You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Look at this gorgeous timelapse showing off Dublin city at Christmas

Creative Design House captures every conceivable angle of the city, with lights twinkling.

xmasdublin Facebook Facebook

TRYING TO CAPTURE the essence of Dublin at Christmas – the lights, the sounds, the craic – is a noble annual pursuit for anyone walking up Grafton Street with a phone.

Taking that to the next level, Creative Design House has produced a fairly epic timelapse of the city in December:

With music by David Owens, they capture every conceivable angle of the city with lights twinkling…

xmasdublin2 Facebook Facebook

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

Read: People are rewatching George Michael’s brilliant appearance on the first ever Carpool Karaoke >

Read: These lovely stories of George Michael’s generosity are being shared today >

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/12/img2-thejournal-565.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3161009" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 21st 2017, 6:12 PM

They are probably waiting for a free fire alarm from the council. Caravans are by there nature, flammable. Very easy for a pan on an oven to catch on fire and burn the place down in minutes. If only 50% had fire alarms then you need to introduce laws and fines. But that wouldn’t go down well with the travelling community and certainly wouldn’t be policed.Much like school absenteeism isn’t policed with the travelling community.

Jan 21st 2017, 7:02 PM

A lot of travellers refused them when the council offered them one .. yet when something happens , everyone else is to blame…

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 21st 2017, 7:16 PM

No halting sites in Donabate. They are all holiday caravans

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jan 21st 2017, 11:24 PM

In 10 years time we will laugh at people living in fire hazards like mobile homes. Why do people think that it is safe to live in one ?

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Jan 21st 2017, 11:26 PM

It is a mobile home park. For holidays. Not a halting site. Read the article.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:01 AM

@David Conroy: IF THERE WERE PROPER HOMES THERE WOULD BE NO NEED FOR THEM

Mute Johnny Mc
    Favourite Johnny Mc
    Jan 22nd 2017, 1:12 PM

They are holiday homes

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jan 22nd 2017, 4:34 PM

They are made out of materials that cause toxic fumes and will melt in minutes. I cannot see how they would qualify for a Fire Cert.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Jan 21st 2017, 6:51 PM

If you have a caravan statistically you’re probably not reading this article.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jan 21st 2017, 8:03 PM

Where did I get that fact or did u just make it up to sound good

Mute mo chara
    Favourite mo chara
    Jan 21st 2017, 6:22 PM

Shite in the bucket

Mute Togs
    Favourite Togs
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:41 AM

Compuuuuters!

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 21st 2017, 7:28 PM

That’s the third or fourth one of them holidays homes I’ve heard of going up in flames recently, you’d wonder why it’s happening and also why there isn’t any investigation into why so many are getting burnt, I know one family that were in their one when the fire started, they received devastating injuries and still nobody has arrived at that mobile site to inspect the rest of them, these aren’t travellers or rich ppl so nobody cares, they’re just Joe Soaps so the attitude is “Fuk em”

Jan 21st 2017, 7:59 PM

Mick .. did the fire brigade not tell them how the fire started ??

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 21st 2017, 9:03 PM

No, they said they’d send their report to the investigating gardaí when it’s complete. That was nearly 6 months ago

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 8:55 AM

I call BS on that

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 22nd 2017, 8:57 AM

Go look it up then you clown, another keyboard gangster not using their own name

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 9:48 AM

“Family with devastating injuries” Being quite familiar with all these fires, I assure you you are talking total twaddle. Hence I call BS……

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 22nd 2017, 10:37 AM

Seen as your quiet familiar with these fires you can fill me in on the actual cause of it then?

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 11:35 AM

Petroleum

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 22nd 2017, 11:55 AM

From what?

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 11:57 AM

Really? Look just admit you only know what you read in the indo. You know nothing about it and I’m not filling in gaps for you. I was right to call BS. Don’t comment on what you don’t know.

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:19 PM

Yes really, you seem to have plenty to say but nothing of any substance, I don’t need u to fill in anything for me cause you’ve no more information than what you read online

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:44 PM

You’re funny! Fire brigade never did a scene analysis the cops did so you’re lying about them saying they would furnish a report. It wasn’t reported anywhere in the media whether fired were deliberately started or not or what was used as an accelerant. All you had to be was present to know all these things . BS dude, I called BS. I was right. Bye now

Jan 22nd 2017, 12:48 PM

Youknowimright… what’s the deal with this fire ?..

Mute Mick Sage
    Favourite Mick Sage
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:57 PM

You’d want to learn to read, the fire brigade said they’d send a report to the investigating garda, that was an answer to the girl that asked me did the fire brigade not tell them what it was? The fire brigade don’t investigate the cause of the fire, that’s the gardas job. But then you’d know that wouldn’t u

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 22nd 2017, 12:59 PM

Just admit you haven’t a clue!!!

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Jan 21st 2017, 6:49 PM

Culture, boss!

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Jan 21st 2017, 11:27 PM

Did you read the article?

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jan 21st 2017, 6:16 PM

A good job nobody was hurt. It would’ve been two tents for the rescuers.

Mute Crafty Rascal
    Favourite Crafty Rascal
    Jan 21st 2017, 8:03 PM

Scutter in the pants