You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Firefighters extinguishing a car fire in Tallaght yesterday evening

Dublin Fire Brigade received one call every 70 seconds on Halloween night

In one instance, firefighters from Tallaght were called out to extinguish a car on fire.

LAST UPDATE | 1 Nov 2023

DUBLIN FIRE BRIGADE received one emergency call every 70 second last night on Halloween.

Between midnight on 31 October to midnight last night, Dublin Fire Brigade received 244 fire-related calls, of which 185 were Halloween-related. 

On X, formerly known as Twitter, the fire service said it experienced a high volume of calls last night, with approximately “one emergency call every 70 seconds”. 

Firefighters and advance paramedics were called to two people injured by fireworks. They were treated at the scene before being taken to Tallaght hospital. 

The emergency ambulance service received 385 calls during the same period. 

Dublin Fire Brigade posted on X about one case of a bonfire with “thick noxious smoke” in north Dublin yesterday evening. 

It warned people affected by smoke to “close all windows and call 999/112 for help”. 

In another instance, firefighters from Tallaght were called out to extinguish a car on fire. 

The car was blocking the entrance to a nearby estate and access was limited, the Dublin Fire Brigade said. 

Calls were also received in relation to grass alight near Portmarnock. 

Dublin City Council said that “damage inclement weather along with a robust bonfire fuel collection campaign by local authorities all helped with fire calls on Halloween night”. 

“An amnesty at local authority recycling centres before Halloween for items like mattresses also aided the situation,” the council said. 

“Alternative events to bonfires provided by the four local authorities meant that families could attend safe organised firework displays.” 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:05 AM

I wouldn’t be a fireman even if it paid 250,000 a year. I couldn’t even begin to comprehend the stress and hassle of it and having to take calls at all hours of the night in awful weather conditions. Fair play to everyone working in those roles. Your not half working for your few bob.

Mute Free Go
    Favourite Free Go
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:35 AM

@Dan The Man: 250k yes you would

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:36 AM

@Dan The Man: it’s hander for u to go to the dole office clown u won’t do 250000 a year

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:39 AM

@Paul Moloney: Go back to school!

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:58 AM

@Dan The Man: 100%. Frontline staff deal with awful carry-on from s#cumbags.

Mute Jon Doesn't
    Favourite Jon Doesn't
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:04 AM

@Free Go: no, he just said he wouldn’t.

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:47 AM

Another no name bollix

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Nov 1st 2023, 12:15 PM

No name no balls don’t have one of them dogs but if I did what is point your trying to get out of ur crooked mouth u weesel

Mute Free Go
    Favourite Free Go
    Nov 1st 2023, 12:29 PM

@Jon Doesn’t: yes and I just said he was talking pony

Mute Sarah Otoole
    Favourite Sarah Otoole
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:20 AM

Again well done to our fire and emergency services for cleaning up after the fleas of society god forbid they were needed for a medical emergency

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:30 AM

@Sarah Otoole: Moved down to the country from Dublin 17 years ago. Halloween is a celebration down here. Dublin becomes a war zone. I feel sorry for the majority held hostage to the actions of a few toerags.

Mute Sarah Otoole
    Favourite Sarah Otoole
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:49 PM

@John Fagan: i agree would love to move down to the country Dublin is gone to the dogs

Mute Mise Freisin
    Favourite Mise Freisin
    Nov 2nd 2023, 2:05 AM

@Sarah Otoole: Ah it’s no different in Clare. Scuzzbuckets letting fireworks off in a cemetery.

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:50 AM

Just been for a walk up the canal paths were I live in a little town in County Kildare, mattresses and wheelie bins burnt out and the amount of rubbish from the fireworks just left for others to pick up and clean the mess up, I’d be disgusted if I found out that was my child, some kids are dragged up these days, I know one man has cctv of the culprits and I hope he shares the images

Mute Anne Collins
    Favourite Anne Collins
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:07 AM

@6gRrQtLn: I wouldny mention cctv. The same yobs will be down to take revenge on you.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:52 AM

@6gRrQtLn: it’s illegal to publicly share CCTV images of people without their consent. I agree with everything you say

Nov 1st 2023, 4:39 PM

@Sean: No it isn’t. You have no privacy in a public place.

Mute Mise Freisin
    Favourite Mise Freisin
    Nov 2nd 2023, 2:09 AM

@Sean: phone a cop, then it’s not your problem. Out the pluckers

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:23 AM

Basically the Guards are broken the law by not interfering with scrots on Halloween but I guess that’s always the solution for not creating other conflicts. So hundreds of illegal bonfire with car tyres, mattresses, etc last night all over Dublin but no Guards.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Nov 1st 2023, 9:32 AM

@Chris: Your word salad is impressive.

Mute Mise Freisin
    Favourite Mise Freisin
    Nov 2nd 2023, 2:47 AM

@Sun Rise: Not as impressive as your riposte.

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Nov 1st 2023, 10:43 AM

Hey Journal I think we all know now that X is formerly known as Twitter.

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:19 AM

@Bomber:
    Is there anything to be said for another poll?

Mute GVR
    Favourite GVR
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:16 AM

It’s the most scroatious time of the year!

Mute Kangaroo Kev
    Favourite Kangaroo Kev
    Nov 1st 2023, 1:51 PM

Where was Eamon Ryan to advise against burning tyres on bonfires? He should have been out on his bike all night handing out taxes to stop it from happening.

Nov 1st 2023, 10:39 AM

Only one car on fire? That’s a vase improvement on when I was a kid…. and used to light at least 3 on fire every Halloween

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Nov 1st 2023, 12:18 PM

It’s them blasted PlayStation I blame when you a I know that it is much more fun burning the real thing

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Nov 1st 2023, 8:11 PM

Maybe secondhand cars are worth more now? It’s true there used to be more burnt out cars all right.

Mute Mary M
    Favourite Mary M
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:09 AM

Ban bonfires! People are as**ol*s and clearly can’t be trusted.

Mute Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Favourite Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Nov 1st 2023, 3:37 PM

Interesting that bonfires and not the feared fireworks seem to be the main issue.
    If people want bonfires, and it seems they do, then instead of banning them and getting all upset when scrotes burn tires, mattresses and other unsuitable things why not organise them along with firework displays and make sure they’re done as safely and as cleanly as possible?

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Nov 1st 2023, 12:14 PM

Strange that FFFG are not being blamed here.

Nov 1st 2023, 1:03 PM

It’s a disgrace, year in, year out. But nothing will be done about it. Next.

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Nov 1st 2023, 3:04 PM

When nothing is done, it’s because nothing can be done. This is the gulf of difference between law, and order.

Mute Mise Freisin
    Favourite Mise Freisin
    Nov 2nd 2023, 2:53 AM

@Keth Tgi: Sound, buy them in Newry, come south, make a profit, get a bang or a flash, then feck off back to the UK? Somebody is making a few bob from the mayhem. Feckin chy knees? Provo ably not

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Nov 1st 2023, 11:20 AM

comments shut for exposing your own bias!!!

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Nov 2nd 2023, 12:50 PM

Ah yes , October 31 , that night when all the wannabe hard men in Ireland think its open season to burn , break , smash , steal and run amok… pathetic