You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE NATIONAL TRUST for Ireland An Taisce wants the public to help fight what it is calling “high-rise” buildings in the middle of Dublin.
Yesterday marked the publication of the Draft Dublin City Development Plan by Dublin City Council (DCC) which will define the future development of the capital.
An Taisce says that the plan’s definition of high-rise and low-rise development is wrong and will damage the city’s centre. Low-rise is defined by Dublin City Council in the draft plan as buildings up to 28 metres, roughly half the height of Liberty Hall.
Previously, that designation began at 15 metres.
In the US, the designation changes at 22.5 metres for fire-safety purposes.
In the capital, buildings are usually around nine metres, with three-storey Georgian houses climbing to about 14 metres.
While the development plan says it will maintain Dublin’s low-rise ethos, An Taisce says that allowing buildings of up to 28 metres would transform the city.
“A significant aspect of Dublin’s undoubted charm is its human scale, character and harmonious relation of building height to street widths – Dublin is compared to Amsterdam and Copenhagen in combining the function of a vibrant capital with the maintenance of historic low rise character.
This charm is very fragile and, unless very carefully treated, can easily be destroyed.
With Dublin suffering both a shortage of office and living space, calls for higher density developments have been made in the past. An Taisce says that those plans would destroy the “intimate charm” of the capital.
They want to see high-rise buildings taken away from the heart of the city and placed in the Docklands and along the Luas Red line.
In the plan, the council says it needs to create “a high quality sustainable city with: densities and heights to create a more compact city”. However, it states that high-rise buildings must “provide a coherent skyline and not disrupt key vistas and views.”
Members of the public are being asked for their opinions on the plan. Public submissions may be made up to 11 December by clicking here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Imagine if that was the amount of people killed in car crashes? There would be lots of action. This is not acceptable and needs to be addressed. Our young people are very important to us we have to look after them.
To be fair I doubt it cost that much to put these numbers together and it’s done on a yearly basis, the same with all sorts of statistics. It’s important to keep track of these things to see how effective our policies are. Evidently a lot of people with mental health issues are being let down by the system, men in particular.
They don’t appreciate how devastating emotional pain has to be to override the survival instinct, the most powerful drive we have. They still treat mental illness as less than other illness.
They sit in pubs ignorantly going on about how “selfish” it is. What kind of pain do you think someone has to be in such that the pain of those left behind isn’t enough to stop them?
Maybe realise that many who do it think that they’re doing friends and family a favour by checking out, as suicides usually the end of years of emotional turmoil and they think well at least I’m sparing them more of being around that.
With all due respect Seal no study is published without money. There’s lads/ladies walking bridges across the country looking out for people. In Limerick the rescue crews are seeing a hike in their insurance this year… Yes that’s right, rescue crews need insurance, and this lot are wasting wasting money publishing what’s already known. If it cost as little as €500 , that’s €500 that could have been better spent.
1. It was t all already known you are looking at ONE part of the study
2. We need UP TO DATE information and repeat studies as trends change.
Without continual study you can have all the cash you want but won’t know where to spend it, think of it like this:
Say previous studies showed men 18-25 had by far the biggest suicide rate. That study’s done in 1999. So instead of doing another study in 2009 we keep targeting ads and mental health too up cash at say colleges to target that demo, but because “sure we know it all already” we didn’t do the 09 study and this missed a major change in trends where suicides amoung 15-18s spiked, and thus nothing’s being directed at them to stop it.
You totally misunderstand how science works, besides needing updated data different studies might have improved sampling or other methods that can give us sharper data. You don’t just study Simone once one way then stop for all time ffsake.
There would be close to zero suicide if we had a more holistic approach to education. The education system primarily focuses on Left brain analytical thinking while ignoring right brain creativity. Both sides of the brain can be developed equally with a balanced approach to teaching but it won’t happen in the short to medium term because humanity is still asleep and is complicit it’s own psychological enslavement.
A holistic approach to education in the way forward which would involve classes on philosophy & spirituality but also classes that develop critical thinking skills, currently left to a few conspiracy theorists in the Dail doing the job of mainstream Journalists who have better things to do, you know who I’m talking about, people like Mick Wallace & Clare Daly.
The reason the education system focuses on the left side of the brain is because we can be much more easily indoctrinated to follow instructions and orders from the hierarchy and are therefore easily manipulated to follow a role in society that benefits the top 1% with help from their carefully chosen and groomed puppet governments. Right Brain creative thinkers can’t be manipulated to the same extent. We all have intuition, we are born with it and we should be allowed to develop it without any compromise from within the education system!
But all that aside, what happens when people step outside the carefully constructed paradigm whether it’s because they become more consciously aware of the true reality we live in or via illegal drugs to bring them to that realisation. Well what generally happens is that they develop a “mental illness” like, Chronic Depression, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, Social Phobia, Schizophrenia, Bi-Polar and the list goes on.
A convenient label for people who have opted out of the madhouse that the vast majority of people have been conditioned to accept as normal. When these, “usually outside the box thinkers” become marginalized because they don’t fit into the “system”, suicide becomes a very real option!
How do you define crazy in a world that is completely bonkers! Well you can create labels that can be used by the all powerful pharmaceutical industry to sedate any unruly patients who try to escape the madhouse ;) Do you really know who is crazy anymore! Look at your own compliance within the system and ask yourself that question ;)
In reality it’s around 2000 a year but we can’t talk about that. The majority of suicides are ruled as person misadventure if no note us left… I was in the coroners Court for an inquest a few weeks ago. We were the 5th case. All 4 before hand were clear suicides from listening to people outside but we’re all ruled as person misadventure because no note was left…. Just another way the government are cooking the books cause the true figures would be a national scandal
Yep…they brought that law in a few years ago knowing that suicide in Ireland is off the charts and they are trying to spin it on the radio that Ireland has one of the lowest suicide rates in Europe…typical of this country.
My mental health is in bits lately, reported an issue of bullying in work and HR said I was not in a creche despite the fact I could prove it! I’m depressed, stressed and using alcohol too much. Want more than a distant helpline to be honest.
Might be worth a try at a job change mate. Sounds like a bad company. The alcohol won’t help and may only add to the problem as hops in beer have depressant side effects. Hang in there mate and hopefully things get better. In my experience they do.
HR aren’t some neutral arbiter between you and the bosses , people seem to think that’s what they are but in realty they are the principals office for adults.
They (bosses) can take you to the principals office but not vice Versa. Workplace bullying and office politics are responsible for a huge % of depression in Ireland. There is a very sad vindictive class of creature in some workplaces that think the way to advance is to crap on colleagues and be a doormat to superiors. Unless you’re afraid you might go over the edge don’t bother with helplines. They’re actually banned from offering specific advice and are only there for you to vent which won’t fix the problem. Without knowing specifics I wouldn’t wanna give advice
@Colin Foley: Time to look for a new job. Not easy, particular when you’re not mentally in the best state, but if your employer doesn’t have you back you’re better off rid of them.
Best of luck, and lay off the alcohol. If you reply on it too much it becomes another problem for you to handle – no kidding but join a yoga or Pilates class, something to get you out of the house and away from temptation, concentrating on yourself. It worked wonders for me, and I met a nice lady who decided she’d like to spend sometime with me there too!
Colin – you need to make a doctor’s appointment for Monday.
Tell him about the bullying, stress and depression caused by work, and then get him to write you out sick for three weeks – exaggerate your symptoms even if you are feeling OK on Monday.
Tell him you cannot cope with the atmospghere at work.
HR will request that you see their company doctor. Tell him / her what a toxic environment your workplace it. Get written out sick for three monrths.
During this three months see a counsellor and start job hunting.
@Colin Foley: Sorry for your troubles Colin. Going through the rounds myself. Don’t allow yourself to be bullied. I had a horrid supervisor in one of my previous jobs, where I was having anxiety attacks at the thought of even going into work.
Keep your chin up bud, and tell HR you’ll be getting your solicitor involved if they don’t take your reports seriously.
Please cut out the drink and replace it with doses of vitamin D, a new hobby and fresh air. The drink will only compound your problems. Also, try get some counselling so you have someone to listen to you.
@Stiofain Murray: Agreed, made my points to them and they tried to make out that I was making a false accusation and started accusing me of such!. I was disgusted with the behaviour and had plenty of proof which was obvious a supervisor was victimisng/targeting me but they lied, twisted and manipulated everything to protect him and the company. HR are nothing more than a companies propaganda machine. It was the straw that broke the camel’s back, alot of heavy things going on in my personal life and feel time off is a good idea. thanks for the ideas
You do realise you don’t just do one study then stop for all time don’t you?
By that logic we’d do one study in 1970 then never do another one.
We study suicide TRENDS and that means repeat studies because suicide rates don’t stay static in all circumstances they vary wildly with certain conditions, age groups etc you can’t say “ah sure we knew men did it more” and leave it at that. It’s too vague. In order for us to make concrete policy proposals to govts we need more detail. What men? Why men? Ages? Do Religions have any effect? Education stays? Etc these are the details that don’t get out into the news story so you see “men do it more” and leave it at that.
Societies going through major changes good or bad see a spike in the rate for example. At the start of the Celtic tiger there was a boost so we need more studies showing what happened at the crash. We can’t just throw money at things Without detailed continually updated studies how would we know how to spend the cash? Who to target and in what way?
Well if something had actually been done any to improve the situation maybe it would justify more studies wouldn’t it? But seeing as the issue is ignored why bother?
Always a case of “study shows more young men commit suicide” which is followed by a collective shrug and “I guess we’ll just do another study and hope it’s different next time??”
I partially blame society for its unfair expectations that men should be “men”. Thankfully society is becoming more accepting of men not being “men” and allowing them to express themselves.
Agree, it takes a lot of strength and courage to say you’re not ok but for some reason it’s seen as being weak. This needs to change. Bressie has been doing great work in this area but we need to have the resources if someone needs help they’re not waiting for months.
To be fair though, there is nothing wrong with being “men” as you put it. If anything the demonisation of masculinity is only serving to further drive this problem. What isn’t really realised is that men do talk, we just prefer to talk to other men who can understand us. We sometimes do need male only spaces where we can just be ourselves.
Yeah it’s our male dominated society that is to blame as apposed to the fact that young men are pariahs in our society. Shame on feminists for demonizing them.
Literally the only people I ever see telling men to “be men”, telling men that showing emotions is “weak” that needing help is “weak” are other men.
That’s coming from 33years as a man.
Get the hells off this thread with your “Waaaaagh…the mean old feminists!” nonsense if you’re not going to contribute constructively to the debate.
All you do whenever you start spouting this garbage is to show that you don’t care about helping men in the slightest, that you’re more interested in having a go at feminists than in helping men, and that makes you disgusting.
The world changed massively over the past 100 years and instead of altering our narratives to help men find their place in the new society we just left them to carry on regardless. Leave feminists out of this, in fact leave women out of it altogether. Let’s centre this conversation around the people we should be helping, men.
If you actually give two tosses about them, then let’s talk about it.
But I know you won’t do that, because as I said, you don’t care about men, you don’t care about these victims of suicide, you just wanna spout your alt-right nonsense.
Bryan, your argument is laughable simplistic so it is you who should get off the forum. Men and boys want to be men and boys but it’s the feminists narrative that wants to demonise them and tell them they are disgusting. Every where they look young men are told that they are disgusting perverts. Virtually no one cares that they are the most vulnerable group in terms of violence, unemployment, mental illness and drug addiction. Blaming masculinity for this issues is nothing short of a stupid cop out by sado whites knights such as you.
Bryan, if you cared to read my comment carefully you will see I did make a constructive contribution to the debate by suggesting something that might help men open up. All you have done is have a go at me over my opinions on feminists and call me disgusting. How about you follow your own advice and offer something constructive. As for talking about the problem, that is what I am doing. And as has been said in relation to men arguing when women talk about their issues; “shut up and listen to them”, maybe you could follow that advice. And if I do have something against feminists in relation to this, it’s the type of feminist who drinks from mugs labelled “men’s tears” that I take offence to, because they are doing more damage than good. I have nothing against actual feminists though, I just have some animosity to misandrists who label themselves feminists and poison a movement with an otherwise admirable history of egalitarianism.
Emily what are you on about? I don’t ever hear anyone call all men “disgusting” or perverted, never mind feminists calling them that. Agreed the ultra feminists whose agenda is to suppress masculinity and men in general would probably blame other men for the higher suicide rate but they are a very very small part of society and not many people pay attention to what they say.
@Bunny: Emily is some sort of MRA troll, spouting the most absurd things. It’s really irritating because it totally derails conversations, which I guess, is what they want.
@emily davison: Oh chill out. You aren’t even pointing them out, you’re just trying to hammer away at a nail that only the MRAs see sticking out. It’s a farce.
Every time I see the idiotic comments from people like you on this place I have to go beat my head off a wall until sweet, sweet unconsciousness takes me.
You have something to contribute Titus are is that it? Stellar contribution. They day you approve of what I post I’ll give up. Pretty insensitive on a thread like this
I think you all got the wires crossed there and misunderstood his point.
Masculinity and people saying “shut up moaning and be a man, suck it up) are different things. The seconds more a generational thing, most men born after the mid to late 80s would be able to talk to friends about emotional problems without getting that kind of response.
The idea that socially the under 30 male demo is crapped on is undeniable. There’s even, as part of state policy, the idea that if you happen to loose a job under 25 you’ve done something wrong and should get paid less, but if it happens to you when you’re slightly older it’s ok.
Insensitive? You come on this thread to attack feminists, who weren’t even mentioned in the article but are the only group that are doing anything AT ALL to help with the implications of gender stereotyping and I’m the insensitive one. This is point scoring to you. You don’t give a rats ass about young men.
Point scoring? Sorry if me pointing out the fact that society couldn’t care less about young males triggers you. But it is a fact, I’m just letting you know that your feminists out look causes suicide.
Bryan, first follow your own rules and offer something constructive. This isn’t about feminism. This is about men’s issues, and a serious one in particular, if you can’t focus on that then save your rhetoric for a topic on feminism.
Unfortunately this is not news. Has been the case for years. But nobody really cares to tackle it. Hell, looking at most media you would think how far we spread our legs on public transport were a more dire problem.
I attempted suicide a few times, well twice. I was deeply affected by the suicide of a good friend. My last attempt I stopped and thought about how my family and friends would be affected had I succeeded. The pain I had endured would only reflect on my loved ones as it had on me those years back.
I’m glad I survived.
Keep your head high if you are suffering, and speak your mind, do things that please you, and not others. Talk the pain away, only those with mental health issues know, some bruises don’t show.
The best way for this horrendous gov to prevent suicide is for them to resign and let people in who can run the country properly. Our disgraceful polticians have blood on their hands over this.
In fairness mate, this trend is global, not just isolated to Ireland. This is one thing that can’t be pinned on our politicians. They may not help, but you can’t blame them for causing this.
Sickening that you’re trying to turning this into a political football. Suicide exists in every society. The are multiple reasons why. You have no decency.
I repeat, politicians are to blame for a lot of the suicides in Ireland.
They construct the type of society we live in, and its unjustifiably a very harsh society for some, while these pathetic, useless politicians give themselves pay rises and lavish expenses, for what, for doing more damage to the country than good.
@emily davison: why are you trying to turn this into an issue on feminism? It just shows you don’t care at all about men or women. This issue is far too complex to be solved by silly identity politics.
@emily davison: You act like men killing themselves is somehow feminisms fault. You also apparently don’t know much about suicide or suicidality either.
I never said feminists, I said our attitude towards young men. Feminists are the ones who demonizing young men more than anyone. They can’t mix it with more experienced males who won’t take their shit so they target younger males to make them feel powerful, how else would you explain this consent class bull shit
@emily davison: >how else would you explain this consent class bull shit
the majority of rapes are done by men against women, it’s about prevention. Not about demonising men, so relax. If you hate it, campaign so your beloved men stop raping women and men.
You are constantly going on about feminism and feminists, and “feminazis” (the poor manjews!) on articles that have no relevance to it, like this one. This is about deficiencies in our mental health system, and you had to turn it into why young men need to learn about what consent is. Come on.
∆∆∆There you have it people, demonization of young men. I’d never call a man hater a “feminazi”, why play into your hands. No one give two f$&ks about young men in this society and that is where this all starts. Many are effectively lone wolves who are left behind in education(thanks again feminism) and when they are attacked in the streets no one says anything. They are completely unvalued by society
No, that’s literally exactly what has been said here all week. You typically have an issue with the fact anti-rape campaigns are predominantly geared towards men, yet Trump et al were just having “banter” and “sure all men talk like that”. Which is it?
@Ryan Carroll: while I agree re the ‘banter’, interesting that all the allegations are only really coming out now, its almost like the media and establishment are trying to quash any dissent in an effort to avoid another brexit scenario…nothing about Clinton’s donors or her responsibility in post invasion Iraq that led to isis… its very dirty and everything now is again all about preventing a republican win
@Ryan Carroll: While I agree r.e. the ‘banter,’ interesting that all the allegations are coming out now about Trump, its almost like the media and establishment are working together to quash any dissent in order to avoid another brexit scenario but no they wouldnt,right… lets be honest theres nothing about Clintons donors nor her role in post-invasion Iraq leading to the rise of isis in the mainstream media..this is all again about preventing a republican win,
@Veronica:
its about a lot more than ‘deficiencies in our’mental health system’.
That ‘line’ is the same old same old trotted out ad nauseu every time.
Feminism is farsical ,but its not the only cause, but society certainly.
It is also, relevant to the occurrence of suicide break ups divorce that women should be submissive to their husbands but also that men should be honourable which ist very liberalish.
Feminism and the mens version of it …whatever, dont need to exist.
I think its best for all to apply everything unless relating to sexual hormones to everyone.
THIS ABSOLUTELY SICKENS ME, SO MUCH TIME AND MONEY IS PUT INTO ROAD CAMPAIGN’S TO SLOW DOWN ECT ECT! MY PERSONAL FEELING IS BECAUSE THEY ARE MAKING MONEY OFF FINES… LOOK AT THE AMOUNT OF YOUNG PEOPLE (MOSTLY YOUNG MEN) WHO TAKE THEIR OWN LIFE, THIS IS KEPT SO QUIET NOT ENOUGH IN THE MEDIA, NOT ENOUGH MONEY PUT INTO MENTAL HEALTH, NOT ENOUGH EDUCATION IN SCHOOLS ABOUT THIS!!! “MEN DON’T TALK” THEY THINK IT’S A SIGN OF WEAKNESS ‘ITS NOT’ MEN DON’T LOOK FOR HELP, MEN DON’T TALK TO EACHOTHER THE WAY WOMEN DO! AND I DON’T FEEL THERE IS ENOUGH SUPPORT FOR FAMILIES OUT THERE TO SEE THE SIGNS AND BEFORE YOU ALL SHOOT ME DOWN I KNOW IN SOME CASES YOU CANT ALWAYS TELL BUT OUR GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO FACE THIS PROBLEM HEAD ON!!!
Have these people who have mental or suicide issues no friends to talk to. I’m not saying talking to a friend or family will solve all the issues but it may help. When my mother was my age everyone knew everyones elses business. We need to learn not to be afraid to talk to each other. We have forgotten how to talk. We need to discover the act of talking to real people again on a 1-1 bases. As they say a problem shared is a problem halved or something like that. I feel for the people who feel that they have no one to talk too. Everyone needs at least 1 good friend in their lives.
Yes, with the cost of car insurance, rent, degrees. Minimum wage, different hours. It’s all extremely stressful. Especially car insurance big scary numbers they come up with.
Lost my dad 69 to suicide four weeks ago. Just can’t get over the violent way he decided to leave this world. He hung himself. We are all devastated. Did he think no one care? Could he not see the luce that surrounded him? What in his mind made him to do this? Just a sad lonely violent end.
God I’m in tears reading all the posts let’s just say I know how your feeling, please get help from someone if you can’t go on your own bring someone, don’t let things get worse please please please
Martin's big outing was all laughs and smiles - but Irish public may not have found it as funny
Jane Matthews
reports from Washington
5 hrs ago
As it happened
The Taoiseach invited Trump and Vance to visit as Washington celebrated Ireland
Updated
6 hrs ago
As it happened
The Taoiseach invited Trump and Vance to visit as Washington celebrated Ireland
Updated
6 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 156 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 106 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 45 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 71 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 52 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 66 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say