You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

One of the dogs who was rescued by the DSPCA. DSPCA

DSPCA inundated with unwanted pets and it's still over three weeks until Christmas

The DSPCA wants to remind people that their pet is a member of the family and “not a disposable item”.

THE DSPCA HAS said it is run off its feet with the amount of cats and dogs which have owners have asked it to rehome – and there are still 25 days until Christmas.

In the last week alone, the DSPCA said that it had received rehome requests for 25 dogs and 20 cats and kittens.

According to the DSPCA, the reasons given include that the owner is moving house, the animal is “biting the children” or “unwilling to work on training”. Others said they had allergies or the animal had gotten too big.

One person even told the DSPCA that they had multiple dogs but wanted “to get rid of the troublesome ones”.

Gillian Bird of the DSPCA said: “One case involves an owner who can no longer care for his five terriers ranging from one to six years of age. We appreciate that some callers are genuine but the trend is worrying and continues to get worse each year and the calls increase the closer to Christmas we get.

“It is not unheard of for pet owners to surrender their pet dog as it has become ‘too bold’ only to replace it with a new puppy at Christmas.”

“We have heard all the excuses possible, my personal favourite was from a family who felt that their old and slightly smelly dog did not fit into the newly refurbished kitchen where they would be preparing and eating Christmas dinner with their extended family.”

The DSPCA wants to remind people that their pet is a member of the family and “not a disposable item”.

Yesterday, it emerged that two foxhounds and five cocker spaniels were rescued after they were smuggled from Ireland to Wales in the boot of a car.

The puppies were found in two crates that came off the Rosslare to Fishguard ferry last Thursday at 1.30am.

The foxhounds were around 10 weeks old, while the cocker spaniels were just eight weeks. Authorities had serious welfare concerns about the puppies, and they were seized and signed over to the RSPCA.

The seven dogs were fed and watered by the RSPCA overnight and, after a quick trip to the vet, it was confirmed that they were fit to travel back to Ireland.

ISCPA chief inspector Conor Dowling said: “This incident again shows how some people are willing to disregard the welfare of defenceless animals and break the law purely to make a quick buck. Thankfully, on this occasion, multi-agency cooperation meant that they were stopped.”

Read: Photos: Seven puppies rescued after being smuggled from Ireland into Wales >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:17 AM

Love the way DSPCA exchange the word ‘reasons’ for ‘excuses’.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:13 AM

@Missyb211: Making way for the cute puppy, another reason for dogs being dumped and we need to introduce permits for breeding like sweeden has in place.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Nov 30th 2017, 12:57 PM

@Missyb211: I don’t think it’s the DSPCAs fault..

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:17 PM

My sister’s neighbour kept a dog for security for years. Never brought out never in the house. No love. He cried all day.fat and old Gone now. New dog. Golden lab. Never out. Never in the house. No love. Never talked to. My sister tried every where to have something do e about this but was told it’s legal once the dog is fed and watered. Terrible attitude in this country. Ignorant people

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:11 AM

We’re a f@#&ing cruel species. “Sorry Fido, you’re not cute enough anymore. Little Mary’s getting a Pug.”

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:29 AM

@JJ O Riordan: Luckily the majority of pet owners cherish their pets until the last breath and they still miss them.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:36 AM

@Gillian Weir Scully: yes, and pets that are not cherished should be put to sleep in a humane manner and put in the incinerator.

All this setting up dog/cat charities and looking for homes, etc. is a waste of time and money.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:56 AM

@Gillian Weir Scully: absolutely. We adopted a little whippet cross nearly 6 years ago who was abandoned at Christmas. She was found with her dead litter under her. The poor thing was close to death.

When we put the tree up the following Christmas she lost the plot. She must have associated it with being abandoned.

Mute Ciara O'Halloran
    Favourite Ciara O'Halloran
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:13 AM

@David Murphey: are you for real.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:15 AM

@Ciara O’Halloran: don’t mind him. He’s just trying to provoke a response.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:16 AM

@David Murphey: That won’t get you the response you want, shock and awe statements like Trumps populist BS is self defeating!

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:54 AM

New dog for Christmas. Old dog out. Some people have no shame.

Mute Irish Nellie
    Favourite Irish Nellie
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:04 AM

Some people have no heart. Better make a donation to the DSPCA and other animal charities, looks like they will need it – food, shelter, vet bills, and in the meantime puppies and kittens are for sale online contributing to the next batch. Folks, please adopt, don’t shop.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:32 AM

@Chris Martin: Most people are not like that. Some people say the are animal lovers but they are awful owners.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:34 AM

@Irish Nellie: All Good points and maybe foster if you can.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:15 AM

@Irish Nellie: you can also bring them up any old blankets etc and food and toys. I bring some up at Christmas and they’re really greatful.

Mute Dan Ennis
    Favourite Dan Ennis
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:49 AM

we dont care for the homeless in ireland, how cam we care for cats and dogs.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:26 AM

@Dan Ennis: Speak for yourself!

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:09 AM

@Dan Ennis: because dogs and cats being treated like this is because of humans, they can’t fend for themselves. Personally I’d rather give money to an animal charity than someone on the street.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:18 AM

@Dan Ennis: The homeless can speak for themselves, some are authors of their own book and others unfortunate. Animals can’t speak, we took their land from them and use it for ourselves. We owe them something, our protection and care!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Stephen murphy: Well said Stephen. There are no greater victims of human negligence than animals domesticated with humans and then suddenly abandoned.
    Imagine placing your trust and loyalty in those you consider family only for it be trampled on for reasons beyond your understanding. It’s heartbreaking.

Mute Brónagh Uí Dhúnlaing
    Favourite Brónagh Uí Dhúnlaing
    Nov 30th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Dan Ennis: Are we not allowed to care about both issues?

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:13 AM

It’s unfortunate how unwilling they are to let people who work during the day adopt, even when dog walkers/doggy day care will be used. Surely it’s better to have a dog in a nice loving home where the owner will be gone for some of the day than in a tiny cage or even worse put down.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 30th 2017, 2:02 PM

@Sam Harms: Dogs pine when they’re left alone. They don’t know whether anyone’s coming back. It’s no life for them. I once had a neighbour who left their dog all day. I was studying at home for a week and it was heartbreaking to hear it. I know people who can’t keep a pet because they work full time and they are volunteers at the shelters, they can still walk the dogs in their spare time. It’s a good way to show a bit of commitment to the animals.

Mute Mucky Pup
    Favourite Mucky Pup
    Nov 30th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Our dog stopped pining for us when we got a second dog. They are thick as thieves and fantastic company for one another. Best decison we made! They are walked before work and then sleep a lot while left on their own for a number of hours on weekdays. We are then with them all evening, all night (they even sleep in our bedroom!) and practically every weekend. They are very well looked after and incredibly happy, regardless of the fact that we both work. There are people at home all day who keep their dogs alone outside, and people at home all day who neglect/abuse their dogs. I know which household my dogs would prefer to live in!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 30th 2017, 4:13 PM

@Mucky Pup: No arguing with that. Glad yours aren’t left alone all day. It’s lovely to watch two dogs playing.

Mute Amy Wearen
    Favourite Amy Wearen
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:29 AM

Ireland should be ashamed of how animals are treated. Thankfully, there are also many good people who devote their lives to resuing these poor souls. The DSPCA is just one of MANY MANY rescue centres around the country,most of which rely on volunteers and donations from the public. Sad.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:43 AM

@Amy Wearen: When you say Ireland I am guessing you mean some of Ireland? You could help by reporting anyone trying to sell animals from a website.

Mute Amy Wearen
    Favourite Amy Wearen
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:52 AM

@Gillian Weir Scully: Yes, some of the people of Ireland, but as a country in general, not enough is being done. I don’t mean that all the people are animal abusers which is why I pointed out that there are many good people who devote their lives to the cause. I personally support various rescue centres by making donations and I would report any case of animal abuse I knew of or suspected.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Dec 2nd 2017, 2:40 PM

@Gillian Weir Scully: it’s not illegal to sell animals online so unless it’s obvious the animal is being abused there is nothing to report:(. Rescues and animal welfare groups have been trying to ban the sale, and particularly the ‘free to good home’ ads of dogs and cats on buy&sell for years. The fact is that animal welfare is way down the list of priorities of most political parties and even being known as the puppy farm of Europe doesn’t even embarrass politicians into enacting stronger legislation.

Mute pats brandon
    Favourite pats brandon
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:18 AM

Bull***t excuses. Any dog can be trained – all it takes is some patience. Even the most unruly pup will calm down in time, and if they are really getting out of control, have them neutered.. above all don’t get a dog unless you’re willing to put the work in.

Mute dodofrey
    Favourite dodofrey
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:33 AM

@pats brandon: Totally agree, was speaking to my vet the other day and he said the amount of dogs dumped in shelters because they are deemed unruly is insane, it then transpires the dogs are rarely walked and kept in small gardens with no stimulation. The owners can’t make the link between the dogs hyperactivity and the lack of exercise….??!! I’ve two big collies and they get walked to point of exhaustion for both myself and them because it’s not fair to keep working dogs like those cooped up. They have a brilliant temperament because their needs are met. My true loves…

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:35 AM

@dodofrey: Agree. Sadly people choose the wrong breed of dog for the family.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:18 AM

@dodofrey: the worst is people keeping big dogs in apartments that don’t even have a garden! I know of someone who has a husky that they keep in their apartment and the poor thing looks so depressed

Mute pats brandon
    Favourite pats brandon
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:58 AM

@dodofrey: Absolutely. That’s our old collie in the pic. Gone almost three years but we still miss him like mad. The sweetest, gentlest dogs you could imagine and brilliant for exercise.

Mute dodofrey
    Favourite dodofrey
    Nov 30th 2017, 2:38 PM

@pats brandon: Pats I think then this thread is a sign! A sign you need to go adopt that lovely dog in the picture, get a new best friend!

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Dec 2nd 2017, 2:32 PM

@Sam Harms: large dogs don’t necessarily need a garden and can live happily in an apartment once their exercise needs are met. Greyhounds and Great Danes are two breeds that are known as couch potatoes and suited to apartment living. They need a couple of walks a day but have less stamina than some breeds a third of their size.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:53 AM

Ban the sale of puppies and kittens or any other small cute animals at Christmas time, let’s face it for most the novelty is well worn off by the time Christmas is over, no animal should be sold at Christmas as some people do not get the idea that a pet is an investment a commitment and a life long companion!…

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:27 AM

This gov couldn’t sort out a piss up in a brewery never mind the homeless, animal abuse etc in this country. But then on second thought they could always find a brewery/bar as they don’t have far to walk from their office.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:04 AM

@bings: yeah it’s the governments fault…would ye cop on ye tool

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:15 AM

@kevin: Does the gov not have a justice system in this country. If the gov doesn’t make the laws in this country can you please tell us who makes the laws that govern this country of ours.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:47 AM

@bings: we have tons of legislation. The reason people bring back dogs and cats like this is down to either stupidity (because they didn’t do their research before they got a pet) or selfishness. This is about personal responsibility and has nothing to do with government

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:08 AM

@kevin: Personal responsibility !?! They’ve proven that they’re incapable of accepting “personal responsibility” so it’s time to hammer them into the dirt with what ever laws are needed to stop them doing this to animals. If that means a fine so harsh they can’t buy a pint over Christmas then so be it… If it means them spending Christmas and New Year in prison or worried about going to prison who cares ?.. People who do this are pondsсum.. fuсk em..

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:21 AM

@Jason: I’m talking about people who give dogs back to the dspca Jason which is the main thrust of the article not people that are cruel to animals. They’re 2 different issues and I agree that sentencing for animal cruelty is not appropriate but like everything with the justice system in this country, that’s down to a soft liberal judiciary and not the laws available to them

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:48 AM

@kevin: People who give dogs back over only to replace them with another should be legally barred from owning animals. It’s not a bloody swap meet. They’ve proven they can’t look after an animal properly so put them on a register of those not to be allowed within an asses roar of owning another. If they dump an animal, don’t report a lost one missing or don’t make reasonable efforts to reclaim a lost animal do the same. Empower inspectors to levy fines like we do with traffic wardens. If someone wants to challenge it they can go to court.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:31 AM

Where I live. There is a dog.. living in a small wood box..the box is full of poo..it stinks and no bedding.. so dog sleeps on her poo.the family don’t care for her at all..she is getting old now and handsome..friendly and very loyal ..we feed her.as she is always hungry. In this weather she must be absolutely frozen.. why oh why do people get animals and not bother to care for them… it is so cruel..

Mute Amy Wearen
    Favourite Amy Wearen
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:33 AM

@OCallaghan TP: You should report this to the police or your local SPCA. very sad

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:38 AM

@OCallaghan TP: Report and give details fast.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:40 AM

@OCallaghan TP: In fact call now….. please. Google ISPCA or dogs trust or your local Garda.

Mute Amy Wearen
    Favourite Amy Wearen
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:57 AM

@OCallaghan TP: send me the details and I will do it for you if you want

Mute Pól Greacháin
    Favourite Pól Greacháin
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:18 AM

@OCallaghan TP: Please please please report these people. They don’t deserve anything close to the love and loyalty that a family pet gives.

Mute Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Favourite Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:25 AM

@OCallaghan TP: report this to the ISPCA immediately.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:11 PM

O’Callaghan that’s against the law. Fact. I’d report them. No problem. Wouldn’t let that continue. They are obviously tired of her. Do her a favour and report it.

Mute La Dama
    Favourite La Dama
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:08 PM

@OCallaghan TP: PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD REPORT THIS. I am crying as I am reading this :(((((((((((((((((

Mute La Dama
    Favourite La Dama
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:11 PM

@OCallaghan TP: PLEASE REPORT THIS FOR THE LOVE OF GOD. SHE DESERVES A BETTER LIFE AWAY FROM THESE MONSTERS…PLEASE….

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:57 AM

These ‘people’ need to go on a register just like sex offenders.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:23 AM

I’m guessing also that most of these dogs aren’t chipped as they’re meant to be by law thanks to pyjama – bound terminally lazy ‘owners’ . Fine the ‘owners’ the €5000 and put it towards re-homing the canine victims of their ignorance.

Mute Kt Kelly
    Favourite Kt Kelly
    Nov 30th 2017, 2:54 PM

The exchange of cash for pets should be outlawed. The amount of animals in dire need of adoption in pounds and shelters, and yet idiots still insist on spending thousands on some pure bred poodle that is half blind and going to get all sorts of diseases because of inbreeding on a puppy farm! It’s a viscous circle of cruelty. Adoption all the way!

Mute Stewart O Neill
    Favourite Stewart O Neill
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:48 AM

Any spare kittens .

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:52 AM

@Stewart O Neill: Pussycats.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2017, 5:43 PM

I had a dog for years and he bit a few family members and was a general bloody nuisance but we hung on to him for 16 years until he died. A dog is for life.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:32 PM

Sean my spikey was a little fecker but I loved him and he loved us. Snapping at the postmans ankles. He had diabetes and went blind. I got his eyes fixed cause he was walking into the cats and they didn’t know what was going on. He’s gone now and buried with all the rest in the garden. Really miss him.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:21 AM

Irish Animal Welfare party, go to FB and give them your vote if you can? As for animal welfare, we are too greedy and selfish in the Dail to care!

Mute mr non snowflake
    Favourite mr non snowflake
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:01 PM

Irish people are so hypocritical when it comes to pets.

Mute Ann Moynihan
    Favourite Ann Moynihan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:29 PM

I am so angry with these stupid selfish people. If a dog is ‘bold’ then it’s the human that needs a kick up the backside. We have had dogs all our lives and never had a problem. True friends.

Mute Ton Smith
    Favourite Ton Smith
    Nov 30th 2017, 1:05 PM

Article jumps from DSPCA to the RSPCA…

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 2nd 2017, 8:29 PM

Really really crazy this?