Read: Man suspected of selling deadly heroin to tourists turns himself in>

Read: Locals want centre for homeless women shut down over anti-social behaviour>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Alan Hughes
    Favourite Alan Hughes
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:34 PM

Nothing there worth watching

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Favourite Séamus Longshanks
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:51 PM

@Alan Hughes: they will suddenly realise that they are crap and go bust.

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: don’t tease me like that! Oh God how break would that be?

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:48 PM

@Alan Hughes: Actually, I’d be happier to pay for a UK TV licence, rather than an RTE one.

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:00 PM

@Type17: no, we need Irish TV but we need better quality.

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:08 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: True, but I’m only speaking of the current (and sadly, probably the future) situation. I’d love if RTE/TV3 had more than ~5% good stuff, worth paying for, but I don’t see it happening any time soon. (I do pay my Irish TV licence, BTW, but only for an easier life).

Apr 4th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: never watch RTE, dont have a licence either

Mute Cat Reid
    Favourite Cat Reid
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:25 PM

@Alan Hughes: lol

Mute Beaker
    Favourite Beaker
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:03 PM

@Alan Hughes: who cares, its bias drivel anyway

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:33 PM

Lol do they actually think they will coerce people into paying???

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:39 PM

@Seth Cheffetz: might as well take that app down right now

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:18 PM

@Seth Cheffetz In South Africa they wnot let you buy a TV without your tv licence and ID to match it.

Mute Rob O'Brien
    Favourite Rob O'Brien
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:20 PM

@Brendan Hughes: don’t be giving them ideas!

Mute Bernard Mc Donnell
    Favourite Bernard Mc Donnell
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:26 PM

@Rob O’Brien: I can see a new opportunity for the black market.

Mute @angrymanwithissues
    Favourite @angrymanwithissues
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:43 PM

@Seth Cheffetz: So funny reading the comments on here. The same people who protested about Water Charges “on principle”, whining about the TV License. Is there any service you do want to pay for? Any contribution ye would like to make to society? Anything at all? All these services should be available to everybody- once you don’t have to pay for them, right?

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:49 PM

@@angrymanwithissues: no problem with paying for a service. Big problem with paying for a service that you have already paid for with other taxes. And ffs, rte could run their operation on advertising alone if the were a bit frugal and stopped wasting money left, right and centre on crap and overpaying presenters when the advertisers would pay anyway, even if it was just Gerry Ryan’s old dealer telling stories.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:08 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: If RTÉ were frugal, and worthwhile, the licence fee should be going down.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:23 PM

@@angrymanwithissues: Who wants to pay for a propaganda machine? When all media in Ireland starts to do its job as a media, then it will be considered money well spent.
    People are expected to pay to much for to little.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:56 PM

Remember the shouting when the GAA sold a few matches to Sky ……. how many people in Ireland watch RTÉ? My guess is over 95% – maybe not on a regular basis but do watch it

Mute @angrymanwithissues
    Favourite @angrymanwithissues
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:03 PM

@Dave Doyle: You sound like Donald Trump with his “fake news” & enemy of the people media. RTÉ is about as objective as you get these days. I’m sorry objectivity doesn’t sit with your world view.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Apr 4th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Rob O’Brien: Just drive across the border!!

Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams

Work away Denis and RTE will be able to see how many people bother to watch ….Really Terrible Entertainment at its best Denis..

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Apr 4th 2017, 10:44 PM

@Francais Williams: €100/year. Winners all round. to be fair rte have good stuff too!

Mute Dubabroad
    Favourite Dubabroad

Let them at it.. And if people don’t watch the Rte player then I guess they shouldn’t need a licence….

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:28 PM

@Dubabroad: Or if they do have a license then a substantial discount for not watching online would surely be fair But fairness hardly comes into it when they just put out propaganda and charge for it.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:37 PM

Funny thing is, I bet they won’t have an option for if you don’t wish to access RTE’s services.

I don’t listen to RTE radio stations, I don’t even have RTE channels on my tv (don’t have a ariel capable of receiving them) and I most certainly don’t use RTE Player yet I’m forced to pay the license under the law.

If RTE decided to go advert free like the BBC then I think it would be great, but at the moment they get to run adverts AND get license money and they still have troubles competing with TV3 who only get advert money,.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Barry Somers: Yep, and as TV3 is complete rubbish that says very little about RTE

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Barry Somers: TV3 do actually get money from the TV license, but it’s very small. It’s only for anything that they produce and is made in Ireland etc.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:13 PM

@Barry Somers: if we had a population of 60Milllion they could go ad free, it’d totally pointless to compare them to BBC

Mute Yap McGregor
    Favourite Yap McGregor
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:09 PM

I use an aerial – that will work fine

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:58 PM

@Barry Somers: so how do you know RTÉ are not advert free if you don’t watch them

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:43 PM

We should be given a choice to subscribe to RTE,NOT BE FORCED to pay the a licence fee. They would soon get the message then

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:35 PM

Last time I used BBC iPlayer a few weeks ago it just asked if you have a TV license. Click ‘Yes’ and you get right through…

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:50 PM

@damian: you must also use a proxy server? because you cannot access it in Ireland normally.

Mute Caillte
    Favourite Caillte
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:54 PM

Maybe he was in the uk a few weeks ago…

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: Yup. Live in the US. Only was to see Six Nations here with decent quality is BBC iPlayer or ITV Hub. RTE player is rubbish. Never has enough capacity for demand. Amateurs in the streaming game.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: … typo. ‘Only way’…

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:10 PM

@damian: I was in the UK last week and last month and I didn’t need the UK TV license I don’t have to watch iPlayer. Straight up lie from the minister on that score.

Also, unless they introduce a whole new licensing system it’s not going to be all that hard to just guess a valid number. I could set a script up to automate that in less than 5 minutes.

Hardly an idea worth lying about, let’s be fair.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:31 PM

@John Considine: exaxtly. He’s a dope!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:25 PM

@damian: I can wach all BBC, all ITV, and more from my laptop, without needing any license number, or dish, or box.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:00 PM

@Dave Doyle: courtesy of the British license fee payer Dave

Do you watch RTÉ much at all?

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:29 PM

@damian: RTÉ app doesn’t even support chronecast.

TG4 does though.,,

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:41 PM

RTE will end up going to the wall.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:30 PM

@Declan Carr: and good riddance to them

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:26 PM

@Declan Carr: It won’t be let go to the wall. It has to much value as a propaganda machine.

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon

A broadcasting charge?
    Hahaha.
    Go on Dennis, try introducing that. Go on…give us a laugh.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:11 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: They might turn it down to a trickle. Broadband is almost non existent in most of rural Ireland, they need to get their act together about that first.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:36 PM

@RJ.Fallon: haven’t you heard RJ? They’ve cut their rural broadband project by half a million houses.
    The head gobsh*te in Eircom today welcomed that plan saying those that do get it will rival Europe in quality and speed.
    It’s the same PR nonsense over me over.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:37 PM

@William Clay: over and over.
    Seriously is any one else’s predictive text as bad as mine. It’s atrocious on this thing

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:40 PM

I haven’t watched a program on rte one or two in ages.

I just use the internet.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:55 PM

So I might miss out on the FG FF party line, the defence of the Garda Commissioner, Denis O’Briens, the Bon Secour Sisters and the HSE; plus Ryan Tuberty, Marion Finucane, Joe Duffys entertaining shows? #RTEbias should be on pay per view, and see how long they last

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:24 PM

@DeFonz: Don’t go slagging off Denis O’ Brien he is on a shoe in to win the tender, his successful application will be announced just before applying closed.

Mute The Unknown Souldier
    Favourite The Unknown Souldier
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:56 PM

Just another representation of how detached RTE and this government are from the reality of our times. TV is giving way to the net, which is why they want to tax that next and the contract being put “out for tender” for tax – collection will most likely result in a British company being allowed to enforce an archaic and defunct charge. One that isn’t a “TV” license, its an RTE license but it doesn’t look like very many people are interested in what their selling. Abolish the TV license, let RTE compete in the “free market” and see how far they get. No doubt Tubridy might have to take a pay cut.

Mute RobbieL
    Favourite RobbieL
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:38 PM

If you want to watch something there are ways and means to do it..with or without a TV license.

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:53 PM

Since RTE blocked out users people using Ad Blocker i dont bother with the Player.

Our house has a TV License!!! but I’m certainly not watching 2-3 mins of ads before a show with another 4 mins of ads split into 2 ad breaks in-between!

Apr 4th 2017, 7:33 PM

@Byyys: In fairness the ads are often the best part of the program……

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:59 PM

Never had a tv licence.Never will have a tv licence. I never watch RTE so why pay for something i never use.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan

Oh no!?! Whatever will I do now ? :-}

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:49 PM

Always copying Britain whether it be social issues or laws, can we not come up with solutions ourselves?

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:54 PM

@Séamus Longshanks:
    Fine Tory.

Mute moe
    Favourite moe
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:03 PM

It’s an out dated law., That needs to change . Nobody has 160 euros to give to tubs and Co. Every year.
    There’s a reason why rte can’t get in the revenue, because it’s old and dated. Like their presenters.
    The only way forward is for rte to be a pay per view channel.

Mute Chris Murphy
    Favourite Chris Murphy

If only they did something like that with sky/upc/soarview. We would be laughing. The tv license is a bill for a service I don’t want. More an utter muck!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:47 PM

No I won’t cause I don’t look at that sh- te

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson

rte is great value for 160 quid a year. think of all those quality chat shows with rte stars interviewing other rte stars on a daily basis.lets double the licence fee so that montrose can recruit more quality talent for them to interview. Sure who’d need all them sky channels when you’ve got rte on the box &online

Mute Alan Brogan
    Favourite Alan Brogan

About time, that is by far the best system that they can introduce.

Mute John Cassidy
    Favourite John Cassidy

My parents are OAPs and don’t have to have a license. How will they watch it then?

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon

The RTE player is appallingly poor quality. Constantly stalling, freezing, blurred quality, when it has to be reloaded the ads kick in again. Even Dee Forbes had to publicly admit this recently arguing that it needs a huge cash injection to bring it up to standard.
    RTE can not justifiably charge people for watching the player as long as it remains such poor quality transmission.
    On the question of license fee collection.
    In order for a prosecution to take place the agent must visibly see a working TV in the household. The agent has no statutory right to enter your home unless they produce a search warrant. No judge will issue a search warrant on such grounds.
    Also, unless your correct name is listed on any summons it is invalid and should be thrown in the bin.
    Technically speaking it is impossible for a TV License collector to enforce payment unless you invite them into your home and demonstrate a working TV.
    You’d want to be a total idiot to do that.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:16 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: just over a year ago my deceased mum received a letter saying that if she didn’t purchase a TV licence prosecution would ensue. I phoned and told them she was dead and there was no TV set, apparently the inspector on getting no reply to his knocks actually peeped in the front window and saw an old TV that hadn’t worked in eons and honestly i had forgotten all about it. Anyway, the lad on the phone told me that he used to be an inspector and all they had to prove for prosecution was that a receiver (irrespective of whether it worked or not) was physically on the premises. It hit the skip pretty damn fast.

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon
    Apr 4th 2017, 10:05 PM

@molly coddled:
    Me last lack’s father was a TV license inspector he told me that.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:14 PM

Disband RTE or scale it down to survive on advertisement income.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:57 PM

I won’t bother renewing the Licence for a restricted service.

Mute Stephen Campbell
    Favourite Stephen Campbell

Great news!! About time they realise how many people don’t use their services..

Ha.. You really think I’m gonna rush out and buy my TV license so that I can watch a 4 year old repeat of Top Gear!!

Fair shitty is nothing but vommit.. What else have they ??

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:37 PM

Yeah if you can get it to work! Tried watching Six Nations on it bloody thing sucked. Sure next year it’s on TV3 anyway.

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:32 PM

Perhaps if they stop interviewing each other on the late late, stop paying hundreds of thousands of euros to presenters, and stop boring repeat s. And the $hitty ads hole blowing about themselves,. There only much reeling in the years you can take

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear

This might be the most absurd thing I’ve ever read on theJournal.ie..

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear

@Daffy the Bear: I’d rather iron my scrotum..

Apr 4th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Daffy the Bear: Daffy the Bear has a scrotum??

Mute Patrick Cat
    Favourite Patrick Cat
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:25 PM

Furthermore, how would they prevent you from entering your neighbors tv licence number if you were to split the cost, just for argument sake?

Mute John Morgan
    Favourite John Morgan
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:12 PM

Iplayer doesnt ask for your licence number, it just asks if you have a licence – you’d think they’d get some basic facts right if they are going to set a policy based on what they “think” other countries do. Secondly this is completely unenforceable since people will just share a valid number. After all plenty of people living in houses with multiple residents and they share a licence…so who is to say who owns a particular number.
    Grade A thinking from our minister…They’ll probably spend a fortune implementing a system that achieves nothing…

Apr 4th 2017, 7:29 PM

@John Morgan: Bit like eircode John lots of money for feck all…..

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:39 PM

@John Morgan: that’s easily solved. Force people to provide their licence number and mobile number. Send them a PIN when they try to log in. If you don’t enter the correct PIN within 60 seconds, you can feck off.

That would help curb people sharing valid licence numbers as you’d need the correct mobile to hand in order to gain access

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Apr 4th 2017, 11:25 PM

@Kerry Blake: Would disagree about eircode. Very handy. Do u know u can use ur eircode in google maps now. which means delivery drivers can find your house even when u live in the sticks. so much less hassle now

Mute Donna Hughes
    Favourite Donna Hughes
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:47 PM

Bit confused…who actually watches RTE??

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:30 PM

They’re looking in to the BBC model. Perhaps, but whatever one they decide to use will be utterly useless but somehow will cost millions

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin

Who in their right minds watches that rubbish ha?

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Mark Mcloughlin: What?!? You mean you don’t watch Fair City on catch up!?!

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:27 PM

The minister is wrong and what else is new with this government. You only have to click the option that says you have a licence in the UK. Nowhere are you asked to enter a number.

Mute Wodanaz von Mises
    Favourite Wodanaz von Mises

The twentieth century called…

Mute Keith Grant
    Favourite Keith Grant
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:21 PM

Why not just make it a subscription service like Netflix, then we can opt in or out if we don’t have TVs no need for a tablet tax

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:39 PM

RTE is clearly dying when it has to pull stunts like this.

Sell RTE to DOB for a euro.

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:35 PM

@Tony Daly: nah, sell it to Mick O’Leary for 1 cent. I’d say he’d be a laugh to work for

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:37 PM

Couldn’t care less. As for 14% not paying that’s hardly killing rte. look at the wages rate pay out. It’s enough to sicken a horse tackle that first. Don’t watch it on TVs never mind my iPad.

Mute Patrick Cat
    Favourite Patrick Cat

Seeing as the beyond useless RTE player randomly stops streaming with some bull error on my top of the range PC I might as well have a paper sticker all over my screen to enter it over and over again!!

Mute Willard the Rat
    Favourite Willard the Rat
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:10 PM

Thats a bit frightening is it not ,better pop out to get a license so I can watch the drivel coming out of Montrose,can’t wait to see Gaybo TubridyTwink and the rest of the subsidised click. God I hate that station

Mute Stephen Campbell
    Favourite Stephen Campbell

Great news!! About time they realise how many people don’t use their services..

Ha.. You really think I’m gonna rush out and buy my TV license so that I can watch a 4 year old repeat of Top Gear!!

Fair shitty is nothing but vommit.. What else have they ??

Mute Mark Gearey
    Favourite Mark Gearey
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:04 PM

@Stephen Campbell: Bloody repeats ;)

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:58 PM

@Mark Gearey: Indeed! RTE always do repeats every summer as most of its workforce go on their annual holliers.

Mute goon4life
    Favourite goon4life

Who gives a f*ck what the tories do in the U.K.? TV licence should be scrapped, if you want it subscribe to it, simple as that..

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:46 PM

People are wasting their RTE supply. There needs to be a licence, pay per minute viewed and a per person charge. We need to give our PPS numbers to RTE.

RTE needs to get serious and properly exploit its dominant incumbent position.

Apr 4th 2017, 7:28 PM

RTE player? Who the feck watches that? Moved 2 years ago and never bothered plugging in my TV to the antenna. Guess what I’m not missing it in the slighted.

Mute Brendan Geoghegan
    Favourite Brendan Geoghegan
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:05 PM

Do it on RTE on the TV too please. Pay for view all the way. See if it can stand on its own for a year.

Mute Paddy Banks
    Favourite Paddy Banks
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:47 PM

Greyhound Racing – €76m
    Horse Racing – €44m
    RTE – €20m + licence money
    But #buseireann drivers expected to give up 30% of wages?

When will we here of the pay cuts at RTE, Tubs/Darcy = euro 970.000, how many licence payments is that?

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:22 PM

Dooley it doesn’t annoy me in the least bit that 14% don’t pay for this crap, I say well done!

Apr 4th 2017, 7:13 PM

Get lost RTE

Mute Melanie Vasquez
    Favourite Melanie Vasquez
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:46 PM

No I won’t. Because I don’t own a TV, and even if I did I certainly wouldn’t be paying the license fee for the complete sh*te that’s on RTE.

Mute Caroline O'Duffy
    Favourite Caroline O'Duffy
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:02 PM

Would we not have to pay then if we never use it, a good way to actually prove how many people would bother logging in!!!!

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:48 PM

Forget the TV license and just shut down RTE.
    Or, make RTE go pay to view only.

Mute Daniel O'Leary
    Favourite Daniel O'Leary
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:30 PM

Communications Minister Denis Naughten told TheJournal.ie that he is looking to replicate what happens there.
    “In the UK, to access the BBC you have to put in your TV licence number,” he explained.

Any chance that the Journal can ask proper questions and correct the minister when he is making false claims…you Do Not have to input a TV licence number…or just give him a heads up on what’s what…so he knows what he is talking about next time

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:41 PM

RTÉ Who?

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:34 PM

I watch RTE for 2 hours per month at a stretch, and never looked at the online rubbish. Just close the money pit and put us out of our misery.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:34 PM

how much is the licence for bbc ? and can you buy it here. that would be worth paying for

Mute robert lester
    Favourite robert lester
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:39 PM

Hahahahahahaha! There won’t be enough internet to cope with the demand

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:42 PM

This made laugh a lot, I didn’t realise there was an RTE online lol

Mute Aidan O'Donovan
    Favourite Aidan O'Donovan
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:02 PM

Eh in the UK on iplayer you just get asked if to confirm you have a TV licence. But of course the UK is the only other country in the world so we should naturally just follow suit

Mute Scott Hazel
    Favourite Scott Hazel
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:24 PM

There’s nothing worth watching on it..

Mute Ronano LeTucci
    Favourite Ronano LeTucci
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:17 PM

Oh dear god…WHAT WILL WE DO?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:53 PM

Poor auld Dinny is a true Blueshirt after all. I’m sure there are greater minds around that won’t be long beating that one. That will be bypassed fairly quickly now. What muppets they are.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:28 PM

How is that going to work on publicly shared computers?

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:57 PM

In the U.K. you DON’T have to input your licence number – all you have to do is click a pop up that says “I have a licence.” to watch BBC. You may also have to input your postcode/address to watch other channel apps. That’s it.

Mute The Thinker
    Favourite The Thinker
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:39 PM

In fairness that’s a good idea. And then stop bothering people that don’t have a tv, or people that have a laptop over 11 inches, but not for tv purposes.

Mute Bill Walsh
    Favourite Bill Walsh
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:32 PM

Yet again, Ireland copies the UK, as usual.

Mute Derek Power
    Favourite Derek Power
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:15 PM

Grand…but remove the six adverts that play before the video starts…which then contains ads from when the show aired.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:27 PM

You don’t need to enter you licence number in Britain to watch BBC online

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:24 PM

What is RTE online?

Mute Veroníca
    Favourite Veroníca
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:03 PM

Unless katie in fair city got outta her box nothing else on it to watch…

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Apr 4th 2017, 9:18 PM

RTE on what???Hahahahahahaha

Mute B-bob
    Favourite B-bob
    Apr 4th 2017, 10:33 PM

lol I’ll never have to do that as I Never watch your channel lol

Mute oldon
    Favourite oldon
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:25 PM

You having a laugh. Rte should be closed down.
    Pack of wasters. Just use 3rd party apps so no need for the rubbish app rte put out.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke

Brilliant because it will have zero effect on my families life. Our internet is so rubbish we can’t watch anything on it.

Mute Patrick Murphy
    Favourite Patrick Murphy
    Apr 4th 2017, 10:39 PM

I access the BBC iplayer via Hola unblocker and it only asks if I have a licence, to which I tick Yes. It does not ask for a licence number so the Minister is telling porkie pies.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:23 PM

“Down with that sort of thing” Nothing to be seen here!

@Charliegrl80: Nothing to be seen on RTE either….

Mute HoneySmuggler617
    Favourite HoneySmuggler617
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:26 PM

It’s still a load of sh!t

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:35 PM

So if you live abroad you cannot access RTE online!!

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Apr 4th 2017, 10:26 PM

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: There’s an RTE international app with a subscription fee

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Apr 4th 2017, 8:07 PM

That’s an easy problem to resolve !

Mute Kevin Maguire
    Favourite Kevin Maguire
    Apr 4th 2017, 7:22 PM

@@angrymanwithissues: …your screen says it all!

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Apr 5th 2017, 12:32 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    ahhhhhhhh ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    ah ha ha ha ha ha ha. (Deep breath)
    Ahhhhhhh ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Input TV licence? RTE Player?
    What Idiots!!!!

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:09 PM

Value you for money? For who exactly?

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 4th 2017, 6:10 PM

I can honestly say I have never watch the RTE player once in my life.

Mute David Kenny
    Favourite David Kenny
    Apr 5th 2017, 7:31 PM

The less people watch RTE ,the less ignorant people will be to what’s REALLY going on….RTE .. Keeping people in government spin and lies , since 1960

Mute Kieran Mcnamee
    Favourite Kieran Mcnamee
    Apr 5th 2017, 10:24 AM

Thats fine, dont use it anyways lol

Mute Richard Powell
    Favourite Richard Powell
    Apr 5th 2017, 12:07 PM

I wouldn’t have as much of a problem paying, if they didn’t have the ad revenue stream open to them. Like with the BBC. In Australia there’s no such thing as a to license. There’s about 30 free to air channels which raise revenue from ads and all you need is a TV and antenna on the roof. Granted there’s ads on every ten minutes but that’s the price you pay for a free service.

Mute Sean O'Reilly
    Favourite Sean O'Reilly
    Apr 5th 2017, 2:33 AM

‘Avin a laugh are we, that’s a euro, find in’ it not funny, that’s a euro, undecided are we, that’s €2, great nation this we live in.
    As a resident of this country, I ask to be provided directly and immediately with the current most up to date constitution of our nation. Simply to clarify my status as a recognised patron of this State. Until that has been bestowed to all citizens of this State I shall with hold any such charges payable, until such clarification in writing has been issued by the State that I reside in to all such citizens to provide transparent legislation to us all.

Mute Damien Ryan
    Favourite Damien Ryan
    Apr 4th 2017, 5:55 PM

LMFAO This is pure lies!! Anybody who watches the BBC iplayer knows this.

Mute Seamus O Laighleis
    Favourite Seamus O Laighleis
    Apr 5th 2017, 8:06 AM

RTE , should go pay per view and the licence fee should be scrapped.
    Lets see how many people are watching it then.

Mute Andy Gibson
    Favourite Andy Gibson
    Apr 5th 2017, 7:39 AM

Typical Irish government – copy all its ideas from the British. Don’t these politicians have minds of their own? Pathetic.